Evaluate your costs at the table level - Amazon DynamoDB
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Evaluate your costs at the table level

The Cost Explorer tool found within the Amazon Web Services Management Console allows you to see costs broken down by type, such as read, write, storage and backup charges. You can also see these costs summarized by period such as month or day.

One challenge administrators can face is when the costs of only one particular table need to be reviewed. Some of this data is available via the DynamoDB console or via calls to the DescribeTable API, however Cost Explorer does not, by default, allow you to filter or group by costs associated with a specific table. This section will show you how to use tagging to perform individual table cost analysis in Cost Explorer.

How to view the costs of a single DynamoDB table

Both the Amazon DynamoDB Amazon Web Services Management Console and the DescribeTable API will show you information about a single table, including the primary key schema, any indexes on the table, and the size and item count of the table and any indexes. The size of the table, plus the size of the indexes, can be used to calculate the monthly storage cost for your table. For example, $0.25 per GB in the us-east-1 region.

If the table is in provisioned capacity mode, the current RCU and WCU settings are returned as well. These could be used to calculate the current read and write costs for the table, but these costs could change, especially if the table has been configured with Auto Scaling.

Note

If the table is in on-demand capacity mode, then DescribeTable will not help estimate throughput costs, as these are billed based on actual, not provisioned usage in any one period.

Cost Explorer's default view

Cost Explorer's default view provides charts showing the cost of consumed resources such as throughput and storage. You can choose to group costs by period, such as totals by month or by day. The costs of storage, reads, writes, and other features can be broken out and compared as well.


        Image showing the cost of consumed resources in the Cost Explorer view.

How to use and apply table tags in Cost Explorer

By default, Cost Explorer does not provide a summary of the costs for any one specific table, as it will combine the costs of multiple tables into a total. However, you can use Amazon resource tagging to identify each table by a metadata tag. Tags are key-value pairs you can use for a variety of purposes, such as to identify all resrouces belonging to a project or department. For this example, we'll assume you have a table named MyTable.

  1. Set a tag with the key of table_name and the value of MyTable.

  2. Activate the tag within Cost Explorer and then filter on the tag value to gain more visibility into each table's costs.

Note

It may take one or two days for the tag to start appearing in Cost Explorer

You can set metadata tags yourself in the console, or via automation such as the Amazon CLI or Amazon SDK. Consider requiring a table_name tag to be set as part of your organization’s new table creation process. For existing tables, there is a Python utility available that will find and apply these tags to all existing tables in a certain region in your account. See Eponymous Table Tagger on GitHub for more details.

在表级别评估您的成本 - Amazon DynamoDB
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

在表级别评估您的成本

利用 Amazon Web Services Management Console 中提供的 Cost Explorer 工具,您可以查看按类型细分的成本,例如读取、写入、存储和备份费用。您还可以查看按时段(例如月或日)汇总的这些成本。

管理员可能面临的一个挑战是,只需要审核一个特定表的成本。其中一些数据可通过 DynamoDB 控制台或通过调用 DescribeTable API 获得,但默认情况下,Cost Explorer 不允许您按与特定表关联的成本进行筛选或分组。此部分将向您展示如何在 Cost Explorer 中,使用标签执行单个表成本分析。

如何查看单个 DynamoDB 表的成本

Amazon DynamoDB Amazon Web Services Management Console 和 DescribeTable API 都将向您显示有关单个表的信息,包括主键架构、表中的任意索引以及表和任意索引的大小和项目计数。可以使用表的大小加上索引的大小来计算表的每月存储成本。例如,在 us-east-1 区域中为每 GB 0.25 美元。

如果表采用预置容量模式,则还会返回当前 RCU 和 WCU 设置。这些数据可以用来计算表的当前读取和写入成本,但是这些成本可能会发生变化,尤其是在表配置了自动扩缩功能的情况下。

注意

如果表采用按需容量模式,则 DescribeTable 无助于估算吞吐量成本,因为在任意时段内,这些成本是根据实际使用量而不是预置使用量计费的。

Cost Explorer 的默认视图

Cost Explorer 的默认视图提供显示吞吐量和存储等已用资源成本的图表。您可以选择按时段对成本进行分组,例如按月或按日列出总值。存储、读取、写入和其他功能的成本也可以进行细分和比较。


        图中显示 Cost Explorer 视图中的使用资源成本。

如何在 Cost Explorer 中使用和应用表标签

默认情况下,Cost Explorer 不会提供任何一个特定表的成本汇总,因为它会将多个表的成本合并为一个总额。不过,您可以使用 Amazon 资源标记,通过元数据标签来标识各个表。标签是可用于多种用途的键/值对,例如标识属于某个项目或部门的所有资源。在本示例中,我们假设您有一个名为的表MyTable

  1. 使用密钥为 t able_name 和值设置标签。MyTable

  2. 在 Cost Explorer 中激活标签,然后筛选标签值,以便更清楚地了解每个表的成本。

注意

标签可能需要一两天的时间才会开始显示在 Cost Explorer 中

您可以在控制台中设置自己的元数据标签,也可以通过 Amazon CLI 或 Amazon SDK 等自动化方法来设置。考虑一下,在您组织的新表创建流程中要求设置 table_name 标签。对于现有表,有一个 Python 实用程序,可用于在您账户的某个特定区域中,对所有现有表查找和应用这些标签。有关更多详细信息,请参阅同名表格标签器 GitHub