Compatibility for changing the instance type - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Compatibility for changing the instance type

You can change the instance type only if the instance's current configuration is compatible with the instance type that you want. If the instance type that you want is not compatible with the instance's current configuration, you must launch a new instance with a configuration that is compatible with the instance type, and then migrate your application to the new instance.

For compatibility information for changing Windows instance types, see Compatibility for changing the instance type in the User Guide for Windows Instances.

Tip

You can use the AWSSupport-MigrateXenToNitroLinux runbook to migrate compatible instances from a Xen instance type to a Nitro instance type. For more information, see AWSSupport-MigrateXenToNitroLinux runbook in the Amazon Systems Manager Automation runbook reference.

Compatibility is determined in the following ways:

Virtualization type

Linux AMIs use one of two types of virtualization: paravirtual (PV) or hardware virtual machine (HVM). If an instance was launched from a PV AMI, you can't change to an instance type that is HVM only. For more information, see Linux AMI virtualization types. To check the virtualization type of your instance, check the Virtualization value on the details pane of the Instances screen in the Amazon EC2 console.

Architecture

AMIs are specific to the architecture of the processor, so you must select an instance type with the same processor architecture as the current instance type. For example:

  • If the current instance type has a processor based on the Arm architecture, you are limited to the instance types that support a processor based on the Arm architecture, such as C6g and M6g.

  • The following instance types are the only instance types that support 32-bit AMIs: t2.nano, t2.micro, t2.small, t2.medium, c3.large, t1.micro, m1.small, m1.medium, and c1.medium. If you are changing the instance type of a 32-bit instance, you are limited to these instance types.

Network cards

Some instance types support multiple network cards. You must select an instance type that supports the same number of network cards as the current instance type.

Enhanced networking

Instance types that support enhanced networking require the necessary drivers installed. For example, instances built on the Amazon Nitro System require EBS-backed AMIs with the Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) drivers installed. To change from an instance type that does not support enhanced networking to an instance type that supports enhanced networking, you must install the ENA drivers or ixgbevf drivers on the instance, as appropriate.

Note

When you resize an instance with ENA Express enabled, the new instance type must also support ENA Express. For a list of instance types that support ENA Express, see Supported instance types for ENA Express.

To change from an instance type that supports ENA Express to an instance type that does not support it, ensure that ENA Express is not currently enabled before you resize the instance.

NVMe

EBS volumes are exposed as NVMe block devices on instances built on the Amazon Nitro System. If you change from an instance type that does not support NVMe to an instance type that supports NVMe, you must first install the NVMe drivers on your instance. Also, the device names for devices that you specify in the block device mapping are renamed using NVMe device names (/dev/nvme[0-26]n1). Therefore, to mount file systems at boot time using /etc/fstab, you must use UUID/Label instead of device names.

Volumes limits

The maximum number of Amazon EBS volumes that you can attach to an instance depends on the instance type and instance size. For more information, see Instance volume limits.

You can only change to an instance type or instance size that supports the same number or a larger number of volumes than is currently attached to the instance. If you change to an instance type or instance size that does not support the number of currently attached volumes, the request fails. For example, if you change from an m7i.4xlarge instance with 32 attached volumes to an m6i.4xlarge, which supports a maximum of 27 volumes, the request fails.

更改实例类型的兼容性 - Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

更改实例类型的兼容性

仅当实例的当前配置与您所需的实例类型兼容时,才能更改实例类型。如果您所需的实例类型与实例的当前配置不兼容,则您必须启动一个具有与新实例类型兼容的配置的新实例,并将应用程序迁移到新实例。

有关更改 Windows 实例类型的兼容性信息,请参阅《适用于 Windows 实例的用户指南》中的更改实例类型的兼容性

提示

您可以使用 AWSSupport-MigrateXenToNitroLinux 运行手册将兼容实例从 Xen 实例类型迁移到 Nitro 实例类型。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Systems Manager Automation 运行手册参考中的 AWSSupport-MigrateXenToNitroLinux runbook

可通过以下方式确定兼容性:

虚拟化类型

Linux AMI 使用两种虚拟化之一:半虚拟化 (PV) 或硬件虚拟机 (HVM)。如果是从 PV AMI 启动的实例,则您无法将其更改为仅限 HVM 的实例类型。有关更多信息,请参阅Linux AMI 虚拟化类型。要查看实例的虚拟化类型,请在 Amazon EC2 控制台中查看 Instances(实例)屏幕的详细信息窗格中的 Virtualization(虚拟化)值。

架构

AMI 特定于处理器的架构,因此您必须选择与当前实例类型具有相同处理器架构的实例类型。例如:

  • 如果当前实例类型处理器是基于 Arm 架构的,则仅限于支持基于 Arm 架构的处理器的实例类型,例如 C6g 和 M6g。

  • 只有以下实例类型支持 32 位 AMIs:t2.nanot2.microt2.smallt2.mediumc3.larget1.microm1.smallm1.mediumc1.medium。如需更改 32 位实例的实例类型,则仅限使用以下实例类型。

网卡

有些实例类型支持多个网卡。您必须选择支持与当前实例类型相同数量的网卡的实例类型。

增强联网

支持增强联网的实例类型需要安装必要的驱动程序。例如,基于 Nitro 系统的实例需要由 EBS 提供支持且安装有 Elastic Network Adapter (ENA) 驱动程序的 AMI。要将实例的实例类型从不支持增强联网的类型更改为支持增强联网的实例类型,必须根据需要在实例上安装 ENA 驱动程序ixgbevf 驱动程序

注意

在启用 ENA Express 的情况下调整实例大小时,新实例类型必须同时支持 ENA Express。有关支持 ENA Express 的实例类型列表,请参阅 ENA Express 支持的实例类型

要将实例类型从支持 ENA Express 更改为不支持 ENA Express,请确保在调整实例大小之前尚未启用 ENA Express。

NVMe

EBS 卷作为 NVMe 块存储设备在基于 Nitro 系统构建的实例上公开。如果将实例类型不支持 NVMe 的实例的实例类型更改为支持 NVMe 的实例类型,您必须先在实例上安装 NVMe 驱动程序。此外,您在块储存设备映射中指定的设备的设备名称将使用 NVMe 设备名称 (/dev/nvme[0-26]n1) 进行重命名。因此,要使用 /etc/fstab 在启动时挂载文件系统,必须使用 UUID/标签而非设备名称。

卷限制

您可以挂载到实例的最大 Amazon EBS 卷数取决于实例类型和实例规模。有关更多信息,请参阅实例卷限制

您只能更改为支持的卷数与当前附加到实例的卷数相同或更大的实例类型或实例大小。如果您更改为不支持当前附加卷数量的实例类型或实例大小,则请求会失败。例如,如果您从具有 32 个附加卷的 m7i.4xlarge 实例更改为最多支持 27 个卷的 m6i.4xlarge,请求将失败。

AMI

有关支持增强联网和 NVMe 的实例类型所需的 AMI 的信息,请参阅以下文档中的发行说明: