Amazon Athena HBase connector - Amazon Athena
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Amazon Athena HBase connector

The Amazon Athena HBase connector enables Amazon Athena to communicate with your Apache HBase instances so that you can query your HBase data with SQL.

Unlike traditional relational data stores, HBase collections do not have set schema. HBase does not have a metadata store. Each entry in a HBase collection can have different fields and data types.

The HBase connector supports two mechanisms for generating table schema information: basic schema inference and Amazon Glue Data Catalog metadata.

Schema inference is the default. This option scans a small number of documents in your collection, forms a union of all fields, and coerces fields that have non overlapping data types. This option works well for collections that have mostly uniform entries.

For collections with a greater variety of data types, the connector supports retrieving metadata from the Amazon Glue Data Catalog. If the connector sees an Amazon Glue database and table that match your HBase namespace and collection names, it gets its schema information from the corresponding Amazon Glue table. When you create your Amazon Glue table, we recommend that you make it a superset of all fields that you might want to access from your HBase collection.

If you have Lake Formation enabled in your account, the IAM role for your Athena federated Lambda connector that you deployed in the Amazon Serverless Application Repository must have read access in Lake Formation to the Amazon Glue Data Catalog.

Prerequisites

Parameters

Use the Lambda environment variables in this section to configure the HBase connector.

  • spill_bucket – Specifies the Amazon S3 bucket for data that exceeds Lambda function limits.

  • spill_prefix – (Optional) Defaults to a subfolder in the specified spill_bucket called athena-federation-spill. We recommend that you configure an Amazon S3 storage lifecycle on this location to delete spills older than a predetermined number of days or hours.

  • spill_put_request_headers – (Optional) A JSON encoded map of request headers and values for the Amazon S3 putObject request that is used for spilling (for example, {"x-amz-server-side-encryption" : "AES256"}). For other possible headers, see PutObject in the Amazon Simple Storage Service API Reference.

  • kms_key_id – (Optional) By default, any data that is spilled to Amazon S3 is encrypted using the AES-GCM authenticated encryption mode and a randomly generated key. To have your Lambda function use stronger encryption keys generated by KMS like a7e63k4b-8loc-40db-a2a1-4d0en2cd8331, you can specify a KMS key ID.

  • disable_spill_encryption – (Optional) When set to True, disables spill encryption. Defaults to False so that data that is spilled to S3 is encrypted using AES-GCM – either using a randomly generated key or KMS to generate keys. Disabling spill encryption can improve performance, especially if your spill location uses server-side encryption.

  • disable_glue – (Optional) If present and set to true, the connector does not attempt to retrieve supplemental metadata from Amazon Glue.

  • glue_catalog – (Optional) Use this option to specify a cross-account Amazon Glue catalog. By default, the connector attempts to get metadata from its own Amazon Glue account.

  • default_hbase – If present, specifies an HBase connection string to use when no catalog-specific environment variable exists.

Specifying connection strings

You can provide one or more properties that define the HBase connection details for the HBase instances that you use with the connector. To do this, set a Lambda environment variable that corresponds to the catalog name that you want to use in Athena. For example, suppose you want to use the following queries to query two different HBase instances from Athena:

SELECT * FROM "hbase_instance_1".database.table
SELECT * FROM "hbase_instance_2".database.table

Before you can use these two SQL statements, you must add two environment variables to your Lambda function: hbase_instance_1 and hbase_instance_2. The value for each should be a HBase connection string in the following format:

master_hostname:hbase_port:zookeeper_port

Using secrets

You can optionally use Amazon Secrets Manager for part or all of the value for your connection string details. To use the Athena Federated Query feature with Secrets Manager, the VPC connected to your Lambda function should have internet access or a VPC endpoint to connect to Secrets Manager.

If you use the syntax ${my_secret} to put the name of a secret from Secrets Manager in your connection string, the connector replaces the secret name with your user name and password values from Secrets Manager.

For example, suppose you set the Lambda environment variable for hbase_instance_1 to the following value:

${hbase_host_1}:${hbase_master_port_1}:${hbase_zookeeper_port_1}

The Athena Query Federation SDK automatically attempts to retrieve a secret named hbase_instance_1_creds from Secrets Manager and inject that value in place of ${hbase_instance_1_creds}. Any part of the connection string that is enclosed by the ${ } character combination is interpreted as a secret from Secrets Manager. If you specify a secret name that the connector cannot find in Secrets Manager, the connector does not replace the text.

Setting up databases and tables in Amazon Glue

The connector's built-in schema inference supports only values that are serialized in HBase as strings (for example, String.valueOf(int)). Because the connector's built-in schema inference capability is limited, you might want to use Amazon Glue for metadata instead. To enable an Amazon Glue table for use with HBase, you must have an Amazon Glue database and table with names that match the HBase namespace and table that you want to supply supplemental metadata for. The use of HBase column family naming conventions is optional but not required.

To use an Amazon Glue table for supplemental metadata
  1. When you edit the table and database in the Amazon Glue console, add the following table properties:

    • hbase-metadata-flag – This property indicates to the HBase connector that the connector can use the table for supplemental metadata. You can provide any value for hbase-metadata-flag as long as the hbase-metadata-flag property is present in the list of table properties.

    • hbase-native-storage-flag – Use this flag to toggle the two value serialization modes supported by the connector. By default, when this field is not present, the connector assumes all values are stored in HBase as strings. As such it will attempt to parse data types such as INT, BIGINT, and DOUBLE from HBase as strings. If this field is set with any value on the table in Amazon Glue, the connector switches to "native" storage mode and attempts to read INT, BIGINT, BIT, and DOUBLE as bytes by using the following functions:

      ByteBuffer.wrap(value).getInt() ByteBuffer.wrap(value).getLong() ByteBuffer.wrap(value).get() ByteBuffer.wrap(value).getDouble()
  2. Make sure that you use the data types appropriate for Amazon Glue as listed in this document.

Modeling column families

The Athena HBase connector supports two ways to model HBase column families: fully qualified (flattened) naming like family:column, or using STRUCT objects.

In the STRUCT model, the name of the STRUCT field should match the column family, and children of the STRUCT should match the names of the columns of the family. However, because predicate push down and columnar reads are not yet fully supported for complex types like STRUCT, using STRUCT is currently not advised.

The following image shows a table configured in Amazon Glue that uses a combination of the two approaches.

Modeling column families in Amazon Glue for Apache Hbase.

Data type support

The connector retrieves all HBase values as the basic byte type. Then, based on how you defined your tables in Amazon Glue Data Catalog, it maps the values into one of the Apache Arrow data types in the following table.

Amazon Glue data type Apache Arrow data type
int INT
bigint BIGINT
double FLOAT8
float FLOAT4
boolean BIT
binary VARBINARY
string VARCHAR
Note

If you do not use Amazon Glue to supplement your metadata, the connector's schema inferencing uses only the data types BIGINT, FLOAT8, and VARCHAR.

Required Permissions

For full details on the IAM policies that this connector requires, review the Policies section of the athena-hbase.yaml file. The following list summarizes the required permissions.

  • Amazon S3 write access – The connector requires write access to a location in Amazon S3 in order to spill results from large queries.

  • Athena GetQueryExecution – The connector uses this permission to fast-fail when the upstream Athena query has terminated.

  • Amazon Glue Data Catalog – The HBase connector requires read only access to the Amazon Glue Data Catalog to obtain schema information.

  • CloudWatch Logs – The connector requires access to CloudWatch Logs for storing logs.

  • Amazon Secrets Manager read access – If you choose to store HBase endpoint details in Secrets Manager, you must grant the connector access to those secrets.

  • VPC access – The connector requires the ability to attach and detach interfaces to your VPC so that it can connect to it and communicate with your HBase instances.

Performance

The Athena HBase connector attempts to parallelize queries against your HBase instance by reading each region server in parallel. The Athena HBase connector performs predicate pushdown to decrease the data scanned by the query.

The Lambda function also performs projection pushdown to decrease the data scanned by the query. However, selecting a subset of columns sometimes results in a longer query execution runtime. LIMIT clauses reduce the amount of data scanned, but if you do not provide a predicate, you should expect SELECT queries with a LIMIT clause to scan at least 16 MB of data.

HBase is prone to query failures and variable query execution times. You might have to retry your queries multiple times for them to succeed. The HBase connector is resilient to throttling due to concurrency.

Passthrough queries

The HBase connector supports passthrough queries and is NoSQL based. For information about querying Apache HBase using filtering, see Filter language in the Apache documentation.

To use passthrough queries with HBase, use the following syntax:

SELECT * FROM TABLE( system.query( database => 'database_name', collection => 'collection_name', filter => '{query_syntax}' ))

The following example HBase passthrough query filters for employees aged 24 or 30 within the employee collection of the default database.

SELECT * FROM TABLE( system.query( DATABASE => 'default', COLLECTION => 'employee', FILTER => 'SingleColumnValueFilter(''personaldata'', ''age'', =, ''binary:30'')' || ' OR SingleColumnValueFilter(''personaldata'', ''age'', =, ''binary:24'')' ))

License information

The Amazon Athena HBase connector project is licensed under the Apache-2.0 License.

Additional resources

For additional information about this connector, visit the corresponding site on GitHub.com.

Amazon Athena HBase 连接器 - Amazon Athena
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

Amazon Athena HBase 连接器

Amazon Athena HBase 连接器使 Amazon Athena 可以与 Apache HBase 实例通信,以便您可以使用 SQL 查询 HBase 数据。

与传统的关系数据存储不同,HBase 集合没有集架构。HBase 没有元数据存储。HBase 集合中的每个条目均可具有不同字段和数据类型。

HBase 连接器支持两种生成表架构信息的机制:基本架构推理和 Amazon Glue Data Catalog 元数据。

默认设置为架构推理。此选项将扫描您的集合中的少量文档,形成所有字段的并集,并强制使用非重叠数据类型的字段。此选项适用于条目大多为统一的集合。

对于具有更多数据类型的集合,该连接器支持从 Amazon Glue Data Catalog 检索元数据。如果该连接器发现与您的 HBase 命名空间和集合名称相匹配的 Amazon Glue 数据库和表,它将从相应的 Amazon Glue 表中获取其架构信息。在您创建 Amazon Glue 表时,我们建议您将其设置为您可能想从 HBase 集合访问的所有字段的超集。

先决条件

参数

使用本节中的 Lambda 环境变量来配置 HBase 连接器。

  • spill_bucket - 为超出 Lambda 函数限制的数据指定 Amazon S3 存储桶。

  • spill_prefix -(可选)默认为指定 spill_bucket(称为 athena-federation-spill)中的子文件夹。我们建议您在此位置配置 Amazon S3 存储生命周期,以删除早于预定天数或小时数的溢出内容。

  • spill_put_request_headers -(可选)用于溢出的 Amazon S3 putObject 请求的请求标头和值的 JSON 编码映射(例如,{"x-amz-server-side-encryption" : "AES256"})。有关其他可能的标头,请参阅《Amazon Simple Storage Service API 参考》中的 PutObject

  • kms_key_id -(可选)默认情况下,将使用经过 AES-GCM 身份验证的加密模式和随机生成的密钥对溢出到 Amazon S3 的任何数据进行加密。要让您的 Lambda 函数使用 KMS 生成的更强的加密密钥(如 a7e63k4b-8loc-40db-a2a1-4d0en2cd8331),您可以指定 KMS 密钥 ID。

  • disable_spill_encryption -(可选)当设置为 True 时,将禁用溢出加密。默认值为 False,此时将使用 AES-GCM 对溢出到 S3 的数据使用进行加密 - 使用随机生成的密钥,或者使用 KMS 生成密钥。禁用溢出加密可以提高性能,尤其是当您的溢出位置使用服务器端加密时。

  • disable_glue -(可选)如果存在且设置为 true,则该连接器不会尝试从 Amazon Glue 检索补充元数据。

  • glue_catalog –(可选)使用此选项指定跨账户 Amazon Glue 目录。默认情况下,该连接器将尝试从其自己的 Amazon Glue 账户中获取元数据。

  • default_hbase – 如果存在,则指定在不存在特定于目录的环境变量时要使用的 HBase 连接字符串。

指定连接字符串

您可以提供一个或多个属性,用于定义与该连接器配合使用的 HBase 实例的 HBase 连接详细信息。为此,请设置一个与您要在 Athena 中使用的目录名称相对应的 Lambda 环境变量。例如,假设您要使用以下查询来查询 Athena 中的两个不同 HBase 实例:

SELECT * FROM "hbase_instance_1".database.table
SELECT * FROM "hbase_instance_2".database.table

您必须向 Lambda 函数中添加以下两个环境变量,然后才能使用这两个 SQL 语句:hbase_instance_1hbase_instance_2。每个环境变量的值均应为以下格式的 HBase 连接字符串:

master_hostname:hbase_port:zookeeper_port

使用密钥

您可以选择将 Amazon Secrets Manager 用于您的连接字符串详细信息的部分值或全部值。要将 Athena 联合查询功能与 Secrets Manager 配合使用,连接到您的 Lambda 函数的 VPC 应该拥有互联网访问权限或者 VPC 端点,以连接到 Secrets Manager。

如果您使用语法 ${my_secret} 将来自 Secrets Manager 的密钥的名称放入您的连接字符串中,该连接器会将该密钥名称替换为来自 Secrets Manager 的您的用户名和密码值。

例如,假设您将 hbase_instance_1 的 Lambda 环境变量设置为以下值:

${hbase_host_1}:${hbase_master_port_1}:${hbase_zookeeper_port_1}

Athena 查询联合软件开发工具包 (SDK) 将自动尝试从 Secrets Manager 检索名为的密钥 hbase_instance_1_creds 的密钥,然后注入该值来替换 ${hbase_instance_1_creds}${ } 字符组合所包含的该连接字符串的任何部分将被解释为来自 Secrets Manager 的密钥。如果您指定了该连接器在 Secrets Manager 中无法找到的密钥名称,则该连接器不会替换该文本。

在 Amazon Glue 中设置数据库和表

该连接器的内置架构推理仅支持在 HBase 中序列化为字符串的值(例如,String.valueOf(int))。由于该连接器的内置架构推理功能有限,因此您可能需要改为将 Amazon Glue 用于元数据。要使 Amazon Glue 表可与 HBase 配合使用,您必须拥有名称与 HBase 命名空间相匹配的 Amazon Glue 数据库和表,以及您要为其提供补充元数据的表。使用 HBase 列系列命名约定是可选的,但不是必需的。

将 Amazon Glue 表用于补充元数据

  1. 当您在 Amazon Glue 控制台中编辑表和数据库时,可以添加以下表属性:

    • hbase-metadata-flag – 此属性将向 HBase 连接器指明该连接器可将该表用于补充元数据。只要表属性的列表中存在 hbase-metadata-flag 属性,您就可以为 hbase-metadata-flag 提供任何值。

    • hbase-native-storage-flag – 可以使用此标记切换该连接器支持的两种值序列化模式。默认情况下,当此字段不存在时,该连接器将假定所有值都以字符串形式存储在 HBase 中。因此,它将尝试解析来自 HBase 的字符串形式的数据类型(如 INTBIGINTDOUBLE)。如果使用 Amazon Glue 中的表上的任何值设置此字段,该连接器将切换到“本机”存储模式,并尝试使用以下函数以字节形式读取 INTBIGINTBITDOUBLE

      ByteBuffer.wrap(value).getInt() ByteBuffer.wrap(value).getLong() ByteBuffer.wrap(value).get() ByteBuffer.wrap(value).getDouble()
  2. 请确保使用适合 Amazon Glue 的数据类型,如本文档中所列。

为列系列建模

Athena HBase 连接器支持两种为 HBase 列系列建模的方法:完全限定(扁平化)命名(如 family:column),或使用 STRUCT 对象。

STRUCT 模型中,STRUCT 字段的名称应与列系列相匹配,并且 STRUCT 的子级应与该系列的列名称相匹配。但是,由于复杂类型(如 STRUCT)尚不完全支持谓词下推和列式读取,因此目前不建议使用 STRUCT

下图显示了使用两种方法的组合在 Amazon Glue 中配置的表。


                    在适用于 Apache Hbase 的 Amazon Glue 中对列系列进行建模。

数据类型支持

该连接器将以基本字节类型的形式检索所有 HBase 值。然后,根据您在 Amazon Glue Data Catalog 中定义表的方式,它会将值映射到下表中的一种 Apache Arrow 数据类型。

Amazon Glue 数据类型 Apache Arrow 数据类型
int INT
bigint BIGINT
double FLOAT8
float FLOAT4
布尔值 BIT
binary VARBINARY
字符串 VARCHAR
注意

如果您不使用 Amazon Glue 补充您的元数据,则该连接器的架构推理将仅使用数据类型 BIGINTFLOAT8VARCHAR

所需权限

请查看 athena-hbase.yaml 文件的 Policies 一节,以了解有关此连接器所需的 IAM 策略的完整详细信息。以下是简短摘要。

  • Amazon S3 写入权限 - 要成功处理大型查询,该连接器需要对 Amazon S3 中的位置具有写入权限。

  • Athena GetQueryExecution – 当上游 Athena 查询终止时,该连接器将使用此权限快速失败。

  • Amazon Glue Data Catalog – HBase 连接器需要针对 Amazon Glue Data Catalog 的只读访问权限,以获取架构信息。

  • CloudWatch Logs – 该连接器需要针对 CloudWatch Logs 的访问权限,以存储日志。

  • Amazon Secrets Manager 读取权限 - 如果您选择在 Secrets Manager 中存储 HBase 端点详细信息,则必须授予该连接器针对这些秘密的访问权限。

  • VPC 访问权限 - 该连接器需要能够连接和断开您的 VPC 接口,以便它能连接到 VPC 并与您的 HBase 实例通信。

性能

Athena HBase 连接器将尝试通过并行读取每个区域服务器,来并行处理针对您的 HBase 实例的查询。该连接器将在 Lambda 函数中执行谓词下推,并在可能的情况下使用筛选条件下推到 HBase 中。

许可证信息

Amazon Athena HBase 连接器项目已经根据 Apache-2.0 许可证获得许可。

另请参阅

有关此连接器的更多信息,请访问 GitHub.com 上的相应站点