Data protection in Amazon EC2 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Data protection in Amazon EC2

The Amazon shared responsibility model applies to data protection in Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud. As described in this model, Amazon is responsible for protecting the global infrastructure that runs all of the Amazon Web Services Cloud. You are responsible for maintaining control over your content that is hosted on this infrastructure. This content includes the security configuration and management tasks for the Amazon Web Services that you use. For more information about data privacy, see the Data Privacy FAQ.

For data protection purposes, we recommend that you protect Amazon Web Services account credentials and set up individual user accounts with Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM). That way each user is given only the permissions necessary to fulfill their job duties. We also recommend that you secure your data in the following ways:

  • Use multi-factor authentication (MFA) with each account.

  • Use SSL/TLS to communicate with Amazon resources. We recommend TLS 1.2 or later.

  • Set up API and user activity logging with Amazon CloudTrail.

  • Use Amazon encryption solutions, along with all default security controls within Amazon services.

  • Use advanced managed security services such as Amazon Macie, which assists in discovering and securing personal data that is stored in Amazon S3.

  • If you require FIPS 140-2 validated cryptographic modules when accessing Amazon through a command line interface or an API, use a FIPS endpoint. For more information about the available FIPS endpoints, see Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 140-2.

We strongly recommend that you never put confidential or sensitive information, such as your customers' email addresses, into tags or free-form fields such as a Name field. This includes when you work with Amazon EC2 or other Amazon services using the console, API, Amazon CLI, or Amazon SDKs. Any data that you enter into tags or free-form fields used for names may be used for billing or diagnostic logs. If you provide a URL to an external server, we strongly recommend that you do not include credentials information in the URL to validate your request to that server.

Amazon EBS data security

Amazon EBS volumes are presented to you as raw, unformatted block devices. These devices are logical devices that are created on the EBS infrastructure and the Amazon EBS service ensures that the devices are logically empty (that is, the raw blocks are zeroed or they contain cryptographically pseudorandom data) prior to any use or re-use by a customer.

If you have procedures that require that all data be erased using a specific method, either after or before use (or both), such as those detailed in DoD 5220.22-M (National Industrial Security Program Operating Manual) or NIST 800-88 (Guidelines for Media Sanitization), you have the ability to do so on Amazon EBS. That block-level activity will be reflected down to the underlying storage media within the Amazon EBS service.

Encryption at rest

EBS volumes

Amazon EBS encryption is an encryption solution for your EBS volumes and snapshots. It uses Amazon KMS keys. For more information, see Amazon EBS encryption.

Instance store volumes

The data on NVMe instance store volumes is encrypted using an XTS-AES-256 cipher, implemented on a hardware module on the instance. The keys used to encrypt data that's written to locally-attached NVMe storage devices are per-customer, and per volume. The keys are generated by, and only reside within, the hardware module, which is inaccessible to Amazon personnel. The encryption keys are destroyed when the instance is stopped or terminated and cannot be recovered. You cannot disable this encryption and you cannot provide your own encryption key.

The data on HDD instance store volumes on H1, D3, and D3en instances is encrypted using XTS-AES-256 and one-time keys.

When you stop, hibernate, or terminate an instance, every block of storage in the instance store volume is reset. Therefore, your data cannot be accessed through the instance store of another instance.

Memory

Memory encryption is enabled on the following instances:

  • Instances with Amazon Graviton 2 processors, such as M6g instances. These processors support always-on memory encryption. The encryption keys are securely generated within the host system, do not leave the host system, and are destroyed when the host is rebooted or powered down.

  • Instances with Intel Xeon Scalable processors (Ice Lake), such as M6i instances. These processors support always-on memory encryption using Intel Total Memory Encryption (TME).

  • Instances with 3rd generation AMD EPYC processors (Milan), such as M6a instances. These processors support always-on memory encryption using AMD Transparent Single Key Memory Encryption (TSME).

Encryption in transit

Encryption at the physical layer

All data flowing across Amazon Regions over the Amazon global network is automatically encrypted at the physical layer before it leaves Amazon secured facilities. All traffic between AZs is encrypted. Additional layers of encryption, including those listed in this section, may provide additional protections.

Encryption provided by Amazon VPC and Transit Gateway cross-Region peering

All cross-Region traffic that uses Amazon VPC and Transit Gateway peering is automatically bulk-encrypted when it exits a Region. An additional layer of encryption is automatically provided at the physical layer for all cross-Region traffic, as previously noted in this section.

Encryption between instances

Amazon provides secure and private connectivity between EC2 instances of all types. In addition, some instance types use the offload capabilities of the underlying Nitro System hardware to automatically encrypt in-transit traffic between instances, using AEAD algorithms with 256-bit encryption. There is no impact on network performance. To support this additional in-transit traffic encryption between instances, the following requirements must be met:

  • The instances use the following instance types:

    • General purpose: M5dn | M5n | M5zn | M6a | M6i | M6id

    • Compute optimized: C5a | C5ad | C5n | C6a | C6gn | C6i | C6id | C7g | Hpc6a

    • Memory optimized: R5dn | R5n | R6a | R6i | R6id | high memory (u-*), virtualized only | X2idn | X2iedn | X2iezn

    • Storage optimized: D3 | D3en | I3en | I4i | Im4gn | Is4gen

    • Accelerated computing: DL1 | G4ad | G4dn | G5 | Inf1 | P3dn | P4d | P4de | VT1

  • The instances are in the same Region.

  • The instances are in the same VPC or peered VPCs, and the traffic does not pass through a virtual network device or service, such as a load balancer or a transit gateway.

An additional layer of encryption is automatically provided at the physical layer for all traffic before it leaves Amazon secured facilities, as previously noted in this section.

To view the instance types that encrypt in-transit traffic between instances using the Amazon CLI

Use the following describe-instance-types command.

aws ec2 describe-instance-types \ --filters Name=network-info.encryption-in-transit-supported,Values=true \ --query "InstanceTypes[*].[InstanceType]" --output text | sort

Encryption to and from Amazon Outposts

An Outpost creates special network connections called service links to its Amazon home Region and, optionally, private connectivity to a VPC subnet that you specify. All traffic over those connection is fully encrypted. For more information, see Connectivity through service links and Encryption in transit in the Amazon Outposts User Guide.

Remote access encryption

SSH provides a secure communications channel for remote access to your Linux instances, whether directly or through EC2 Instance Connect. Remote access to your instances using Amazon Systems Manager Session Manager or the Run Command is encrypted using TLS 1.2, and requests to create a connection are signed using SigV4 and authenticated and authorized by Amazon Identity and Access Management.

It is your responsibility to use an encryption protocol, such as Transport Layer Security (TLS), to encrypt sensitive data in transit between clients and your Amazon EC2 instances.

Amazon EC2 中的数据保护 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

Amazon EC2 中的数据保护

Amazon 责任共担模式应用于 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud 中的数据保护。如该模式中所述,Amazon 负责保护运行所有 Amazon Web Services 云 的全球基础设施。您负责维护对托管在此基础设施上的内容的控制。此内容包括您所使用的 Amazon Web Services 的安全配置和管理任务。有关数据隐私的更多信息,请参阅数据隐私常见问题

出于数据保护目的,我们建议您保护 Amazon Web Services 账户 凭证并使用 Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) 设置单独的用户账户。这仅向每个用户授予履行其工作职责所需的权限。我们还建议您通过以下方式保护您的数据:

  • 对每个账户使用 Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA)。

  • 使用 SSL/TLS 与 Amazon 资源进行通信。建议使用 TLS 1.2 或更高版本。

  • 使用 Amazon CloudTrail 设置 API 和用户活动日志记录。

  • 使用 Amazon 加密解决方案以及 Amazon 服务中的所有默认安全控制。

  • 使用高级托管安全服务(例如 Amazon Macie),它有助于发现和保护存储在 Simple Storage Service(Amazon S3)中的个人数据。

  • 如果在通过命令行界面或 API 访问 Amazon 时需要经过 FIPS 140-2 验证的加密模块,请使用 FIPS 终端节点。有关可用的 FIPS 终端节点的更多信息,请参阅《美国联邦信息处理标准 (FIPS) 第 140-2 版》

我们强烈建议您切勿将机密信息或敏感信息(例如您客户的电子邮件地址)放入标签或自由格式字段(例如名称字段)。这包括使用控制台、API、Amazon CLI 或 Amazon 开发工具包处理 Amazon EC2 或其他Amazon服务时。您在用于名称的标签或自由格式字段中输入的任何数据都可能会用于计费或诊断日志。如果您向外部服务器提供 URL,我们强烈建议您不要在 URL 中包含凭证信息来验证您对该服务器的请求。

Amazon EBS 数据安全

Amazon EBS 卷作为未格式化的原始块储存设备呈现。这些设备是在 EBS 基础设施上创建的逻辑设备;Amazon EBS 服务可确保在客户使用或重复使用之前,这些设备为逻辑空白(即,原始数据块被归零或包含加密伪随机数据)。

如果您有要求在使用后和/或使用前使用特定方法擦除所有数据的程序,例如 DoD 5220.22-M(美国《国家工业安全计划操作手册》)或 NIST 800-88(《存储介质清理指南》)中详细说明的程序,您可以在 Amazon EBS 上执行此操作。该数据块级活动将反映到 Amazon EBS 服务的底层存储介质中。

静态加密

EBS 卷

Amazon EBS 加密是适用于 EBS 卷和快照的加密解决方案。它使用 Amazon KMS keys。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon EBS 加密

实例存储卷

NVMe 实例存储卷上的数据是使用实例上的硬件模块中实施的 XTS-AES-256 密码加密的。用于加密写入本地连接的 NVMe 存储设备的数据的密钥是针对每个客户和每个卷的。密钥由硬件模块生成并且仅位于硬件模块内,Amazon 人员无法访问该模块。当实例停止或终止并且无法恢复时,将销毁所有加密密钥。无法禁用此加密,并且无法提供自己的加密密钥。

HDD 实例存储卷上的数据在 H1、D3 和 D3en 实例上使用 XTS-AES-256 和一次性密钥加密。

停止、休眠或终止实例时,实例存储卷中的每个存储数据块都会被重置。因此,无法通过另一实例的实例存储访问您的数据。

内存

以下实例上启用了内存加密:

  • 具有 Amazon Graviton 2 处理器,例如 M6g 实例。这些处理器支持始终在线的内存加密。加密密钥是在主机系统内安全生成的,不要离开主机系统,并在重新启动或关闭主机电源时销毁的。

  • 采用英特尔 Xeon 可扩展处理器 (Ice Lake) 的实例,例如 M6i 实例。这些处理器支持使用英特尔总内存加密 (TME) 的永远在线内存加密。

  • 使用第三代 AMD 处理器(米兰)的实例,例如 M6a 实例。这些处理器支持使用 AMD 透明单个密钥内存加密 (TSME) 的始终在线内存加密。

传输中加密

物理层加密

所有在Amazon全球网络上跨Amazon区域流动的数据在离开Amazon保护的设施之前都会在物理层自动加密。可用区之间的所有流量均已加密。其他加密层(包括本节中列出的加密层)可能会提供额外保护。

Amazon VPC 和 Transit Gateway 跨区域对等连接提供的加密

使用 Amazon VPC 和 Transit Gateway 对等连接的所有跨区域流量在退出区域时都会自动批量加密。如本节之前所述,在物理层为所有跨区域流量自动提供一层额外加密层。

实例之间的加密

Amazon在所有类型的 EC2 实例之间提供安全的私有连接。此外,某些实例类型使用底层 Nitro系统硬件的分载功能,使用带 256 位加密的 AEAD 算法,自动加密实例之间的传输中流量。这对网络性能没有影响。要在实例之间支持这种额外的传输中流量加密,必须满足以下要求:

  • 使用以下实例类型:

    • 通用型:M5dn | M5n | M5zn | M6a | M6i | M6id

    • 计算优化型:C5a | C5ad | C5n | C6a | C6gn | C6i | C6id |

    • 内存优化型:R5dn | R5n | R6i | R6id | 内存强化型(u-*)、仅虚拟化 | X2idn | X2iedn | X2iezn

    • 存储优化型:D3 | D3en | I3en | I4i

    • 加速计算型:G4ad | G4dn | G5 | Inf1 | P3dn | P4d

  • 这些实例位于同一区域。

  • 这些实例位于相同 VPC 或对等的 VPC 中,并且流量不会通过虚拟网络设备或服务(如负载均衡器或中转网关)传输。

如本节之前所述,所有跨区域流量在离开Amazon保护的设施之前均会在物理层自动提供一层额外加密层。

使用 Amazon CLI 查看加密实例之间传输中流量的实例类型

使用以下 describe-instance-types 命令。

aws ec2 describe-instance-types \ --filters Name=network-info.encryption-in-transit-supported,Values=true \ --query "InstanceTypes[*].[InstanceType]" --output text | sort

往返于 Amazon Outposts 的加密

Outpost 会创建名为 service links(服务链接)的特殊网络连接到其 Amazon 主区域,并且可以选择创建私有连接到您指定的 VPC 子网。通过这些连接的所有流量都完全加密。有关更多信息,请参阅 。通过服务链路进行连接传输中加密中的Amazon Outposts用户指南.

远程访问加密

SSH 直接或通过 EC2 Instance Connect 提供了用于远程访问 Linux 实例的安全通信通道。使用 Amazon Systems Manager 会话管理器或 Run Command 对实例的远程访问是使用 TLS 1.2 加密的,创建连接的请求是使用 SigV4 签名的,且由 Amazon Identity and Access Management 进行身份验证并授权。

使用传输层安全性 (TLS) 等加密协议加密在客户端和 Amazon EC2 实例之间传输的敏感数据是您的责任。