StackSets concepts - Amazon CloudFormation
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

StackSets concepts

When you use StackSets, you work with stack sets, stack instances, and stacks.

Administrator and target accounts

An administrator account is the Amazon account in which you create stack sets. For stack sets with service-managed permissions, the administrator account is either the organization's management account or a delegated administrator account. You can manage a stack set by signing in to the Amazon administrator account that created the stack set.

A target account is the account into which you create, update, or delete one or more stacks in your stack set. Before you can use a stack set to create stacks in a target account, set up a trust relationship between the administrator and target accounts.

Amazon CloudFormation StackSets

A stack set lets you create stacks in Amazon Web Services accounts across regions by using a single CloudFormation template. A stack set's CloudFormation template defines all the resources in each stack. As you create the stack set, specify the template to use, in addition to any parameters and capabilities that template requires.

After you've defined a stack set, you can create, update, or delete stacks in the target accounts and Amazon Web Services Regions you specify. When you create, update, or delete stacks, you can also specify operation preferences. For example, include the order of Regions you want to perform the operation, the failure tolerance threshold before stack operations stop, and the number of accounts performing stack operations concurrently.

A stack set is a regional resource. If you create a stack set in one Amazon Web Services Region, you can only see or change it when viewing that Region.

Permission models for stack sets

You can create stack sets using either self-managed permissions or service-managed permissions.

With self-managed permissions, you create the IAM roles required by StackSets to deploy across accounts and Regions. These roles are necessary to establish a trusted relationship between the account you're administering the stack set from and the account you're deploying stack instances to. Using this permissions model, StackSets can deploy to any Amazon account in which you have permissions to create an IAM role.

With service-managed permissions, you can deploy stack instances to accounts managed by Amazon Organizations. Using this permissions model, you don't have to create the necessary IAM roles; StackSets creates the IAM roles on your behalf. With this model, you can also turn on automatic deployments to accounts that you add to your organization in the future.

Amazon Organizations integrates with CloudFormation and helps you centrally manage and govern your environment as you scale and grow your Amazon resources.

For more information about creating and managing stack sets with service-managed permissions, see the following topics:

Stack instances

A stack instance is a reference to a stack in a target account within a Region. A stack instance can exist without a stack. For example, if the stack couldn't be created for some reason, the stack instance shows the reason for stack creation failure. A stack instance associates with only one stack set.

The following figure shows the logical relationships between stack sets, stack operations, and stacks. When you update a stack set, all associated stack instances update throughout all accounts and Regions.


                    A single stack set can serve as the basis to create, update, or delete
                        stacks instances and stacks across multiple accounts and Regions.

Stack set operations

You can perform the following operations on stack sets.

Create stack set

Creating a new stack set includes specifying a CloudFormation template that you want to use to create stacks, specifying the target accounts in which you want to create stacks, and identifying the Amazon Web Services Regions in which you want to deploy stacks in your target accounts. A stack set ensures consistent deployment of the same stack resources, with the same settings, to all specified target accounts within the Regions you choose.

Update stack set

When you update a stack set, you push changes out to stacks in your stack set. You can update a stack set in one of the following ways. Your template updates always affect all stacks; you can't selectively update the template for some stacks in the stack set, but not others.

  • Change existing settings in the template or add new resources, such as updating parameter settings for a specific service, or adding new Amazon EC2 instances.

  • Replace the template with a different template.

  • Add stacks in existing or additional target accounts, across existing or additional Regions.

Delete stacks

When you delete stacks, you are removing a stack and all its associated resources from the target accounts you specify, within the Regions you specify. You can delete stacks in the following ways.

  • Delete stacks from some target accounts, while leaving other stacks in other target accounts running.

  • Delete stacks from some Regions, while leaving stacks in other Regions running.

  • Delete stacks from your stack set, but save them so they continue to run independently of your stack set by choosing the Retain Stacks option. You can then manage retained stacks outside of your stack set in Amazon CloudFormation.

  • Delete all stacks in your stack set, in preparation for deleting your entire stack set.

Delete stack set

You can delete your stack set only when there are no stack instances in it.

Stack set operation options

The options described in this section help to control the time and number of failures allowed to perform successful stack set operations, and prevent you from losing stack resources.

Maximum concurrent accounts

This setting, available in create, update, and delete workflows, lets you specify the maximum number or percentage of target accounts in which an operation performs at one time. A lower number or percentage means that an operation performs in fewer target accounts at one time. Operations perform in one Region at a time, in the order specified in the Deployment order box. For example, if you are deploying stacks to 10 target accounts within two Regions, setting Maximum concurrent accounts to 50 and By percentage deploys stacks to five accounts in the first Region, then the second five accounts within the first Region, before moving on to the next Region and beginning deployment to the first five target accounts.

When you choose By percentage, if the specified percentage doesn't represent a whole number of your specified accounts, CloudFormation rounds down. For example, if you are deploying stacks to 10 target accounts, and you set Maximum concurrent accounts to 25 and By percentage, CloudFormation rounds down from deploying 2.5 stacks concurrently (which would not be possible) to deploying two stacks concurrently.

Note that this setting lets you specify the maximum for operations. For large deployments, under certain circumstances the actual number of accounts acted upon concurrently may be lower due to service throttling. The maximum speed of deployment is 100 concurrent stack instances per stack set.

Failure tolerance

This setting, available in create, update, and delete workflows, lets you specify the maximum number or percentage of stack operation failures that can occur, per Region, beyond which CloudFormation stops an operation automatically. A lower number or percentage means that the operation performs on fewer stacks, but you are able to start troubleshooting failed operations faster. For example, if you are updating 10 stacks in 10 target accounts within three Regions, setting Failure tolerance to 20 and By percentage means that a maximum of two stack updates in a Region can fail for the operation to continue. If a third stack in the same Region fails, CloudFormation stops the operation. If a stack can't update in the first Region, the update operation continues in that Region, and then moves on to the next Region. If two stacks can't update in the second Region, the failure tolerance reaches 20%; if a third stack in the Region fails, CloudFormation stops the update operation, and doesn't go on to subsequent Regions.

When you choose By percentage, if the specified percentage doesn't represent a whole number of your stacks within each Region, CloudFormation rounds down. For example, if you are deploying stacks to 10 target accounts in three Regions, and you set Failure tolerance to 25 and By percentage, CloudFormation rounds down from a failure tolerance of 2.5 stacks (which would not be possible) to a failure tolerance of two stacks per Region.

Retain stacks

This setting, available in delete stack workflows, lets you keep stacks and their resources running even after removing stacks from a stack set. When you retain stacks, Amazon CloudFormation leaves stacks in individual accounts and Regions intact. Stacks disassociate from the stack set, but saves the stack and its resources. After a delete stacks operation is complete, you manage retained stacks in CloudFormation, in the target account (not the administrator account) that created the stacks.

Region concurrency

This setting, available in create, update, and delete workflows, lets you choose how StackSets deploy into Regions.

Sequential – Deploy StackSets operation into one Region at a time as specified by Region Deployment order box as long as a Region's deployment failures don't exceed a specified failure tolerance. Sequential deployment is the default selection.

Parallel – Deploy StackSets operations into all specified Regions in parallel as long as a Region's deployment failures don't exceed a specified failure tolerance.

Tags

You can add tags during stack set creation and update operations by specifying key and value pairs. Tags are useful for sorting and filtering stack set resources for billing and cost allocation. For more information about how to use tags in Amazon, see Using cost allocation tags in the Amazon Billing and Cost Management User Guide. After you specify the key-value pair, choose + to save the tag. You can delete tags that you are no longer using by choosing the red X to the right of a tag.

Tags that you apply to stack sets apply to all stacks, and the resources your stacks that are create. You can also addTags at the stack-only level in CloudFormation, but those tags might not show up in StackSets.

Although StackSets doesn't add any system-defined tags, you shouldn't start the key names of any tags with the string aws:.

StackSet status codes

Amazon CloudFormation StackSets generates status codes for stack set operations.

The following table describes status codes for stack set operations.

Stack set operation status Description

RUNNING

The operation is currently in progress.

SUCCEEDED

The operation finished without exceeding the failure tolerance for the operation.

FAILED

The number of stacks on which the operation couldn't complete exceeded the user-defined failure tolerance. The failure tolerance value you've set for an operation applies for each Region during stack creation and update operations. If the number of failed stacks within a Region exceeds the failure tolerance, the status of the operation in the Region changes to FAILED. The status of the operation as a whole is also set to FAILED, and CloudFormation cancels the operation in any remaining Regions.

QUEUED

[Service-managed permissions] For automatic deployments that require a sequence of operations, the operation enters into a queue to perform. For example:

  • Moving an account from one organizational unit (OU), OU1, to another, OU2, triggers an automatic deployment. StackSets runs a delete operation to remove the stack instance from the target OU1 account in the target Region and queues a create operation to add a stack instance to the target OU2 account in the target Region.

  • Adding an account AccountA to an OU triggers an automatic deployment. StackSets runs a create operation to add a stack instance to AccountA in the target Region. If you add another account AccountB to the OU while this create operation is running, StackSets queues a second create operation. When the first create operation is complete, StackSets runs the second create operation to add a stack instance to AccountB in the target Region.

STOPPING

The operation is in the process of stopping, at the user's request.

STOPPED

The operation has stopped, at the user's request.

Stack instance status codes

Amazon CloudFormation StackSets generates status codes for stack instances.

The following table describes status codes for stack instances within StackSets.

Stack instance status Description

CURRENT

The stack is up to date with the stack set.

OUTDATED

The stack isn't up to date with the stack set for one of the following reasons.

  • A CreateStackSet or UpdateStackSet operation on the associated stack failed.

  • The stack was part of a CreateStackSet or UpdateStackSet operation that failed, or stopped before creating or updating the stack.

INOPERABLE

A DeleteStackInstances operation has failed and left the stack in an unstable state. Stacks in this state are excluded from further UpdateStackSet operations. You might need to perform a DeleteStackInstances operation, with RetainStacks set to true, to delete the stack instance, and then delete the stack manually.

CANCELLED

The operation in the specified account and Region has been canceled. This happens because a user has stopped the stack set operation, or because the stack set operations exceed the failure tolerance.

FAILED

The operation in the specified account and Region failed. If the stack set operation fails in enough accounts within a Region, the failure tolerance for the stack set operation as a whole might be exceeded.

PENDING

The operation in the specified account and Region has yet to start.

RUNNING

The operation in the specified account and Region is currently in progress.

SUCCEEDED

The operation in the specified account and Region completed successfully.

AWS CloudFormation
User Guide (API Version 2010-05-15)
AWS 服务或AWS文档中描述的功能,可能因地区/位置而异。请点击 Amazon AWS 入门,可查看中国地区的具体差异

StackSets 概念

当您使用 StackSets 时,使用堆栈集堆栈实例堆栈

管理员账户和目标账户

管理员账户 是您用来创建堆栈集的 AWS 账户。通过登录到用于创建堆栈集的 AWS 管理员账户来管理堆栈集。目标账户 是您用来创建、更新或删除堆栈集中的一个或多个堆栈的账户。您必须先在管理员账户与目标账户之间设置信任关系,然后才能使用堆栈集在目标账户中创建堆栈。

堆栈集

利用堆栈集,您可使用一个 AWS CloudFormation 模板在 AWS 账户中跨区域创建堆栈。每个堆栈中包含的所有资源由堆栈集的 AWS CloudFormation 模板定义。在创建堆栈集时,您可指定要使用的模板以及模板所需的任何参数和功能。

在定义堆栈集后,您可以在指定的目标账户和区域中创建、更新或删除堆栈。在创建、更新或删除堆栈时,您还可以指定操作首选项,如您要在其中执行操作的区域的顺序、容错能力 (一旦超出它,堆栈操作就会停止) 以及在其中对堆栈并行执行操作的账户的数量。

堆栈集是一种区域性资源。如果您在一个区域中创建堆栈集,则无法在其他区域中查看或更改它。

堆栈实例

堆栈实例 是对区域内的目标账户中的堆栈的引用。堆栈实例可在没有堆栈的情况下存在;例如,如果出于某个原因无法创建堆栈,则堆栈实例将显示堆栈创建失败的原因。一个堆栈实例仅与一个堆栈集关联。

下图显示堆栈集、堆栈操作和堆栈之间的逻辑关系。当您更新堆栈集时,将在所有账户和区域中更新所有 关联的堆栈实例。

 一个堆栈集可用作跨多个账户和区域创建、更新或删除堆栈实例和堆栈的基础。

堆栈集操作

您可以在堆栈集上执行以下操作。

创建堆栈集

创建新堆栈集包含指定要用于创建堆栈的 AWS CloudFormation 模板、指定要在其中创建堆栈的目标账户以及标识要在其中将堆栈部署到您的目标账户的 AWS 区域。堆栈集可确保将具有相同设置的相同堆栈资源的一致部署到所选区域内的所有指定目标账户。

更新堆栈集

在更新堆栈集时,将更改推送到堆栈集中的堆栈。您可以通过下列方法之一更新堆栈集。请注意,您的模板更新始终会影响所有堆栈;您不能选择性地更新堆栈集中的某些堆栈而不是其他堆栈的模板。

  • 更改模板中的现有设置或添加新资源,例如,更新特定服务的参数设置或添加新的 Amazon EC2 实例。

  • 将该模板替换为其他模板。

  • 跨现有或其他区域在现有或其他目标账户中添加堆栈。

删除堆栈

在删除堆栈时,您将从指定的区域内的指定目标账户中删除堆栈及其所有关联资源。您可以通过以下方法删除堆栈。

  • 从某些目标账户中删除堆栈,同时使其他目标账户中的其他堆栈保持运行。

  • 从某些区域中删除堆栈,同时使其他区域中的堆栈保持运行。

  • 从堆栈集中删除堆栈,但保存它们,以便通过选择 Retain Stacks 选项来使其独立于堆栈集继续运行。保留的堆栈在堆栈集外部的 AWS CloudFormation, 中进行管理。

  • 在准备删除您的整个堆栈集时删除堆栈集中的所有堆栈。

删除堆栈集

您只能在您的堆栈集中没有堆栈实例时删除它。

堆栈集操作选项

此部分中描述的选项有助于控制时间和允许的失败次数,以便成功执行堆栈集操作并防止您丢失堆栈资源。

最大并发账户数

利用此设置 (适用于创建、更新和删除工作流),您可以指定在其中一次执行一项操作的目标账户的最大数量或百分比。较小的数量或百分比意味着一次在较少的目标账户中执行一项操作。按照 Deployment order 框中指定的顺序一次在一个区域中执行操作。例如,如果您将堆栈部署到两个区域内的 10 个目标账户,则将 Maximum concurrent accounts 设置为 50By percentage 会在移到下一个区域并开始部署到前 5 个目标账户之前,将堆栈部署到第一个区域中的 5 个账户,然后部署到第一个区域内的另外 5 个账户。

当选择 By percentage 时,如果指定的百分比不表示您指定的账户的整数数量,则 AWS CloudFormation 会向下舍入。例如,如果您将堆栈部署到 10 个目标账户,并将 Maximum concurrent accounts 设置为 25By percentage,则 AWS CloudFormation 会从同时部署 2.5 个堆栈 (这是不可能的) 向下舍入到同时部署 2 个堆栈。

请注意,此设置可让您指定操作数的最大值。对于大型部署,在某些情况下,并行运行的实际账户的数量可能由于服务限制而减少。

容错

利用此设置 (适用于创建、更新和删除工作流时),您可以指定每个区域中可发生的堆栈操作失败的最大数量或百分比,一旦超出此值,AWS CloudFormation 就会自动停止操作。较小的数量或百分比意味着在较少的堆栈上执行该操作,但您能够更快地开始对失败的操作进行故障排除。例如,如果您将在 3 个区域内的 10 个目标账户中更新 10 个堆栈,则将 Failure tolerance 设置为 20By percentage 意味着一个区域中最多 2 个堆栈更新可失败,以便此操作继续。如果同一区域中的第三个堆栈失败,则 AWS CloudFormation 将停止此操作。如果堆栈在第一个区域中无法进行更新,则更新操作将在该区域中继续进行,然后移到下一个区域。如果 2 个堆栈无法在第二个区域中进行更新,则会达到 20% 的容错能力;如果该区域中的第三个堆栈失败,则 AWS CloudFormation 会停止更新操作,并且不会转入后续区域。

当选择 By percentage 时,如果指定的百分比不表示每个区域内的堆栈的整数数量,则 AWS CloudFormation 会向下舍入。例如,如果您将堆栈部署到 3 个区域中的 10 个目标账户,并且将 Failure tolerance 设置为 25By percentage,则 AWS CloudFormation 会从每个区域的 2.5 个堆栈的容错能力 (这是不可能的) 向下舍入到每个区域的 2 个堆栈的容错能力。

保留堆栈

利用此设置 (适用于删除堆栈工作流),您可以使堆栈及其资源继续运行,甚至在从堆栈集中删除堆栈及其资源后也是如此。保留堆栈时,AWS CloudFormation 会将堆栈原样保留在各自的账户和区域中。将取消堆栈与堆栈集的关联,但将保存堆栈及其资源。删除堆栈操作完成后,您在 AWS CloudFormation 中的创建保留堆栈的目标账户 (而不是管理员账户) 中管理这些堆栈。将永久性地取消保留堆栈与堆栈集的关联;无法再次将堆栈添加到堆栈集,并且无法将其添加到新堆栈集。

Tags

您可以通过指定键值对在堆栈集创建和更新操作期间添加标签。标签对于针对账单和成本分配来分类和筛选堆栈集资源非常有用。有关如何在 AWS 中使用标签的更多信息,请参阅 AWS Billing and Cost Management 用户指南 中的使用成本分配标签。在指定键值对后,选择 + 以保存该标签。您可以通过选择标签右侧的红色 X 来删除不再使用的标签。

您应用于堆栈集的标签将应用于所有堆栈以及由您的堆栈创建的资源。可在 AWS CloudFormation 中的仅堆栈级别添加标签;但这些标签可能不会显示在 StackSets 中。

尽管 StackSets 目前未添加任何系统定义的标签,但您不应使用字符串 aws: 作为任何标签的键名称的开头。

堆栈集和堆栈实例状态代码

AWS CloudFormation StackSets 为堆栈集操作和堆栈实例生成状态代码。

下表描述了堆栈集操作的状态代码。

堆栈集操作状态 描述

RUNNING

操作目前正在进行中。

SUCCEEDED

操作已完成,未超出操作的容错能力。

FAILED

无法在其上完成操作的堆栈的数量超出了用户定义的容错能力。您为操作设置的容错能力值将在堆栈创建和更新操作期间应用于每个区域。如果区域内的失败堆栈数超出了容错能力,则该区域中的操作的状态将设置为 FAILED。整个操作的状态也将设置为 FAILED,而且 AWS CloudFormation 会在任何剩余区域中取消该操作。

STOPPING

根据用户请求,正在停止该操作。

STOPPED

根据用户请求,已停止该操作。

下表描述了堆栈集内堆栈实例的状态代码。

堆栈实例状态 描述

CURRENT

堆栈目前与堆栈集保持最新。

OUTDATED

出于下列原因之一,堆栈目前未与堆栈集保持最新。

  • 关联堆栈上的 CreateStackSetUpdateStackSet 操作失败。

  • 堆栈是失败的 CreateStackSetUpdateStackSet 操作的一部分,或在创建或更新堆栈前已停止。

INOPERABLE

DeleteStackInstances 操作已失败,并且堆栈处于不稳定状态。将从进一步的 UpdateStackSet 操作中排除处于此状态的堆栈。您可能需要执行 DeleteStackInstances 操作,同时将 RetainStacks 设置为 true,以删除堆栈实例,然后手动删除堆栈。