Major version behavior and compatibility differences - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Major version behavior and compatibility differences

Important

The following page is structured to signify all incompability differences between versions and inform you of any considerations you should make when upgrading to newer versions. This list is inclusive of any version incompability issues you may encounter when upgrading.

Redis versions are identified with a semantic version which comprise a MAJOR, MINOR, and PATCH component. For example, in Redis 4.0.10, the major version is 4, the minor version 0, and the patch version is 10. These values are generally incremented based off the following conventions:

  • MAJOR versions are for API incompatible changes

  • MINOR versions are for new functionality added in a backwards-compatible way

  • PATCH versions are for backwards-compatible bug fixes and non-functional changes

We recommend always staying on the latest patch version within a given MAJOR.MINOR version in order to have the latest performance and stability improvements. Beginning with Redis 6.0, ElastiCache for Redis will offer a single version for each Redis OSS minor release, rather than offering multiple patch versions. ElastiCache for Redis will automatically manage the patch version of your running cache clusters, ensuring improved performance and enhanced security.

We also recommend periodically upgrading to the latest major version, since most major improvements are not back ported to older versions. When doing an upgrade that spans major or minor versions, please consider the following list which includes behavior and backwards incompatible changes released with Redis over time.

Redis 6.2 behavior and backwards incompatible changes

For a full list of changes, see Redis 6.2 release notes.

  • The ACL flags of the TIME, ECHO, ROLE, and LASTSAVE commands were changed. This may cause commands that were previously allowed to be rejected and vice versa.

    Note

    None of these commands modify or give access to data.

  • When upgrading from Redis 6.0, the ordering of key/value pairs returned from a map response to a lua script are changed. If your scripts use redis.setresp() or return a map (new in Redis 6.0), consider the implications that the script may break on upgrades.

Redis 6.0 behavior and backwards incompatible changes

For a full list of changes, see Redis 6.0 release notes.

  • The maximum number of allowed databases has been decreased from 1.2 million to 10 thousand. The default value is 16, and we discourage using values much larger than this as we’ve found performance and memory concerns.

  • Set AutoMinorVersionUpgrade parameter to yes, and ElastiCache for Redis will manage the minor version upgrade through self-service updates. This will be handled through standard customer-notification channels via a self-service update campaign. For more information, see Self-service updates in ElastiCache.

Redis 5.0 behavior and backwards incompatible changes

For a full list of changes, see Redis 5.0 release notes.

  • Scripts are by replicated by effects instead of re-executing the script on the replica. This generally improves performance but may increase the amount of data replicated between primaries and replicas. There is an option to revert back to the previous behavior that is only available in ElastiCache for Redis 5.0.

  • If you are upgrading from Redis 4.0, some commands in LUA scripts will return arguments in a different order than they did in earlier versions. In Redis 4.0, Redis would order some responses lexographically in order to make the responses deterministic, this ordering is not applied when scripts are replicated by effects.

  • Starting in Redis 5.0.3, ElastiCache for Redis will offload some IO work to background cores on instance types with more than 4 VCPUs. This may change the performance characteristics Redis and change the values of some metrics. For more information, see to understand if you need to change which metrics you watch.

Redis 4.0 behavior and backwards incompatible changes

For a full list of changes, see Redis 4.0 release notes.

  • Slow log now logs an additional two arguments, the client name and address. This change should be backwards compatible unless you are explicitly relying on each slow log entry containing 3 values.

  • The CLUSTER NODES command now returns a slight different format, which is not backwards compatible. We recommend that clients don’t use this command for learning about the nodes present in a cluster, and instead they should use CLUSTER SLOTS.

Redis 3.2 behavior and backwards incompatible changes

For a full list of changes, see Redis 3.2 release notes.

  • There are no compatibility changes to call out for this version.

Redis 2.8 behavior and backwards incompatible changes

For a full list of changes, see Redis 2.8 release notes.

  • Starting in Redis 2.8.22, Redis AOF is no longer supported in ElastiCache for Redis. We recommend using MemoryDB when data needs to be persisted durably.

  • Starting in Redis 2.8.22, ElastiCache for Redis no longer supports attaching replicas to primaries hosted within ElastiCache. While upgrading, external replicas will be disconnected and they will be unable to reconnect. We recommend using client-side caching, made available in Redis 6.0 as an alternative to external replicas.

  • The TTL and PTTL commands now return -2 if the key does not exist and -1 if it exists but has no associated expire. Redis 2.6 and previous versions used to return -1 for both the conditions.

  • SORT with ALPHA now sorts according to local collation locale if no STORE option is used.

主要版本行为和兼容性差异 - Amazon ElastiCache for Redis
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

主要版本行为和兼容性差异

重要

以下页面的结构设计为指出版本之间的所有不兼容性差异,并告知您在升级到较新版本时应考虑的任何注意事项。此列表包含升级时可能遇到的任何版本不兼容问题。

Redis 版本由包含 MAJOR、MINOR 和 PATCH 组件的语义版本标识。例如,在 Redis 4.0.10 中,主要版本为 4,次要版本为 0,补丁版本为 10。这些值通常根据以下约定递增:

  • MAJOR 版本针对 API 不兼容的更改

  • MINOR 版本针对以向后兼容的方式添加的新功能

  • PATCH 版本针对向后兼容的错误修复和非功能性更改

我们建议始终使用给定 MAJOR.MINOR 版本中的最新补丁版本,以获得最新的性能和稳定性改进。从 Redis 6.0 开始,ElastiCache for Redis 将为每个 Redis OSS 次要版本提供单一版本,而不提供多个补丁版本。ElastiCache for Redis 还将自动管理正在运行状态中的缓存集群的补丁版本,确保更好的性能和安全性。

我们还建议定期升级到最新的主要版本,因为大多数主要改进都不会向后移植到旧版本。在进行跨主版本或次版本的升级时,请考虑以下列表,其中包括随着时间的推移随 Redis 发布的行为和向后不兼容更改。

Redis 6.2 行为和向后不兼容更改

有关更改的完整列表,请参阅 Redis 6.2 发布说明

  • TIMEECHOROLELASTSAVE 命令的 ACL 标志已更改。这可能会导致先前允许的命令被拒绝,反之亦然。

    注意

    这些命令不会修改或授予对数据的访问权限。

  • 从 Redis 6.0 升级时,从映射响应返回到 lua 脚本的键/值对的顺序发生了变化。如果您的脚本使用 redis.setresp() 或返回映射(Redis 6.0 中的新功能),请考虑脚本可能会在升级时发生中断所带来的影响。

Redis 6.0 行为和向后不兼容更改

有关更改的完整列表,请参阅 Redis 6.0 发布说明

  • 允许的最大数据库数量已从 120 万减少到 1 万个。默认值为 16,我们不鼓励使用比这大许多的值,因为我们发现这样会带来性能和内存问题。

  • AutoMinorVersionUpgrade 参数设置为“yes”(是),ElastiCache for Redis 将通过自助更新管理次版本升级。这将通过自助服务更新活动借助标准客户通知渠道进行处理。有关更多信息,请参阅 ElastiCache 中的自助更新

Redis 5.0 行为和向后不兼容更改

有关更改的完整列表,请参阅 Redis 5.0 发布说明

  • 脚本由效果复制,而不是在副本上重新执行脚本。这通常可以提高性能,但可能会增加主副本和副本之间复制的数据量。有一个选项可以恢复到之前的行为,该选项仅在 ElastiCache for Redis 5.0 中可用。

  • 如果您是从 Redis 4.0 升级,LUA 脚本中的某些命令将以与早期版本不同的顺序返回参数。在 Redis 4.0 中,Redis 会按字典顺序对某些响应进行排序,以使响应具有确定性,当脚本通过效果复制时,不应用此排序。

  • 从 Redis 5.0.3 开始,ElastiCache for Redis 会将一些 IO 工作转移到具有 4 个 vCPU 以上的实例类型的后台内核。这可能会改变 Redis 的性能特性并更改某些指标的值。有关更多信息,请参阅 ,以了解您是否需要更改要关注的指标。

Redis 4.0 行为和向后不兼容更改

有关更改的完整列表,请参阅 Redis 4.0 发布说明

  • 慢日志现在记录两个额外参数,即客户端名称和地址。除非您明确依赖包含 3 个值的每个慢日志条目,否则此更改应向后兼容。

  • CLUSTER NODES 命令现在返回的格式略有不同,不向后兼容。我们建议客户端不要使用此命令来了解集群中存在的节点,而应使用 CLUSTER SLOTS

Redis 3.2 行为和向后不兼容更改

有关更改的完整列表,请参阅 Redis 3.2 发布说明

  • 此版本没有兼容性更改需要调用。

Redis 2.8 行为和向后不兼容更改

有关更改的完整列表,请参阅 Redis 2.8 发布说明

  • 从 Redis 2.8.22 开始,ElastiCache for Redis 不再支持 Redis AOF。当数据需要持久保存时,我们建议使用 MemoryDB。

  • 从 Redis 2.8.22 开始,ElastiCache for Redis 不再支持将副本附加到 ElastiCache 中托管的主节点。升级时,外部副本将断开连接,且无法重新连接。我们建议使用 Redis 6.0 中提供的客户端缓存作为外部副本的替代方案。

  • 如果键不存在,TTLPTTL 命令现在返回 -2;如果键存在但没有关联的过期时间,则返回 -1。Redis 2.6 和以前的版本曾经在这两种情况下都返回 -1。

  • 如果未使用任何 STORE 选项,SORTALPHA 现在将根据本地排序规则语言环境进行排序。