Calling the IAM API using HTTP query requests - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Calling the IAM API using HTTP query requests

You can access the IAM and Amazon STS services programmatically using the Query API. Query API requests are HTTPS requests that must contain an Action parameter to indicate the action to be performed. IAM and Amazon STS support GET and POST requests for all actions. That is, the API does not require you to use GET for some actions and POST for others. However, GET requests are subject to the limitation size of a URL; although this limit is browser dependent, a typical limit is 2048 bytes. Therefore, for Query API requests that require larger sizes, you must use a POST request.

The response is an XML document. For details about the response, see the individual action pages in the IAM API Reference or the Amazon Security Token Service API Reference.

Tip

Instead of making direct calls to the IAM or Amazon STS API operations, you can use one of the Amazon SDKs. The Amazon SDKs consist of libraries and sample code for various programming languages and platforms (Java, Ruby, .NET, iOS, Android, etc.). The SDKs provide a convenient way to create programmatic access to IAM and Amazon. For example, the SDKs take care of tasks such as cryptographically signing requests (see below), managing errors, and retrying requests automatically. For information about the Amazon SDKs, including how to download and install them, see the Tools for Amazon Web Services page.

For details about the API actions and errors, see the IAM API Reference or the Amazon Security Token Service API Reference.

Endpoints

IAM and Amazon STS each have a single global endpoint:

Note

Amazon STS also supports sending requests to regional endpoints in addition to the global endpoint. Before you can use Amazon STS in a Region, you must first activate STS in that Region for your Amazon Web Services account. For more information about activating additional Regions for Amazon STS, see Managing Amazon STS in an Amazon Web Services Region.

For more information about Amazon endpoints and Regions for all services, see Service endpoints and quotas in the Amazon General Reference.

HTTPS required

Because the Query API returns sensitive information such as security credentials, you must use HTTPS with all API requests.

Signing IAM API requests

Requests must be signed using an access key ID and a secret access key. We strongly recommend that you do not use your Amazon Web Services account root user credentials for everyday work with IAM. You can use the credentials for an IAM user or you can use Amazon STS to generate temporary security credentials.

To sign your API requests, we recommend using Amazon Signature Version 4. For information about using Signature Version 4, go to Signature Version 4 Signing Process in the Amazon General Reference.

If you need to use Signature Version 2, information about using Signature Version 2 is available in the Amazon General Reference.

For more information, see the following:

使用 HTTP 查询请求调用 IAM API - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

使用 HTTP 查询请求调用 IAM API

您可以使用查询 API 以编程方式访问 IAM 和 Amazon STS 服务。查询 API 请求是必须包含参数 Action 以指示要执行的操作的 HTTPS 请求。IAM 和 Amazon STS 支持所有操作的 GET 和 POST 请求。也就是说,API 不要求您使用某些操作的 GET 请求和其他操作的 POST 请求。然而,GET 请求受 URL 的大小限制;此限制与浏览器相关,通常为 2048 字节。因此,对于要求更高的查询 API 请求,您必须使用 POST 请求。

响应是 XML 文档。有关响应的详细信息,请参阅 IAM 参考Amazon Security Token Service API 参考中的单个操作页面。

提示

您可以使用 Amazon SDK 之一,而不是直接调用 IAM 或 Amazon STS API 操作。Amazon SDK 中包含适用于各种编程语言和平台(Java、Ruby、.NET、iOS、Android 等)的库和示例代码。开发工具包提供了可通过编程方式访问 IAM 和 Amazon 的便捷方式。例如,这些开发工具包负责处理各种任务,例如以加密方式签署服务请求 (见下文)、管理错误以及自动重试请求。有关 Amazon 开发工具包的信息(包括如何下载及安装),请参阅适用于 Amazon Web Services 的工具页面。

有关这些 API 操作和错误的详细信息,请参阅 IAM 参考Amazon Security Token Service API 参考

Endpoints

IAM 和 Amazon STS 各有一个全球终端节点:

注意

Amazon STS除了全球终端节点, 还支持向区域终端节点发送请求。必须先在一个区域中为您的 Amazon STS 账户激活 STS,然后才能在该区域中使用 Amazon。有关为 Amazon STS 激活其他区域的更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon STS 区域中管理 Amazon

有关所有服务的 Amazon 终端节点和区域的更多信息,请参阅在 Amazon 一般参考中的区域和终端节点

必须使用 HTTPS

由于查询 API 返回安全凭证等敏感信息,必须对所有 API 请求使用 HTTPS 。

签署 IAM API 请求

必须使用访问密钥 ID 和秘密访问密钥签署请求。我们强烈建议您不要使用 Amazon Web Services 账户 根用户凭证处理 IAM 日常工作。您可以使用 IAM 用户凭证,也可以使用 Amazon STS 生成临时安全凭证。

如需对 API 请求进行签名,建议您使用 Amazon 签名版本 4。有关使用签名版本 4 的信息,请转到 Amazon 常规参考 中的签名版本 4 签名流程

如需使用签名版本 2,可以在 Amazon 常规参考中获取有关签名版本 2 使用方法的信息。

有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容: