How it works - Amazon ElastiCache
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

How it works

Here you can find an overview of the major components of an ElastiCache for Memcached deployment.

Cache and caching engines

A cache is an in-memory data store that you can use to store cached data. Typically, your application will cache frequently accessed data in a cache to optimize response times. ElastiCache for Memcached offers two deployment options: Serverless and self-designed clusters. See Choosing between deployment options

Note

Amazon ElastiCache works with both the Redis and Memcached engines. Use the guide for the engine that you're interested in. If you're unsure which engine you want to use, see Comparing Memcached and Redis self-designed caches in this guide.

How ElastiCache for Memcached works

ElastiCache for Memcached Serverless

ElastiCache for Memcached Serverless enables you to create a cache without worrying about capacity planning, hardware management, or cluster design. You simply provide a name for your cache and you receive a single endpoint that you can configure in your Memcached client to begin accessing your cache.

Note

ElastiCache for Memcached Serverless is only compatible with Memcached clients that support TLS.

Key Benefits

  • No capacity planning: ElastiCache Serverless removes the need for you to plan for capacity. ElastiCache Serverless continuously monitors the memory, compute, and network bandwidth utilization of your cache and scales both vertically and horizontally. It allows a cache node to grow in size, while in parallel initiating a scale-out operation to ensure that the cache can scale to meet your application requirements at all times.

  • Pay-per-use: With ElastiCache Serverless, you pay for the data stored and compute utilized by your workload on the cache. See Pricing dimensions.

  • High-availability: ElastiCache Serverless automatically replicates your data across multiple Availability Zones (AZ) for high-availability. It automatically monitors the underlying cache nodes and replaces them in case of failures. It offers a 99.99% availability SLA for every cache.

  • Automatic software upgrades: ElastiCache Serverless automatically upgrades your cache to the latest minor and patch software version without any availability impact to your application. When a new Memcached major version is available, ElastiCache will send you a notification.

  • Security: Serverless always encrypts data in transit and at rest. You can use a service managed key or use your own Customer Managed Key to encrypt data at rest.

The following diagram illustrates how ElastiCache Serverless works.

A diagram of ElastiCache Serverless cache operation, from availability zones to the Customer VPC and then to the Service VPC.

When you create a new serverless cache, ElastiCache creates a Virtual Private Cloud (VPC) Endpoint in the subnets of your choice in your VPC. Your application can connect to the cache through these VPC Endpoints.

With ElastiCache Serverless you receive a single DNS endpoint that your application connects to. When you request a new connection to the endpoint, ElastiCache Serverless handles all cache connections through a proxy layer. The proxy layer helps reduce complex client configuration, because the client does not need to rediscover cluster topology in case of changes to the underlying cluster. The proxy layer is a set of proxy nodes that handle connections using a network load balancer. When your application creates a new cache connection, the request is sent to a proxy node by the network load balancer. When your application executes cache commands, the proxy node that is connected to your application executes the requests on a cache node in your cache. The proxy layer abstracts the cache cluster topology and nodes from your client. This enables ElastiCache to intelligently load balance, scale out and add new cache nodes, replace cache nodes when they fail, and update software on the cache nodes, all without availability impact to your application or having to reset connections.

Self-designed ElastiCache clusters

You can choose to design your own ElastiCache clusters by choosing an cache node family, size, and number of nodes for your cluster. Designing your own cluster gives you finer grained control over the configuration and scaling of the cluster.

Key Benefits

  • Design your own cluster: With ElastiCache, you can design your own cluster and choose where you want to place your cache nodes. For example, if you have an application that wants to trade-off high-availability for low latency, you can choose to deploy your cache nodes in a single AZ. Alternatively, you can design your cluster with nodes across multiple AZs to achieve high-availability.

  • Fine-grained control: When designing our own cluster, you have more control over fine-tuning the settings on your cache. For example, you can use Configuring engine parameters using parameter groups to configure the cache engine.

  • Scale vertically and horizontally: You can choose to manually scale your cluster by increasing or decreasing the cache node size when needed. You can also scale horizontally by adding nodes.

The following diagram illustrates how ElastiCache self-designed clusters work.

A diagram of ElastiCache self-designed clusters operation, from availability zones to the Customer VPC and then to ElastiCache managed cache nodes.

Pricing dimensions

You can deploy ElastiCache in two deployment options. When deploying ElastiCache Serverless, you pay for usage for data stored in GB-hours and compute in ElastiCache Processing Units (ECPU). When choosing to design your own ElastiCache for Memcached clusters, you pay per hour of the cache node usage. See pricing details here.

Data storage

You pay for data stored in ElastiCache Serverless billed in gigabyte-hours (GB-hrs). ElastiCache Serverless continuously monitors the data stored in your cache, sampling multiple times per minute, and calculates an hourly average to determine the cache’s data storage usage in GB-hrs. Each ElastiCache Serverless cache is metered for a minimum of 1 GB of data stored.

ElastiCache Processing Units (ECPUs)

You pay for the requests your application executes on ElastiCache Serverless in ElastiCache Processing Units (ECPUs), a unit that includes both vCPU time and data transferred.

  • Simple reads and writes require 1 ECPU for each kilobyte (KB) of data transferred. For example, a GET command that transfers up to 1 KB of data consumes 1 ECPU. A SET request that transfers 3.2 KB of data will consume 3.2 ECPUs.

  • Commands that operate on multiple items will consume proportionally more ECPUs. For example, if your application performs a multiget on 3 items, it will consume 3 ECPUs.

  • Commands that operate on more items and transfer more data consume ECPUs based on the higher of the two dimensions. For example, if your application uses the GET command, retrieves 3 items, and transfers 3.2 KB of data, it will consume 3.2 ECPU. Alternatively, if it transfers only 2 KB of data, it will consume 3 ECPUs.

ElastiCache Serverless emits a new metric called ElastiCacheProcessingUnits that helps you understand the ECPUs consumed by your workload.

Node hours

You can choose to design your own cache cluster by choosing the EC2 node family, size, number of nodes, and placement across Availability Zones. When self-designing your cluster, you pay per hour for each cache node.

工作方式 - Amazon ElastiCache
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

工作方式

在这里,您可以找到 for Memcached 部署的主要组件 ElastiCache 的概述。

缓存和缓存引擎

缓存是一种内存中的数据存储,可用于存储缓存的数据。通常,您的应用程序会将经常访问的数据缓存在缓存中,以优化响应时间。 ElastiCache for Memcached 提供了两种部署选项:无服务器集群和自行设计的集群。请参阅 选择部署选项

注意

亚马逊同时 ElastiCache 使用 Redis 和 Memcached 引擎。使用您感兴趣的引擎的指南。如果您不确定要使用哪个引擎,请参阅本指南中的比较 Memcached 和 Redis 自行设计缓存

Memcac ElastiCache hed 的工作原理

ElastiCache 适用于 Memcached 无服务器

ElastiCache for Memcached Serverless 允许您创建缓存,而不必担心容量规划、硬件管理或集群设计。您只需为缓存提供一个名称,即可收到一个端点,可以在 Memcached 客户端中配置此端点以开始访问缓存。

注意

ElastiCache for Memcached 服务器仅与支持 TLS 的 Memcached 客户端兼容。

主要优势

  • 无需进行容量规划:ElastiCache 无服务器让您无需规划容量。 ElastiCache Serverless 持续监控缓存的内存、计算和网络带宽利用率,并可纵向和横向扩展。它可以增大缓存节点,同时并行启动横向扩展操作,以确保缓存能够扩展以始终满足您的应用程序需求。

  • Pay-per-use:使用 ElastiCache Serverless,您需要为缓存中的工作负载所存储的数据和使用的计算付费。请参阅 定价维度

  • 高可用性:ElastiCache Serverless 会自动跨多个可用区 (AZ) 复制您的数据,以实现高可用性。它会自动监控底层缓存节点,并在出现故障时将其替换。它为每个缓存提供 99.99% 可用性 SLA。

  • 自动软件升级:ElastiCache Serverless会自动将您的缓存升级到最新的次要版本和补丁软件版本,而不会对您的应用程序的可用性产生任何影响。当有新的 Memcached 主版本可用时, ElastiCache 将向您发送通知。

  • 安全性:无服务器始终对传输中数据和静态数据进行加密。您可以使用服务托管密钥或您自己的客户自主管理型密钥,对静态数据进行加密。

下图说明了 ElastiCache 无服务器的工作原理。


						 ElastiCache 无服务器缓存操作示意图,从可用区到客户 VPC,再到服务 VPC。

创建新的无服务器缓存时, ElastiCache 将在您的 VPC 中您选择的子网中创建一个虚拟私有云 (VPC) 终端节点。您的应用程序可以通过这些 VPC 端点连接到缓存。

使用 ElastiCache Serverless,您可以收到应用程序连接到的单个 DNS 端点。当您请求与端点建立新连接时, ElastiCache Serverless 会通过代理层处理所有缓存连接。代理层有助于减少复杂的客户端配置,因为在底层集群发生变化时,客户端无需重新发现集群拓扑。代理层是一组使用网络负载均衡器处理连接的代理节点。当应用程序创建新的缓存连接时,网络负载均衡器会将请求发送到代理节点。当应用程序执行缓存命令时,连接到应用程序的代理节点会在缓存中的缓存节点上执行请求。代理层从客户端提取缓存群集拓扑和节点。这使您 ElastiCache 能够智能地进行负载平衡、横向扩展和添加新的缓存节点、在缓存节点出现故障时更换缓存节点以及更新缓存节点上的软件,所有这些都不会影响应用程序的可用性,也不必重置连接。

自行设计 ElastiCache 的集群

您可以通过为 ElastiCache 集群选择缓存节点系列、大小和节点数量来选择设计自己的集群。通过设计自己的集群,您可以更精细地控制集群的配置和扩展。

主要优势

  • 设计自己的集群:使用 ElastiCache,您可以设计自己的集群并选择要放置缓存节点的位置。例如,如果您的应用程序需要放弃高可用性来换取低延迟,则可以选择在单个可用区中部署缓存节点。或者,在设计集群时,您可以使用跨多个可用区的节点,从而实现高可用性。

  • 精细控制:在设计自己的集群时,您可以通过微调缓存上的设置来实现更多控制。例如,您可以使用 使用参数组配置引擎参数 配置缓存引擎。

  • 垂直和水平扩展:在需要时,您可以选择增大或减小缓存节点大小来手动扩缩集群。您也可以通过添加节点来横向扩展。

下图说明了 ElastiCache 自行设计的集群的工作原理。


						 ElastiCache 自行设计的集群操作示意图,从可用区到客户 VPC,再到 ElastiCache 托管缓存节点。

定价维度

您可以通过两个部署 ElastiCache 选项进行部署。在部署 ElastiCache Serverless 时,您需要为以 GB 小时存储的数据和按 ElastiCache 处理单元 (ECPU) 计算的数据的使用量付费。选择为 Memcached 集群设计自己的 ElastiCache 集群时,您需要按每小时的缓存节点使用量付费。请参阅此处的定价详细信息。

数据存储

您需要为存储在 ElastiCache 无服务器中的数据付费,按千兆字节小时 (GB-Hr) 计费。 ElastiCache Serverless 会持续监控存储在缓存中的数据,每分钟采样多次,并计算每小时平均值以确定缓存的数据存储使用量(以 GB-Hr 为单位)。每个 ElastiCache 无服务器缓存按流量计量存储至少 1 GB 的数据。

ElastiCache 处理单元 (ECPU)

您需要为应用程序在 ElastiCache 无服务器 ElastiCache 处理单元 (ecPU) 上执行的请求付费,该单位包括 vCPU 时间和传输的数据。

  • 对于传输的每 KB 数据,简单读取和写入需要 1 个 ECPU。例如,传输最多 1 KB 数据的 GET 命令将使用 1 个 ECPU。传输 3.2 KB 数据的 SET 请求将使用 3.2 个 ECPU。

  • 对多个项目执行操作的命令将按比例消耗更多的 ECPU。例如,如果您的应用程序对 3 个项目执行 multiget,则它将消耗 3 个 ECPU。

  • 操作更多项目和传输更多数据的命令,会根据两个维度中的较高者使用 ECPU。例如,如果您的应用程序使用 GET 命令,检索 3 个项目并传输 3.2 KB 的数据,则它将使用 3.2 个 ECPU。或者,如果它仅传输 2 KB 数据,则将使用 3 个 ECPU。

ElastiCache Serverless 会发出一个名为的新指标ElastiCacheProcessingUnits,该指标可帮助您了解工作负载消耗的 ECPU。

节点小时数

您可以通过选择 EC2 节点系列、大小、节点数和跨可用区放置,来设计自己的缓存群集。在自行设计集群时,您需要按小时为每个缓存节点付费。