Amazon Relational Database Service
User Guide (API Version 2014-10-31)
AWS services or capabilities described in AWS documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon AWS.

Multi-AZ Deployments for Microsoft SQL Server

Multi-AZ deployments provide increased availability, data durability, and fault tolerance for DB instances. In the event of planned database maintenance or unplanned service disruption, Amazon RDS automatically fails over to the up-to-date secondary DB instance. This functionality lets database operations resume quickly without manual intervention. The primary and standby instances use the same endpoint, whose physical network address transitions to the secondary replica as part of the failover process. You don't have to reconfigure your application when a failover occurs.

Amazon RDS supports Multi-AZ deployments for Microsoft SQL Server by using either SQL Server Database Mirroring or Always On availability groups. Amazon RDS monitors and maintains the health of your Multi-AZ deployment. If problems occur, RDS automatically repairs unhealthy DB instances, reestablishes synchronization, and initiates failovers. Failover only occurs if the standby and primary are fully in sync. You don't have to manage anything.

When you set up SQL Server Multi-AZ, RDS automatically configures all databases on the instance to use Mirroring or Always On. Amazon RDS handles the primary, the witness, and the secondary DB instance for you.

Because configuration is automatic, RDS selects Mirroring or Always On based on the version of SQL Server that you deploy. Amazon RDS supports Multi-AZ with Mirroring or Always On for the following SQL Server versions and editions, with the noted exceptions:

  • SQL Server 2017: Standard and Enterprise Editions (Always On not yet supported)

  • SQL Server 2016: Standard and Enterprise Editions (Always On only in 13.00.5216.0 or later)

  • SQL Server 2014: Standard and Enterprise Editions

  • SQL Server 2012: Standard and Enterprise Editions

  • SQL Server 2008 R2: Standard and Enterprise Editions

Amazon RDS supports Multi-AZ for SQL Server in all AWS Regions, with the following exceptions:

  • China: Always On is not supported in China

  • US West (N. California): Neither Mirroring or Always On are supported here

  • Asia Pacific (Sydney): Supported for DB instances in VPCs

  • Asia Pacific (Tokyo): Supported for DB instances in VPCs

  • South America (São Paulo): Supported on all DB instance classes except m1 or m2

Adding Multi-AZ to a Microsoft SQL Server DB Instance

When you create a new SQL Server DB instance using the AWS Management Console, you can add Multi-AZ with Mirroring or Always On. You do so by choosing Yes (Mirroring / Always On) from the Multi-AZ Deployment list on the Specify DB Details page. For more information, see Creating a DB Instance Running the Microsoft SQL Server Database Engine.

When you modify an existing SQL Server DB instance using the AWS Management Console, you can add Multi-AZ with Mirroring or Always On by choosing Yes (Mirroring / Always On) from the Multi-AZ Deployment list on the Modify DB Instance page. For more information, see Modifying a DB Instance Running the Microsoft SQL Server Database Engine.

Microsoft SQL Server Multi-AZ Deployment Notes and Recommendations

The following are some restrictions when working with Multi-AZ deployments for Microsoft SQL Server DB instances:

  • Cross-region Multi-AZ is not currently supported.

  • You can't configure the secondary to accept database read activity.

  • Multi-AZ with Always On supports in-memory optimization.

  • You can't rename a database on a SQL Server DB instance that is in a SQL Server Multi-AZ deployment. If you need to rename a database on such an instance, first turn off Multi-AZ for the DB instance, then rename the database. Finally, turn Multi-AZ back on for the DB instance.

  • You can only restore Multi-AZ DB instances that are backed up using the full recovery model.

The following are some notes about working with Multi-AZ deployments for Microsoft SQL Server DB instances:

  • Amazon RDS exposes the Always On availability group listener endpoint. The endpoint is visible in the console, and is returned by the DescribeDBInstances API as an entry in the endpoints field.

  • Amazon RDS supports availability group multisubnet failovers.

  • To use SQL Server Multi-AZ with a SQL Server DB instance in a VPC, first create a DB subnet group that has subnets in at least two distinct Availability Zones. Then assign the DB subnet group to the primary replica of the SQL Server DB instance.

  • When a DB instance is modified to be a Multi-AZ deployment, during the modification it has a status of modifying. Amazon RDS creates the standby, and makes a backup of the primary DB instance. After the process is complete, the status of the primary DB instance becomes available.

  • Multi-AZ deployments maintain all databases on the same node. If a database on the primary host fails over, all your SQL Server databases fail over as one atomic unit to your standby host. Amazon RDS provisions a new healthy host, and replaces the unhealthy host.

  • Multi-AZ with Mirroring or Always On supports a single standby replica.

  • Users, logins, and permissions are automatically replicated for you on the secondary. You don’t need to recreate them. User-defined server roles (a SQL Server 2012 feature) are only replicated in Multi-AZ instances for Always On instances.

  • If you have SQL Server Agent jobs, recreate them on the secondary. You do so because these jobs are stored in the msdb database, and you can't replicate this database by using Mirroring or Always On. Create the jobs first in the original primary, then fail over, and create the same jobs in the new primary.

  • You might observe elevated latencies compared to a standard DB instance deployment (in a single Availability Zone) because of the synchronous data replication.

  • Failover times are affected by the time it takes to complete the recovery process. Large transactions increase the failover time.

The following are some recommendations for working with Multi-AZ deployments for Microsoft SQL Server DB instances:

  • For databases used in production or preproduction, we recommend Multi-AZ deployments for high availability, Provisioned IOPS for fast, consistent performance, and instance classes (m3.large and larger, m4.large and larger) that are optimized for Provisioned IOPS.

  • You can't select the Availability Zone (AZ) for the secondary instance, so when you deploy application hosts, take this into account. Your database might fail over to another AZ, and the application hosts might not be in the same AZ as the database. For this reason, we recommend that you balance your application hosts across all AZs in the given AWS Region.

  • For best performance, don't enable Mirroring or Always On during a large data load operation. If you want your data load to be as fast as possible, finish loading data before you convert your DB instance to a Multi-AZ deployment.

  • Applications that access the SQL Server databases should have exception handling that catches connection errors. The following code sample shows a try/catch block that catches a communication error.

    for (int iRetryCount = 0; (iRetryCount < RetryMaxAttempts && keepInserting); iRetryCount++) { using (SqlConnection connection = new SqlConnection(DatabaseConnString)) { using (SqlCommand command = connection.CreateCommand()) { command.CommandText = "INSERT INTO SOME_TABLE VALUES ('SomeValue');"; try { connection.Open(); while (keepInserting) { command.ExecuteNonQuery(); intervalCount++; } connection.Close(); } catch (Exception ex) { Logger(ex.Message); } } } if (iRetryCount < RetryMaxAttempts && keepInserting) { Thread.Sleep(RetryIntervalPeriodInSeconds * 1000); } }
  • Don't use the Set Partner Off command when working with Multi-AZ instances. For example, don't do the following.

    --Don't do this ALTER DATABASE db1 SET PARTNER off
  • Don't set the recovery mode to simple. For example, don't do the following.

    --Don't do this ALTER DATABASE db1 SET RECOVERY simple
  • Don't use the DEFAULT_DATABASE parameter when creating new logins on Multi-AZ DB instances, because these settings can't be applied to the standby mirror. For example, don't do the following.

    --Don't do this CREATE LOGIN [test_dba] WITH PASSWORD=foo, DEFAULT_DATABASE=[db2]

    Also, don't do the following.

    --Don't do this ALTER LOGIN [test_dba] SET DEFAULT_DATABASE=[db3]

Determining the Location of the Secondary

You can determine the location of the secondary replica by using the AWS Management Console. You need to know the location of the secondary if you are setting up your primary DB instance in a VPC.


				Single AZ Scenario

You can also view the Availability Zone of the secondary using the AWS CLI command describe-db-instances or RDS API action DescribeDBInstances. The output shows the secondary AZ where the standby mirror is located.

Migrating from Mirroring to Always On

To migrate from Mirroring to Always On, first check your version. If you are using a DB instance with a version prior to 13.00.5216.0, modify the instance to patch it to 13.00.5216.0.

To upgrade to Always On, modify the instance to remove Multi-AZ, and then modify it again to add Multi-AZ. This converts your instance to use AlwaysOn.

Amazon Relational Database Service
用户指南 (API 版本 2014-10-31)
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

Microsoft SQL Server 的多可用区部署

多可用区部署为数据库实例提供了更高的可用性、数据持久性和容错能力。在进行计划的数据维护或发生未计划的服务中断时,Amazon RDS 会自动故障转移到最新的辅助数据库实例。此功能让数据库操作快速恢复,而不需要手动干预。主实例和备用实例使用相同的终端节点,其物理网络地址作为故障转移过程的一部分转换到辅助副本。在故障转移时,您不必重新配置应用程序。

Amazon RDS 通过使用 SQL Server 数据库镜像或 Always On 可用性组支持 Microsoft SQL Server 的多可用区部署。Amazon RDS 监控和维护多可用区部署的运行状况。如果出现问题,RDS 会自动修复运行状况不佳的数据库实例,重新建立同步,并发起故障转移。仅当备用实例和主要实例完全同步时,才会发生故障转移。您不必管理任何内容。

当您设置 SQL Server 多可用区时,RDS 自动将实例上的所有数据库配置为使用镜像或 Always On。Amazon RDS 负责处理主要、见证以及辅助数据库实例。

因为配置是自动的,所以 RDS 根据您部署的 SQL Server 版本选择镜像或 Always On。Amazon RDS 对于以下 SQL Server 版本支持带镜像或 Always On 的多可用区,但请注意例外情况:

  • SQL Server 2017:标准版和企业版(不支持 Always On)

  • SQL Server 2016:标准版和企业版(仅在 13.00.5216.0 或更高版本中支持 Always On)

  • SQL Server 2014:标准版和企业版

  • SQL Server 2012:标准版和企业版

  • SQL Server 2008 R2:标准版和企业版

除以下例外情况之外,Amazon RDS 在所有 AWS 区域中支持 SQL Server 的多可用区:

  • 中国:在中国不支持 Always On

  • 美国西部(加利福尼亚北部):此区域既不支持镜像,也不支持 Always On

  • 亚太区域(悉尼):仅对于 VPC 中的数据库实例支持

  • 亚太区域(东京):仅对于 VPC 中的数据库实例支持

  • 南美洲(圣保罗):除 m1 和 m2 之外,在所有其他数据库实例类上支持

向 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库实例添加多可用区

当您使用 AWS 管理控制台创建新的 SQL Server 数据库实例时,您可以添加带镜像或 Always On 的多可用区。为此,您可以从指定数据库详细信息页面上的多可用区部署列表中选择 Yes (Mirroring / Always On) (是(镜像/Always On))。有关更多信息,请参阅 创建运行 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库引擎的数据库实例

当使用 AWS 管理控制台修改现有 SQL Server 数据库实例时,可以通过从修改数据库实例页面上的多可用区部署列表中选择 Yes (Mirroring / Always On) (是(镜像/Always On)),以添加带镜像或 Always On 的多可用区。有关更多信息,请参阅 修改运行 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库引擎的数据库实例

Microsoft SQL Server 多可用区部署说明和建议

以下是使用针对 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库实例的多可用区部署时的一些限制:

  • 当前不支持跨区域多可用区。

  • 您不能将辅助实例配置为接受数据库读取活动。

  • 带 Always On 的可用区支持内存中优化。

  • 您不能重命名位于 SQL Server 多可用区部署中的 SQL Server 数据库实例上的数据库。如果您需要在此类实例上重命名一个数据库,请先为数据库实例禁用多可用区,然后重命名数据库。最后,为数据库实例重新启用多可用区。

  • 您只能还原使用完全恢复模式备份的多可用区数据库实例。

以下是有关使用针对 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库实例的多可用区部署的一些说明:

  • Amazon RDS 公开 Always On 可用性组侦听器终端节点。此终端节点显示在控制台中,由 DescribeDBInstances API 作为终端节点字段中的条目返回。

  • Amazon RDS 支持可用性组多子网故障转移

  • 要对 VPC 中的 SQL Server 数据库实例使用 SQL Server 多可用区,您需要先创建一个数据库子网组,此数据库子网组在至少两个不同可用区中具有子网。然后,将该数据库子网组分配给 SQL Server 数据库实例的主副本。

  • 在将数据库实例修改为多可用区部署的过程中,数据库实例的状态为 modifying (正在修改)。Amazon RDS 创建备用镜像,并创建主数据库实例的备份。这个过程完成后,主数据库实例的状态变为 available (可用)

  • 多可用区部署在同一节点上维护所有数据库。如果主要主机上的某个数据库发生故障转移,所有 SQL Server 数据库都将作为一个原子单元故障转移到备用主机。Amazon RDS 预置正常运行的新主机并替换运行状况不佳的主机。

  • 带镜像或 Always On 的多可用区支持单个备用副本。

  • 在辅助镜像上,将会自动复制用户、登录名和权限。无需重新创建它们。在 Always On 实例的多可用区实例中,仅复制用户定义的服务器角色(一项 SQL Server 2012 功能)。

  • 如果您具有 SQL Server 代理任务,请在辅助实例上重新创建它们。之所以这样做,是因为这些任务存储在 msdb 数据库中,而您无法使用镜像或 Always On 复制此数据库。先在原始主实例中创建任务,然后进行故障转移并在新的主实例中创建相同任务。

  • 您可以看到,由于执行同步数据复制,因此相对于标准数据库实例部署(在单一可用区中),延迟有所提升。

  • 故障转移时间受完成恢复过程所用的时间的影响。大型事务会增加故障转移时间。

以下是有关使用针对 Microsoft SQL Server 数据库实例的多可用区部署的一些建议:

  • 对于在生产中或生产前使用的数据库,建议使用多可用区部署以获得高可用性,使用配置的 IOPS 以获得一致的高速性能,并使用针对配置的 IOPS 而进行优化的实例类 (m3.large 及更大,m4.large 及更大)。

  • 您无法为辅助实例选择可用区 (AZ),因此,在部署应用程序主机时请注意这一点。您的数据库可能故障转移到其他可用区,并且应用程序主机与数据库可能不在同一可用区中。因此,我们建议您在给定 AWS 区域中的所有可用区之间平衡应用程序主机。

  • 为了获得最佳性能,请勿在大型数据加载操作期间启用镜像或 Always On。如果您希望尽可能快地完成数据加载,请先完成数据加载,然后再将数据库实例转换到多可用区部署。

  • 访问 SQL Server 数据库的应用程序应具有可捕获连接错误的异常处理功能。下面的代码示例显示了一个可捕获通信错误的 try/catch 块。

    for (int iRetryCount = 0; (iRetryCount < RetryMaxAttempts && keepInserting); iRetryCount++) { using (SqlConnection connection = new SqlConnection(DatabaseConnString)) { using (SqlCommand command = connection.CreateCommand()) { command.CommandText = "INSERT INTO SOME_TABLE VALUES ('SomeValue');"; try { connection.Open(); while (keepInserting) { command.ExecuteNonQuery(); intervalCount++; } connection.Close(); } catch (Exception ex) { Logger(ex.Message); } } } if (iRetryCount < RetryMaxAttempts && keepInserting) { Thread.Sleep(RetryIntervalPeriodInSeconds * 1000); } }
  • 在使用多可用区实例时,请勿使用 Set Partner Off 命令。例如,请勿执行以下操作。

    --Don't do this ALTER DATABASE db1 SET PARTNER off
  • 请勿将恢复模式设置为 simple。例如,请勿执行以下操作。

    --Don't do this ALTER DATABASE db1 SET RECOVERY simple
  • 在多可用区数据库实例上创建新登录名时,请勿使用 DEFAULT_DATABASE 参数,因为这些设置不能应用于备用镜像。例如,请勿执行以下操作。

    --Don't do this CREATE LOGIN [test_dba] WITH PASSWORD=foo, DEFAULT_DATABASE=[db2]

    此外,请勿执行以下操作。

    --Don't do this ALTER LOGIN [test_dba] SET DEFAULT_DATABASE=[db3]

确定辅助副本的位置

您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台确定辅助副本的位置。如果您在 VPC 中设置主数据库实例,则需要了解辅助副本的位置。


				单可用区情况

您还可以使用 AWS CLI 命令 describe-db-instances 或 RDS API 操作 DescribeDBInstances 查看辅助副本的可用区。输出会显示备用镜像所处的辅助可用区。

从镜像迁移到 Always On

要从镜像迁移到 Always On,首先检查版本。如果您使用的数据库实例的版本低于 13.00.5216.0,请修改此实例以便将其版本修补到 13.00.5216.0。

要升级到 Always On,修改此实例以删除多可用区,然后再次修改它以添加多可用区。这会将实例转换为使用 AlwaysOn。