Amazon JSON policy elements: Principal - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Amazon JSON policy elements: Principal

Use the Principal element in a policy to specify the principal that is allowed or denied access to a resource. You cannot use the Principal element in an IAM identity-based policy. You can use it in the trust policies for IAM roles and in resource-based policies. Resource-based policies are policies that you embed directly in a resource. For example, you can embed policies in an Amazon S3 bucket or a Amazon KMS key.

You can specify any of the following principals in a policy:

  • Amazon account and root user

  • IAM users

  • Federated users (using web identity or SAML federation)

  • IAM roles

  • Assumed-role sessions

  • Amazon services

  • Anonymous users (not recommended)

Use the Principal element in these ways:

  • In IAM roles, use the Principal element in the role's trust policy to specify who can assume the role. For cross-account access, you must specify the 12-digit identifier of the trusted account. To learn whether principals in accounts outside of your zone of trust (trusted organization or account) have access to assume your roles, see What is IAM Access Analyzer?.

    Note

    After you create the role, you can change the account to "*" to allow everyone to assume the role. If you do this, we strongly recommend that you limit who can access the role through other means, such as a Condition element that limits access to only certain IP addresses. Do not leave your role accessible to everyone!

  • In resource-based policies, use the Principal element to specify the accounts or users who are allowed to access the resource.

Do not use the Principal element in policies that you attach to IAM users and groups. Similarly, you do not specify a principal in the permission policy for an IAM role. In those cases, the principal is implicitly the user that the policy is attached to (for IAM users) or the user who assumes the role (for role access policies). When the policy is attached to an IAM group, the principal is the IAM user in that group who is making the request.

Specifying a principal

You specify a principal using the Amazon Resource Name (ARN) or other identifier of the principal, as shown in the following sections. You cannot specify IAM groups and instance profiles as principals.

You can specify more than one principal for each of the principal types in following sections using an array. Arrays can take one or more values. If more than one value is included, the array is in square brackets ([ and ]) and comma-delimited, as in the following example:

"Principal" : { "AWS": [ "arn:aws-cn:iam::123456789012:root", "arn:aws-cn:iam::555555555555:root" ] }

Amazon account principals

When you use an Amazon account identifier as the principal in a policy, you delegate authority to the account. An administrator in that account can then grant access to any identity in that account. This includes IAM users and roles in that account. When you specify an Amazon account, you can use the account ARN (arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:root), or a shortened form that consists of the AWS: prefix followed by the account ID.

For example, given an account ID of 123456789012, you can use either of the following methods to specify that account in the Principal element:

"Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws-cn:iam::123456789012:root" }
"Principal": { "AWS": "123456789012" }

You can also specify more than one Amazon account, (or canonical user ID) as a principal using an array, with any combination of the methods that we previously mentioned.

"Principal": { "AWS": [ "arn:aws-cn:iam::123456789012:root", "999999999999" ] }

Some Amazon services support additional options for specifying an account principal. For example, Amazon S3 lets you specify a canonical user ID using the following format:

"Principal": { "CanonicalUser": "79a59df900b949e55d96a1e698fbacedfd6e09d98eacf8f8d5218e7cd47ef2be" }

Individual IAM user principals

You can specify an individual IAM user (or array of users) as the principal, as in the following examples. When you specify more than one principal in the element, you grant permissions to each principal. This is a logical OR and not a logical AND, because you are authenticated as one principal at a time.

Note

In a Principal element, the user name is case sensitive.

"Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:user/user-name" }
"Principal": { "AWS": [ "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:user/user-name-1", "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:user/UserName2" ] }

When you specify users in a Principal element, you cannot use a wildcard (*) to mean "all users". Principals must always name a specific user or users.

Important

If your Principal element in a role trust policy contains an ARN that points to a specific IAM user, then that ARN is transformed to the user's unique principal ID when the policy is saved. This helps mitigate the risk of someone escalating their privileges by removing and recreating the user. You don't normally see this ID in the console, because there is also a reverse transformation back to the user's ARN when the trust policy is displayed. However, if you delete the user, then the relationship is broken. The policy no longer applies, even if you recreate the user. That's because the new user has a new principal ID that does not match the ID stored in the trust policy. When this happens, the principal ID shows up in the console because Amazon can no longer map it back to a valid ARN. The result is that if you delete and recreate a user referenced in a trust policy's Principal element, you must edit the role to replace the now incorrect principal ID with the correct ARN. The ARN is once again transformed into the user's new principal ID when you save the policy.

Federated web identity user principals

"Principal": { "Federated": "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com" }
"Principal": { "Federated": "www.amazon.com" }
"Principal": { "Federated": "graph.facebook.com" }
"Principal": { "Federated": "accounts.google.com" }

Federated SAML user principals

"Principal": { "Federated": "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:saml-provider/provider-name" }

IAM role principals

"Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:role/role-name" }
Important

If your Principal element in a role trust policy contains an ARN that points to a specific IAM role, then that ARN is transformed to the role's unique principal ID when the policy is saved. This helps mitigate the risk of someone escalating their privileges by removing and recreating the role. You don't normally see this ID in the console, because there is also a reverse transformation back to the role's ARN when the trust policy is displayed. However, if you delete the role, then the relationship is broken. The policy no longer applies, even if you recreate the role because the new role has a new principal ID that does not match the ID stored in the trust policy. When this happens, the principal ID shows up in the console because Amazon can no longer map it back to a valid ARN. The end result is that if you delete and recreate a role referenced in a trust policy's Principal element, you must edit the role to replace the now incorrect principal ID with the correct ARN. The ARN will once again be transformed into the role's new principal ID when you save the policy.

Specific assumed-role session principals

"Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws-cn:sts::Amazon-account-ID:assumed-role/role-name/role-session-name" }

When you specify an assumed-role session in a Principal element, you cannot use a wildcard (*) to mean "all sessions". Principals must always name a specific session.

Amazon service principals

IAM roles that can be assumed by an Amazon service are called service roles. Service roles must include a trust policy. Trust policies are resource-based policies that are attached to a role that define which principals can assume the role. Some service roles have predefined trust policies. However, in some cases, you must specify the service principal in the trust policy. A service principal is an identifier that is used to grant permissions to a service.

The identifier for a service principal includes the service name, and is usually in the following format:

service-name.amazonaws.com

However, some services might use the following format instead of or in addition to the usual format:

service-name.amazonaws.com.cn

The service principal is defined by the service. You can find the service principal for some services by opening Amazon services that work with IAM, checking whether the service has Yes in the Service-linked role column, and opening the Yes link to view the service-linked role documentation for that service. Find the Service-Linked Role Permissions section for that service to view the service principal.

The following example shows a policy that can be attached to a service role. The policy enables two services, Amazon ECS and Elastic Load Balancing, to assume the role. The services can then perform any tasks granted by the permissions policy assigned to the role (not shown). To specify multiple service principals, you do not specify two Service elements; you can have only one. Instead, you use an array of multiple service principals as the value of a single Service element.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "Service": [ "ecs.amazonaws.com", "elasticloadbalancing.amazonaws.com" ] }, "Action": "sts:AssumeRole" } ] }

Anonymous user principals (public access)

For resource-based policies, such as Amazon S3 bucket policies, a wildcard (*) in the principal element specifies all users or public access. The following elements are equivalent:

"Principal": "*"
"Principal" : { "AWS" : "*" }

You cannot use a wildcard to match part of a name or an ARN.

We strongly recommend that you do not use a wildcard in the Principal element in a role's trust policy unless you otherwise restrict access through a Condition element in the policy. Otherwise, any IAM user in any account in your partition can access the role.

More information

For more information, see the following:

Amazon JSON 策略元素: Principal - Amazon Identity and Access Management
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

Amazon JSON 策略元素: Principal

在策略中使用 Principal 元素指定允许或拒绝访问资源的委托人。无法在基于 IAM 身份的策略中使用 Principal 元素。可以在 IAM 角色的信任策略和基于资源的策略中使用它。基于资源的策略是直接嵌入资源中的策略。例如,您可以在 Amazon S3 存储桶或 Amazon KMS 客户主密钥 (CMK) 中嵌入策略。

您可以在策略中指定以下任意委托人:

  • Amazon 账户和 根用户

  • IAM 用户

  • 联合身份用户(使用 Web 身份或 SAML 联合身份验证)

  • IAM 角色

  • 代入角色的会话

  • Amazon 服务

  • 匿名用户(不推荐)

请通过以下方式使用 Principal 元素:

  • 在 IAM 角色中,在角色的信任策略中使用 Principal 元素来指定可担任该角色的对象。对于跨账户访问,您必须指定受信任账户的 12 位标识符。要了解您信任区域之外的账户(受信任的组织或账户)中的委托人是否有权承担您的角色,请参阅什么是 IAM Access Analyzer?

    注意

    创建角色后,您可以将账户更改为 "*",允许所有人担任该角色。如果执行此操作,我们强烈建议您通过其他方法 (如将访问只限定为特定 IP 地址的 Condition 元素) 限制能够访问该角色的用户。不要将角色的访问权限开放给所有人!

  • 在基于资源的策略中,使用 Principal 元素来指定有权访问资源的账户或用户。

不要在附加到 IAM 用户和组的策略中使用 Principal 元素。同样,不要在 IAM 角色的权限策略中指定委托人。在这些情况下,委托人是隐含的,即策略附加到的用户 (对于 IAM 用户) 或担任角色的用户 (对于角色访问策略)。将策略附加到 IAM 组时,委托人是提出请求的组中的 IAM 用户。

指定委托人

您可以使用委托人的 Amazon Resource Name (ARN) 或其他标识符来指定委托人,如以下部分所示。不能将 IAM 组和实例配置文件指定为委托人。

您可以使用数组在以下部分中为每种委托人类型指定多个委托人。数组可以采用一个或多个值。如果包含多个值,则数组用方括号 ([]) 括起来并用逗号分隔,如下例所示:

"Principal" : { "AWS": [ "arn:aws-cn:iam::123456789012:root", "arn:aws-cn:iam::555555555555:root" ] }

Amazon 账户

在将 Amazon 账户标识符作为策略中的委托人时,将向该账户委派权限。如果账户内的所有身份附加了明确允许访问的适当 IAM 权限,则这些身份都可以访问该资源。这包括该账户中的 IAM 用户和角色。在指定 Amazon 账户时,您可以使用账户 ARN (arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:root) 或 AWS: 前缀后加账户 ID 构成的简略格式。

例如,给定账户 ID 为 123456789012 的情况下,您可以使用以下任一方法来在 Principal 元素中指定账户:

"Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws-cn:iam::123456789012:root" }
"Principal": { "AWS": "123456789012" }

您还可以使用之前所提及的方法的任意组合,通过数组将多个 Amazon 账户(或规范用户 ID)指定为委托人。

"Principal": { "AWS": [ "arn:aws-cn:iam::123456789012:root", "999999999999" ] }

某些 Amazon 服务支持其他用于指定账户委托人的选项。例如,Amazon S3 允许您使用以下格式指定规范用户 ID

"Principal": { "CanonicalUser": "79a59df900b949e55d96a1e698fbacedfd6e09d98eacf8f8d5218e7cd47ef2be" }

单独的 IAM 用户

您可以将单个 IAM 用户 (或用户组) 指定为委托人,如以下示例中所示。如果您在该元素中指定多个委托人,则表示您向每个委托人授予权限。这是逻辑 OR 而不是逻辑 AND,因为您一次被认证为一个委托人。

注意

Principal 元素中,用户名区分大小写。

"Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:user/user-name" }
"Principal": { "AWS": [ "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:user/user-name-1", "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:user/UserName2" ] }

当在 Principal 元素中指定用户时,不能使用通配符 (*) 表示“所有用户”。委托人必须始终指明特定用户。

重要

如果角色信任策略的 Principal 元素中包含指向特定 IAM 用户的 ARN,在保存策略时该 ARN 将转换为该用户的唯一委托人 ID。如果有人希望通过删除并重新创建用户来提升特权,这样有助于减轻此类风险。您通常不会在控制台中看到这个 ID,因为显示信任策略时它还会反向转换为用户的 ARN。但是,如果您删除用户,这种关系即被打破。即使您重新创建用户,策略也不再适用。这是因为:新用户拥有新的委托人 ID,该 ID 与信任策略中存储的 ID 不匹配。在这种情况下,委托人 ID 会显示在控制台中,因为 Amazon 无法将其映射回有效的 ARN。结果是,如果您删除并重新创建了信任策略的 Principal 元素所引用的用户,您必须编辑角色,用正确的 ARN 替换目前不正确的委托人 ID。当您保存策略时,ARN 会再次转换为该用户新的委托人 ID。

联合 Web 身份用户

"Principal": { "Federated": "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com" }
"Principal": { "Federated": "www.amazon.com" }
"Principal": { "Federated": "graph.facebook.com" }
"Principal": { "Federated": "accounts.google.com" }

联合身份 SAML 用户

"Principal": { "Federated": "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:saml-provider/provider-name" }

IAM 角色

"Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws-cn:iam::Amazon-account-ID:role/role-name" }
重要

如果角色信任策略的 Principal 元素中包含指向特定 IAM 角色的 ARN,在保存策略时该 ARN 将转换为该角色的唯一委托人 ID。如果有人希望通过删除并重新创建角色来提升特权,这样有助于减轻此类风险。您通常不会在控制台中看到这个 ID,因为显示信任策略时它还会反向转换为角色的 ARN。但是,如果您删除角色,这种关系即被打破。即使您重新创建角色,策略也不再适用。因为新角色拥有新的委托人 ID,与信任策略中存储的 ID 不匹配。在这种情况下,委托人 ID 会显示在控制台中,因为 Amazon 无法将其映射回有效的 ARN。最终结果是,如果您删除并重新创建了信任策略的 Principal 元素所引用的角色,您必须编辑角色,用正确的 ARN 替换目前不正确的委托人 ID。当您保存策略时,ARN 会再次转换为该角色新的委托人 ID。

特定的代入角色会话

"Principal": { "AWS": "arn:aws-cn:sts::Amazon-account-ID:assumed-role/role-name/role-session-name" }

当您在 Principal 元素中指定代入角色会话时,不能使用通配符 (*) 表示“所有会话”。委托人必须始终指明特定会话。

Amazon 服务

可以由 Amazon 服务担任的 IAM 角色称为服务角色。服务角色必须包括信任策略。信任策略 是附加到角色的基于资源的策略,这些策略定义了可担任该角色的委托人。某些服务角色具有预定义的信任策略。但有些情况下,您必须在信任策略中指定服务委托人。服务委托人是一个标识符,用于向服务授予权限。

服务委托人的标识符包括服务名称,通常采用以下格式:

service-name.amazonaws.com

但是,某些服务可能使用以下格式代替常用格式或作为常用格式的补充:

service-name.amazonaws.com.cn

服务委托人由服务定义。可以通过以下方式找到某些服务的服务委托人:打开使用 IAM 的 Amazon 服务,检查服务在服务相关角色列中是否具有,然后打开链接以查看该服务的服务相关角色文档。查找该服务的服务相关角色权限部分以查看服务委托人。

以下示例显示了一个可以附加到服务角色的策略。该策略可使两个服务 Amazon ECS 和 Elastic Load Balancing 担任此角色。然后,这些服务可执行由分配给该角色 (未显示) 的权限策略授权执行的任何任务。要指定多个服务委托人,不用指定两个 Service 元素;您可以只使用一个该元素。实际上,您可以将一组多个服务委托人作为单个 Service 元素的值。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "Service": [ "ecs.amazonaws.com", "elasticloadbalancing.amazonaws.com" ] }, "Action": "sts:AssumeRole" } ] }

匿名用户(公有访问权限)

对于基于资源的策略(如 Amazon S3 存储桶策略),委托人元素中的通配符 (*) 指定所有用户或公有访问权限。以下元素是等效的:

"Principal": "*"
"Principal" : { "AWS" : "*" }

您不能使用通配符匹配一部分名称或 ARN。

我们强烈建议您不要在角色的信任策略中的 Principal 元素里使用通配符,除非您在该策略中通过 Condition 元素对访问进行了限制。否则,分区的任何账户中的任意 IAM 用户都能访问此角色。

更多信息

有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容: