Deleting roles or instance profiles - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Deleting roles or instance profiles

If you no longer need a role, we recommend that you delete the role and its associated permissions. That way you don't have an unused entity that is not actively monitored or maintained.

If the role was associated with an EC2 instance, you can also remove the role from the instance profile and then delete the instance profile.

Warning

Make sure that you do not have any Amazon EC2 instances running with the role or instance profile you are about to delete. Deleting a role or instance profile that is associated with a running instance will break any applications that are running on the instance.

If you prefer not to permanently delete a role, you can disable a role. To do this, change the role policies and then revoke all current sessions. For example, you could add a policy to the role that denied access to all of Amazon. You could also edit the trust policy to deny access to anyone attempting to assume the role. For more information about revoking sessions, see Revoking IAM role temporary security credentials.

View role access

Before you delete a role, we recommend that you review when the role was last used. You can do this using the Amazon Web Services Management Console, the Amazon CLI, or the Amazon API. You should view this information because you don't want to remove access from someone using the role.

The date of the role last activity might not match the last date reported in the Access Advisor tab. The Access Advisor tab reports activity only for services allowed by the role permissions policies. The date of the role last activity includes the last attempt to access any service in Amazon.

Note

The tracking period for a role last activity and Access Advisor data is for the trailing 400 days. This period can be shorter if your Region began supporting these features within the last year. The role might have been used more than 400 days ago. For more information about the tracking period, see Where Amazon tracks last accessed information.

To view when a role was last used (console)

  1. Sign in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console and open the IAM console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Roles.

  3. Find the row of the role with the activity you want to view. You can use the search field to narrow the results. View the Last activity column to see the number of days since the role was last used. If the role has not been used within the tracking period, then the table displays None.

  4. Choose the name of the role to view more information. The role Summary page also includes Last activity, which displays the last used date for the role. If the role has not been used within the last 400 days, then Last activity displays Not accessed in the tracking period.

To view when a role was last used (Amazon CLI)

aws iam get-role - Run this command to return information about a role, including the RoleLastUsed object. This object contains the LastUsedDate and the Region in which the role was last used. If RoleLastUsed is present but does not contain a value, then the role has not been used within the tracking period.

To view when a role was last used (Amazon API)

GetRole - Call this operation to return information about a role, including the RoleLastUsed object. This object contains the LastUsedDate and the Region in which the role was last used. If RoleLastUsed is present but does not contain a value, then the role has not been used within the tracking period.

Deleting a service-linked role

If the role is a service-linked role, review the documentation for the linked service to learn how to delete the role. You can view the service-linked roles in your account by going to the IAM Roles page in the console. Service-linked roles appear with (Service-linked role) in the Trusted entities column of the table. A banner on the role Summary page also indicates that the role is a service-linked role.

If the service does not include documentation for deleting the service-linked role, you can use the IAM console, Amazon CLI, or API to delete the role. For more information, see Deleting a service-linked role.

Deleting an IAM role (console)

When you use the Amazon Web Services Management Console to delete a role, IAM also automatically deletes the policies associated with the role. It also deletes any Amazon EC2 instance profile that contains the role.

Important

In some cases, a role might be associated with an Amazon EC2 instance profile, and the role and the instance profile might have the same name. In that case you can use the Amazon Web Services Management Console to delete the role and the instance profile. This linkage happens automatically for roles and instance profiles that you create in the console. If you created the role from the Amazon CLI, Tools for Windows PowerShell, or the Amazon API, then the role and the instance profile might have different names. In that case you cannot use the console to delete them. Instead, you must use the Amazon CLI, Tools for Windows PowerShell, or Amazon API to first remove the role from the instance profile. You must then take a separate step to delete the role.

To delete a role (console)

  1. Sign in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console and open the IAM console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/iam/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Roles, and then select the check box next to the role name that you want to delete.

  3. At the top of the page, choose Delete.

  4. In the confirmation dialog box, review the last accessed information, which shows when each of the selected roles last accessed an Amazon service. This helps you to confirm if the role is currently active. If you want to proceed, enter the name of the role in the text input field and choose Delete. If you are sure, you can proceed with the deletion even if the last accessed information is still loading.

Note

You cannot use the console to delete an instance profile unless it has the same name as the role. The instance profile is deleted as part of the process of deleting a role as described in the preceding procedure. To delete an instance profile without also deleting the role, you must use the Amazon CLI or Amazon API. For more information, see the following sections.

Deleting an IAM role (Amazon CLI)

When you use the Amazon CLI to delete a role, you must first delete the policies associated with the role. Also, if you want to delete the associated instance profile that contains the role, you must delete it separately.

To delete a role (Amazon CLI)

  1. If you don't know the name of the role that you want to delete, enter the following command to list the roles in your account:

    aws iam list-roles

    The list includes the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) of each role. Use the role name, not the ARN, to refer to roles with the CLI commands. For example, if a role has the following ARN: arn:aws-cn:iam::123456789012:role/myrole, you refer to the role as myrole.

  2. Remove the role from all instance profiles that the role is in.

    1. To list all instance profiles that the role is associated with, enter the following command:

      aws iam list-instance-profiles-for-role --role-name role-name
    2. To remove the role from an instance profile, enter the following command for each instance profile:

      aws iam remove-role-from-instance-profile --instance-profile-name instance-profile-name --role-name role-name
  3. Delete all policies that are associated with the role.

    1. To list all policies that are in the role, enter the following command:

      aws iam list-role-policies --role-name role-name
    2. To delete each policy from the role, enter the following command for each policy:

      aws iam delete-role-policy --role-name role-name --policy-name policy-name
  4. Enter the following command to delete the role:

    aws iam delete-role --role-name role-name
  5. If you do not plan to reuse the instance profiles that were associated with the role, you can enter the following command to delete them:

    aws iam delete-instance-profile --instance-profile-name instance-profile-name

Deleting an IAM role (Amazon API)

When you use the IAM API to delete a role, you must first delete the policies associated with the role. Also, if you want to delete the associated instance profile that contains the role, you must delete it separately.

To delete a role (Amazon API)

  1. To list all instance profiles that a role is in, call ListInstanceProfilesForRole.

    To remove the role from all instance profiles that the role is in, call RemoveRoleFromInstanceProfile. You must pass the role name and instance profile name.

    If you are not going to reuse an instance profile that was associated with the role, call DeleteInstanceProfile to delete it.

  2. To list all policies for a role, call ListRolePolicies.

    To delete all policies that are associated with the role, call DeleteRolePolicy. You must pass the role name and policy name.

  3. Call DeleteRole to delete the role.

For general information about instance profiles, see Using instance profiles.

For general information about service-linked roles, see Using service-linked roles.

删除角色或实例配置文件 - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

删除角色或实例配置文件

如果您不再需要某个角色,我们建议您删除该角色及其关联的权限。这样您就没有未被主动监控或维护的未使用实体。

如果该角色与 EC2 实例关联,您还可以从实例配置文件中删除角色,然后删除实例配置文件。

警告

确保您没有使用要删除的角色或实例配置文件运行任何 Amazon EC2 实例。删除与正在运行的实例关联的角色或实例配置文件将中断该实例上正在运行的所有应用程序。

如果您不希望永久删除角色,则可以禁用角色。为此,请更改角色的策略,然后撤消所有当前会话。例如,您可以将策略添加到拒绝访问所有 Amazon 的角色。您还可以编辑信任策略,以拒绝任何试图代入此角色的用户的访问。有关撤消会话的更多信息,请参阅 撤消 IAM 角色临时安全凭证

查看角色访问

在删除角色之前,建议您查看上次使用角色的时间。您可以使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console、Amazon CLI 或 Amazon API 实现此操作。您应查看此信息,因为您不会希望从使用该角色的用户处删除访问权限。

角色的上次活动日期可能与访问顾问选项卡中报告的上次日期不相符。Access Advisor(访问顾问)选项卡仅报告角色的权限策略所允许服务的活动。角色的上次活动日期包括访问最后一次尝试 Amazon 中的任何服务。

注意

角色上次活动和访问顾问数据的跟踪周期为 400 天。如果您的地区在一年内开始支持这些功能,则此时间段可能会缩短。角色可能在 400 天之前使用过。有关跟踪周期的更多信息,请参阅Amazon 跟踪上次访问信息的位置

查看上次使用角色的时间(控制台)

  1. 登录 Amazon Web Services Management Console,打开 IAM 控制台 https://console.aws.amazon.com/iam/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Roles (角色)

  3. 查找要查看其活动的角色的行。您可以使用搜索字段缩小结果范围。查看上一个活动列以查看距离上次使用角色的天数。如果在跟踪周期内未使用该角色,则表将显示

  4. 选择角色的名称可查看更多信息。角色的摘要页面还包括上一个活动,显示上次使用角色的日期。如果在过去 400 天内未使用该角色,则上一个活动中显示在跟踪期间未被访问

查看上次使用角色的时间 (Amazon CLI)

aws iam get-role – 运行此命令返回有关角色的信息,包括 RoleLastUsed 对象。此对象包含上次使用角色的 LastUsedDateRegion。如果存在 RoleLastUsed 但不包含值,则在跟踪周期内未使用该角色。

查看上次使用角色的时间 (Amazon API)

GetRole – 调用此操作以返回有关角色的信息,包括 RoleLastUsed 对象。此对象包含上次使用角色的 LastUsedDateRegion。如果存在 RoleLastUsed 但不包含值,则在跟踪周期内未使用该角色。

删除服务相关角色

如果角色是服务相关角色,请查看链接服务的文档以了解如何删除该角色。您可以转至控制台中的 IAM Roles(角色)页面来查看您的账户中的服务相关角色。服务相关角色在表的 Trusted entities 列中随 (Service-linked role) 一起显示。角色的 Summary(摘要)页面上的横幅也指示角色是服务相关角色。

如果服务不包括有关删除服务相关角色的文档,您可以使用 IAM 控制台、Amazon CLI 或 API 来删除角色。有关更多信息,请参阅 删除服务相关角色

删除 IAM 角色(控制台)

当您使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console 删除角色时,IAM 还会自动删除与角色关联的策略。此外,它还会删除包含该角色的任何 Amazon EC2 实例配置文件。

重要

在某些情况下,某个角色可能与 Amazon EC2 实例配置文件关联,并且该角色和实例配置文件可能同名。在这种情况下,您可以使用 Amazon Web Services Management Console删除角色和实例配置文件。对于您在控制台中创建的角色和实例配置文件,会自动建立这种关联。如果您从 Amazon CLI、Tools for Windows PowerShell 或 Amazon API 创建角色,则角色和实例配置文件可能具有不同的名称。在这种情况下,您无法使用控制台删除它们。而是必须使用 Amazon CLI、Tools for Windows PowerShell 或 Amazon API 首先从实例配置文件中删除该角色。然后必须采取单独的步骤删除该角色。

删除角色 (控制台)

  1. 登录 Amazon Web Services Management Console,打开 IAM 控制台 https://console.aws.amazon.com/iam/

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择角色,然后选中要删除的角色旁的复选框。

  3. 在页面的顶部,选择删除用户

  4. 在确认对话框中,查看上次访问的信息,该信息显示每个选定角色上次访问 Amazon 服务的时间。这样可帮助您确认角色当前是否处于活动状态。如果要继续操作,请在文本输入字段中输入角色的名称,然后选择 Delete(删除)。如果确定,您就可以继续执行删除操作,即使仍在加载上次访问的信息。

注意

您不能使用控制台删除实例配置文件,除非它与角色同名。实例配置文件在删除角色的过程中被删除,如上述步骤所述。要在不删除角色的情况下删除实例配置文件,必须使用 Amazon CLI 或 Amazon API。有关更多信息,请参阅以下部分。

创建 IAM 角色 (Amazon CLI)

当您使用 Amazon CLI 删除角色时,必须先删除与角色关联的策略。此外,如果您想要删除包含角色的关联实例配置文件,必须分别删除。

删除角色 (Amazon CLI)

  1. 如果您不知道要删除的角色的名称,请输入以下命令列出账户中的角色:

    aws iam list-roles

    该列表包括各个角色的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。通过 CLI 命令使用角色名称(并非 ARN)指向角色。例如,如果某个角色的 ARN 为 arn:aws:iam::123456789012:role/myrole,则将该角色称为 myrole

  2. 从角色所属的全部实例配置文件移除该角色。

    1. 要列出与角色关联的所有实例配置文件,请输入以下命令:

      aws iam list-instance-profiles-for-role --role-name role-name
    2. 要从某个实例配置文件中删除该角色,请为每个实例配置文件输入以下命令:

      aws iam remove-role-from-instance-profile --instance-profile-name instance-profile-name --role-name role-name
  3. 删除与角色相关的全部策略。

    1. 要列出角色中的所有策略,请输入以下命令:

      aws iam list-role-policies --role-name role-name
    2. 要删除角色中的每个策略,请为每个策略输入以下命令:

      aws iam delete-role-policy --role-name role-name --policy-name policy-name
  4. 输入以下命令可删除角色:

    aws iam delete-role --role-name role-name
  5. 如果您没有计划重新使用与角色相关联的实例配置文件,则可以输入以下命令来删除它们:

    aws iam delete-instance-profile --instance-profile-name instance-profile-name

删除 IAM 角色 (Amazon API)

当您使用 IAM API 删除角色时,必须先删除与角色关联的策略。此外,如果您想要删除包含角色的关联实例配置文件,必须分别删除。

删除角色 (Amazon API)

  1. 要列出角色所属的所有实例配置文件,请调用 ListInstanceProfilesForRole

    要从角色所属的所有实例配置文件删除该角色,请调用 RemoveRoleFromInstanceProfile。必须提交角色名称和实例配置文件名称。

    如果您不会重用与角色相关联的实例配置文件,请调用 DeleteInstanceProfile 来删除它。

  2. 要列出一个角色的所有策略,请调用 ListRolePolicies

    要删除与该角色相关联的所有策略,请调用 DeleteRolePolicy。必须提交角色名称和策略名称。

  3. 调用 DeleteRole 删除角色。

有关实例配置文件的基本信息,请参阅 使用实例配置文件

有关服务相关角色的一般信息,请参阅使用服务相关角色