Updating applications to connect to Aurora MySQL DB clusters using new TLS certificates - Amazon Aurora
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Updating applications to connect to Aurora MySQL DB clusters using new TLS certificates

As of January 13, 2023, Amazon RDS has published new Certificate Authority (CA) certificates for connecting to your Aurora DB clusters using Transport Layer Security (TLS). Following, you can find information about updating your applications to use the new certificates.

This topic can help you to determine whether any client applications use TLS to connect to your DB clusters. If they do, you can further check whether those applications require certificate verification to connect.

Note

Some applications are configured to connect to Aurora MySQL DB clusters only if they can successfully verify the certificate on the server.

For such applications, you must update your client application trust stores to include the new CA certificates.

After you update your CA certificates in the client application trust stores, you can rotate the certificates on your DB clusters. We strongly recommend testing these procedures in a development or staging environment before implementing them in your production environments.

For more information about certificate rotation, see Rotating your SSL/TLS certificate. For more information about downloading certificates, see Using SSL/TLS to encrypt a connection to a DB cluster. For information about using TLS with Aurora MySQL DB clusters, see Using TLS with Aurora MySQL DB clusters.

Determining whether any applications are connecting to your Aurora MySQL DB cluster using TLS

If you are using Aurora MySQL version 2 (compatible with MySQL 5.7) and the Performance Schema is enabled, run the following query to check if connections are using TLS. For information about enabling the Performance Schema, see Performance Schema quick start in the MySQL documentation.

mysql> SELECT id, user, host, connection_type FROM performance_schema.threads pst INNER JOIN information_schema.processlist isp ON pst.processlist_id = isp.id;

In this sample output, you can see both your own session (admin) and an application logged in as webapp1 are using TLS.

+----+-----------------+------------------+-----------------+ | id | user | host | connection_type | +----+-----------------+------------------+-----------------+ | 8 | admin | 10.0.4.249:42590 | SSL/TLS | | 4 | event_scheduler | localhost | NULL | | 10 | webapp1 | 159.28.1.1:42189 | SSL/TLS | +----+-----------------+------------------+-----------------+ 3 rows in set (0.00 sec)

Determining whether a client requires certificate verification to connect

You can check whether JDBC clients and MySQL clients require certificate verification to connect.

JDBC

The following example with MySQL Connector/J 8.0 shows one way to check an application's JDBC connection properties to determine whether successful connections require a valid certificate. For more information on all of the JDBC connection options for MySQL, see Configuration properties in the MySQL documentation.

When using the MySQL Connector/J 8.0, an TLS connection requires verification against the server CA certificate if your connection properties have sslMode set to VERIFY_CA or VERIFY_IDENTITY, as in the following example.

Properties properties = new Properties(); properties.setProperty("sslMode", "VERIFY_IDENTITY"); properties.put("user", DB_USER); properties.put("password", DB_PASSWORD);
Note

If you use either the MySQL Java Connector v5.1.38 or later, or the MySQL Java Connector v8.0.9 or later to connect to your databases, even if you haven't explicitly configured your applications to use TLS when connecting to your databases, these client drivers default to using TLS. In addition, when using TLS, they perform partial certificate verification and fail to connect if the database server certificate is expired.

MySQL

The following examples with the MySQL Client show two ways to check a script's MySQL connection to determine whether successful connections require a valid certificate. For more information on all of the connection options with the MySQL Client, see Client-side configuration for encrypted connections in the MySQL documentation.

When using the MySQL 5.7 or MySQL 8.0 Client, an TLS connection requires verification against the server CA certificate if for the --ssl-mode option you specify VERIFY_CA or VERIFY_IDENTITY, as in the following example.

mysql -h mysql-database.rds.amazonaws.com -uadmin -ppassword --ssl-ca=/tmp/ssl-cert.pem --ssl-mode=VERIFY_CA

When using the MySQL 5.6 Client, an SSL connection requires verification against the server CA certificate if you specify the --ssl-verify-server-cert option, as in the following example.

mysql -h mysql-database.rds.amazonaws.com -uadmin -ppassword --ssl-ca=/tmp/ssl-cert.pem --ssl-verify-server-cert

Updating your application trust store

For information about updating the trust store for MySQL applications, see Installing SSL certificates in the MySQL documentation.

Note

When you update the trust store, you can retain older certificates in addition to adding the new certificates.

Updating your application trust store for JDBC

You can update the trust store for applications that use JDBC for TLS connections.

For information about downloading the root certificate, see Using SSL/TLS to encrypt a connection to a DB cluster.

For sample scripts that import certificates, see Sample script for importing certificates into your trust store.

If you are using the mysql JDBC driver in an application, set the following properties in the application.

System.setProperty("javax.net.ssl.trustStore", certs); System.setProperty("javax.net.ssl.trustStorePassword", "password");
Note

Specify a password other than the prompt shown here as a security best practice.

When you start the application, set the following properties.

java -Djavax.net.ssl.trustStore=/path_to_truststore/MyTruststore.jks -Djavax.net.ssl.trustStorePassword=my_truststore_password com.companyName.MyApplication

Example Java code for establishing TLS connections

The following code example shows how to set up the SSL connection that validates the server certificate using JDBC.

public class MySQLSSLTest { private static final String DB_USER = "user name"; private static final String DB_PASSWORD = "password"; // This key store has only the prod root ca. private static final String KEY_STORE_FILE_PATH = "file-path-to-keystore"; private static final String KEY_STORE_PASS = "keystore-password"; public static void test(String[] args) throws Exception { Class.forName("com.mysql.jdbc.Driver"); System.setProperty("javax.net.ssl.trustStore", KEY_STORE_FILE_PATH); System.setProperty("javax.net.ssl.trustStorePassword", KEY_STORE_PASS); Properties properties = new Properties(); properties.setProperty("sslMode", "VERIFY_IDENTITY"); properties.put("user", DB_USER); properties.put("password", DB_PASSWORD); Connection connection = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:mysql://jagdeeps-ssl-test.cni62e2e7kwh.us-east-1.rds.amazonaws.com:3306",properties); Statement stmt=connection.createStatement(); ResultSet rs=stmt.executeQuery("SELECT 1 from dual"); return; } }
Important

After you have determined that your database connections use TLS and have updated your application trust store, you can update your database to use the rds-ca-rsa2048-g1 certificates. For instructions, see step 3 in Updating your CA certificate by modifying your DB instance.

使用新 SSL/TLS 证书更新应用程序,以连接到 Aurora MySQL 数据库集群 - Amazon Aurora
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

使用新 SSL/TLS 证书更新应用程序,以连接到 Aurora MySQL 数据库集群

自 2019 年 9 月 19 日起,Amazon RDS 发布了新的证书颁发机构 (CA) 证书,以便使用安全套接字层或传输层安全性 (SSL/TLS) 连接到 Aurora 数据库集群。接下来,您可以找到有关更新应用程序以使用新证书的信息。

本主题可帮助您确定是否有任何客户端应用程序使用 SSL/TLS 连接到您的数据库集群。如果是这样,您可以进一步检查这些应用程序是否需要证书验证才能连接。

注意

某些应用程序被配置为仅在它们可以成功验证服务器上的证书时才连接到 Aurora MySQL 数据库集群。

对于此类应用程序,您必须更新客户端应用程序信任存储,以包括新的 CA 证书。

更新客户端应用程序信任存储中的 CA 证书后,可以在数据库集群上轮换这些证书。强烈建议在生产环境中实现这些过程之前,先在开发或测试环境中测试它们。

有关证书轮换的更多信息,请参阅轮换 SSL/TLS 证书。有关下载证书的更多信息,请参阅使用 SSL/TLS 加密与数据库集群的连接。有关将 SSL/TLS 与 Aurora MySQL 数据库集群配合使用的信息,请参阅将 SSL 与 Aurora MySQL 数据库集群配合使用

确定是否有任何应用程序正使用 SSL 连接到 Aurora MySQL 数据库集群

如果您使用的是 Aurora MySQL 版本 2(与 MySQL 5.7 兼容)并且启用了性能架构,则运行以下查询以检查连接是否正在使用 SSL/TLS。有关启用性能架构的信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的性能架构快速入门

mysql> SELECT id, user, host, connection_type FROM performance_schema.threads pst INNER JOIN information_schema.processlist isp ON pst.processlist_id = isp.id;

在该示例输出中,您可以看到自己的会话 (admin) 以及作为 webapp1 登录的应用程序均在使用 SSL。

+----+-----------------+------------------+-----------------+ | id | user | host | connection_type | +----+-----------------+------------------+-----------------+ | 8 | admin | 10.0.4.249:42590 | SSL/TLS | | 4 | event_scheduler | localhost | NULL | | 10 | webapp1 | 159.28.1.1:42189 | SSL/TLS | +----+-----------------+------------------+-----------------+ 3 rows in set (0.00 sec)

如果您使用的是 Aurora MySQL 版本 1(与 MySQL 5.6 兼容),则无法从服务器端确定应用程序是否使用 SSL 进行连接。对于这些版本,您可以通过检查应用程序的连接方法来确定是否使用了 SSL。您可以在下一节中找到有关检查客户端连接配置的更多信息。

确定客户端是否需要证书验证才能连接

您可以检查 JDBC 客户端和 MySQL 客户端是否需要证书验证才能连接。

JDBC

以下使用 MySQL Connector/J 8.0 的示例显示了一种方法,用于检查应用程序的 JDBC 连接属性以确定成功的连接是否需要有效证书。有关 MySQL 的所有 JDBC 连接选项的更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的配置属性

当使用 MySQL Connector/J 8.0 时,如果您的连接属性将 sslMode 设置为 VERIFY_CAVERIFY_IDENTITY,则 SSL 连接需要对服务器 CA 证书进行验证,如以下示例所示。

Properties properties = new Properties(); properties.setProperty("sslMode", "VERIFY_IDENTITY"); properties.put("user", DB_USER); properties.put("password", DB_PASSWORD);
注意

如果您使用 MySQL Java Connector v5.1.38 或更高版本或者 MySQL Java Connector v8.0.9 或更高版本连接到数据库,即使您没有明确配置应用程序在连接到数据库时使用 SSL/TLS,这些客户端驱动程序仍默认为使用 SSL/TLS。此外,在使用 SSL/TLS 时,它们会执行部分证书验证,如果数据库服务器证书过期,则无法连接。

MySQL

以下使用 MySQL 客户端的示例显示了两种方法,用于检查脚本的 MySQL 连接以确定成功的连接是否需要有效证书。有关 MySQL 客户端的所有连接选项的更多信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的加密连接的客户端配置

当使用 MySQL 5.7 或 MySQL 8.0 客户端时,如果对于 --ssl-mode 选项,您指定 VERIFY_CAVERIFY_IDENTITY,则 SSL 连接需要对服务器 CA 证书进行验证,如以下示例所示。

mysql -h mysql-database.rds.amazonaws.com -uadmin -ppassword --ssl-ca=/tmp/ssl-cert.pem --ssl-mode=VERIFY_CA

当使用 MySQL 5.6 客户端时,如果您指定 --ssl-verify-server-cert 选项,则 SSL 连接需要对服务器 CA 证书进行验证,如以下示例所示。

mysql -h mysql-database.rds.amazonaws.com -uadmin -ppassword --ssl-ca=/tmp/ssl-cert.pem --ssl-verify-server-cert

更新应用程序信任存储

有关更新 MySQL 应用程序的信任存储的信息,请参阅 MySQL 文档中的安装 SSL 证书

注意

更新信任存储时,除了添加新证书外,还可以保留较旧证书。

更新 JDBC 应用程序信任存储

您可以更新使用 JDBC 的应用程序的信任存储以进行 SSL/TLS 连接。

更新 JDBC 应用程序信任存储

  1. 下载适用于所有 AWS 区域的 2019 年根证书,并将此文件放在信任存储目录中。

    有关下载根证书的信息,请参阅 使用 SSL/TLS 加密与数据库集群的连接

  2. 使用以下命令将证书转换为 .der 格式。

    openssl x509 -outform der -in rds-ca-2019-root.pem -out rds-ca-2019-root.der

    将文件名替换为您下载的文件名。

  3. 使用以下命令将证书导入密钥存储。

    keytool -import -alias rds-root -keystore clientkeystore -file rds-ca-2019-root.der
  4. 确认成功更新了密钥存储。

    keytool -list -v -keystore clientkeystore.jks

    在出现提示时,输入元存储密码。

    您的输出应包含以下内容。

    rds-root,date, trustedCertEntry, Certificate fingerprint (SHA1): D4:0D:DB:29:E3:75:0D:FF:A6:71:C3:14:0B:BF:5F:47:8D:1C:80:96 # This fingerprint should match the output from the below command openssl x509 -fingerprint -in rds-ca-2019-root.pem -noout

如果在应用程序中使用 mysql JDBC 驱动程序,请在该应用程序中设置以下属性。

System.setProperty("javax.net.ssl.trustStore", certs); System.setProperty("javax.net.ssl.trustStorePassword", "password");

启动应用程序时,请设置以下属性。

java -Djavax.net.ssl.trustStore=/path_to_truststore/MyTruststore.jks -Djavax.net.ssl.trustStorePassword=my_truststore_password com.companyName.MyApplication

用于建立 SSL 连接的示例 Java 代码

以下代码示例展示了如何设置使用 JDBC 验证服务器证书的 SSL 连接。

public class MySQLSSLTest { private static final String DB_USER = "user name"; private static final String DB_PASSWORD = "password"; // This key store has only the prod root ca. private static final String KEY_STORE_FILE_PATH = "file-path-to-keystore"; private static final String KEY_STORE_PASS = "keystore-password"; public static void test(String[] args) throws Exception { Class.forName("com.mysql.jdbc.Driver"); System.setProperty("javax.net.ssl.trustStore", KEY_STORE_FILE_PATH); System.setProperty("javax.net.ssl.trustStorePassword", KEY_STORE_PASS); Properties properties = new Properties(); properties.setProperty("sslMode", "VERIFY_IDENTITY"); properties.put("user", DB_USER); properties.put("password", DB_PASSWORD); Connection connection = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:mysql://jagdeeps-ssl-test.cni62e2e7kwh.us-east-1.rds.amazonaws.com:3306",properties); Statement stmt=connection.createStatement(); ResultSet rs=stmt.executeQuery("SELECT 1 from dual"); return; } }
重要

在确定了数据库连接使用 SSL/TLS 并更新了应用程序信任存储之后,可以更新数据库以使用 rds-ca-2019 证书。有关说明,请参阅通过修改数据库实例来更新 CA 证书中的步骤 3。