Point-in-time recovery: How it works - Amazon DynamoDB
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Point-in-time recovery: How it works

Amazon DynamoDB point-in-time recovery (PITR) provides automatic backups of your DynamoDB table data. This section provides an overview of how the process works in DynamoDB.

Enabling point-in-time recovery

You can enable point-in-time recovery using the Amazon Web Services Management Console, Amazon Command Line Interface (Amazon CLI), or the DynamoDB API. When enabled, point-in-time recovery provides continuous backups until you explicitly turn it off. For more information, see Restoring a DynamoDB table to a point in time.

After you enable point-in-time recovery, you can restore to any point in time within EarliestRestorableDateTime and LatestRestorableDateTime. LatestRestorableDateTime is typically 5 minutes before the current time.

Note

The point-in-time recovery process always restores to a new table.

Restoring a table using point-in-time recovery

For EarliestRestorableDateTime, you can restore your table to any point in time during the last 35 days. The retention period is a fixed 35 days (5 calendar weeks) and can't be modified. Any number of users can run up to four concurrent restores (any type of restore) in a given account.

Important

If you disable point-in-time recovery and later re-enable it on a table, you reset the start time for which you can recover that table. As a result, you can only immediately restore that table using the LatestRestorableDateTime.

When you restore using point-in-time recovery, DynamoDB restores your table data to the state based on the selected date and time (day:hour:minute:second) to a new table.

You restore a table without consuming any provisioned throughput on the table. You can do a full table restore using point-in-time recovery, or you can configure the destination table settings. You can change the following table settings on the restored table:

  • Global secondary indexes (GSIs)

  • Local secondary indexes (LSIs)

  • Billing mode

  • Provisioned read and write capacity

  • Encryption settings

Important

When you do a full table restore, the destination table is set with the same provisioned read capacity units and write capacity units that the source table had when the backup was requested. For example, suppose that a table's provisioned throughput was recently lowered to 50 read capacity units and 50 write capacity units. You then restore the table's state to three weeks ago, at which time its provisioned throughput was set to 100 read capacity units and 100 write capacity units. In this case, DynamoDB restores your table data to that point in time with the provisioned throughput from that time (100 read capacity units and 100 write capacity units).

You can also restore your DynamoDB table data across Amazon Regions such that the restored table is created in a different Region from where the source table resides. You can do cross-Region restores between Amazon commercial Regions, Amazon China Regions, and Amazon GovCloud (US) Regions. You pay only for the data you transfer out of the source Region and for restoring to a new table in the destination Region.

Note

Cross-Region restore is not supported if the source or destination Region is Asia Pacific (Hong Kong) or Middle East (Bahrain).

Restores can be faster and more cost-efficient if you exclude some or all indexes from being created on the restored table.

You must manually set the following on the restored table:

  • Auto scaling policies

  • Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) policies

  • Amazon CloudWatch metrics and alarms

  • Tags

  • Stream settings

  • Time to Live (TTL) settings

  • Point-in-time recovery settings

The time it takes you to restore a table varies based on multiple factors. The point-in-time restore times are not always correlated directly to the size of the table. For more information, see Restores.

Deleting a table with point-in-time recovery enabled

When you delete a table that has point-in-time recovery enabled, DynamoDB automatically creates a backup snapshot called a system backup and retains it for 35 days (at no additional cost). You can use the system backup to restore the deleted table to the state it was in just before deletion. All system backups follow a standard naming convention of table-name$DeletedTableBackup.

Note

Once a table with point-in-time recovery enabled is deleted, you can use system restore to restore that table to a single point in time: the moment just before deletion. You do not have the capability to restore a deleted table to any other point in time in the past 35 days.

时间点恢复:工作原理 - Amazon DynamoDB
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

如果我们为英文版本指南提供翻译,那么如果存在任何冲突,将以英文版本指南为准。在提供翻译时使用机器翻译。

时间点恢复:工作原理

Amazon DynamoDB 时间点恢复 (PITR) 提供 DynamoDB 表数据的自动备份。本部分概述在 DynamoDB 中此过程如何运行。

您可以使用 AWS 管理控制台、AWS Command Line Interface (AWS CLI) 或 DynamoDB API 来启用时间点恢复。启用后,时间点恢复将提供持续备份,直到您明确将其关闭。有关更多信息,请参阅使 DynamoDB 表还原到某个时间点

在启用时间点恢复后,您可以还原到 EarliestRestorableDateTimeLatestRestorableDateTime 之间的任何时间点。LatestRestorableDateTime 通常比当前时间早 5 分钟。

注意

时间点恢复过程始终还原到新表。

对于 EarliestRestorableDateTime,可以使表还原到最近 35 天中的任何时间点。保留期为固定的 35 天(5 个日历周)并且无法修改。任意数量的用户都可以在给定账户中最多执行四个并行还原 (任何类型的还原)。

重要

如果对表禁用了时间点恢复并且稍后重新启用了它,则会重置可以恢复该表的开始时间。因此,您只能立即使用 LatestRestorableDateTime 还原该表。

在使用时间点恢复进行还原时,DynamoDB 基于选定的日期和时间 (day:hour:minute:second) 的状态将您的表数据还原到新表。

对表进行还原,而不消耗表上的任何预置吞吐量。可以使用时间点恢复执行完整表还原,也可以配置目标表设置。可以在还原的表上更改以下表设置:

  • 全局二级索引 (GSI)

  • 本地二级索引 (LSI)

  • 计费模式

  • 预置的读取和写入容量

  • 加密设置

重要

执行完整表还原时,还原表的所有表设置都来自还原时源表的当前设置。例如,假设一个表的预配置的吞吐量最近下降到 50 个读取容量单位和 50 个写入容量单位。然后,您将表的状态还原到三周前的状态,表在该时间的预配置吞吐量为 100 个读取容量单位和 100 个写入容量单位。在此情况下,DynamoDB 将表数据还原到该时间点,但使用当前预配置的吞吐量(50 个读取容量单位和 50 个写入容量单位)。

还可以跨 AWS 区域还原您的 DynamoDB 表数据,以便在源表所在的其他区域中创建还原的表。可以在 AWS 商业区域、AWS 中国区域和 AWS GovCloud(美国)区域之间执行跨区域还原。只需为从源区域传输的数据以及在目标区域中还原为新表的操作付费。

注意

如果源区域或目标区域是亚太地区(香港)或中东(巴林)区域,则不支持跨区域还原。

如果您阻止在还原表上创建部分或所有索引,则还原操作会更快且更具成本效益。

必须在还原的表上手动设置以下各项:

  • 自动扩展策略

  • AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) 策略

  • Amazon CloudWatch 指标和警报

  • 标签

  • 流设置

  • 生存时间 ( TTL) 设置

  • 时间点恢复设置

还原表所用的时间因多个因素而异。时间点还原用时并不总是直接与表的大小相关。有关更多信息,请参阅 Restores