Rolling update - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Rolling update

When the rolling update (ECS) deployment type is used for your service, when a new service deployment is started the Amazon ECS service scheduler replaces the currently running tasks with new tasks. The number of tasks that Amazon ECS adds or removes from the service during a rolling update is controlled by the deployment configuration. The deployment configuration consists of the minimumHealthyPercent and maximumPercent values which are defined when the service is created, but can also be updated on an existing service.

The minimumHealthyPercent represents the lower limit on the number of tasks that should be running for a service during a deployment or when a container instance is draining, as a percent of the desired number of tasks for the service. This value is rounded up. For example if the minimum healthy percent is 50 and the desired task count is four, then the scheduler can stop two existing tasks before starting two new tasks. Likewise, if the minimum healthy percent is 75% and the desired task count is two, then the scheduler can't stop any tasks due to the resulting value also being two.

The maximumPercent represents the upper limit on the number of tasks that should be running for a service during a deployment or when a container instance is draining, as a percent of the desired number of tasks for a service. This value is rounded down. For example if the maximum percent is 200 and the desired task count is four then the scheduler can start four new tasks before stopping four existing tasks. Likewise, if the maximum percent is 125 and the desired task count is three, the scheduler can't start any tasks due to the resulting value also being three.

Important

When setting a minimum healthy percent or a maximum percent, you should ensure that the scheduler can stop or start at least one task when a deployment is triggered. If your service has a deployment that is stuck due to an invalid deployment configuration, a service event message will be sent. For more information, see service (service-name) was unable to stop or start tasks during a deployment because of the service deployment configuration. Update the minimumHealthyPercent or maximumPercent value and try again..

When a new service deployment is started or when a deployment is completed, Amazon ECS sends a service deployment state change event to EventBridge. This provides a programmatic way to monitor the status of your service deployments. For more information, see Service deployment state change events.

To create a new Amazon ECS service that uses the rolling update deployment type, see Creating an Amazon ECS service.

Using the deployment circuit breaker

By default, when a service using the rolling update deployment type starts a new deployment, the service scheduler will launch new tasks until the desired count is reached. You can optionally use deployment circuit breaker logic on the service, which will cause the deployment to transition to a failed state if it can't reach a steady state. The deployment circuit breaker logic can also trigger Amazon ECS to roll back to the last completed deployment upon a deployment failure.

The following create-service Amazon CLI example shows how to create a Linux service when the deployment circuit breaker enabled with rollback.

aws ecs create-service \ --service-name MyService \ --deployment-controller type=ECS \ --desired-count 2 \ --deployment-configuration "deploymentCircuitBreaker={enable=true,rollback=true}" \ --task-definition sample-fargate:1 \ --launch-type FARGATE \ --platform-os LINUX \ --platform-version 1.4.0 \ --network-configuration "awsvpcConfiguration={subnets=[subnet-12344321],securityGroups=[sg-12344321],assignPublicIp=ENABLED}"

The following should be considered when enabling the deployment circuit breaker logic on a service.

  • The deployment circuit breaker is only supported for Amazon ECS services that use the rolling update (ECS) deployment controller and don't use a Classic Load Balancer.

  • If a service deployment has at least one successfully running task, the circuit breaker logic will not trigger regardless of the deployment having any previous or future failed tasks.

  • There are two new parameters added to the response of a DescribeServices API action that provide insight into the state of a deployment, the rolloutState and rolloutStateReason. When a new deployment is started, the rollout state begins in an IN_PROGRESS state. When the service reaches a steady state, the rollout state transitions to COMPLETED. If the service fails to reach a steady state and circuit breaker is enabled, the deployment will transition to a FAILED state. A deployment in a FAILED state won't launch any new tasks.

  • In addition to the service deployment state change events Amazon ECS sends for deployments that have started and have completed, Amazon ECS also sends an event when a deployment with circuit breaker enabled fails. These events provide details about why a deployment failed or if a deployment was started because of a rollback. For more information, see Service deployment state change events.

  • If a new deployment is started because a previous deployment failed and rollback was enabled, the reason field of the service deployment state change event will indicate the deployment was started because of a rollback.

Failure threshold

The deployment circuit breaker calculates the threshold value, and then uses the value to determine when to move the deployment to a FAILED state.

The deployment circuit breaker has a minimum threshold of 10 and a maximum threshold of 200. and uses the values in the following formula to determine the deployment failure.

Minimum threshold <= 0.5 * desired task count => maximum threshold

When the result of the calculation is less than the minimum of 10, the failure threshold is set to 10. When the result of the calculation is greater than the maximum of 200, the failure threshold is set to 200.

Note

You cannot change either of the threshold values.

There are two stages for the deployment status check.

  1. The deployment circuit breaker monitors tasks that are part of the deployment and checks for tasks that are in the RUNNING state. The scheduler ignores the failure criteria when a task in the current deployment is in the RUNNING state and proceeds to the next stage. When tasks fail to reach in the RUNNING state, the deployment circuit breaker increases the failure count by one. When the failure count equals the threshold, the deployment is marked as FAILED.

  2. This stage is entered when there are one of more tasks in the RUNNING state. The deployment circuit breaker performs health checks on the following resources for the tasks in the current deployment:

    • Elastic Load Balancing load balancers

    • Amazon Cloud Map service

    • Amazon ECS container health checks

    When a health check fails for the task, the deployment circuit breaker increases the failure count by one. When the failure count equals the threshold, the deployment is marked as FAILED.

The following table provides some examples.

Desired task count Calculation Threshold

1

10 <= 0.5 * 1 => 200
10 (the calculated value is less than the minimum)

25

10 <= 0.5 * 25 => 200
13 (the value is rounded up)

400

10 <= 0.5 * 400 => 200
200

800

10 <= 0.5 * 800 => 200
200 (the calculated value is greater than the maximum)

For additional examples about using the rollback option, see Announcing Amazon ECS deployment circuit breaker.

滚动更新 - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

滚动更新

滚动更新(ECS) 部署类型用于您的服务,当启动新服务部署时,Amazon ECS 服务计划程序会将当前正在运行的任务替换为新任务。在滚动更新期间 Amazon ECS 在服务中添加或删除的任务数量由部署配置控制。部署配置由 minimumHealthyPercentmaximumPercent 值组成,这些值是在创建服务时定义的,但也可以在现有服务上更新。

minimumHealthyPercent 表示在部署期间或容器实例耗尽时应为服务运行的任务数的下限,服务所需任务数的百分比表示。此值四舍五入。例如,如果最小运行状况百分比为 50,并且所需的任务计数为 4,则调度器可以在启动两个新任务之前停止两个现有任务。同样,如果最小运行状况百分比为 75%,所需任务计数为 2,则由于结果值也为 2,调度器无法停止任何任务。

maximumPercent 表示部署期间或容器实例耗尽时应为服务运行的任务数的上限,服务所需任务数的百分比表示。此值四舍五入。例如,如果最大百分比为 200 且目标任务为计数四,则调度器可以在停止四个现有任务之前启动四个新任务。同样,如果最大百分比为 125,且目标任务计数为三,则调度器无法启动任何任务,因为结果值也是三。

重要

设置最小运行状况百分比或最大百分比时,应确保调度器在触发部署时可以停止或启动至少一个任务。如果您的服务由于部署配置无效而停滞的部署,将发送服务事件消息。有关更多信息,请参阅 因为服务部署配置,服务 (service-name) 无法在部署期间停止或启动任务。更新 minimumHealthyPercent 或 maximumPercent 值,然后重试。

启动新服务部署或部署完成时,Amazon ECS 会向 EventBridge 发送服务部署状态更改事件。这提供了一种用于监控服务部署状态的编程方式。有关更多信息,请参阅服务部署状态更改事件

要创建使用滚动更新部署类型的新 Amazon ECS 服务,请参阅 在经典控制台中创建 Amazon ECS 服务

使用部署断路器

预设情况下,当使用滚动更新部署类型的服务启动新部署时,服务调度器将启动新任务,直到达到所需计数。您可以选择在服务上使用部署断路器逻辑,这将导致部署在无法达到稳定状态时转换为故障状态。部署断路器逻辑还可以在部署失败时让 Amazon ECS 回滚到上次完成的部署。

以下 create-service Amazon CLI 示例显示如何在部署断路器使用回滚选项时创建 Linux 服务。

aws ecs create-service \ --service-name MyService \ --deployment-controller type=ECS \ --desired-count 2 \ --deployment-configuration "deploymentCircuitBreaker={enable=true,rollback=true}" \ --task-definition sample-fargate:1 \ --launch-type FARGATE \ --platform-os LINUX \ --platform-version 1.4.0 \ --network-configuration "awsvpcConfiguration={subnets=[subnet-12344321],securityGroups=[sg-12344321],assignPublicIp=ENABLED}"

在服务上启用部署断路器逻辑时,应注意以下事项。

  • 如果服务部署至少有一个成功运行的任务,则无论部署中有任何先前或将来的失败任务,都不会触发断路器逻辑。

  • DescribeServices 响应提供了对部署状态、rolloutStaterolloutStateReason 的深入了解。启动新部署时,部署状态将在 IN_PROGRESS 状态开始。当服务达到稳定状态时,部署状态将转换为COMPLETED。如果服务未能达到稳定状态并启用断路器,则部署将转变为 FAILED 状态。FAILED 状态中的部署不会启动任何新任务。

  • 除了 Amazon ECS 为已启动和已完成的部署发送的服务部署状态更改事件外,Amazon ECS 还将在启用断路器的部署失败时发送事件。这些事件提供了有关部署失败的原因或部署是否由于回滚而启动的详细信息。有关更多信息,请参阅服务部署状态更改事件

  • 如果以前的部署失败且发生了回滚,从而启动了新部署,则服务部署状态变更事件的 reason 字段将指示部署是由于回滚而启动的。

  • 部署断路器仅支持使用滚动更新的 Amazon ECS 服务 (ECS) 部署控制器,并且不使用经典负载均衡器。

Failure threshold

部署断路器计算阈值,然后使用该值来确定何时将部署移动到 FAILED 状态。

部署断路器的最低阈值为 10,最大阈值为 200,并使用以下公式中的值来确定部署失败。

Minimum threshold <= 0.5 * desired task count => maximum threshold

当计算结果小于最低值 10 时,故障阈值设置为 10。当计算结果大于最大值 200 时,故障阈值设置为 200。

注意

您不能更改任何一个阈值。

部署状态检查分两个阶段。

  1. 部署断路器监控部署中的任务并检查处于 RUNNING 状态的任务。调度器在当前部署中的任务位于 RUNNING 状态并进入下一阶段时忽略失败条件。当任务无法到达 RUNNING 状态时,部署断路器将失败计数增加 1。当故障计数等于阈值时,部署将标记为 FAILED

  2. 当有一个或多个任务处于 RUNNING 状态时,进入此阶段。部署断路器对当前部署中的任务的以下资源执行运行状况检查:

    • Elastic Load Balancing 负载均衡器

    • Amazon Cloud Map 服务

    • Amazon ECS 容器运行状况检查

    当任务的运行状况检查失败时,部署断路器会将失败计数增加 1。当故障计数等于阈值时,部署将标记为 FAILED

下表提供了一些示例。

预期任务计数 计算 Threshold

1

10 <= 0.5 * 1 => 200
10(计算值低于最低值)

25

10 <= 0.5 * 25 => 200
13(此值将向上舍入)

400

10 <= 0.5 * 400 => 200
200

800

10 <= 0.5 * 800 => 200
200(计算值大于最高值)

有关使用回滚选项的其他示例,请参阅宣布 Amazon ECS 部署断路器