Use EBS direct APIs to access the contents of an EBS snapshot - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Use EBS direct APIs to access the contents of an EBS snapshot

You can use the Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) direct APIs to create EBS snapshots, write data directly to your snapshots, read data on your snapshots, and identify the differences or changes between two snapshots. If you’re an independent software vendor (ISV) who offers backup services for Amazon EBS, the EBS direct APIs make it more efficient and cost-effective to track incremental changes on your EBS volumes through snapshots. This can be done without having to create new volumes from snapshots, and then use Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances to compare the differences.

You can create incremental snapshots directly from data on-premises into EBS volumes and the cloud to use for quick disaster recovery. With the ability to write and read snapshots, you can write your on-premises data to an EBS snapshot during a disaster. Then after recovery, you can restore it back to Amazon or on-premises from the snapshot. You no longer need to build and maintain complex mechanisms to copy data to and from Amazon EBS.

This user guide provides an overview of the elements that make up the EBS direct APIs, and examples of how to use them effectively. For more information about the actions, data types, parameters, and errors of the APIs, see the EBS direct APIs reference. For more information about the supported Amazon Regions, endpoints, and service quotas for the EBS direct APIs, see Amazon EBS Endpoints and Quotas in the Amazon General Reference.

Understand the EBS direct APIs

The following are the key elements that you should understand before getting started with the EBS direct APIs.

Snapshots

Snapshots are the primary means to back up data from your EBS volumes. With the EBS direct APIs, you can also back up data from your on-premises disks to snapshots. To save storage costs, successive snapshots are incremental, containing only the volume data that changed since the previous snapshot. For more information, see Amazon EBS snapshots.

Note

Public snapshots are not supported by the EBS direct APIs.

Blocks

A block is a fragment of data within a snapshot. Each snapshot can contain thousands of blocks. All blocks in a snapshot are of a fixed size.

Block indexes

A block index is the offset position of a block within a snapshot, and it is used to identify the block. Multiply the BlockIndex value with the BlockSize value (BlockIndex * BlockSize) to identify the logical offset of the data in the logical volume.

Block tokens

A block token is the identifying hash of a block within a snapshot, and it is used to locate the block data. Block tokens returned by EBS direct APIs are temporary. They change on the expiry timestamp specified for them, or if you run another ListSnapshotBlocks or ListChangedBlocks request for the same snapshot.

Checksum

A checksum is a small-sized datum derived from a block of data for the purpose of detecting errors that were introduced during its transmission or storage. The EBS direct APIs use checksums to validate data integrity. When you read data from an EBS snapshot, the service provides Base64-encoded SHA256 checksums for each block of data transmitted, which you can use for validation. When you write data to an EBS snapshot, you must provide a Base64 encoded SHA256 checksum for each block of data transmitted. The service validates the data received using the checksum provided. For more information, see Use checksums later in this guide.

Encryption

Encryption protects your data by converting it into unreadable code that can be deciphered only by people who have access to the KMS key used to encrypt it. You can use the EBS direct APIs to read and write encrypted snapshots, but there are some limitations. For more information, see Use encryption later in this guide.

API actions

The EBS direct APIs consists of six actions. There are three read actions and three write actions. The read actions are:

  • ListSnapshotBlocks — returns the block indexes and block tokens of blocks in the specified snapshot

  • ListChangedBlocks — returns the block indexes and block tokens of blocks that are different between two specified snapshots of the same volume and snapshot lineage.

  • GetSnapshotBlock — returns the data in a block for the specified snapshot ID, block index, and block token.

The write actions are:

  • StartSnapshot — starts a snapshot, either as an incremental snapshot of an existing one or as a new snapshot. The started snapshot remains in a pending state until it is completed using the CompleteSnapshot action.

  • PutSnapshotBlock — adds data to a started snapshot in the form of individual blocks. You must specify a Base64-encoded SHA256 checksum for the block of data transmitted. The service validates the checksum after the transmission is completed. The request fails if the checksum computed by the service doesn’t match what you specified.

  • CompleteSnapshot — completes a started snapshot that is in a pending state. The snapshot is then changed to a completed state.

Pricing for EBS direct APIs

Pricing for APIs

The price that you pay to use the EBS direct APIs depends on the requests you make. For more information, see Amazon EBS pricing.

  • ListChangedBlocks and ListSnapshotBlocks APIs are charged per request. For example, if you make 100,000 ListSnapshotBlocks API requests in a Region that charges $0.0006 per 1,000 requests, you will be charged $0.06 ($0.0006 per 1,000 requests x 100).

  • GetSnapshotBlock is charged per block returned. For example, if you make 100,000 GetSnapshotBlock API requests in a Region that charges $0.003 per 1,000 blocks returned, you will be charged $0.30 ($0.003 per 1,000 blocks retruned x 100).

  • PutSnapshotBlock is charged per block written. For example, if you make 100,000 PutSnapshotBlock API requests in a Region that charges $0.006 per 1,000 blocks written, you will be charged $0.60 ($0.006 per 1,000 blocks written x 100).

Networking costs

Data transfer costs

Data transferred directly between EBS direct APIs and Amazon EC2 instances in the same Amazon Region is free when using non-FIPS endpoints. For more information, see Amazon service endpoints. If other Amazon services are in the path of your data transfer, you will be charged their associated data processing costs. These services include, but are not limited to, PrivateLink endpoints, NAT Gateway and Transit Gateway.

VPC interface endpoints

If you are using EBS direct APIs from Amazon EC2 instances or Amazon Lambda functions in private subnets, you can use VPC interface endpoints, instead of using NAT gateways, to reduce network data transfer costs. For more information, see Using interface VPC endpoints with EBS direct APIs.

使用 EBS direct API 访问 EBS 快照的内容 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

使用 EBS direct API 访问 EBS 快照的内容

您可以使用 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 直接 API 创建 EBS 快照,将数据直接写入快照,读取快照上的数据,并标识两个快照之间的差异或发生的更改。如果您是为 Amazon EBS 提供备份服务的独立软件供应商 (ISV),则利用 EBS direct API,可以更高效、更具成本效益地通过快照跟踪 EBS 卷上的增量更改。无需从快照创建新卷,然后使用 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例来比较差异,即可完成此操作。

您可以从本地数据直接创建增量快照到 EBS 卷和云中,以用于快速灾难恢复。通过写入和读取快照的功能,您可以在发生灾难时将本地数据写入 EBS 快照。然后在灾难恢复后,您可以将其从快照恢复到 Amazon 或本地。您不再需要构建和维护复杂的机制来将数据复制到 Amazon EBS 或从中复制数据。

本用户指南概述了构成 EBS direct API 的元素,并提供了如何有效使用这些元素的示例。有关 API 的操作、数据类型、参数和错误的更多信息,请参阅 EBS direct API 参考。有关支持的 Amazon 区域、终端节点以及 EBS 直接 API 的服务配额的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon General Reference 中的 Amazon EBS 终端节点和配额

了解 EBS direct API

下面是您在开始使用 EBS direct API 前应了解的关键元素。

快照

快照是备份 EBS 卷中的数据的主要方式。使用 EBS direct API,您还可以将数据从本地磁盘备份到快照。为节省存储成本,连续快照为增量快照,只包含自上一个快照以来更改的卷数据。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon EBS 快照

注意

EBS direct API 不支持公有快照。

数据块

数据块是快照中的数据片段。每个快照可以包含数千个数据块。快照中的所有数据块都具有固定大小。

数据块索引

数据块索引是以 512 KiB 数据块为单位的逻辑索引。若要确定数据块索引,请用逻辑卷中数据的逻辑偏移量除以数据块大小(数据的逻辑偏移量/524288)。数据的逻辑偏移量必须与 512 KiB 一致。

数据块令牌

数据块令牌是快照中的数据块的标识哈希,它用于查找数据块数据。EBS direct API 返回的数据块令牌是临时的。它们根据为其指定的到期时间戳发生更改,或者在您为同一个快照运行 ListSnapshotBlocks 或 ListChangedBlocks 请求时发生更改。

校验和

校验和是从数据块中派生的大小很小的基准值,用于检测其传输或存储过程中引入的错误。EBS direct API 使用校验和验证数据完整性。从 EBS 快照读取数据时,该服务会为传输的每个数据块提供 Base64 编码的 SHA256 校验和,您可以使用这些校验和进行验证。向 EBS 快照写入数据时,您必须为传输的每个数据块提供一个 Base64 编码的 SHA256 校验和。服务使用提供的校验和验证接收的数据。有关更多信息,请参阅本指南下文中的使用校验和

加密

通过加密,您的数据将转换为无法读取的代码,只能由有权访问加密数据所用 KMS 密钥 的人员破译这些代码,从而为数据提供保护。您可以使用 EBS direct API 读取和写入加密快照,但存在一些限制。有关更多信息,请参阅本指南下文中的使用加密

API 操作

EBS direct API 由六个操作组成。包含三个读取操作和三个写入操作。读取操作包括:

  • ListSnapshotBlocks — 返回指定快照中数据块的数据块索引和数据块令牌。

  • ListChangedBlocks — 返回同一卷和快照谱系的两个指定快照之间,存在不同的数据块的数据块索引和数据块令牌。

  • GetSnapshotBlock — 返回指定快照 ID、数据块索引和数据块令牌的数据块中的数据。

写入操作包括:

  • StartSnapshot — 开始拍照,可以是现有快照的增量快照,或者全新的快照。已开始快照会停留在“待处理”状态,直到通过使用 CompleteSnapshot 操作将其完成。

  • PutSnapshotBlock — 将数据以单个数据块的形式添加到已开始快照中。您必须为传输的数据块指定一个 Base64 编码的 SHA256 校验和。该服务会在传输完成以后验证校验和。若该服务计算的校验和与您指定值的不匹配,请求将会失败。

  • CompleteSnapshot — 完成一个处于“待处理”状态的已开始快照。然后,该快照的状态会更改为“已完成”。

EBS 直接 API 的定价

API 的定价

您为使用 EBS direct API 支付的费用取决于您发出的请求数。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EBS 定价

  • ListChangedBlocks 和 ListSnapshotBlocks API 按每个请求收费。例如,如果您在每 1000 个请求收取 0.0006 USD 的区域发出 100,000 个 ListSnapshotBlocks API 请求,则将向您收取 0.06 USD(每 1000 个请求 0.0006 USD x 100)的费用。

  • GetSnapshotBlock 按返回的每个数据块收费。例如,如果您在针对每 1,000 个返回的数据块收取 0.003 USD 的区域发出 100,000 个 GetSnapshotBlock API 请求,则将向您收取 0.30 USD(每 1000 个返回的数据块 0.003 USD x 100)的费用。

  • PutSnapshotBlock 按每个写入的数据块收费。例如,如果您在针对每 1,000 个写入的数据块收取 0.006 USD 的区域发出 100,000 个 PutSnapshotBlock API 请求,则将向您收取 0.60 USD(每 1000 个写入的数据块 0.006 USD x 100)的费用。

联网成本

数据传输成本

当使用非 FIPS 终端节点时,在相同 Amazon 区域的 EBS 直接 API 与 Amazon EC2 实例之间直接传输数据是免费的。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon服务终端节点。如果其他 Amazon 服务处于您的数据传输路径中,将向您收取相关的数据处理费用。这些服务包括但不限于 PrivateLink 终端节点、NAT 网关和 Transit Gateway。

VPC 接口终端节点

如果您在私有子网中使用来自 Amazon EC2 实例的 EBS 直接 API 或 Amazon Lambda 函数,您可以使用 VPC 接口终端节点而不是使用 NAT 网关来降低网络数据传输成本。有关更多信息,请参阅将接口 VPC 终端节点与 EBS 直接 API 结合使用