Host maintenance - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Host maintenance

With host maintenance, your Amazon EC2 instances on the degraded Dedicated Host are automatically rebooted on a replacement Dedicated Host during a scheduled maintenance event. This helps reduce application downtime and offloads the undifferentiated heavy-lift of maintenance to Amazon. Host maintenance is also performed for planned and routine Amazon EC2 maintenance.

Host maintenance is supported on all new Dedicated Host allocations made through Amazon EC2 console. For any Dedicated Host in your Amazon Web Services account or any new Dedicated Host allocated through AllocateHosts API, you can configure host maintenance for supported Dedicated Hosts. For more information, see Configuring host maintenance.

Host maintenance basics

When degradation is detected on a Dedicated Host, a new Dedicated Host is allocated. Degradation can be caused by degradation of the underlying hardware or detection of certain problematic conditions. Your instances on the degraded Dedicated Host are scheduled to be automatically rebooted on the replacement Dedicated Host.

The replacement Dedicated Host receives a new host ID, but retains the same attributes as the original Dedicated Host. These attributes include the following.

  • Auto placement settings

  • Availability Zone

  • Reservation

  • Host affinity

  • Host maintenance settings

  • Host recovery settings

  • Instance type

  • Tags

Host maintenance is available in all Amazon Web Services Regions for all supported Dedicated Hosts. For more information about Dedicated Hosts where host maintenance is not supported, see Limitations.

Your degraded Dedicated Host is released after all of your instances have been rebooted to a new Dedicated Host or stopped. You can access your instances on the degraded Dedicated Host before the scheduled maintenance event, but launching instances on the degraded Dedicated Host is not supported.

You can use the replacement Dedicated Host to launch new instances on the host before the scheduled maintenance event. However, some instance capacity on the replacement host is reserved for the instances that must be migrated from the degraded host. You can't launch new instances into this reserved capacity. For more information, see Instances on Dedicated Host.

Limitations

  • Host maintenance is not supported in Amazon Outposts, Amazon Local Zones, and Amazon Wavelength Zones.

  • Host maintenance cannot be turned on or off for hosts already within a host resource group. Hosts added to a host resource group retain their host maintenance setting. For more information, see Host resource groups.

  • Host maintenance is only supported on specific instance types. For more information, see Supported instance types.

Host maintenance versus host recovery

The following table shows the main differences between host recovery and host maintenance.

Host recovery Host maintenance
Accessibility Unreachable Reachable
State under-assessment permanent-failure
Action Recovery is immediate Maintenance is scheduled
Scheduling flexibility Cannot be rescheduled Can be rescheduled
Host Resource Group Supported Not supported

For more information about host recovery, see Host recovery.

Supported instance types

Host maintenance is supported for the following instance families:

  • General purpose: A1 | M4 | M5 | M5a | M5n | M5zn | M6a | M6g | M6i | M6in | M7a | M7g | M7i | T3

  • Compute optimized: C4 | C5 | C5a | C5n | C6a | C6g | C6gn | C6i | C6in | C7g | C7gn | C7i

  • Memory optimized: R4 | R5 | R5a | R5b | R5n | R6a | R6g | R6i | R6in | R7a | R7g | R7iz | u-12tb1 | u-18tb1 | u-24tb1 | u-3tb1 | u-6tb1 | u-9tb1 | X2iezn

  • Accelerated computing: G3 | G5g | Inf1 | P2 | P3

Instances on Dedicated Host

Amazon EC2 automatically reserves capacity on the replacement host for the instances that will be automatically migrated from the degraded host. Amazon EC2 does not reserve capacity on the replacement host for instances that can't be automatically migrated, such as instances with instance store root volumes. The reserved capacity can't be used to launch new instances.

Note

The Amazon EC2 console shows the reserved capacity as used capacity. It could appear that the instances are running on both the degraded host and the replacement host. However, the instances will continue to run only on the degraded host until they are stopped or they are migrated into the reserved capacity on the replacement host.

If you manually stop an instance on the degraded host that can be automatically migrated, the capacity that was reserved for that instance on the replacement host is released and becomes available for use.

During the scheduled maintenance event, the instances on the degraded host are rebooted and migrated into the reserved capacity on the replacement Dedicated Host. The migrated instances retain the same attributes as the ones on your degraded host, including the following.

  • Amazon EBS volume attachments

  • Elastic IP addresses

  • Instance ID

  • Instance metadata

  • Private IP address

You can stop and start an instance on the degraded host at any point before the scheduled maintenance event is initiated. Doing this reboots your instance on to another host, and your instance won't undergo scheduled maintenance. You must update your instance's host affinity to the new host where you want to reboot your instance. If you stop all instances on the degraded host before the maintenance event is initiated, the degraded host is released and the maintenance event is canceled. For more information, see Stop and start Amazon EC2 instances.

Note

The data on any local store volume is not preserved when you stop and start your instance.

Instances with an instance store volume as the root device are terminated after the specified termination date. Any data on the instance store volumes is deleted when the instances are terminated. Terminated instances are permanently deleted, and cannot be started again. For instances with instance store volumes as the root device, we recommend launching replacement instances on a different Dedicated Host using the most recent Amazon Machine Image, and migrating all available data to the replacement instances before the specified termination date. For more information, see Actions to take for instance retirement.

Instances that cannot be rebooted automatically are stopped after the specified date. You can start these instances again on a different host. Instances using an Amazon EBS volume as a root device continue to use the same Amazon EBS volume after being started on a new host.

You can set the order of instance reboot by rescheduling the start time of an instance reboot in https://console.amazonaws.cn/ec2/.

Configuring host maintenance

You can configure host maintenance for all supported Dedicated Hosts via Amazon Web Services Management Console or Amazon CLI. See the following table for more details.

Amazon Web Services Management Console
To enable host maintenance for your Dedicated Host using Amazon Web Services Management Console.
  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Dedicated Hosts.

  3. Select the Dedicated Host > Actions > Modify host.

  4. Select on in the Host maintenance field.

To disable host maintenance for your Dedicated Host using Amazon Web Services Management Console.
  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Dedicated Hosts.

  3. Select the Dedicated Host > Actions > Modify host.

  4. Select off in the Host maintenance field.

To view the host maintenance configuration for your Dedicated Host using Amazon Web Services Management Console.
  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Dedicated Hosts.

  3. Select the Dedicated Host, and in the Description tab, review the Host maintenance field.

Amazon CLI
To enable or disable host maintenance for your new Dedicated Host during allocation using Amazon CLI.

Use the allocate-hosts command.

Enable

aws ec2 allocate-hosts --region us-east-1 --quantity 1 --instance-type m3.large --availability-zone us-east-1b --host-maintenance on

Disable

aws ec2 allocate-hosts --region us-east-1 --quantity 1 --instance-type m3.large --availability-zone us-east-1b --host-maintenance off
To enable or disable host maintenance for your existing Dedicated Host using Amazon CLI.

Use the modify-hosts command.

Enable

aws ec2 modify-hosts --region us-east-1 --host-maintenance on --host-ids h-0d123456bbf78910d

Disable

aws ec2 modify-hosts --region us-east-1 --host-maintenance off --host-ids h-0d123456bbf78910d
To view the host maintenance configuration for your Dedicated Host using Amazon CLI.

Use the describe-hosts command.

aws ec2 describe-hosts --region us-east-1 --host-ids h-0d123456bbf78910d
Note

If you disable host maintenance, you receive an email notification to evict the degraded host and manually migrate your instances to another host within 28 days. A replacement host is allocated if you have Dedicated Host reservation. After 28 days, the instances running on the degraded host are terminated, and the host is released automatically.

Maintenance event

On detection of degradation, a maintenance event is scheduled 14 days later, to reboot your instances on a new Dedicated Host. You receive an email notification providing details about the degraded host, scheduled maintenance event, and maintenance time slots. For more information, see View scheduled events.

You can reschedule the maintenance event for any day up to seven days after the date of the scheduled event. For more information about rescheduling, see Reschedule a scheduled event.

The maintenance event usually takes a few minutes to complete. In the rare case of unsuccessful event, you receive an email notification to evict the instances on the degraded host within a specified time frame.

Host maintenance states

Your Dedicated Host is set to permanent-failure state when degradation is detected. You cannot launch instances on a Dedicated Host in the state of permanent-failure. On completion of maintenance event, the degraded host is released and put in the state of released, permanent-failure.

After detecting degradation on a Dedicated Host and before scheduling a maintenance event, host maintenance automatically allocates a replacement Dedicated Host in your account. This replacement host stays in a pending state until a maintenance event is scheduled. After the maintenance event is scheduled, the replacement Dedicated Host moves to the available state.

You can use the replacement Dedicated Host to launch new instances on the host before the scheduled maintenance event. However, some instance capacity on the replacement host is reserved for the instances that must be migrated from the degraded host. You can't launch new instances into this reserved capacity. For more information, see Instances on Dedicated Host.

Dedicated Host integrates with Amazon License Manager—Tracks licenses across your Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts (supported only in Regions in which Amazon License Manager is available). For more information, see the Amazon License Manager User Guide.

You must have sufficient licenses in your Amazon Web Services account for your new Dedicated Host. The licenses associated with your degraded host are released when the host is released after the completion of the scheduled maintenance event.

Pricing

There are no additional charges for using host maintenance, but the usual Dedicated Host charges apply. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Dedicated Hosts Pricing.

As soon as host maintenance is initiated, you are no longer billed for the degraded Dedicated Host. Billing for the replacement Dedicated Host begins only after it enters the available state.

If the degraded Dedicated Host was billed using the On-Demand rate, the replacement Dedicated Host is also billed using the On-Demand rate. If the degraded Dedicated Host had an active Dedicated Host Reservation, it is transferred to the new Dedicated Host.

主机维护 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

主机维护

启用主机维护后,降级专属主机上的 Amazon EC2 实例会在计划维护事件期间,在替换的专属主机上自动重启。这有助于减少应用程序停机时间,并将千篇一律的繁重维护工作分载到 Amazon。此外,还会针对计划内和例行的 Amazon EC2 维护,执行主机维护。

所有通过 Amazon EC2 控制台新分配的专属主机均支持主机维护。对于 Amazon Web Services 账户 中的任何专属主机或通过 AllocateHosts API 分配的任何新专属主机,您可以为受支持的专属主机配置主机维护。有关更多信息,请参阅配置主机维护

主机维护基础知识

当在专属主机上检测到降级时,会分配新的专属主机。基础硬件降级或检测到具有特定问题的条件可能会导致降级。降级专属主机上的实例将会被纳入计划,在替换的专属主机上自动重启。

替换专属主机将接收新的主机 ID,但会保留与原始专属主机相同的属性。属性包括以下内容。

  • 自动置放设置

  • 可用区

  • 预留

  • 主机关联

  • 主机维护设置

  • 主机恢复设置

  • 实例类型

  • 标签

对于所有受支持的专属主机,可以在所有 Amazon Web Services 区域 中进行主机维护。有关不支持主机维护的专属主机的更多信息,请参阅 限制

所有实例重启到新专属主机或停止后,会释放降级专属主机。您可以在计划维护事件之前访问降级专属主机上的实例,但不支持在降级专属主机上启动实例。

在计划维护事件之前,您可以使用替换的专属主机,在该主机上启动新实例。但是,替换的主机上预留了一些实例容量,供必须从降级主机迁移的实例使用。您无法利用这些预留容量启动新实例。有关更多信息,请参阅专属主机上的实例

限制

  • Amazon Outposts、Amazon Local Zone 和 Amazon Wavelength Zone 不支持主机维护。

  • 无法为主机资源组中已有的主机开启或关闭主机维护。添加到主机资源组的主机保留其主机维护设置。有关更多信息,请参阅主机资源组

  • 仅特定实例类型支持主机维护。有关更多信息,请参阅支持的实例类型

主机维护与主机恢复

下表显示了主机恢复与主机维护之间的主要区别。

主机恢复 主机维护
可访问性 无法访问 可以访问
省/自治区/直辖市 under-assessment permanent-failure
操作 恢复将立即进行 维护将按计划进行
计划灵活性 无法重新计划 可以重新计划
主机资源组 支持 不支持

有关主机恢复的更多信息,请参阅主机恢复

支持的实例类型

以下实例系列支持主机维护:

  • 通用型:A1 | M4 | M5 | M5a | M5n | M5zn | M6a | M6g | M6i | M6in | M7a | M7g | M7i | T3

  • 计算优化型:C4 |C5 |C5a |C5n |C6a |C6g |C6gn |C6i |C6in |C7g |C7gn |C7i

  • 内存优化型:R4 | R5 | R5a | R5b | R5n | R6a | R6g | R6i | R6in | R7a | R7g | R7iz | u-12tb1 | u-18tb1 | u-24tb1 | u-3tb1 | u-6tb1 | u-9tb1 | X2iezn

  • 加速计算:G3 |G5g |Inf1 |P2 |P3

专属主机上的实例

Amazon EC2 会自动在替换主机上为将从降级主机中自动迁移的实例预留容量。Amazon EC2 不会在替换主机上为无法自动迁移的实例(例如具有实例存储根卷的实例)预留容量。预留容量无法用于启动新实例。

注意

Amazon EC2 控制台会将预留容量显示为已用容量。可能会出现实例同时在降级主机和替换主机上运行的情况。但是,这些实例在降级主机上继续运行的时间仅截止到它们停止运行,或迁移到替换主机的预留容量中。

如果您手动停止降级主机上可以自动迁移的实例,则替换主机上为该实例预留的容量将被释放并可供使用。

在计划的维护事件中,降级主机上的实例会重新启动,并迁移到替换专属主机上的预留容量中。迁移的实例会保留与降级主机上的实例相同的属性,包括以下所列。

  • Amazon EBS 卷附加

  • 弹性 IP 地址

  • 实例 ID

  • 实例元数据

  • 私有 IP 地址

计划维护事件启动之前,您可以随时停止和启动降级主机上的实例。这将在另一台主机上重启实例,并且不会定期维护实例。您必须将实例的主机关联更新到要重启实例的新主机。如果在维护事件启动之前,您停止了降级主机上的所有实例,则会释放降级主机并取消维护事件。有关更多信息,请参阅停止和启动您的实例

注意

停止和启动实例后,不会保留任何本地存储卷上的数据。

实例存储卷作为根设备的实例会在指定终止日期后终止。实例终止后,实例存储卷上的所有数据均会删除。已终止实例将永久删除,无法再次启动。对于以实例存储卷作为根设备的实例,建议使用最新的 Amazon Machine Image 在不同的专属主机上启动替换实例,并在指定终止日期之前将所有可用数据迁移到替换实例。有关更多信息,请参阅实例停用

无法自动重启的实例将在指定日期后停止。您可以在其他主机上将其再次启动。以 Amazon EBS 卷作为根设备的实例在新主机上启动后,将继续使用相同的 Amazon EBS 卷。

您可以通过在 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/ 中重新计划实例重启的开始时间,来设置实例重启顺序

配置主机维护

您可以通过 Amazon Web Services Management Console 或 Amazon CLI 为所有支持的专属主机配置主机维护。有关更多信息,请参阅下表。

Amazon Web Services Management Console
使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console 为专属主机启用主机维护。
  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择专用主机

  3. 依次选择专属主机 > 操作 > 修改主机

  4. 主机维护字段中选择启用

使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console 为专属主机禁用主机维护。
  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择专用主机

  3. 依次选择专属主机 > 操作 > 修改主机

  4. 主机维护字段中选择关闭

使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console 查看专属主机的主机恢复配置。
  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择专用主机

  3. 选择专属主机,然后在描述选项卡中查看主机维护字段。

Amazon CLI
在分配期间使用 Amazon CLI 为新专属主机启用或禁用主机维护。

使用 allocate-hosts 命令。

启用

aws ec2 allocate-hosts --region us-east-1 --quantity 1 --instance-type m3.large --availability-zone us-east-1b --host-maintenance on

禁用

aws ec2 allocate-hosts --region us-east-1 --quantity 1 --instance-type m3.large --availability-zone us-east-1b --host-maintenance off
使用 Amazon CLI 为现有专属主机启用或禁用主机维护。

使用 modify-hosts 命令。

启用

aws ec2 modify-hosts --region us-east-1 --host-maintenance on --host-ids h-0d123456bbf78910d

禁用

aws ec2 modify-hosts --region us-east-1 --host-maintenance off --host-ids h-0d123456bbf78910d
使用 Amazon CLI 查看专属主机的主机恢复配置。

可以使用 describe-hosts 命令。

aws ec2 describe-hosts --region us-east-1 --host-ids h-0d123456bbf78910d
注意

如果禁用主机维护,您会收到一封电子邮件通知,要求在 28 天内驱逐降级主机并将实例手动迁移到另一台主机。如果您有专属主机预留,则会分配替换主机。28 天后,降级主机上运行的实例将终止,主机会自动释放。

维护事件

检测到降级后,将在 14 天后安排维护事件,以在新专属主机上重启实例。您将收到一封电子邮件通知,其中包含有关降级主机、计划维护事件和维护时段的详细信息。有关更多信息,请参阅查看计划事件

您可以将维护事件重新计划到计划日期后一周内的任何一天。有关重新计划的更多信息,请参阅重新计划计划事件

维护事件通常需要几分钟才能完成。在极少数失败的情况下,您会收到一封电子邮件通知,要求在指定时间范围内驱逐降级主机上的实例。

主机维护状态

检测到降级后,专属主机将设置为 permanent-failure 状态。专属主机处于 permanent-failure 状态时,无法启动实例。维护事件完成后,降级主机将释放并置于 released, permanent-failure 状态。

检测到专属主机降级之后,在计划维护事件启动之前,主机维护会自动在账户中分配替换的专属主机。在计划维护事件启动之前,替换的主机将处于 pending 状态。在计划的维护事件结束之后,替换的专属主机将转换为 available 状态。

在计划维护事件之前,您可以使用替换的专属主机,在该主机上启动新实例。但是,替换的主机上预留了一些实例容量,供必须从降级主机迁移的实例使用。您无法利用这些预留容量启动新实例。有关更多信息,请参阅专属主机上的实例

专属主机与Amazon License Manager 集成 – 跨 Amazon EC2 专属主机跟踪许可证(仅在提供 Amazon License Manager 的区域支持跟踪)。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon License Manager 用户指南

Amazon Web Services 账户 必须具备足够许可证才能使用新专属主机。计划维护事件完成后会释放主机,此时将发放与降级主机关联的许可证。

定价

使用主机维护不会产生额外费用,但会收取正常的专属主机费用。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 专用主机定价

启动主机维护后,不再对降级专属主机计费。仅在进入 available 状态后,才会开始对替换专属主机计费。

如果降级的专属主机使用按需费率计费,则替换的专属主机也将用按需费率计费。如果降级专属主机具有有效专属主机预留,则会将其转移到新专属主机。