Create Amazon EBS snapshots - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Create Amazon EBS snapshots

You can create a point-in-time snapshot of an EBS volume and use it as a baseline for new volumes or for data backup. If you make periodic snapshots of a volume, the snapshots are incremental—the new snapshot saves only the blocks that have changed since your last snapshot.

Snapshots occur asynchronously; the point-in-time snapshot is created immediately, but the status of the snapshot is pending until the snapshot is complete (when all of the modified blocks have been transferred to Amazon S3), which can take several hours for large initial snapshots or subsequent snapshots where many blocks have changed. While it is completing, an in-progress snapshot is not affected by ongoing reads and writes to the volume.

You can take a snapshot of an attached volume that is in use. However, snapshots only capture data that has been written to your Amazon EBS volume at the time the snapshot command is issued. This might exclude any data that has been cached by any applications or the operating system. If you can pause any file writes to the volume long enough to take a snapshot, your snapshot should be complete. However, if you can't pause all file writes to the volume, you should unmount the volume from within the instance, issue the snapshot command, and then remount the volume to ensure a consistent and complete snapshot. You can remount and use your volume while the snapshot status is pending.

To make snapshot management easier, you can tag your snapshots during creation or add tags afterward. For example, you can apply tags describing the original volume from which the snapshot was created, or the device name that was used to attach the original volume to an instance. For more information, see Tag your Amazon EC2 resources.

Snapshot encryption

Snapshots that are taken from encrypted volumes are automatically encrypted. Volumes that are created from encrypted snapshots are also automatically encrypted. The data in your encrypted volumes and any associated snapshots is protected both at rest and in motion. For more information, see Amazon EBS encryption.

By default, only you can create volumes from snapshots that you own. However, you can share your unencrypted snapshots with specific Amazon accounts, or you can share them with the entire Amazon community by making them public. For more information, see Share an Amazon EBS snapshot.

You can share an encrypted snapshot only with specific Amazon accounts. For others to use your shared, encrypted snapshot, you must also share the CMK key that was used to encrypt it. Users with access to your encrypted snapshot must create their own personal copy of it and then use that copy. Your copy of a shared, encrypted snapshot can also be re-encrypted using a different key. For more information, see Share an Amazon EBS snapshot.

Multi-volume snapshots

You can create multi-volume snapshots, which are point-in-time snapshots for all, or some, of the volumes attached to an instance.

By default, when you create multi-volume snapshots from an instance, Amazon EBS creates snapshots of all the volumes (root and data (non-root)) that are attached to the instance. However, you can choose to create snapshots of a subset of the volumes that are attached to the instance.

You can tag your multi-volume snapshots as you would a single volume snapshot. We recommend you tag your multiple volume snapshots to manage them collectively during restore, copy, or retention. You can also choose to automatically copy tags from the source volume to the corresponding snapshots. This helps you to set the snapshot metadata, such as access policies, attachment information, and cost allocation, to match the source volume.

After the snapshots are created, each snapshot is treated as an individual snapshot. You can perform all snapshot operations, such as restore, delete, and copy across Regions or accounts, just as you would with a single volume snapshot.

Multi-volume, crash-consistent snapshots are typically restored as a set. It is helpful to identify the snapshots that are in a crash-consistent set by tagging your set with the instance ID, name, or other relevant details.

After creating your snapshots, they appear in your EC2 console created at the exact point-in-time.

If any one snapshot for the multi-volume snapshot set fails, all of the other snapshots display an error status and a createSnapshots CloudWatch event with a result of failed is sent to your Amazon account. For more information, see Create snapshots (createSnapshots).

Amazon Data Lifecycle Manager

You can create snapshot lifecycle policies to automate the creation and retention of snapshots of individual volumes and multi-volume snapshots of instances. For more information, see Amazon Data Lifecycle Manager.

Considerations

The following considerations apply to creating snapshots:

  • When you create a snapshot for an EBS volume that serves as a root device, you should stop the instance before taking the snapshot.

  • You cannot create snapshots from instances for which hibernation is enabled, or from hibernated instances. If you create a snapshot or AMI from an instance that is hibernated or has hibernation enabled, you might not be able to connect to a new instance that is launched from the AMI, or from an AMI that was created from the snapshot.

  • Although you can take a snapshot of a volume while a previous snapshot of that volume is in the pending status, having multiple pending snapshots of a volume can result in reduced volume performance until the snapshots complete.

  • There is a limit of one pending snapshot for a single st1 or sc1 volume, or five pending snapshots for a single volume of the other volume types. If you receive a ConcurrentSnapshotLimitExceeded error while trying to create multiple concurrent snapshots of the same volume, wait for one or more of the pending snapshots to complete before creating another snapshot of that volume.

  • When a snapshot is created from a volume with an Amazon Web Services Marketplace product code, the product code is propagated to the snapshot.

  • When creating multi-volume snapshot sets from instances, you can specify up to 40 data (non-root) volumes to exclude.

Create a snapshot

To create a snapshot from the specified volume, use one of the following methods.

Console

To create a snapshot using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Snapshots, Create snapshot.

  3. For Resource type, choose Volume.

  4. For Volume ID, select the volume from which to create the snapshot.

    The Encryption field indicates the selected volume's encryption status. If the selected volume is encrypted, the snapshot is automatically encrypted using the same KMS key. If the selected volume is unencrypted, the snapshot is not encrypted.

  5. (Optional) For Description, enter a brief description for the snapshot.

  6. (Optional) To assign custom tags to the snapshot, in the Tags section, choose Add tag, and then enter the key-value pair. You can add up to 50 tags.

  7. Choose Create snapshot.

Amazon CLI

To create a snapshot using the command line

You can use one of the following commands. For more information about these command line interfaces, see Access Amazon EC2.

Create a multi-volume snapshot

When you create a multi-volume snapshot set from an instance, you can choose whether to copy the tags from the source volume to the corresponding snapshot. You can specify whether to create a snapshot of the root volume. You can also specify whether to create snapshots of all the data (non-root) volumes that are attached to the instance, or whether to create snapshots of a subset of those volumes.

Considerations

  • Multi-volume snapshots support up to 40 EBS volumes for each instance.

To create a snapshot from the volumes of an instance, use one of the following methods.

Console

To create multi-volume snapshots using the console

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/ec2/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Snapshots, Create snapshot.

  3. For Resource type, choose Instance.

  4. For Description, enter a brief description for the snapshots. This description is applied to all of the snapshots.

  5. (Optional) By default, Amazon EBS creates a snapshot of the instance's root volume. If you do not want to create a snapshot of the instance's root volume, select Exclude root volume.

  6. (Optional) By default, Amazon EBS creates snapshots of all the data (non-root) volumes attached to the instance. If you want to create snapshots of a subset of the data (non-root) volumes attached to the instance, select Exclude specific data volumes. The Attached data volumes section lists all of the data volumes that are currently attached to the selected instance.

    In the Attached data volumes section, select the data volumes for which you do not want to create snapshots. Only the volumes that remain unselected will be included in the multi-volume snapshot set. You can exclude up to 40 volumes.

  7. (Optional) To automatically copy tags from the source volumes to the corresponding snapshots, for Copy tags from source volume, select Copy tags. This sets snapshot metadata—such as access policies, attachment information, and cost allocation—to match the source volume.

  8. (Optional) To assign additional custom tags to the snapshots, in the Tags section, choose Add tag, and then enter the key-value pair. You can add up to 50 tags.

  9. Choose Create snapshot.

    During snapshot creation, the snapshots are managed together. If one of the snapshots in the volume set fails, the other snapshots are moved to error status for the volume set. You can monitor the progress of your snapshots using CloudWatch Events. After the snapshot creation process completes, CloudWatch generates an event that contains the status and all of the relevant snapshot details for the affected instance.

Command line

Amazon CLI

To create multi-volume snapshots using the Amazon CLI, use the create-snapshots command.

If you do not want to create a snapshot of the root volume, for --instance-specification ExcludeBootVolume, specify true. If you do not want to create snapshots of all the data (non-root) volumes attached to the instance, for --instance-specification ExcludeDataVolumes, specify the IDs of the data volumes for which you do not want to create snapshots. You can specify up to 40 volumes to exclude.

Amazon Tools for Windows PowerShell

To create multi-volume snapshots using the Tools for Windows PowerShell, use the New-EC2SnapshotBatch command.

If you do not want to create a snapshot of the root volume, for -InstanceSpecification_ExcludeBootVolume, specify 1. If you do not want to create snapshots of all the data (non-root) volumes attached to the instance, for -InstanceSpecification_ExcludeDataVolumes, specify the IDs of the data volumes for which you do not want to create snapshots. You can specify up to 40 volumes to exclude.

If all of the snapshots complete successfully, a createSnapshots CloudWatch event with a result of succeeded is sent to your Amazon account. If any one snapshot for the multi-volume snapshot set fails, all of the other snapshots display an error status and a createSnapshots CloudWatch event with a result of failed is sent to your Amazon account. For more information, see Create snapshots (createSnapshots).

Work with EBS snapshots

You can copy snapshots, share snapshots, and create volumes from snapshots. For more information, see the following:

创建 Amazon EBS 快照 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

创建 Amazon EBS 快照

您可以创建 EBS 卷的时间点快照,并将其用作新卷的基准或用于数据备份。如果您定期为卷拍摄快照,则快照为增量快照,新快照上仅保存自上次快照后已更改的块。

快照是异步制作的;时间点快照是立即创建的,但在快照完成(当所有已修改数据块都已转移到 Amazon S3 时)之前,其状态为 pending,很多大型初始快照或后续快照(其中的数据块已更改)可能需要几个小时才能完成。执行期间,正在进行的快照不会受到同时发生的卷读写操作的影响。

您可以制作正在使用的已附加卷的快照。但是,快照只能捕获发出快照命令时已经写入您的 Amazon EBS 卷的数据。其中可能不包括已由任何应用程序或操作系统缓存的任何数据。如果您可以将该卷的所有文件写入暂停足够长的时间以制作快照,则快照应该是完整的。但是,如果您无法暂停该卷的所有文件写入,则应该从实例中卸载该卷、发出快照命令,然后重新安装该卷,以确保获得一致且完整的快照。当快照状态为 pending 时,您可以重新挂载并使用卷。

要简化快照的管理,您可以在创建期间为快照添加标签,也可在创建后添加。例如,您可以应用标记,描述该快照对应的原始卷,或描述用于将原始卷附加到实例上的设备名称。有关更多信息,请参阅标记 Amazon EC2 资源

快照加密

从加密卷制作的快照会自动加密。通过加密快照创建的卷也会自动加密。加密卷及所有关联快照中的数据在静态或传输过程中均受到保护。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon EBS 加密

默认情况下,只有您可以从您拥有的快照创建卷。但是,您可以将未加密的快照将共享给特定 Amazon 账户,还可通过将其设为公开来与整个 Amazon 社区共享。有关更多信息,请参阅共享 Amazon EBS 快照

您仅可以将加密快照共享给特定 Amazon 账户。要让其他账户使用您共享的加密快照,您还必须与其共享用于加密该快照的 CMK 密钥。获取了您的加密快照访问权限的用户必须先自行创建该快照的副本,然后使用该副本。还可以使用其他密钥重新加密您的共享加密快照的副本。有关更多信息,请参阅共享 Amazon EBS 快照

多卷快照

您可以创建多卷快照,这些快照是连接到某个 EC2 实例的所有 EBS 卷的时间点快照。您还可以创建生命周期策略以自动化多卷快照的创建和保留。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon Data Lifecycle Manager

创建快照后,每个快照将视为单个快照。您可以执行所有快照操作,如还原、删除和跨区域或账户复制,就像您使用单个卷快照执行的操作一样。您还可以标记多卷快照,就像您使用单个卷快照执行的操作一样。我们建议您标记多个卷快照以在还原、复制或保留操作期间集中管理它们。

多卷、崩溃一致性快照通常以集的形式进行还原。这有助于通过使用实例 ID、名称或其他相关详细信息标记您的集,以标识位于崩溃一致性快照集中的快照。还可以选择自动将标签从源卷复制到相应的快照。这将帮助您设置快照元数据(如访问策略、附件信息和成本分配)以匹配源卷。

创建快照后,它们会在确切的时间点创建时显示在您的 EC2 控制台中。

如果多卷快照集的任何一个快照失败,所有其他快照将显示错误状态,并将 createSnapshots CloudWatch 事件的 failed 结果发送到您的 Amazon 账户。有关更多信息,请参阅创建多个快照 (createSnapshots)

Amazon Data Lifecycle Manager

您可以手动创建、保留和删除快照,也可以使用 Amazon Data Lifecycle Manager 来管理快照。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Data Lifecycle Manager

注意事项

创建快照时需考虑以下事项:

  • 当您为充当根设备的 EBS 卷创建快照时,应在拍摄快照之前停止实例。

  • 无法从启用了休眠的实例创建快照。

  • 无法从已休眠实例创建快照。

  • 尽管您可以在某个卷的前一个快照处于 pending 状态时拍摄该卷的快照,但一个卷有多个 pending 快照可能会导致该卷的性能降低,直至这些快照完成。

  • 单个 pendingst1 卷限制为一个 sc1 快照,其他卷类型的单个卷限制为五个 pending 快照。如果您在尝试给同一个卷创建多个并发快照时收到 ConcurrentSnapshotLimitExceeded 错误,请等待一个或多个 pending 快照完成,然后再为该卷创建另一个快照。

  • 如果快照从具有 Amazon Web Services Marketplace 产品代码的卷创建,产品代码将传播到快照。

创建快照

要从指定的卷中创建快照,请使用以下方法之一。

New console

使用控制台创建快照

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Snapshots(快照)、Create snapshot(创建快照)。

  3. 对于 Resource type (资源类型),选择 Volume (卷)

  4. 对于 Volume ID(卷 ID),选择需要从其创建快照的卷。

    Encryption(加密)字段指示所选卷的加密状态。如果选定的卷已加密,则使用相同的 KMS 密钥自动加密快照。如果选定的卷未加密,则不会对快照进行加密。

  5. (可选)对于 Description (描述),输入对快照的简短描述。

  6. (可选)要为快照分配自定义标签,请在 Tags(标签)部分选择 Add tag(添加标签),然后输入标签键和值对。您最多可以添加 50 个标签。

  7. 选择 Create snapshot (创建快照)

Old console

使用控制台创建快照

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中的 Elastic Block Store (弹性数据块存储) 下选择 Snapshots (快照)

  3. 选择 Create Snapshot (创建快照)

  4. 对于选择资源类型,选择

  5. 对于,选择此卷。

  6. (可选)输入快照的描述。

  7. (可选)选择添加标签以向快照添加标签。对于每个标签,提供标签键和标签值。

  8. 选择 Create Snapshot (创建快照)

Amazon CLI

使用命令行创建快照

您可以使用以下任一命令。有关这些命令行界面的更多信息,请参阅 访问 Amazon EC2

创建多卷快照

要从实例的卷中创建快照,请使用以下方法之一。

New console

使用控制台创建多卷快照

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Snapshots(快照)、Create snapshot(创建快照)。

  3. 对于 Resource type (资源类型),选择 Instance (实例)

  4. 对于 Instance ID(实例 ID),选择要从中创建快照的实例。多卷快照为每个实例支持多达 40 个 EBS 卷。

    Attached volumes(附加卷)部分列出了所有附加于所选实例的卷,以及它们的加密状态。快照加密状态与其源卷的加密状态相同。

  5. 对于 Description (描述),输入快照的简短描述。此描述适用于所有快照。

  6. 从实例的所有卷(包括其根卷)创建快照,对于 Root volume(根卷),选择 Include(包括)。要仅从实例的数据卷创建快照,对于 Root volume(根卷),选择 Exclude(排除)。

  7. (可选)对于 Copy tags from source volume(从源卷复制标签),选择 Enable(启用),以自动将标签从源卷复制到相应快照。这将设置快照元数据(如访问策略、附件信息和成本分配)以匹配源卷。

  8. (可选)要为快照分配自定义标签,请在 Tags(标签)部分,选择 Add tag(添加标签),然后输入标签键和值对。您最多可以添加 50 个标签。

  9. 选择 Create snapshot (创建快照)

    快照创建期间,将一起管理快照。如果卷集中的其中一个快照失败,则其他快照将移至卷集的错误状态。您可以使用 CloudWatch Events 监控快照的进度。在快照创建过程完成后,CloudWatch 将生成一个事件,其中包含受影响实例的状态及所有相关的快照详细信息。

Old console

使用控制台创建多卷快照

  1. 通过以下网址打开 Amazon EC2 控制台:https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2/

  2. 在导航窗格中的 Elastic Block Store (弹性数据块存储) 下选择 Snapshots (快照)

  3. 选择 Create Snapshot (创建快照)

  4. 对于选择资源类型,选择实例

  5. 选择要为所有已附加的 EBS 卷创建同步备份的实例 ID。多卷快照对于每个实例支持多达 40 个 EBS 卷。

  6. (可选)设置 Exclude root volume (排除根卷)

  7. (可选)设置 Copy tags from volume (从卷复制标签) 标记,以自动将标签从源卷复制到相应快照。这将设置快照元数据(如访问策略、附件信息和成本分配)以匹配源卷。

  8. (可选)选择添加标签以向快照添加标签。对于每个标签,提供标签键和标签值。

  9. 选择 Create Snapshot (创建快照)

Amazon CLI

使用命令行创建多卷快照

您可以使用以下任一命令。有关这些命令行界面的更多信息,请参阅 访问 Amazon EC2

如果所有快照都成功完成,createSnapshots CloudWatch 事件的 succeeded 结果将发送到您的 Amazon 账户。如果多卷快照集的任何一个快照失败,所有其他快照将显示错误状态,并将 createSnapshots CloudWatch 事件的 failed 结果发送到您的 Amazon 账户。有关更多信息,请参阅创建多个快照 (createSnapshots)

使用 EBS 快照

您可以复制快照、共享快照和从快照创建卷。有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容: