Custom log routing - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Custom log routing

You can use FireLens for Amazon ECS to use task definition parameters to route logs to an Amazon service or Amazon Partner Network (APN) destination for log storage and analytics. FireLens works with Fluentd and Fluent Bit. We provide the Amazon for Fluent Bit image or you can use your own Fluentd or Fluent Bit image.

Creating Amazon ECS task definitions with a FireLens configuration is supported using the Amazon SDKs, Amazon CLI, and Amazon Web Services Management Console.

Considerations

Consider the following when using FireLens for Amazon ECS:

  • FireLens for Amazon ECS is supported for tasks that are hosted on both Amazon Fargate on Linux and Amazon EC2. Windows containers that are on Amazon Fargate don't support FireLens.

  • FireLens for Amazon ECS is supported in Amazon CloudFormation templates. For more information, see AWS::ECS::TaskDefinition FirelensConfiguration in the Amazon CloudFormation User Guide

  • FireLens listens on port 24224, so to ensure that the FireLens log router isn't reachable outside of the task, you must not allow inbound traffic on port 24224 in the security group your task uses. For tasks that use the awsvpc network mode, this is the security group associated with the task. For tasks using the host network mode, this is the security group that's associated with the Amazon EC2 instance hosting the task. For tasks that use the bridge network mode, don't create any port mappings that use port 24224.

  • For tasks that use the bridge network mode, the container with the FireLens configuration must start before any application containers that rely on it start. To control the start order of your containers, use dependency conditions in your task definition. For more information, see Container dependency.

    Note

    If you use dependency condition parameters in container definitions with a FireLens configuration, ensure that each container has a START or HEALTHY condition requirement.

  • The Amazon ECS-optimized Bottlerocket AMI doesn't support FireLens.

  • By default, FireLens adds the cluster and task definition name and the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of the cluster as metadata keys to your stdout/stderr container logs. The following is an example of the metadata format.

    "ecs_cluster": "cluster-name", "ecs_task_arn": "arn:aws:ecs:region:111122223333:task/cluster-name/f2ad7dba413f45ddb4EXAMPLE", "ecs_task_definition": "task-def-name:revision",

    If you do not want the metadata in your logs, set enable-ecs-log-metadata to false in the firelensConfiguration section of the task definition.

    "firelensConfiguration":{ "type":"fluentbit", "options":{ "enable-ecs-log-metadata":"false", "config-file-type":"file", "config-file-value":"/extra.conf" }

Required IAM permissions

To use this feature, you must create an IAM role for your tasks that provides the permissions necessary to use any Amazon services that the tasks require. For example, if a container is routing logs to Kinesis Data Firehose, the task requires permission to call the firehose:PutRecordBatch API. For more information, see Adding and Removing IAM Identity Permissions in the IAM User Guide.

The following example IAM policy adds the required permissions for routing logs to Kinesis Data Firehose.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "firehose:PutRecordBatch" ], "Resource": [ "*" ] } ] }

Your task may also require the Amazon ECS task execution role under the following conditions. For more information, see Amazon ECS task execution IAM role.

  • If your task is hosted on Fargate and you are pulling container images from Amazon ECR or referencing sensitive data from Amazon Secrets Manager in your log configuration, then you must include the task execution IAM role.

  • If you are specifying a custom configuration file that's hosted in Amazon S3, your task execution IAM role must include the s3:GetObject permission for the configuration file and the s3:GetBucketLocation permission on the Amazon S3 bucket that the file is in. For more information, see Specifying Permissions in a Policy in the Amazon Simple Storage Service User Guide.

    The following example IAM policy adds the required permissions for retrieving a file from Amazon S3. Specify the name of your Amazon S3 bucket and configuration file name.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:GetObject" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::examplebucket/folder_name/config_file_name" ] }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:GetBucketLocation" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::examplebucket" ] } ] }

Fluentd buffer limit

When you create a task definition, you can specify the number of events that are buffered in memory by specifying the value (in bytes) in the log-driver-buffer-limit. For more information, see Fluentd logging driver in the Docker documentation.

Use this option when there's high throughput, because Docker might run out of buffer memory and discard buffer messages so it can add new messages. The lost logs might make it difficult to troubleshoot. Setting the buffer limit might help to prevent this issue.

The following shows the syntax for specifying the log-driver-buffer-limit:

{ "containerDefinitions": [ { "essential": true, "image": "906394416424.dkr.ecr.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/aws-for-fluent-bit:stable", "name": "log_router", "firelensConfiguration": { "type": "fluentbit" }, "logConfiguration": { "logDriver": "awslogs", "options": { "awslogs-group": "firelens-container", "awslogs-region": "us-west-2", "awslogs-create-group": "true", "awslogs-stream-prefix": "firelens" } }, "memoryReservation": 50 }, { "essential": true, "image": "httpd", "name": "app", "logConfiguration": { "logDriver": "awsfirelens", "options": { "Name": "firehose", "region": "us-west-2", "delivery_stream": "my-stream", "log-driver-buffer-limit": "2097152" } }, "dependsOn": [ { "containerName": "log_router", "condition": "START" } ], "memoryReservation": 100 } ] }

Consider the following when using FireLens for Amazon ECS with the buffer limit option:

  • This option is supported on the Amazon EC2 launch type and the Fargate launch type with platform version 1.4.0 or later.

  • The option is only valid when logDriver is set to awsfirelens.

  • The default buffer limit is 1 MiB.

  • The valid values are 0 and 536870912 (512 MiB).

  • The total amount of memory allocated at the task level must be greater than the amount of memory that's allocated for all the containers in addition to the memory buffer limit. The total amount of buffer memory specified must be less than 536870912 (512MiB) when you don't specify the container memory and memoryReservertion values. More specifically, you can have an app container with the awsfirelens log driver and the log-driver-buffer-limit option set to 300 MiB. However, you won’t be allowed to run tasks if you have more than two containers with the log-driver-buffer-limit set to 300 MiB (300 MiB * 2 > 512 MiB).

Using Fluent logger libraries or Log4j over TCP

When the awsfirelens log driver is specified in a task definition, the Amazon ECS container agent injects the following environment variables into the container:

FLUENT_HOST

The IP address that's assigned to the FireLens container.

FLUENT_PORT

The port that the Fluent Forward protocol is listening on.

You can use the FLUENT_HOST and FLUENT_PORT environment variables to log directly to the log router from code instead of going through stdout. For more information, see fluent-logger-golang on GitHub.

Topics

使用自定义日志路由 - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用自定义日志路由

您可以使用 FireLens Amazon ECS 使用任务定义参数将日志路由到Amazon服务或 Amazon Partner Network (APN) 目标以进行日志存储和分析。Amazon Partner Network 是一个由合作伙伴组成的全球社区,它利用计划、专业知识和资源来构建、营销和销售客户产品。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Partner。FireLens 与 Fluentd 和 Fluent Bit 结合使用。我们提供 Amazon for Fluent Bit 映像,您也可以使用自己的 Fluentd 或 Fluent Bit 映像。

注意事项

在 Amazon ECS 上使用时 FireLens ,请考虑以下几点:

  • 我们建议您在日志容器名称中添加my_service_内容,以便在控制台中轻松区分容器名称。

  • 默认情况下,Amazon ECS 在应用程序容器和容器之间添加了启动FireLens容器顺序依赖关系。当您在应用程序容器和容器之间指定容器顺序时,默认的启动容器顺序将被覆盖。FireLens

  • 支持将适用于 Amazon ECS 的 FireLens 用于托管在 Linux 上的 Amazon Fargate 和 Amazon EC2 的任务。Windows 容器不支持 FireLens。

    有关如何为 Windows 容器配置集中日志记录的信息,请参阅使用 Fluent Bit 在 Amazon ECS 上对 Windows 容器进行集中日志记录

  • Amazon CloudFormation 模板中支持 FireLens for Amazon ECS。有关更多信息,请参阅《Amazon CloudFormation用户指南AWS::ECS::TaskDefinition FirelensConfiguration中的

  • FireLens监听端口24224,因此为了确保任务之外无法访问 FireLens 日志路由器,您不得允许任务使用的安全组24224中的端口上的入站流量。对于使用 awsvpc 网络模式的任务,这是与任务关联的安全组。对于使用 host 网络模式的任务,它是与托管任务的 Amazon EC2 实例关联的安全组。对于使用 bridge 网络模式的任务,请勿创建任何使用端口 24224 的端口映射。

  • 对于使用bridge网络模式的任务,具有该 FireLens 配置的容器必须在依赖它的应用程序容器启动之前启动。要控制容器的启动顺序,请在任务定义中使用依赖条件。有关更多信息,请参见 容器依赖项

    注意

    如果您在容器定义中使用依赖条件参数和 FireLens 配置,请确保每个容器都有STARTHEALTHY条件要求。

  • 默认情况下,FireLens 将集群和任务定义名称以及集群的 Amazon 资源名称(ARN)作为元数据键添加到您的 stdout/stderr 容器日志中。以下为元数据格式的示例。

    "ecs_cluster": "cluster-name", "ecs_task_arn": "arn:aws:ecs:region:111122223333:task/cluster-name/f2ad7dba413f45ddb4EXAMPLE", "ecs_task_definition": "task-def-name:revision",

    如果您不希望日志中出现元数据,请在任务定义的 firelensConfiguration 部分中将 enable-ecs-log-metadata 设置为 false

    "firelensConfiguration":{ "type":"fluentbit", "options":{ "enable-ecs-log-metadata":"false", "config-file-type":"file", "config-file-value":"/extra.conf" }

所需的 IAM 权限

要使用此功能,您必须为您的任务创建一个 IAM 角色,该角色提供使用任务需要的任何 Amazon 服务所需的权限。例如,如果容器将日志路由到 Kinesis Data Firehose,则任务需要调用 firehose:PutRecordBatch API 的权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 IAM用户指南中的添加和删除 IAM 标识权限

以下示例 IAM policy 添加了将日志路由到 Kinesis Data Firehose 所需的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "firehose:PutRecordBatch" ], "Resource": [ "*" ] } ] }

以下示例 IAM 策略添加了将日志路由到 Amazon CloudWatch 日志所需的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [{ "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "logs:CreateLogStream", "logs:CreateLogGroup", "logs:PutLogEvents" ], "Resource": "*" }] }

在以下条件下,您的任务也可能需要 Amazon ECS 任务执行角色。有关更多信息,请参见 Amazon ECS 任务执行 IAM 角色

  • 如果在 Fargate 上托管您的任务,并且您正在从 Amazon ECR 提取容器映像或 Amazon Secrets Manager 在日志配置中引用敏感数据,那么您必须包含任务执行 IAM 角色。

  • 如果您指定托管于 Amazon S3 中的自定义配置文件,则您的任务执行 IAM 角色必须包括对配置文件的 s3:GetObject 权限以及对该文件所在的 Amazon S3 存储桶的 s3:GetBucketLocation 权限。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Simple Storage Service 用户指南中的在策略中指定权限

    以下示例 IAM policy 添加了从 Amazon S3 中检索文件所需的权限。指定 Amazon S3 存储桶的名称和配置文件名称。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:GetObject" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::examplebucket/folder_name/config_file_name" ] }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "s3:GetBucketLocation" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:s3:::examplebucket" ] } ] }

Fluentd 缓冲区限制

创建任务定义时,您可以通过在 log-driver-buffer-limit 中指定值(以子节为单位)来指定内存中缓冲的事件数量。有关更多信息,请参阅 Docker 文档中的 Fluentd 日志记录驱动程序

当吞吐量高时使用此选项,因为 Docker 可能会耗尽缓冲区内存并丢弃缓冲区消息,以便添加新消息。丢失日志可能会造成故障排除困难。设置缓冲区限制可能有助于防止此问题。

以下显示了用于指定的语法log-driver-buffer-limitmy_service_用您的服务名称替换。 :

{ "containerDefinitions": [ { "essential": true, "image": "906394416424.dkr.ecr.us-west-2.amazonaws.com/aws-for-fluent-bit:stable", "name": "my_service_log_router", "firelensConfiguration": { "type": "fluentbit" }, "logConfiguration": { "logDriver": "awslogs", "options": { "awslogs-group": "firelens-container", "awslogs-region": "us-west-2", "awslogs-create-group": "true", "awslogs-stream-prefix": "firelens" } }, "memoryReservation": 50 }, { "essential": true, "image": "httpd", "name": "app", "logConfiguration": { "logDriver": "awsfirelens", "options": { "Name": "firehose", "region": "us-west-2", "delivery_stream": "my-stream", "log-driver-buffer-limit": "2097152" } }, "dependsOn": [ { "containerName": "log_router", "condition": "START" } ], "memoryReservation": 100 } ] }

在使用带有缓冲限制选项 FireLens 的 Amazon ECS 时,请考虑以下几点:

  • Amazon EC2 启动类型和带平台版本 1.4.0 或更高版本的 Fargate 启动类型支持此选项。

  • 该选项仅在 logDriver 设置为 awsfirelens 时有效。

  • 默认缓冲区限制为 1 MiB。

  • 有效值为 0536870912(512 MiB)。

  • 除了内存缓冲区限制外,在任务级别分配的内存总量必须大于为所有容器分配的内存量。当您不指定容器 memorymemoryReservation 值时,指定的缓冲区内存总量必须少于 536870912(512MiB)。更具体地说,您可以拥有一个带有 awsfirelens 日志驱动程序的应用程序容器,并且 log-driver-buffer-limit 选项设置为 300MiB。但是,如果您有两个以上 log-driver-buffer-limit 被设置为 300MiB(300MiB * 2 > 512MiB)的容器,将不允许运行任务。

通过 TCP 使用 Fluent 记录器库或 Log4j

在任务定义中指定 awsfirelens 日志驱动程序时,Amazon ECS 容器 代理会将以下环境变量注入容器中:

FLUENT_HOST

分配给 FireLens 容器的 IP 地址。

FLUENT_PORT

Fluent Forward 协议正在侦听的端口。

您可以使用 FLUENT_HOSTFLUENT_PORT 环境变量直接从代码登录到日志路由器,而不是通过 stdout。有关更多信息,请参阅fluent-logger-golang上的 GitHub。

主题