Configure the instance metadata options - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Configure the instance metadata options

The instance metadata service (IMDS) runs locally on every EC2 instance. The instance metadata options refer to a set of configurations that control the accessibility and behavior of the IMDS on an EC2 instance.

You can configure the following instance metadata options on each instance:

Instance metadata service (IMDS): enabled | disabled

You can enable or disable the IMDS on an instance. When disabled, you or any code won't be able to access the instance metadata on the instance.

The IMDS has two endpoints on an instance: IPv4 (169.254.169.254) and IPv6 ([fd00:ec2::254]). When you enable the IMDS, the IPv4 endpoint is automatically enabled. If you want to enable the IPv6 endpoint, you need to do so explicitly.

IMDS IPv6 endpoint: enabled | disabled

You can explicitly enable the IPv6 IMDS endpoint on an instance. When the IPv6 endpoint is enabled, the IPv4 endpoint remains enabled. The IPv6 endpoint is only supported on instances built on the Amazon Nitro System.

Metadata version: IMDSv1 or IMDSv2 (token optional) | IMDSv2 only (token required)

When requesting instance metadata, IMDSv2 calls require a token. IMDSv1 calls do not require a token. You can configure an instance to allow either IMDSv1 or IMDSv2 calls (where a token is optional), or to only allow IMDSv2 calls (where a token is required).

Metadata response hop limit: 164

The hop limit is the number of network hops that the PUT response is allowed to make. You can set the hop limit to a minimum of 1 and a maximum of 64. In a container environment, we recommend setting the hop limit to 2. For more information, see Considerations.

Access to tags in instance metadata: enabled | disabled

You can enable or disable access to the instance's tags from an instance's metadata. For more information, see Work with instance tags in instance metadata.

Where to configure instance metadata options

Instance metadata options can be configured at different levels, as follows:

  • Account – You can set default values for the instance metadata options at the account level for each Amazon Web Services Region. When an instance is launched, the instance metadata options are automatically set to the account-level values. You can change these values at launch. Account-level default values do not affect existing instances.

  • AMI – You can set the imds-support parameter to v2.0 when you register or modify an AMI. When an instance is launched with this AMI, the instance metadata version is automatically set to IMDSv2 and the hop limit is set to 2.

  • Instance – You can change all the instance metadata options on an instance at launch, overriding the default settings. You can also change the instance metadata options after launch on a running or stopped instance. Note that changes may be restricted by an IAM or SCP policy.

For more information, see Configure instance metadata options for new instances and Modify instance metadata options for existing instances.

Order of precedence for instance metadata options

The value for each instance metadata option is determined at instance launch, following a hierarchical order of precedence. The hierarchy, with the highest precedence at the top, is as follows:

  • Precedence 1: Instance configuration at launch – Values can be specified either in the launch template or in the instance configuration. Any values specified here override values specified at the account level or in the AMI.

  • Precedence 2: Account settings – If a value is not specified at instance launch, then it is determined by the account-level settings (which are set for each Amazon Web Services Region). Account-level settings either include a value for each metadata option, or indicate no preference at all.

  • Precedence 3: AMI configuration – If a value is not specified at instance launch or at the account level, then it is determined by the AMI configuration. This applies only to HttpTokens and HttpPutResponseHopLimit.

Each metadata option is evaluated separately. The instance can be configured with a mix of direct instance configuration, account-level defaults, and the configuration from the AMI.

You can change the value of any metadata option after launch on a running or stopped instance, unless changes are restricted by an IAM or SCP policy.

Determine values for metadata options – Example 1

In this example, an EC2 instance is launched into a Region where the HttpPutResponseHopLimit is set to 1 at the account level. The specified AMI has ImdsSupport set to v2.0. No metadata options are specified directly on the instance at launch. The instance is launched with the following metadata options:

"MetadataOptions": { ... "HttpTokens": "required", "HttpPutResponseHopLimit": 1, ...

These values were determined as follows:

  • No metadata options specified at launch: During the launch of the instance, specific values for the metadata options were not provided either in the instance launch parameters or in the launch template.

  • Account settings take next precedence: In the absence of specific values specified at launch, the settings at the account level within the Region take precedence. This means that the default values configured at the account level are applied. In this case, the HttpPutResponseHopLimit was set to 1.

  • AMI settings take last precedence: In the absence of a specific value specified at launch or at the account level for HttpTokens (the instance metadata version), the AMI setting is applied. In this case, the AMI setting ImdsSupport: v2.0 determined that HttpTokens was set to required. Note that while the AMI setting ImdsSupport: v2.0 is designed to set HttpPutResponseHopLimit: 2, it was overridden by the account-level setting HttpPutResponseHopLimit: 1, which has higher precedence.

Determine values for metadata options – Example 2

In this example, the EC2 instance is launched with the same settings as in the previous Example 1, but with HttpTokens set to optional directly on the instance at launch. The instance is launched with the following metadata options:

"MetadataOptions": { ... "HttpTokens": "optional", "HttpPutResponseHopLimit": 1, ...

The value for HttpPutResponseHopLimit is determined in the same way as in Example 1. However, the value for HttpTokens is determined as follows: Metadata options configured on the instance at launch take first precedence. Even though the AMI was configured with ImdsSupport: v2.0 (in other words, HttpTokens is set to required), the value specified on the instance at launch (HttpTokens set to optional) took precedence.

Set the instance metadata version

When an instance is launched, the value for the instance metadata version is either IMDSv1 or IMDSv2 (token optional) or IMDSv2 only (token required).

At instance launch, you can either manually specify the value for the metadata version, or use the default value. If you manually specify the value, it overrides any defaults. If you opt not to manually specify the value, it will be determined by a combination of default settings, as outlined in the following table.

The table shows how the metadata version for an instance at launch (indicated by Resulting instance configuration in column 4) is determined by the settings at the different levels of configuration. The order of precedence is from left to right, where the first column takes the highest precedence, as follows:

  • Column 1: Launch parameter – Represents the setting on the instance that you manually specify at launch.

  • Column 2: Account level default – Represents the setting for the account.

  • Column 3: AMI default – Represents the setting on the AMI.

Launch parameter Account level default AMI default Resulting instance configuration
V2 only (token required) No preference V2 only V2 only
V2 only (token required) V2 only V2 only V2 only
V2 only (token required) V1 or V2 V2 only V2 only
V1 or V2 (token optional) No preference V2 only V1 or V2
V1 or V2 (token optional) V2 only V2 only V1 or V2
V1 or V2 (token optional) V1 or V2 V2 only V1 or V2
Not set No preference V2 only V2 only
Not set V2 only V2 only V2 only
Not set V1 or V2 V2 only V1 or V2
V2 only (token required) No preference null V2 only
V2 only (token required) V2 only null V2 only
V2 only (token required) V1 or V2 null V2 only
V1 or V2 (token optional) No preference null V1 or V2
V1 or V2 (token optional) V2 only null V1 or V2
V1 or V2 (token optional) V1 or V2 null V1 or V2
Not set No preference null V1 or V2
Not set V2 only null V2 only
Not set V1 or V2 null V1 or V2

Use IAM condition keys to restrict instance metadata options

You can use IAM condition keys in an IAM policy or SCP as follows:

  • Allow an instance to launch only if it's configured to require the use of IMDSv2

  • Restrict the number of allowed hops

  • Turn off access to instance metadata

Note

You should proceed cautiously and conduct careful testing before making any changes. Take note of the following:

  • If you enforce the use of IMDSv2, applications or agents that use IMDSv1 for instance metadata access will break.

  • If you turn off all access to instance metadata, applications or agents that rely on instance metadata access to function will break.

  • For IMDSv2, you must use /latest/api/token when retrieving the token.

配置实例元数据选项 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

配置实例元数据选项

实例元数据服务(IMDS)在每个 EC2 实例上本地运行。实例元数据选项是一组配置,可用于控制 EC2 实例上 IMDS 的可访问性和行为。

可在每个实例上配置以下实例元数据选项:

实例元数据服务(IMDS)enabled | disabled

可在实例上启用或禁用 IMDS。禁用后,您或任何代码都将无法访问实例上的实例元数据。

实例上的 IMDS 有两个端点:IPv4 (169.254.169.254) 和 IPv6 ([fd00:ec2::254])。启用 IMDS 时,会自动启用 IPv4 端点。若要启用 IPv6 端点,需将其显式启用。

IMDS IPv6 端点enabled | disabled

可在实例上显式启用 IPv6 IMDS 端点。启用 IPv6 端点后,IPv4 端点将保持启用状态。IPv6 端点只能在基于 Amazon Nitro System 构建的实例上和支持 IPv6 的子网(仅限双堆栈或 IPv6)中受支持。

元数据版本IMDSv1 or IMDSv2 (token optional) | IMDSv2 only (token required)

请求实例元数据时,IMDSv2 调用需要令牌。IMDSv1 调用不需要令牌。可将实例配置为允许调用 IMDSv1 或 IMDSv2(可以使用令牌),或者仅允许调用 IMDSv2(必须使用令牌)。

元数据响应跃点限制164

跃点限制是允许进行 PUT 响应的网络跃点数。可以设置跃点限制,最小值为 1,最大值为 64。在容器环境中,我们建议将跃点限制设置为 2。有关更多信息,请参阅注意事项

访问实例元数据中的标签enabled | disabled

可以启用或禁用从实例元数据访问实例标签。有关更多信息,请参阅使用实例元数据中的实例标签

在何处配置实例元数据选项

可以在不同级别配置实例元数据选项,如下所示:

  • 账户:可以在账户级别为每个 Amazon Web Services 区域 设置实例元数据选项的默认值。启动实例后,实例元数据选项会自动设置为账户级别的值。您可以在启动后更改这些值。账户级别的默认值不会影响现有实例。

  • AMI:注册或修改 AMI 时,可将 imds-support 参数设置为 v2.0。使用此 AMI 启动实例后,实例元数据版本会自动设置为 IMDSv2,并且跃点限制会设置为 2。

  • 实例:可以在启动实例时,更改实例上的所有实例元数据选项,从而覆盖默认设置。也可以在正在运行或已停止的实例上启动后,再更改实例元数据选项。请注意,更改可能受到 IAM 或 SCP 策略的限制。

有关更多信息,请参阅为新实例配置实例元数据选项为现有实例修改实例元数据选项

实例元数据选项的优先顺序

每个实例元数据选项的值都会在启动实例时按照优先级分层顺序确定。分层顺序如下,按最高优先级从上至下依次排序:

  • 优先级 1:启动时的实例配置:可以在启动模板或实例配置中指定值。此处指定的任何值都会覆盖在账户级别或 AMI 中指定的值。

  • 优先级 2:账户设置:如果启动实例时未指定值,则该值将根据账户级别的设置(针对每个 Amazon Web Services 区域 进行设置)确定。账户级别设置通常会包含各个元数据选项的值,或者不会指示任何首选项。

  • 优先级 3:AMI 配置:如果启动实例时未指定值或账户级别设置未确定值,则该值将根据 AMI 配置确定。这适用于 HttpTokensHttpPutResponseHopLimit

每个元数据选项都将分开评估。可以通过组合使用直接实例配置、账户级别默认设置和 AMI 配置,配置实例。

在正在运行或已停止的实例上启动后,可以更改任何元数据选项的值,除非更改受到 IAM 或 SCP 策略的限制。

确定元数据选项的值 – 示例 1

在此示例中,EC2 实例会启动到一个区域中,其中 HttpPutResponseHopLimit 在账户级别设置为 1。指定 AMI 会将 ImdsSupport 设置为 v2.0。启动时不会直接在实例上指定元数据选项。该实例通过以下元数据选项启动:

"MetadataOptions": { ... "HttpTokens": "required", "HttpPutResponseHopLimit": 1, ...

这些值如下所示确定:

  • 启动时未指定元数据选项:实例启动期间,实例启动参数或启动模板中均未提供元数据选项的特定值。

  • 账户设置优先级次之:如果启动时未指定特定值,则会优先应用区域内的账户级别设置。这意味着将应用账户级别配置的默认值。在本例中,HttpPutResponseHopLimit 设置为 1

  • AMI 设置优先级最低:如果启动时或账户级别未指定 HttpTokens(实例元数据版本)的特定值,则应用 AMI 设置。在本例中,由 AMI 设置 ImdsSupport: v2.0 确定将 HttpTokens 设置为 required。请注意,虽然 AMI 设置 ImdsSupport: v2.0 旨在设置 HttpPutResponseHopLimit: 2,但其被账户级别设置 HttpPutResponseHopLimit: 1 覆盖,而后者的优先级更高。

确定元数据选项的值 – 示例 2

在此示例中,使用与前面示例 1 中相同的设置启动 EC2 实例,不过启动时直接在实例上将 HttpTokens 设置为 optional。该实例通过以下元数据选项启动:

"MetadataOptions": { ... "HttpTokens": "optional", "HttpPutResponseHopLimit": 1, ...

HttpPutResponseHopLimit 的值的确定方式与示例 1 中相同。但是,HttpTokens 的值按以下方式确定:启动时在实例上配置的元数据选项优先。即使 AMI 配置了 ImdsSupport: v2.0(也就是 HttpTokens 设置为 required),启动时在实例上指定的值(HttpTokens 设置为 optional)仍优先。

设置实例元数据版本

启动实例时,实例元数据版本的值为 IMDSv1 or IMDSv2 (token optional)IMDSv2 only (token required)

实例启动时,您可以手动指定元数据版本的值,也可以使用默认值。如果手动指定该值,则将覆盖所有默认值。如果不手动指定该值,则该值将由默认设置的组合确定,如下表所示。

该表显示了不同配置级别的设置如何确定启动实例时的元数据版本(由第 4 列中生成的实例配置指示)。优先级顺序如下所示,从左到右,第一列优先级最高:

  • 第 1 列:启动参数:表示启动时手动指定的实例设置。

  • 第 2 列:账户级别默认设置:表示账户设置。

  • 第 3 列:AMI 默认设置:表示 AMI 设置。

启动参数 默认账户级别 默认 AMI 生成的实例配置
仅 V2(需要令牌) 无首选项 仅 V2 仅 V2
仅 V2(需要令牌) 仅 V2 仅 V2 仅 V2
仅 V2(需要令牌) V1 或 V2 仅 V2 仅 V2
V1 或 V2(可以使用令牌) 无首选项 仅 V2 V1 或 V2
V1 或 V2(可以使用令牌) 仅 V2 仅 V2 V1 或 V2
V1 或 V2(可以使用令牌) V1 或 V2 仅 V2 V1 或 V2
未设置 无首选项 仅 V2 仅 V2
未设置 仅 V2 仅 V2 仅 V2
未设置 V1 或 V2 仅 V2 V1 或 V2
仅 V2(需要令牌) 无首选项 null 仅 V2
仅 V2(需要令牌) 仅 V2 null 仅 V2
仅 V2(需要令牌) V1 或 V2 null 仅 V2
V1 或 V2(可以使用令牌) 无首选项 null V1 或 V2
V1 或 V2(可以使用令牌) 仅 V2 null V1 或 V2
V1 或 V2(可以使用令牌) V1 或 V2 null V1 或 V2
未设置 无首选项 null V1 或 V2
未设置 仅 V2 null 仅 V2
未设置 V1 或 V2 null V1 或 V2

使用 IAM 条件键限制实例元数据选项

可以在 IAM 策略或 SCP 中使用 IAM 条件键,如下所示:

  • 仅在实例配置为要求使用 IMDSv2 时允许实例启动

  • 限制允许的跃点数

  • 关闭对实例元数据的访问

注意

在进行任何更改之前,您应谨慎执行操作并进行仔细的测试。记录以下内容:

  • 如果您强制使用 IMDSv2,则使用 IMDSv1 访问实例元数据的应用程序或代理将会中断。

  • 如果禁用对实例元数据的所有访问,则依赖于实例元数据访问才能正常工作的应用程序或代理将会中断。

  • 对于 IMDSv2,在检索令牌时必须使用 /latest/api/token