Use lifecycle hooks with a warm pool - Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Use lifecycle hooks with a warm pool

Instances in a warm pool maintain their own independent lifecycle to help you create the appropriate custom action for each transition. This lifecycle is designed to help you to invoke actions in a target service (for example, a Lambda function) while an instance is still initializing and before it is put in service.

Note

The API operations that you use to add and manage lifecycle hooks and complete lifecycle actions are not changed. Only the instance lifecycle is changed.

For more information about adding a lifecycle hook, see Add lifecycle hooks. For more information about completing a lifecycle action, see Complete a lifecycle action.

For instances entering the warm pool, you might need a lifecycle hook for one of the following reasons:

  • You want to launch EC2 instances from an AMI that takes a long time to finish initializing.

  • You want to run user data scripts to bootstrap the EC2 instances.

For instances leaving the warm pool, you might need a lifecycle hook for one of the following reasons:

  • You can use some extra time to prepare EC2 instances for use. For example, you might have services that must start when an instance restarts before your application can work correctly.

  • You want to pre-populate cache data so that a new server doesn't launch with an empty cache.

  • You want to register new instances as managed instances with your configuration management service.

Lifecycle state transitions for instances in a warm pool

An Auto Scaling instance can transition through many states as part of its lifecycle.

The following diagram shows the transition between Auto Scaling states when you use a warm pool:


                    The lifecycle state transitions for instances in a warm pool.

¹ This state varies based on the warm pool's pool state setting. If the pool state is set to Running, then this state is Warmed:Running instead. If the pool state is set to Hibernated, then this state is Warmed:Hibernated instead.

When you add lifecycle hooks, consider the following:

  • When a lifecycle hook is configured for the autoscaling:EC2_INSTANCE_LAUNCHING lifecycle action, a newly launched instance first pauses to perform a custom action when it reaches the Warmed:Pending:Wait state, and then again when the instance restarts and reaches the Pending:Wait state.

  • When a lifecycle hook is configured for the EC2_INSTANCE_TERMINATING lifecycle action, a terminating instance pauses to perform a custom action when it reaches the Terminating:Wait state. However, if you specify an instance reuse policy to return instances to the warm pool on scale in instead of terminating them, then an instance that is returning to the warm pool pauses to perform a custom action at the Warmed:Pending:Wait state for the EC2_INSTANCE_TERMINATING lifecycle action.

  • If the demand on your application depletes the warm pool, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling can launch instances directly into the Auto Scaling group as long as the group isn't at its maximum capacity yet. If the instances launch directly into the group, they are only paused to perform a custom action at the Pending:Wait state.

  • To control how long an instance stays in a wait state before it transitions to the next state, configure your custom action to use the complete-lifecycle-action command. With lifecycle hooks, instances remain in a wait state either until you notify Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling that the specified lifecycle action is complete, or until the timeout period ends (one hour by default).

The following summarizes the flow for a scale-out event.


                    A flow diagram of a scale-out event.

When instances reach a wait state, Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling sends a notification. Examples of these notifications are available in the EventBridge section of this guide. For more information, see Warm pool event types and patterns.

Supported notification targets

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling provides support for defining any of the following as notification targets for lifecycle notifications:

  • EventBridge rules

  • Amazon SNS topics

  • Amazon SQS queues

Important

Remember, if you have a user data (cloud-init) script in your launch template or launch configuration that configures your instances when they launch, you do not need to receive notifications to perform custom actions on instances that are launching or restarting.

The following sections contain links to documentation that describes how to configure notification targets:

EventBridge rules: To run code when Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling puts an instance into a wait state, you can create an EventBridge rule and specify a Lambda function as its target. To invoke different Lambda functions based on different lifecycle notifications, you can create multiple rules and associate each rule with a specific event pattern and Lambda function. For more information, see Create EventBridge rules for warm pool events.

Amazon SNS topics: To receive a notification when an instance is put into a wait state, you create an Amazon SNS topic and then set up Amazon SNS message filtering to deliver lifecycle notifications differently based on a message attribute. For more information, see Receive notifications using Amazon SNS.

Amazon SQS queues: To set up a delivery point for lifecycle notifications where a relevant consumer can pick them up and process them, you can create an Amazon SQS queue and a queue consumer that processes messages from the SQS queue. If you want the queue consumer to process lifecycle notifications differently based on a message attribute, you must also set up the queue consumer to parse the message and then act on the message when a specific attribute matches the desired value. For more information, see Receive notifications using Amazon SQS.

将生命周期钩子与暖池一起使用 - Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

将生命周期钩子与暖池一起使用

暖池中的实例将保持自己独立的生命周期,以帮助您为每次转换创建适当的自定义操作。此生命周期旨在帮助您在实例仍在初始化之时以及将其投入使用之前,调用目标服务(例如,Lambda 函数)中的操作。

注意

不会更改用于添加和管理生命周期钩子以及完成生命周期操作的 API 操作。只会更改实例生命周期。

有关添加生命周期钩子的更多信息,请参阅 添加生命周期钩子。有关完成生命周期操作的更多信息,请参阅 完成生命周期操作

对于进入暖池的实例,出于以下原因之一,您可能需要生命周期钩子:

  • 您希望从 AMI 启动 EC2 实例,这需要很长时间才能完成初始化。

  • 您希望运行用户数据脚本来引导启动 EC2 实例。

对于离开暖池的实例,出于以下原因之一,您可能需要生命周期钩子:

  • 您可以使用一些额外的时间准备 EC2 实例以供使用。例如,您可能有这样的服务,它们必须在实例重新开启时开启,然后您的应用程序才能正常工作。

  • 您希望预填充缓存数据,以使新服务器不会使用空缓存启动。

  • 您希望使用配置管理服务将新实例注册为托管实例。

暖池中实例的生命周期状态转换

作为其生命周期的组成部分,Auto Scaling 实例可在多种状态之间转换。

下图显示了在您使用暖池时 Auto Scaling 状态之间的转换:


                    暖池中实例的生命周期状态转换。

¹ 此状态因暖池的池状态设置而异。如果将池状态设置为 Running,则此状态为 Warmed:Running。如果将池状态设置为 Hibernated,则此状态为 Warmed:Hibernated

添加生命周期钩子时,请考虑以下事项:

  • autoscaling:EC2_INSTANCE_LAUNCHING 生命周期操作配置生命周期挂钩时,新启动的实例在到达 Warmed:Pending:Wait 状态时会先暂停以执行自定义操作,然后在实例重启并到达 Pending:Wait 状态时再次重复上述操作。

  • EC2_INSTANCE_TERMINATING 生命周期操作配置生命周期挂钩,终止的实例在到达 Terminating:Wait 状态时会暂停以执行自定义操作。但是,如果您指定了实例重用策略来将实例大规模返回到暖池,而不是终止它们,则返回温池的实例将在 Warmed:Pending:Wait 状态暂停以执行自定义操作。

  • 如果对您的应用程序的需求耗尽了暖池,则 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 可以直接将实例启动到 Auto Scaling 组,前提条件是该组尚未达到其最大容量。如果实例直接启动到该组中,则这些实例仅在 Pending:Wait 状态中暂停以执行自定义奥做。

  • 要控制实例在转换到下一个状态之前保持等待状态的时间,请将您的自定义操作配置为使用 complete-lifecycle-action 命令。使用生命周期挂钩,实例将保持等待状态,直到您通知 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 指定的生命周期操作已完成,或者直至超时期结束(默认为 1 小时)。

当实例达到等待状态时,Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 将发送通知。这些通知的示例可在本指南的 EventBridge 部分中找到。有关更多信息,请参阅暖池活动类型和模式

支持的通知目标

Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 支持将以下任意内容定义为生命周期通知的通知目标:

  • EventBridge 规则

  • Amazon SNS 主题

  • Amazon SQS 队列

请记住,如果您的启动模板或启动配置中有在实例启动时配置实例的用户数据脚本,则无需接收通知即可对正在启动或重启的实例执行自定义操作。

以下各节包含多个链接,它们指向描述如何配置通知目标的文档:

EventBridge 规则:要在 Amazon EC2 Auto Scaling 将实例置于等待状态时运行代码,您可以创建 EventBridge 规则,并指定 Lambda 函数作为其目标。要根据不同的生命周期通知调用不同的 Lambda 函数,您可以创建多条规则,并将每条规则与特定的事件模式和 Lambda 函数关联起来。有关更多信息,请参阅为暖池事件创建 EventBridge 规则

Amazon SNS 主题:要在实例处于等待状态时接收通知,您可以创建 Amazon SNS 主题,然后设置 Amazon SNS 消息筛选,以根据消息属性以不同的方式传送生命周期通知。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon SNS 接收通知

Amazon SQS 队列:要为生命周期通知设置传送点,使相关使用者可以接收并处理它们,您可以创建 Amazon SQS 队列和处理来自 SQS 队列的消息的队列使用者。如果您希望队列使用者根据消息属性以不同方式处理生命周期通知,则还必须设置队列使用者以解析消息,然后在特定属性与所需值匹配时对消息执行操作。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon SQS 接收通知