How Aurora Serverless Works - Amazon Aurora
AWS services or capabilities described in AWS documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with AWS services in China.

How Aurora Serverless Works

When you work with Amazon Aurora without Aurora Serverless (provisioned DB clusters), you can choose your DB instance class size and create Aurora Replicas to increase read throughput. If your workload changes, you can modify the DB instance class size and change the number of Aurora Replicas. This model works well when the database workload is predictable, because you can adjust capacity manually based on the expected workload.

However, in some environments, workloads can be intermittent and unpredictable. There can be periods of heavy workloads that might last only a few minutes or hours, and also long periods of light activity, or even no activity. Some examples are retail websites with intermittent sales events, reporting databases that produce reports when needed, development and testing environments, and new applications with uncertain requirements. In these cases and many others, it can be difficult to configure the correct capacity at the right times. It can also result in higher costs when you pay for capacity that isn't used.

With Aurora Serverless, you can create a database endpoint without specifying the DB instance class size. You set the minimum and maximum capacity. With Aurora Serverless, the database endpoint connects to a proxy fleet that routes the workload to a fleet of resources that are automatically scaled. Because of the proxy fleet, connections are continuous as Aurora Serverless scales the resources automatically based on the minimum and maximum capacity specifications. Database client applications don't need to change to use the proxy fleet. Aurora Serverless manages the connections automatically. Scaling is rapid because it uses a pool of "warm" resources that are always ready to service requests. Storage and processing are separate, so you can scale down to zero processing and pay only for storage.

Aurora Serverless introduces a new serverless DB engine mode for Aurora DB clusters. Non-Serverless DB clusters use the provisioned DB engine mode.

Aurora Serverless Architecture

The following image provides an overview of the Aurora Serverless architecture.


                  Aurora Serverless Architecture

Instead of provisioning and managing database servers, you specify Aurora capacity units (ACUs). Each ACU is a combination of processing and memory capacity. Database storage automatically scales from 10 GiB to 128 TiB, the same as storage in a standard Aurora DB cluster.

You can specify the minimum and maximum ACU. The minimum Aurora capacity unit is the lowest ACU to which the DB cluster can scale down. The maximum Aurora capacity unit is the highest ACU to which the DB cluster can scale up. Based on your settings, Aurora Serverless automatically creates scaling rules for thresholds for CPU utilization, connections, and available memory.

Aurora Serverless manages the warm pool of resources in an AWS Region to minimize scaling time. When Aurora Serverless adds new resources to the Aurora DB cluster, it uses the proxy fleet to switch active client connections to the new resources. At any specific time, you are only charged for the ACUs that are being actively used in your Aurora DB cluster.

Autoscaling for Aurora Serverless

The capacity allocated to your Aurora Serverless DB cluster seamlessly scales up and down based on the load (the CPU utilization and number of connections) generated by your client application. It also scales to zero capacity when there are no connections for a 5-minute period.

Aurora Serverless scales up when capacity constraints are seen in CPU or connections. It also scales up when it detects performance issues that can be resolved by scaling up.

After scaling up, the cooldown period for scaling down is 15 minutes. After scaling down, the cooldown period for scaling down again is 310 seconds.

Note

There is no cooldown period for scaling up. Aurora Serverless can scale up whenever necessary, including immediately after scaling up or scaling down.

A scaling point is a point in time at which the database can safely initiate the scaling operation. Under the following conditions, Aurora Serverless might not be able to find a scaling point:

  • Long-running queries or transactions are in progress

  • Temporary tables or table locks are in use

In these cases, Aurora Serverless continues to try to find a scaling point so that it can initiate the scaling operation. It does this for as long as it determines that the DB cluster should be scaled.

You can see scaling events in the details for a DB cluster in the AWS Management Console. You can also monitor the current capacity allocated to the DB cluster by using the ServerlessDatabaseCapacity metric for Amazon CloudWatch.

During autoscaling, Aurora Serverless resets the EngineUptime metric. The reset metric value doesn't indicate any issues with seamless scaling and doesn't mean that any connections were dropped. For more information about metrics, see Monitoring Amazon Aurora DB Cluster Metrics.

Automatic Pause and Resume for Aurora Serverless

You can choose to pause your Aurora Serverless DB cluster after a given amount of time with no activity. You specify the amount of time with no activity before the DB cluster is paused. The default is five minutes. You can also disable pausing the DB cluster.

When the DB cluster is paused, no compute or memory activity occurs, and you are charged only for storage. If database connections are requested when an Aurora Serverless DB cluster is paused, the DB cluster automatically resumes and services the connection requests.

When the DB cluster resumes activity, it has the same capacity as it had when Aurora paused the cluster. The number of ACUs depends on how much Aurora scaled the cluster up or down before pausing it.

Note

If a DB cluster is paused for more than seven days, the DB cluster might be backed up with a snapshot. In this case, Aurora restores the DB cluster from the snapshot when there is a request to connect to it.

Timeout Action for Capacity Changes

You can change the capacity of an Aurora Serverless DB cluster. When you change the capacity, Aurora Serverless tries to find a scaling point for the change. If Aurora Serverless can't find a scaling point, it times out. You can specify one of the following actions to take when a capacity change times out:

  • Force the capacity change – Set the capacity to the specified value as soon as possible.

  • Roll back the capacity change – Cancel the capacity change.

Important

Note that for clusters with many concurrent connections, specifying Force the capacity change can result in dropping any connection—not only those with long-running transactions.

For information about changing the capacity, see Modifying an Aurora Serverless DB Cluster.

Aurora Serverless and Parameter Groups

Parameter groups work differently for Aurora Serverless DB clusters than for provisioned DB clusters. Aurora manages the capacity settings for you. Some of the configuration procedures, default parameter values, and so on that you use with other kinds of Aurora clusters don't apply for Aurora Serverless clusters.

The DB instances in an Aurora Serverless cluster only have associated DB cluster parameter groups, not DB parameter groups. Serverless clusters rely on DB cluster parameter groups because DB instances are not permanently associated with Aurora Serverless clusters. Aurora scales the associated DB instance automatically as needed. The scaling operation involves modifying parameter values to be suitable for the larger or smaller capacity.

To customize configuration settings for an Aurora Serverless cluster, you can define your own DB cluster parameter group and modify the parameters it contains. You can modify both cluster-level parameters, and parameters that apply at the instance level in other kinds of Aurora clusters. However, when you modify a DB cluster parameter group that's associated with an Aurora Serverless DB cluster, modifications apply differently than for other DB cluster parameter groups.

When you save changes to a DB cluster parameter group for an Aurora Serverless DB cluster, changes are applied immediately. In doing so, Aurora Serverless ignores the following settings:

To apply a change to a DB cluster parameter group, Aurora Serverless starts a seamless scale with the current capacity if the DB cluster is active. It resumes the DB cluster if it's paused.

Important

Aurora performs the seamless scaling operation for a parameter group change with the force-apply-capacity-change option. If a scaling point can't be found, connections that prevent Aurora Serverless from finding a scaling point might be dropped.

To view the supported engine mode for cluster-level parameters, run the describe-engine-default-cluster-parameters command or the RDS API operation DescribeEngineDefaultClusterParameters. For example, the following Linux command extracts the names of parameters that you can set for Aurora MySQL Serverless clusters, from an aurora5.6 default DB cluster parameter group.

aws rds describe-engine-default-cluster-parameters \ --db-parameter-group-family aurora5.6 \ --query 'EngineDefaults.Parameters[*].{ParameterName:ParameterName, \ SupportedEngineModes:SupportedEngineModes} \ | [?contains(SupportedEngineModes, `serverless`) == `true`] \ | [*].{param:ParameterName}' \ --output text

The following Linux command extracts the names of parameters that you can set for Aurora PostgreSQL Serverless clusters, from an aurora-postgresql10 default DB cluster parameter group.

aws rds describe-engine-default-cluster-parameters \ --db-parameter-group-family aurora-postgresql10 \ --query 'EngineDefaults.Parameters[*].{ParameterName:ParameterName, \ SupportedEngineModes:SupportedEngineModes} \ | [?contains(SupportedEngineModes, `serverless`) == `true`] \ | [*].{param:ParameterName}' \ --output text

The following Linux command extracts the names of parameters that you can set for Serverless clusters from a DB cluster parameter group that you created.

aws rds describe-db-cluster-parameters \ --db-cluster-parameter-group-name my_cluster_param_group_name \ --query 'Parameters[*].{ParameterName:ParameterName, SupportedEngineModes:SupportedEngineModes} | [?contains(SupportedEngineModes, `serverless`) == `true`] | [*].{param:ParameterName}' \ --output text

For more information about parameter groups, see Working with DB Parameter Groups and DB Cluster Parameter Groups.

With an Aurora MySQL Serverless DB cluster, modifications to parameter values only take effect for the following parameters. You can modify other parameters, but Aurora doesn't use the changed values. For all other configuration parameters, Aurora MySQL Serverless clusters use default values. These default values might be different than for other kinds of Aurora clusters. These values might also change as Aurora scales the Aurora Serverless cluster up or down.

  • character_set_server.

  • collation_server.

  • general_log. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • innodb_file_format. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • innodb_file_per_table.

  • innodb_large_prefix. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • innodb_lock_wait_timeout. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • innodb_monitor_disable. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • innodb_monitor_enable. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • innodb_monitor_reset. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • innodb_monitor_reset_all. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • innodb_print_all_deadlocks. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • lc_time_names.

  • log_output. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group. This setting has a default value of FILE. You can't change this value.

  • log_queries_not_using_indexes. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • log_warnings. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • long_query_time. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • lower_case_table_names.

  • net_read_timeout. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • net_retry_count. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • net_write_timeout. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • server_audit_logging.

  • server_audit_events.

  • server_audit_excl_users.

  • server_audit_incl_users.

  • slow_query_log. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • sql_mode. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

  • time_zone.

  • tx_isolation. This setting was formerly only in the DB instance parameter group.

Aurora Serverless and Maintenance

Aurora Serverless performs regular maintenance so that your DB cluster has the latest features, fixes, and security updates. Aurora Serverless performs maintenance in a non-disruptive manner whenever possible.

To apply maintenance, Aurora Serverless must find a scaling point. For more information about scaling points, see Autoscaling for Aurora Serverless.

If there is maintenance required for an Aurora Serverless DB cluster, the DB cluster attempts to find a scaling point to apply the maintenance for seven days. After each day that no scaling point can be found, Aurora Serverless creates a cluster event to notify you that it must scale to apply maintenance. The notification includes the date at which scaling will be applied with the ForceApplyCapacityChange timeout action to apply the maintenance, regardless of the ScalingConfiguration settings. If your DB cluster has RollbackCapacityChange set as the TimeoutAction for its ScalingConfiguration, Aurora Serverless tries to apply maintenance using the RollbackCapacityChange timeout action prior to the time included in the event. If your DB cluster has ForceApplyCapacityChange set as the TimeoutAction for its ScalingConfiguration, then scaling to apply maintenance uses it for all attempts. When ForceApplyCapacityChange is used, it might interrupt your workload. For more information, see Timeout Action for Capacity Changes.

Note

Maintenance windows don't apply to Aurora Serverless.

Aurora Serverless and Failover

If the DB instance for an Aurora Serverless DB cluster becomes unavailable or the Availability Zone (AZ) it is in fails, Aurora recreates the DB instance in a different AZ. We refer to this capability as automatic multi-AZ failover.

This failover mechanism takes longer than for an Aurora Provisioned cluster. The Aurora Serverless failover time is currently undefined because it depends on demand and capacity availability in other AZs within the given AWS Region.

Because Aurora separates computation capacity and storage, the storage volume for the cluster is spread across multiple AZs. Your data remains available even if outages affect the DB instance or the associated AZ.

Aurora Serverless and Snapshots

The cluster volume for an Aurora Serverless cluster is always encrypted. You can choose the encryption key, but not turn off encryption. To copy or share a snapshot of an Aurora Serverless cluster, you encrypt the snapshot using your own AWS Key Management Service customer master key (CMK).

Amazon Aurora
Aurora 用户指南 (API 版本 2014-10-31)
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

Aurora Serverless 的工作方式

在没有 Aurora Serverless 的情况下使用 Amazon Aurora 时,您可以选择数据库实例类大小并创建 Aurora 副本以提高读取吞吐量。如果您的工作负载发生变化,您可以修改数据库实例类大小并更改 Aurora 副本的数量。此模型在数据库工作负载是可预测时运行良好,因为您可以根据预期工作负载手动调整容量。

不过,在某些环境中,工作负载可能是间歇性和不可预测的。可能存在可能仅持续几分钟或几小时的大量工作负载的时间段以及少量活动或甚至无活动的长时间段。例如,一些进行间歇性销售活动的零售网站、根据需要生成报告的报告数据库、开发和测试环境以及具有不确定要求的新应用程序。在这些情况及很多其他情况下,可能很难在正确的时间配置正确的容量。这还可能会在您为未使用的容量付费时产生更高的成本。

对于 Aurora Serverless,您可以创建数据库终端节点,而无需指定数据库实例类大小。可以设置最小容量和最大容量。对于 Aurora Serverless,数据库终端节点可以连接到代理队列,后者将工作负载路由到一组自动扩展的资源。借助代理队列,连接是持续存在的,这是因为 Aurora Serverless 自动根据最小和最大容量规范扩展资源。数据库客户端应用程序无需更改为使用代理队列。Aurora Serverless 会自动管理连接。扩展的速度非常快,因为它使用随时准备好为请求提供服务的“热”资源池。存储和处理是分开的,因此处理容量可以缩减至零(此时,您只需支付存储费用)。

Aurora Serverless 引入了适用于 Aurora 数据库集群的新 serverless 数据库引擎模式。非 Serverless 数据库集群使用 provisioned 数据库引擎模式。

Aurora Serverless 架构

下图提供了 Aurora Serverless 架构的概览。


                  Aurora Serverless 架构

您可指定 Aurora 容量单位 (ACU),而不是配置和管理数据库服务器。每个 ACU 是处理和内存容量的组合。数据库存储从 10 GiB 自动扩展到 64 TiB,标准 Aurora 数据库集群中的存储也是如此。

可以指定最小和最大 ACU。最小 Aurora 容量单位 是数据库集群可缩减到的最低 ACU。最大 Aurora 容量单位 是数据库集群可扩展到的最高 ACU。根据您的设置,Aurora Serverless 自动创建 CPU 使用率、连接和可用内存阈值的扩展规则。

Aurora Serverless 管理 AWS 区域中的热资源池以最大程度地减少扩展时间。在 Aurora Serverless 将新资源添加到 Aurora 数据库集群时,它使用代理队列将活动客户端连接切换到新资源。在任何给定时间,您都只需为您的 Aurora 数据库集群中正在主动使用的 ACU 付费。

对 Aurora Serverless 进行 Auto Scaling

分配给您的 Aurora Serverless 数据库集群的容量根据客户端应用程序生成的负载(CPU 使用率和连接数)进行扩展和缩减。它还在 5 分钟内没有任何连接时扩展到零容量。

在 CPU、连接或内存中存在容量限制时,Aurora Serverless 会纵向扩展。在检测到通过纵向扩展可解决的性能问题时,它也会纵向扩展。

纵向扩展后,需冷却 15 分钟才能进行纵向缩减。纵向缩减后,需冷却 310 秒才能再次进行纵向缩减。

注意

纵向扩展不需要冷却时间。Aurora Serverless 可在必要时随时纵向扩展,包括在纵向扩展或纵向缩减后立即进行纵向扩展。

扩展点 是数据库可安装启动扩展操作的时间点。在以下条件下,Aurora Serverless 可能无法找到扩展点:

  • 正在执行长时间运行的查询或事务

  • 正在使用临时表或表锁定

在这些情况下,Aurora Serverless 会继续尝试查找扩展点,以便可以开始执行扩展操作。只要它确定应该缩放数据库集群,就会执行此操作。

您可以在 AWS 管理控制台中详细查看数据库集群的扩展事件。您还可以使用 Amazon CloudWatch 的 ServerlessDatabaseCapacity 指标监控分配给数据库集群的当前容量。

自动暂停和恢复 Aurora Serverless

您可以选择在无任何活动的指定时间段内暂停 Aurora Serverless 数据库集群。在暂停数据库集群之前指定无任何活动的时间长度。默认值为 5 分钟。还可以禁用暂停数据库集群。

暂停数据库集群后,不会发生任何计算或内存活动,而且您只需支付存储费用。如果暂停 Aurora Serverless 数据库集群时请求数据库连接,数据库集群将自动恢复并处理连接请求。

注意

如果暂停数据库集群超过 7 天,则可能会使用快照对数据库集群进行备份。在这种情况下,数据库集群会在有请求连接到它时进行还原。

容量更改超时操作

您可以更改 Aurora Serverless 数据库集群的容量。在更改此容量时,Aurora Serverless 会因此更改尝试查找扩展点。如果 Aurora Serverless 找不到扩展点,则会超时。您可以指定在容量更改超时的情况下采取以下操作之一:

  • 强制执行容量更改 – 尽快将容量设置为指定值。

  • 回滚容量更改 – 取消容量更改。

重要

如果强制执行容量更改,则阻止 Aurora Serverless 查找扩展点的连接可能会中断。

有关更改容量的信息,请参阅修改 Aurora Serverless 数据库集群

Aurora Serverless 和参数组

与预配置数据库集群相比,Serverless 数据库集群的参数组的使用方式有所不同。具体而言,Aurora Serverless 集群中的数据库实例只有关联的数据库集群参数组,而没有关联的数据库参数组。Serverless 集群依赖于数据库集群参数组是因为数据库实例不能与 Aurora Serverless 集群永久关联。Aurora 会根据需要自动添加和移除数据库实例。

要自定义 Aurora Serverless 集群的配置设置,可以定义您自己的数据库集群参数组,然后修改其中包含的参数。您可以修改集群级参数和应用于其他类型 Aurora 集群的实例级参数。但是,在修改与 Aurora Serverless 数据库集群关联的数据库集群参数组时,应用的修改操作与其他数据库集群参数组的相关操作有所不同。

在为 Aurora Serverless 数据库集群保存数据库集群参数组更改内容后,系统会立即应用更改。因此,Aurora Serverless 会忽略以下设置:

Aurora Serverless 会忽略数据库集群参数组状态 pending-reboot。Aurora 会在不停机的情况下立即应用参数更改。

为将更改应用于数据库集群参数组,Aurora Serverless 将在数据库集群处于活动状态时为当前容量启动无缝扩展。如果数据库集群处于暂停状态,则会恢复此集群。

使用 Aurora Serverless 数据库集群,您可以仅修改以下参数:对于其他所有配置参数,Aurora Serverless 集群使用默认值。

  • character_set_server

  • collation_server

  • general_log。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • innodb_file_format。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • innodb_file_per_table

  • innodb_large_prefix。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • innodb_lock_wait_timeout。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • innodb_monitor_disable。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • innodb_monitor_enable。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • innodb_monitor_reset。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • innodb_monitor_reset_all。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • innodb_print_all_deadlocks。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • lc_time_names

  • log_output。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。此设置的默认值为 FILE。您不能更改此值。

  • log_queries_not_using_indexes。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • log_warnings。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • long_query_time。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • lower_case_table_names

  • net_read_timeout。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • net_retry_count。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • net_write_timeout。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • server_audit_logging

  • server_audit_events

  • server_audit_excl_users

  • server_audit_incl_users

  • slow_query_log。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • sql_mode。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

  • time_zone

  • tx_isolation。此设置以前仅用于数据库实例参数组。

要查看集群级参数支持的引擎模式,请运行 describe-engine-default-cluster-parameters 命令或 RDS API 操作 DescribeEngineDefaultClusterParameters。例如,以下 Linux 命令从 aurora5.6 默认数据库集群参数组提取您为 Serverless 集群设置的参数的名称。

aws rds describe-engine-default-cluster-parameters \ --db-parameter-group-family aurora5.6 \ --query 'EngineDefaults.Parameters[*].{ParameterName:ParameterName, \ SupportedEngineModes:SupportedEngineModes} \ | [?contains(SupportedEngineModes, `serverless`) == `true`] \ | [*].{param:ParameterName}' \ --output text

例如,以下 Linux 命令从您创建的数据库集群参数组提取您为 Serverless 集群设置的参数的名称。

aws rds describe-db-cluster-parameters \ --db-cluster-parameter-group-name my_cluster_param_group_name \ --query 'Parameters[*].{ParameterName:ParameterName, SupportedEngineModes:SupportedEngineModes} | [?contains(SupportedEngineModes, `serverless`) == `true`] | [*].{param:ParameterName}' \ --output text

有关参数组的更多信息,请参阅 使用数据库参数组和数据库集群参数组

Aurora Serverless 和故障转移

目前,Aurora Serverless 数据库集群是在单个可用区 (AZ) 中创建的。如果该可用区变得不可用,Aurora 将在不同的可用区中重新创建该集群。

为快速故障转移配置的 Aurora 预配置集群将在大约 60 秒内恢复。虽然 Aurora Serverless 不支持快速故障转移,但它支持自动多可用区故障转移。Aurora Serverless 故障转移需要的时间比 Aurora 预配置集群长。当前未定义 Aurora Serverless 故障转移时间,因为它取决于给定 AWS 区域中的其他可用区的需求和容量可用性。

Aurora Serverless 和快照

Aurora Serverless 集群的集群卷始终是加密的。您可以选择加密密钥,但无法禁用加密。要复制或共享 Aurora Serverless 集群的快照,可使用您自己的 KMS 密钥对快照加密。