Configuring shards and monitoring change data capture with Kinesis Data Streams in DynamoDB - Amazon DynamoDB
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Configuring shards and monitoring change data capture with Kinesis Data Streams in DynamoDB

Shard management considerations for Kinesis Data Streams

A Kinesis data stream counts its throughput in shards. You will need to provision an appropriate number of shards on your Kinesis data stream to accommodate the change data capture records from DynamoDB. To determine the number of shards that the Kinesis data stream will need to support your DynamoDB table, consider the following:

  • The average size of your DynamoDB table’s record in bytes (average_record_size_in_bytes).

  • The maximum number of write operations that your DynamoDB table will perform per second. This includes create, delete, and update data operations performed by your applications, as well as automatically generated operations like Time to Live generated deletes (write_throughput).

  • The percentage of update and overwrite operations that you perform on your table, as compared to create or delete operations (percentage_of_updates). Keep in mind that update and overwrite operations replicate both the old and new images of the modified item to the stream. This generates twice the DynamoDB item size.

You can approximate the number of shards (number_of_shards) needed for your DynamoDB table's throughput with this formula:

number_of_shards = ceiling( ((write_throughput * (1+percentage_of_updates) * average_record_size_in_bytes) /1024 /1024), 1)

For example, you might have a maximum throughput of 40 write operations/second (write_throughput) with an average record size of 1285 bytes (average_record_size_in_bytes). If 25 percent of those write operations are update operations (percentage_of_updates), then you will need two shards (number_of_shards) to accommodate your DynamoDB streaming throughput: ceiling( ((40 * (1+25) * 1285 )/ 1024 / 1024), 1 ).

Note that this formula reflects only the shards that are needed to accommodate your DynamoDB streaming throughput. It doesn't represent the total number of shards needed in your Kinesis data stream, such as shards required to support Kinesis data stream consumers.

To learn more about determining the size of a Kinesis data stream, see Determining the Initial Size of a Kinesis Data Stream.

Monitoring change data capture with Kinesis Data Streams

DynamoDB provides several Amazon CloudWatch metrics to help you monitor the replication of change data capture to Kinesis. For a full list of CloudWatch metrics, see DynamoDB Metrics and dimensions.

To determine whether your stream has sufficient capacity, we recommend that you monitor the following items both during stream enabling and in production:

  • ThrottledPutRecordCount: The number of records that that were throttled by your Kinesis data stream because of insufficient Kinesis data stream capacity. You might experience some throttling during exceptional usage peaks, but the ThrottledPutRecordCount should remain as low as possible. DynamoDB retries sending throttled records to the Kinesis data stream, but this might result in higher replication latency.

    If you experience excessive and regular throttling, you might need to increase the number of Kinesis stream shards proportionally to the observed write throughput of your table. To learn more about determining the size of a Kinesis data stream, see Determining the Initial Size of a Kinesis Data Stream.

  • AgeOfOldestUnreplicatedRecord: The elapsed time since the oldest item-level change yet to replicate to the Kinesis data stream appeared in the DynamoDB table. Under normal operation, AgeOfOldestUnreplicatedRecord should be in the order of milliseconds. This number grows based on unsuccessful replication attempts when these are caused by customer-controlled configuration choices.

    Customer-controlled configuration examples that leads to unsuccessful replication attempts are an under-provisioned Kinesis data stream capacity that leads to excessive throttling, or a manual update to your Kinesis data stream’s access policies that prevents DynamoDB from adding data to your data stream. To keep this metric as low as possible, you might need to ensure the right provisioning of your Kinesis data stream capacity, and make sure that DynamoDB’s permissions are unchanged.

  • FailedToReplicateRecordCount: The number of records that DynamoDB failed to replicate to your Kinesis data stream. Certain items larger than 34 KB might expand in size to change data records that are larger than the 1 MB item size limit of Kinesis Data Streams. This size expansion occurs when these larger than 34 KB items include a large number of Boolean or empty attribute values. Boolean and empty attribute values are stored as 1 byte in DynamoDB, but expand up to 5 bytes when they’re serialized using standard JSON for Kinesis Data Streams replication. DynamoDB can’t replicate such change records to your Kinesis data stream. DynamoDB skips these change data records, and automatically continues replicating subsequent records.

You can create Amazon CloudWatch alarms that send an Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) message for notification when any of the preceding metrics exceed a specific threshold. For more information, see Creating CloudWatch alarms to monitor DynamoDB.

在 DynamoDB 中使用 Kinesis Data Streams配置分片并监控更改数据捕获 - Amazon DynamoDB
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

在 DynamoDB 中使用 Kinesis Data Streams配置分片并监控更改数据捕获

Kinesis Data Streams 的分片管理注意事项

Kinesis 数据流以分片形式计算其吞吐量。您将需要在 Kinesis 数据流上预置适当数量的分片,以容纳 DynamoDB 中的更改数据捕获记录。要确定 Kinesis 数据流支持 DynamoDB 表所需的分片数量,请考虑如下事项:

  • DynamoDB 表记录的平均大小,以字节为单位 (average_record_size_in_bytes)。

  • 每秒对 DynamoDB 表执行的最大写入操作数。这包括由您的应用程序执行的创建、删除和更新数据操作以及自动生成的操作,例如“生存时间”生成的删除 (write_throughput)。

  • 您对表执行的更新和覆盖操作与创建或删除操作相比的百分比 (percentage_of_updates)。请注意,更新和覆盖操作会将已修改项目的旧镜像和新镜像复制到流中。这会生成两倍 DynamoDB 项目大小。

您可以使用以下公式估计 DynamoDB 表的吞吐量所需的分片数量 (number_of_shards):

number_of_shards = ceiling( ((write_throughput * (1+percentage_of_updates) * average_record_size_in_bytes) /1024 /1024), 1)

例如,您的最大吞吐量为 40 个写入操作/秒 (write_throughput),平均记录大小为 1285 字节 (average_record_size_in_bytes)。如果 25% 的写入操作是更新操作 (percentage_of_updates),则需要 2 个分片 (number_of_shards),以适应 DynamoDB 据流传输吞吐量上限 ( ((40 * (1+25) * 1285 )/ 1024 / 1024), 1 )。

请注意,此公式仅反映适应 DynamoDB 流吞吐量所需的分片。它不代表 Kinesis 数据流中所需的分片总数,例如支持 Kinesis 数据流使用者所需的分片。

要了解有关如何确定 Kinesis 数据流的大小的详细信息,请参阅确定 Kinesis Data Streams 的初始大小

使用 Kinesis Data Streams 监控更改数据捕获

DynamoDB 提供多个 Amazon CloudWatch 指标,帮助您监控将更改数据捕获到 Kinesis 的复制。有关 CloudWatch 指标的完整列表,请参阅DynamoDB 指标与维度

我们建议您在流启用期间和生产中监视以下项目,以确定流是否有足够的容量:

  • ThrottledPutRecordCount:由于 Kinesis Data Streams 容量不足而受到 Kinesis 数据流限制的记录数量。异常使用高峰期间可能会遇到一些限制,但 ThrottledPutRecordCount 应保持尽可能低。DynamoDB 重试将受限制的记录发送到 Kinesis 数据流,这可能会导致更高的复制延迟。

    如果遇到过多和定期的限制,则可能需要按照观察到的表写入吞吐量成比例增加 Kinesis 流分片数量。要了解有关如何确定 Kinesis 数据流的大小的详细信息,请参阅确定 Kinesis Data Streams 的初始大小

  • AgeOfOldestUnreplicatedRecord:从等待复制的最早的项目级别更改,到 Kinesis 数据流出现在 DynamoDB 表中经过的时间。在正常运行情况下,AgeOfOldestUnreplicatedRecord 应该以毫秒为单位。如果失败的尝试由客户控制的配置选项造成,失败的复制尝试次数会增加。

    例如,可能导致复制尝试失败的客户控制配置包括:预置不足的 Kinesis 数据流容量导致过度限制,或者手动更新 Kinesis 数据流的访问策略阻止 DynamoDB 向数据流添加数据。您可能需要确保预置合适的 Kinesis 数据流容量,并确保未更改 DynamoDB 的权限,才能将该指标保持在尽可能低的水平。

  • FailedToReplicateRecordCount:DynamoDB 无法复制到 Kinesis 数据流的记录数。某些大于 34KB 的项目可能会扩增,以更改大于 Kinesis Data Streams 1MB 项目大小限制的数据记录。当大于 34KB 的项目包含大量布尔值或空属性值时,就会出现此扩增现象。布尔值和空属性值在 DynamoDB 中存储为 1 个字节,但在使用标准 JSON 进行 Kinesis Data Streams 复制时,最多可扩展到 5 个字节。DynamoDB 无法将此类更改记录复制到 Kinesis 数据流中。DynamoDB 跳过这些更改数据记录,并自动继续复制后续记录。

您可以创建 Amazon CloudWatch 警报,以便在上述任何指标超过特定阈值时发送 Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS) 消息,以便发送通知。有关更多信息,请参阅创建 CloudWatch 告警以监控 DynamoDB