Set the default instance warmup for an Auto Scaling group - Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Set the default instance warmup for an Auto Scaling group

You can use the default instance warmup feature to improve the Amazon CloudWatch metrics used for dynamic scaling. CloudWatch collects and aggregates usage data, such as CPU and network I/O, across your Auto Scaling instances. You use these metrics to create scaling policies that adjust the number of instances in your Auto Scaling group as the selected metric's value increases and decreases.

When default instance warmup is not enabled, each instance starts contributing usage data to the aggregated metrics as soon as the instance reaches the InService state. However, if you enable default instance warmup, this lets your instances finish warming up before they contribute the usage data. This keeps dynamic scaling from being affected by metrics for individual instances that aren't handling application traffic yet and that might be experiencing temporarily high usage of compute resources.

Default instance warmup is not configured and is not enabled by default. To optimize the performance of scaling policies that scale continuously, such as target tracking and step scaling policies, we strongly recommend that you enable the default instance warmup, even if its value is set to 0 seconds. When default instance warmup is not enabled, the default cooldown might be applied when instances launch, and dynamic scaling scale-in activities will be blocked until the default cooldown period ends.

In addition, by enabling the default instance warmup feature, you no longer have to specify values for warm-up parameters for individual scaling policies and instance refreshes. You can use the default instance warmup to unify these settings at the group level. By default, these parameters will be set to the value of the default instance warmup. For more information, see Available warm-up and cooldown settings.

Choose a time value for the default instance warmup

When you choose a warm-up time value, aim for an optimal balance between collecting usage data for legitimate traffic, but minimizing data collection associated with temporary usage spikes on startup.

When instances finish launching, they're attached to the Auto Scaling group and registered to an Elastic Load Balancing load balancer, if used, before they enter the InService state. After the instances enter the InService state, resource consumption can still experience temporary spikes and need time to stabilize. For example, resource consumption for an application server that must download and cache large assets takes longer to stabilize than a lightweight web server with no large assets to download. The default instance warmup provides the time delay necessary for resource consumption to stabilize.

Important

You should also consider using lifecycle hooks for use cases where you have configuration tasks or scripts to run on startup. Lifecycle hooks can delay instances from being put in service during a scale-out event until they have finished initializing. They are particularly useful if you have bootstrapping scripts that take a while to complete. Therefore, if you add a lifecycle hook, you can reduce the value of the default instance warmup. If you set the default instance warmup to 0 seconds, no additional waiting period is imposed beyond the time needed for the lifecycle hook. For more information about using lifecycle hooks, see Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling lifecycle hooks.

Understand how the default instance warmup affects scaling

After you enable the default instance warmup, each newly launched instance in your Auto Scaling group has a warm-up period.

While instances are in the warm-up period, your scaling policies only scale out if the metric value from instances that are not warming up is greater than the policy's alarm high threshold (which is the same as the target utilization of a target tracking scaling policy).

If instances are still warming up and the group scales out again, the instances are counted as part of the desired capacity for the next scale-out activity. Therefore, multiple alarm breaches that fall in the range of the same step adjustment result in a single scaling activity. The intention is to continuously (but not excessively) scale out.

If demand decreases, the intention is to scale in conservatively to protect your application's availability. This blocks scale-in activities initiated by scaling policies until the instances finish warming up.

Enable the default instance warmup for a group

You can enable the default instance warmup when you create an Auto Scaling group. You can also enable it for existing groups.

Console

To enable the default instance warmup for a new group (console)

When you create the Auto Scaling group, on the Configure advanced options page, under Additional settings, select the Enable default instance warmup option. Choose the warm-up time that you need for your application.

Amazon CLI

To enable the default instance warmup for a new group (Amazon CLI)

To enable the default instance warmup for an Auto Scaling group, add the --default-instance-warmup option and specify a value, in seconds, from 0 to 3600. After it's enabled, a value of -1 will turn this setting off.

The following create-auto-scaling-group command creates an Auto Scaling group with the name my-asg and enables the default instance warmup with a value of 120 seconds.

aws autoscaling create-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --default-instance-warmup 120 ...
Tip

If this command throws an error, make sure that you have updated the Amazon CLI locally to the latest version.

Console

To enable the default instance warmup for an existing group (console)

  1. Open the Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/ec2autoscaling and choose the Amazon Web Services Region that you created your Auto Scaling group in.

  2. Select the check box next to the Auto Scaling group.

    A split pane opens up in the bottom of the Auto Scaling groups page.

  3. On the Details tab, choose Advanced configurations, Edit.

  4. For Default instance warmup, choose the warm-up time that you need for your application.

  5. Choose Update.

Amazon CLI

To enable the default instance warmup for an existing group (Amazon CLI)

The following example uses the update-auto-scaling-group command to enable the default instance warmup with a value of 120 seconds for an existing Auto Scaling group named my-asg.

aws autoscaling update-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --default-instance-warmup 120
Tip

If this command throws an error, make sure that you have updated the Amazon CLI locally to the latest version.

Verify the default instance warmup for a group

To verify the default instance warmup for an Auto Scaling group (Amazon CLI)

Use the describe-auto-scaling-groups command.

aws autoscaling describe-auto-scaling-groups --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg

The following is an example response.

{ "AutoScalingGroups": [ { "AutoScalingGroupName": "my-asg", "AutoScalingGroupARN": "arn", ... "DefaultInstanceWarmup": 120 } ] }

为 Auto Scaling 组设置原定设置实例预热 - Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

为 Auto Scaling 组设置原定设置实例预热

您可以使用原定设置实例预热功能来优化用于动态扩缩的 Amazon CloudWatch 指标。CloudWatch 会跨 Auto Scaling 实例采集和聚合使用情况数据,例如 CPU 和网络 I/O。您可以使用这些指标来创建扩缩策略,以随着所选指标值的增减调整 Auto Scaling 组中的实例数量。

当未启用原定设置实例预热时,每个实例将在实例到达 InService 状态时立即向聚合指标提供使用情况数据。但如果启用了原定设置实例预热,则实例将在完成预热后才会提供使用情况数据。从而防止动态扩缩受到尚未处理应用程序流量,并且可能暂时存在计算资源使用率较高的单个实例的指标影响。

预设情况下不会配置和启用原定设置实例预热。为了优化会持续扩展的扩缩策略(例如目标跟踪扩缩策略和步进扩缩策略)的性能,我们强烈建议您启用原定设置实例预热功能,即使其值设置为 0 秒。如果未启用原定设置实例预热,则可能会在实例启动时执行原定设置冷却,动态扩缩的横向缩减活动将被阻止,直到原定设置冷却时间结束。

此外,通过启用原定设置实例预热功能,您不必再为单个扩缩策略和实例刷新指定预热参数值。您可以在组级别使用原定设置实例预热统一这些设置。预设情况下,这些参数将设定为原定设置实例预热的值。有关更多信息,请参阅 可用的预热和冷却设置

选择原定设置的实例预热时间值

选择预热时间值时,应注意优化平衡采集合法流量的使用数据与尽量减少与启动时的临时使用峰值相关的数据采集。

完成启动后,实例将附加到 Auto Scaling 组并注册到 Elastic Load Balancing 负载均衡器(如果使用),然后才会进入 InService 状态。在实例进入 InService 状态之后,资源消耗仍然可能会经历暂时的高峰,然后才会逐渐稳定下来。例如,与无需下载大型资产的轻量级 Web 服务器相比,对于必须下载并缓存大型资产的应用程序服务器,其资源消耗将需要更长的时间才能稳定。原定设置实例预热提供了稳定资源消耗所需的时间延迟。

重要

对于需要在启动时运行配置任务或脚本的使用案例,则还应考虑使用生命周期钩子。在横向扩展事件持续期间,生命周期钩子可以将实例投入使用的时间延迟到实例完成初始化之后。如果引导启动脚本需要一段时间才能完成,则生命周期钩子将特别有用。因此,如果您添加了生命周期钩子,则可以降低原定设置实例预热的值。如果您将原定设置实例预热设为 0 秒,则不会在生命周期钩子所需时间之外,强加额外的等待时间。有关使用生命周期钩子的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 生命周期钩子

了解原定设置实例预热如何影响扩缩

启用原定设置实例预热后,Auto Scaling 组中每个新启动的实例都有一个预热时间。

当实例处于预热时间时,仅当未预热实例的指标值大于策略的告警阈值上限(与目标跟踪扩缩策略的目标利用率相同)时,您的扩缩策略才会横向扩展。

如果实例仍在预热并且组再次横向扩展,则这些实例将计算为下一横向扩展活动所需容量的一部分。因此,落入同一分步调整中的多个警报违例只会导致一个扩展活动。旨在持续 (但不过度) 扩大。

其目的是在需求下降时谨慎地横向缩减,以保护应用程序的可用性。这会阻止通过扩缩策略启动的横向缩减活动,直到实例完成预热。

为组启用原定设置实例预热

您可以在创建 Auto Scaling 组时启用原定设置实例预热。也可以为现有的组启用此功能。

Console

为新的组启用原定设置实例预热(控制台)

创建 Auto Scaling 组时,在 Configure advanced options(配置高级选项)页面的 Additional settings(其他设置)下,选择 Enable default instance warmup(启用原定设置实例预热)选项。选择应用程序所需的预热时间。

Amazon CLI

为新的组启用原定设置实例预热(Amazon CLI)

要为 Auto Scaling 组启用原定设置实例预热,请添加 --default-instance-warmup 选项并指定一个介于 0 到 3600 之间的值(以秒为单位)。启用此功能后,将值设为 -1 将会关闭此设置。

以下 create-auto-scaling-group 命令会创建一个名称为 my-asg 的 Auto Scaling 组,同时会启用原定设置实例预热功能,并将其值设置为 120 秒。

aws autoscaling create-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --default-instance-warmup 120 ...
提示

如果此命令引发错误,请确保您已在本地将 Amazon CLI 更新到最新版本。

Console

为现有的组启用原定设置实例预热(控制台)

  1. 打开位于 https://console.aws.amazon.com/ec2autoscaling 的 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 控制台,然后选择在其中创建 Auto Scaling 组的 Amazon Web Services 区域。

  2. 选中 Auto Scaling 组旁边的复选框。

    这时将在 Auto Scaling groups(Auto Scaling 组)页面底部打开一个拆分窗格。

  3. Details(详细信息)选项卡上,选择 Advanced configurations(高级配置)、Edit(编辑)。

  4. 对于 Default instance warmup(原定设置实例预热),选择应用程序所需的预热时间。

  5. 选择 Update(更新)。

Amazon CLI

为现有的组启用原定设置实例预热(Amazon CLI)

以下示例使用 update-auto-scaling-group 命令为名为的 my-asg 的现有 Auto Scaling 组启用原定设置实例预热,并将其值设置为 120 秒。

aws autoscaling update-auto-scaling-group --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg --default-instance-warmup 120
提示

如果此命令引发错误,请确保您已在本地将 Amazon CLI 更新到最新版本。

验证组的原定设置实例预热设置

验证 Auto Scaling 组的原定设置实例预热设置(Amazon CLI)

使用 describe-auto-scaling-groups 命令。

aws autoscaling describe-auto-scaling-groups --auto-scaling-group-name my-asg

以下为响应示例。

{ "AutoScalingGroups": [ { "AutoScalingGroupName": "my-asg", "AutoScalingGroupARN": "arn", ... "DefaultInstanceWarmup": 120 } ] }