Capacity Reservation Fleet concepts - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Capacity Reservation Fleet concepts

This topic describes some of the concepts of Capacity Reservation Fleets.

Total target capacity

The total target capacity defines the total amount of compute capacity that the Capacity Reservation Fleet reserves. You specify the total target capacity when you create the Capacity Reservation Fleet. After the Fleet has been created, Amazon EC2 automatically creates Capacity Reservations to reserve capacity up to the total target capacity.

The number of instances for which the Capacity Reservation Fleet reserves capacity is determined by the total target capacity and the instance type weight that you specify for each instance type in the Capacity Reservation Fleet (total target capacity/instance type weight=number of instances).

You can assign a total target capacity based on units that are meaningful to your workload. For example, if your workload requires a certain number of vCPUs, you can assign the total target capacity based on the number of vCPUs required. If your workload requires 2048 vCPUs, specify a total target capacity of 2048 and then assign instance type weights based on the number of vCPUs provided by the instance types in the Fleet. For an example, see Instance type weight.

Allocation strategy

The allocation strategy for your Capacity Reservation Fleet determines how it fulfills your request for reserved capacity from the instance type specifications in the Capacity Reservation Fleet configuration.

Currently, only the prioritized allocation strategy is supported. With this strategy, the Capacity Reservation Fleet creates Capacity Reservations using the priorities that you have assigned to each of the instance type specifications in the Capacity Reservation Fleet configuration. Lower priority values indicate higher priority for use. For example, say you create a Capacity Reservation Fleet that uses the following instance types and priorities:

  • m4.16xlarge — priority = 1

  • m5.16xlarge — priority = 3

  • m5.24xlarge — priority = 2

The Fleet first attempts to create Capacity Reservations for m4.16xlarge. If Amazon EC2 has insufficient m4.16xlarge capacity, the Fleet attempts to create Capacity Reservations for m5.24xlarge. If Amazon EC2 has insufficient m5.24xlarge capacity, the Fleet creates Capacity Reservations for m5.16xlarge.

Instance type weight

The instance type weight is a weight that you assign to each instance type in the Capacity Reservation Fleet. The weight determines how many units of capacity each instance of that specific instance type counts toward the Fleet's total target capacity.

You can assign weights based on units that are meaningful to your workload. For example, if your workload requires a certain number of vCPUs, you can assign weights based on the number of vCPUs provided by each instance type in the Capacity Reservation Fleet. In this case, if you create a Capacity Reservation Fleet using m4.16xlarge and m5.24xlarge instances, you would assign weights that correspond to the number of vCPUs for each instance as follows:

  • m4.16xlarge64 vCPUs, weight = 64 units

  • m5.24xlarge96 vCPUs, weight = 96 units

The instance type weight determines the number of instances for which the Capacity Reservation Fleet reserves capacity. For example, if a Capacity Reservation Fleet with a total target capacity of 384 units uses the instance types and weights in the preceding example, the Fleet could reserve capacity for 6 m4.16xlarge instances (384 total target capacity/64 instance type weight=6 instances), or 4 m5.24xlarge instances (384 / 96 = 4).

If you do not assign instance type weights, or if you assign an instance type weight of 1, the total target capacity is based purely on instance count. For example, if a Capacity Reservation Fleet with a total target capacity of 384 units uses the instance types in the preceding example, but omits the weights or specifies a weight of 1 for both instance types, the Fleet could reserve capacity for either 384 m4.16xlarge instances or 384 m5.24xlarge instances.

Instance type priority

The instance type priority is a value that you assign to the instance types in the Fleet. The priorities are used to determine which of the instance types specified for the Fleet should be prioritized for use.

Lower priority values indicate a higher priority for use.

容量预留机群概念 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

容量预留机群概念

本主题介绍容量预留机群的一些概念。

总目标容量

总目标容量定义容量预留机群预留的总计算容量。在创建容量预留机群时,您需要指定总目标容量。机群创建后,Amazon EC2 会自动创建容量预留,以预留最高可达到总目标容量的容量。

容量预留机群为其预留容量的实例的数量取决于总目标容量和您在容量预留机群中为每个实例类型指定的实例类型权重 (total target capacity/instance type weight=number of instances)。

您可以根据对您的工作负载有意义的单位分配总目标容量。例如,如果您的工作负载需要一定数量的 vCPU,则可以根据所需的 vCPU 数量分配总目标容量。如果您的工作负载需要 2048 个 vCPU,则指定总目标容量 2048,然后根据机群中的实例类型提供的 vCPU 数量分配实例类型权重。有关示例,请参阅 实例类型权重

分配策略

容量预留机群的分配策略决定了如何根据容量预留机群配置中的实例类型规范来满足针对预留容量的请求。

目前,仅支持 prioritized 分配策略。通过此策略,容量预留机群使用您在容量预留机群配置中为每个实例类型规范分配的优先级来创建容量预留。优先级值越低表示使用优先级越高。例如,假设您创建了使用以下实例类型和优先级的容量预留机群:

  • m4.16xlarge — 优先级 = 1

  • m5.16xlarge — 优先级 = 3

  • m5.24xlarge — 优先级 = 2

机群首先尝试为 m4.16xlarge 创建容量预留。如果 Amazon EC2 的 m4.16xlarge 容量不足,机群将尝试为 m5.24xlarge 创建容量预留。如果 Amazon EC2 的 m5.24xlarge 容量不足,机群将为 m5.16xlarge 创建容量预留。

实例类型权重

实例类型权重是您分配给容量预留机群中每种实例类型的权重。权重决定了该指定实例类型的每个实例计入机群的总目标容量的容量单位数。

您可以根据对您的工作负载有意义的单位分配权重。例如,如果您的工作负载需要一定数量的 vCPU,则可以根据容量预留机群中每种实例类型提供的 vCPU 数量来分配权重。在这种情况下,如果您使用 m4.16xlargem5.24xlarge 实例创建容量预留机群,您将为每个实例分配与 vCPU 数量对应的权重,如下所示:

  • m4.16xlarge64 个 vCPU,权重 = 64 个单位

  • m5.24xlarge96 个 vCPU,权重 = 96 个单位

实例类型权重决定了容量预留机群为其预留容量的实例的数量。例如,如果总目标容量为 384 个单位的容量预留机群使用前面示例中的实例类型和权重,机群可以为 6m4.16xlarge 实例(384 总目标容量/64 实例类型权重=6 个实例)或 4m5.24xlarge 实例 (384 / 96 = 4) 预留容量。

如果您没有分配实例类型权重,或者您将实例类型权重分配为 1,则总目标容量完全基于实例数量。例如,如果总目标容量为 384 个单位的容量预留机群使用前面示例中的实例类型,但忽略权重或为这两种实例类型都指定了 1 的权重,则机群都可以为 384m4.16xlarge 实例或 384m5.24xlarge 实例预留容量。

实例类型优先级

实例类型优先级是您分配给机群中的实例类型的值。优先级用于确定为机群指定的哪些实例类型应优先使用。

优先级值越低表示使用的优先级越高。