IAM roles - Amazon Cognito
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

IAM roles

While creating an identity pool, you're prompted to update the IAM roles that your users assume. IAM roles work like this: When a user logs in to your app, Amazon Cognito generates temporary Amazon credentials for the user. These temporary credentials are associated with a specific IAM role. With the IAM role, you can define a set of permissions to access your Amazon resources.

You can specify default IAM roles for authenticated and unauthenticated users. In addition, you can define rules to choose the role for each user based on claims in the user's ID token. For more information, see Role-based access control.

By default, the Amazon Cognito console creates IAM roles that provide access to Amazon Mobile Analytics and to Amazon Cognito Sync. Alternatively, you can choose to use existing IAM roles.

Modify IAM roles to allow or restrict access to other services. To do so, log in to the IAM Console. Then select Roles, and select a role. The policies attached to the selected role are listed in the Permissions tab. You can customize an access policy by selecting the corresponding Manage Policy link. To learn more about using and defining policies, see Overview of IAM Policies.

Note

As a best practice, define policies that follow the principle of granting least privilege. In other words, the policies include only the permissions that users require to perform their tasks. For more information, see Grant Least Privilege in the IAM User Guide.

Remember that unauthenticated identities are assumed by users who do not log in to your app. Typically, the permissions that you assign for unauthenticated identities should be more restrictive than those for authenticated identities.

Set up a trust policy

Amazon Cognito uses IAM roles to generate temporary credentials for your application's users. Access to permissions is controlled by a role's trust relationships. Learn more about Role trust and permissions.

Reuse roles across identity pools

To reuse a role across multiple identity pools, because they share a common permission set, you can include multiple identity pools, like this:

"StringEquals": { "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:aud": [ "us-east-1:12345678-abcd-abcd-abcd-123456790ab", "us-east-1:98765432-dcba-dcba-dcba-123456790ab" ] }

Limit access to specific identities

To create a policy limited to a specific set of app users, check the value of cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub:

"StringEquals": { "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:aud": "us-east-1:12345678-abcd-abcd-abcd-123456790ab", "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub": [ "us-east-1:12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456790ab", "us-east-1:98765432-1234-1234-1243-123456790ab" ] }

Limit access to specific providers

To create a policy limited to users who have logged in with a specific provider (perhaps your own login provider), check the value of cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:amr:

"ForAnyValue:StringLike": { "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:amr": "login.myprovider.myapp" }

For example, an app that trusts only Facebook would have the following amr clause:

"ForAnyValue:StringLike": { "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:amr": "graph.facebook.com" }

Access policies

The permissions attached to a role are effective across all users that assume that role. If you want to partition your users' access, you can do so through policy variables. Be careful when including your users' identity IDs in your access policies, particularly for unauthenticated identities, as these may change if the user logs in.

For additional security protection, Amazon Cognito applies a scope-down policy to credentials vended by GetCredentialForIdentity to prevent access to services other than the following ones for your unauthenticated users. You can create an identity using these credentials with access to only the following services:

  • Amazon API Gateway

  • Amazon AppSync

  • Amazon CloudWatch

  • Amazon CloudWatch Logs

  • Amazon Cognito Identity

  • Amazon Cognito Sync

  • Amazon Cognito user pools

  • Amazon Comprehend

  • Amazon DynamoDB

  • Amazon GameLift

  • Amazon IoT

  • Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS)

  • Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose

  • Amazon Kinesis Data Streams

  • Amazon Lambda

  • Amazon Lex

  • Amazon Location Service

  • Amazon Machine Learning

  • Amazon Mobile Analytics

  • Amazon Personalize

  • Amazon Pinpoint

  • Amazon Polly

  • Amazon Rekognition

  • Amazon SageMaker

  • Amazon SimpleDB

  • Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES)

  • Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)

  • Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS)

  • Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)

  • Amazon Sumerian

  • Amazon Textract

  • Amazon Transcribe

  • Amazon Translate

In addition, there are services that grant access to unauthenticated users, but don't permit all the service's actions for these users. The following table shows the services with restricted actions.

Service Permission granted for unauthenticated users
Amazon Key Management Service Encrypt, Decrypt, ReEncrypt , GenerateDataKey
Amazon SageMaker InvokeEndpoint
Amazon Textract DetectDocumentText, AnalyzeDocument
Amazon Sumerian View*

If you need access to something other than these services for your unauthenticated users, you must use the basic authentication flow. If you are getting NotAuthorizedException and you have enabled access to the service in your unauthenticated role policy, this is likely the reason.

Access policy examples

In this section, you can find example Amazon Cognito access policies that grant only the permissions your identities must complete a specific operation. You can further limit the permissions for a given identity ID by using policy variables where possible. For example, using ${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}. For more information, see Understanding Amazon Cognito Authentication Part 3: Roles and Policies on the Amazon Mobile Blog.

Note

As a security best practice, policies should include only the permissions that users require to perform their tasks. This means that you should try to always scope access to an individual identity for objects whenever possible.

Example 1: Grant an identity read access to a single object in Amazon S3

The following access policy grants read permissions to an identity to retrieve a single object from a given S3 bucket.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "s3:GetObject" ], "Effect": "Allow", "Resource": ["arn:aws:s3:::mybucket/assets/my_picture.jpg"] } ] }

Example 2: Grant an identity both read and write access to identity specific paths in Amazon S3

The following access policy grants read and write permissions to access a specific prefix "folder" in an S3 bucket by mapping the prefix to the ${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub} variable.

With this policy, an identity such as us-east-1:12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456790ab inserted via ${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub} can get, put, and list objects into arn:aws:s3:::mybucket/us-east-1:12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456790ab. However, the identity would not be granted access to other objects in arn:aws:s3:::mybucket.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": ["s3:ListBucket"], "Effect": "Allow", "Resource": ["arn:aws:s3:::mybucket"], "Condition": {"StringLike": {"s3:prefix": ["${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}/*"]}} }, { "Action": [ "s3:GetObject", "s3:PutObject" ], "Effect": "Allow", "Resource": ["arn:aws:s3:::mybucket/${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}/*"] } ] }

Example 3: Assign identities fine-grained access to Amazon DynamoDB

The following access policy provides fine-grained access control to DynamoDB resources using Amazon Cognito environment variables. These variables grant access to items in DynamoDB by identity ID. For more information, see Using IAM Policy Conditions for Fine-Grained Access Control in the Amazon DynamoDB Developer Guide.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "dynamodb:GetItem", "dynamodb:BatchGetItem", "dynamodb:Query", "dynamodb:PutItem", "dynamodb:UpdateItem", "dynamodb:DeleteItem", "dynamodb:BatchWriteItem" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:dynamodb:us-west-2:123456789012:table/MyTable" ], "Condition": { "ForAllValues:StringEquals": { "dynamodb:LeadingKeys": ["${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}"] } } } ] }

Example 4: Grant an identity permission to invoke a Lambda function

The following access policy grants an identity permissions to invoke a Lambda function.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "lambda:InvokeFunction", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:lambda:us-west-2:123456789012:function:MyFunction" ] } ] }

Example 5: Grant an identity permission to publish records to Kinesis Data Streams

The following access policy allows an identity to use the PutRecord operation with any of the Kinesis Data Streams. It can be applied to users that need to add data records to all streams in an account. For more information, see Controlling Access to Amazon Kinesis Data Streams Resources Using IAM in the Amazon Kinesis Data Streams Developer Guide.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "kinesis:PutRecord", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:kinesis:us-east-1:111122223333:stream/stream1" ] } ] }

Example 6: Grant an identity access to their data in the Amazon Cognito Sync store

The following access policy grants an identity permissions to access only their own data in the Amazon Cognito Sync store.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement":[{ "Effect":"Allow", "Action":"cognito-sync:*", "Resource":["arn:aws:cognito-sync:us-east-1:123456789012:identitypool/${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:aud}/identity/${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}/*"] }] }

IAM 角色 - Amazon Cognito
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

IAM 角色

在创建身份池时,系统会提示您更新用户代入的 IAM 角色。IAM 角色的工作方式如下:当用户登录应用程序时,Amazon Cognito 为用户生成临时 Amazon 凭证。这些临时凭证与特定 IAM 角色相关联。通过 IAM 角色,您可以定义一组权限,用来访问您的 Amazon 资源。

您可以为经过身份验证的用户和未经身份验证的用户指定默认 IAM 角色。此外,您可以定义规则,以便基于用户 ID 令牌中的声明为每个用户选择角色。有关更多信息,请参阅基于角色的访问控制

默认情况下,Amazon Cognito 控制台将创建可提供访问 Amazon Mobile Analytics 和 Amazon Cognito Sync 的权限的角色。或者,您也可以选择使用现有的 IAM 角色。

修改 IAM 角色以允许或限制对其他服务的访问。为此,请登录 IAM 控制台。然后,选择 Roles(角色),选择一个角色。Permissions(权限)选项卡中会列出选定角色所附加的策略。您可以选择相应的 Manage Policy(管理策略)链接自定义访问策略。要了解如何使用和定义策略的更多信息,请参阅 IAM 策略概述

注意

作为最佳实践,定义策略时应遵循授予最低权限的原则。换言之,策略只包含用户执行其任务所需的权限。有关更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》 中的 授予最低权限

请记住,未经验证的身份会被未登录应用的用户所利用。通常情况下,为未经验证的身份分配的权限应该比为经过验证的身份分配的权限更严格。

设置信任策略

Amazon Cognito 使用 IAM 角色为应用程序的用户生成临时凭证。对权限的访问由角色的信任关系控制。了解有关 角色信任和权限 的更多信息。

跨身份池重复使用角色

要跨多个身份池重复使用某个角色,由于它们共享一个通用权限集,您可以添加多个身份池,如下所示:

"StringEquals": { "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:aud": [ "us-east-1:12345678-abcd-abcd-abcd-123456790ab", "us-east-1:98765432-dcba-dcba-dcba-123456790ab" ] }

限制对特定身份的访问权限

要创建限制为一组特定应用用户的策略,请检查 cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub 的值:

"StringEquals": { "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:aud": "us-east-1:12345678-abcd-abcd-abcd-123456790ab", "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub": [ "us-east-1:12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456790ab", "us-east-1:98765432-1234-1234-1243-123456790ab" ] }

限制对特定提供商的访问权限

要创建仅限于已使用特定提供商 (可能是您自己的登录提供商) 登录的用户的策略,请检查 cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:amr 的值:

"ForAnyValue:StringLike": { "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:amr": "login.myprovider.myapp" }

例如,一个仅信任 Facebook 的应用程序将具有以下 amr 子句:

"ForAnyValue:StringLike": { "cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:amr": "graph.facebook.com" }

访问策略

附加到角色的权限对承担该角色的所有用户都有效。如果您希望区分用户的访问权限,则可以通过策略变量来实现。在访问策略中添加用户的身份 ID 时请务必小心,特别是对未经身份验证的身份,因为它们可能会在用户登录时发生变化。

为提供额外的安全保护,Amazon Cognito 对 GetCredentialForIdentity 提供的凭证应用范围缩小策略,以阻止未经身份验证的用户访问除下面的服务以外的服务。您可以使用这些凭证创建一个身份,使其仅能访问下列服务:

  • Amazon API Gateway

  • Amazon AppSync

  • Amazon CloudWatch

  • Amazon CloudWatch Logs

  • Amazon Cognito Identity

  • Amazon Cognito Sync

  • Amazon Cognito user pools

  • Amazon Comprehend

  • Amazon DynamoDB

  • Amazon GameLift

  • Amazon IoT

  • Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS)

  • Amazon Kinesis Data Firehose

  • Amazon Kinesis Data Streams

  • Amazon Lambda

  • Amazon Lex

  • Amazon Location Service

  • Amazon Machine Learning

  • Amazon Mobile Analytics

  • Amazon Personalize

  • Amazon Pinpoint

  • Amazon Polly

  • Amazon Rekognition

  • Amazon SageMaker

  • Amazon SimpleDB

  • Amazon Simple Email Service (Amazon SES)

  • Amazon Simple Notification Service (Amazon SNS)

  • Amazon Simple Queue Service (Amazon SQS)

  • Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3)

  • Amazon Sumerian

  • Amazon Textract

  • Amazon Transcribe

  • Amazon Translate

此外,有一些服务向未经身份验证的用户授予访问权限,但不允许对这些用户执行所有服务操作。下表显示了具有受限操作的服务。

服务 向未经身份验证的用户授予的权限
Amazon Key Management Service Encrypt, Decrypt, ReEncrypt , GenerateDataKey
Amazon SageMaker InvokeEndpoint
Amazon Textract DetectDocumentText, AnalyzeDocument
Amazon Sumerian View*

如果您需要支持未经身份验证的用户访问除这些服务以外的服务,您必须使用基本身份验证流程。如果您收到 NotAuthorizedException,并且您在未经身份验证的角色策略中启用了对该服务的访问权限,那么这可能就是原因所在。

访问策略示例

在此部分中,您可以找到示例 Amazon Cognito 访问策略,这些策略仅授予您的身份完成特定操作所需的权限。您可以在可能的情况下使用策略变量进一步限制给定标识 ID 的权限。例如,使用 ${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}。有关更多信息,请参阅Amazon移动博客上的 nderstanding Amazon Cognito Authentication Part 3: Roles and Policies

注意

作为安全性最佳实践,策略应仅包括用户执行其任务所需的权限。这意味着您应该尽可能始终为对象限定单个身份的访问范围。

示例 1:向身份授予对 Amazon S3 中单个对象的读取访问权限

以下访问策略向身份授予读取权限,以便从给定的 S3 存储桶中检索单个对象。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "s3:GetObject" ], "Effect": "Allow", "Resource": ["arn:aws:s3:::mybucket/assets/my_picture.jpg"] } ] }

示例 2:向身份授予对 Amazon S3 中对身份特定路径的读写访问权限

以下访问策略通过将前缀映射到 ${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub} 变量来授予读取和写入权限,以访问 S3 存储桶中的特定前缀“文件夹”。

利用此策略,通过 ${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub} 插入的身份(例如 us-east-1:12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456790ab)将能够在 arn:aws:s3:::mybucket/us-east-1:12345678-1234-1234-1234-123456790ab 中获取、放置和列出对象。但是,不会授予身份访问 arn:aws:s3:::mybucket 中的其他对象的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": ["s3:ListBucket"], "Effect": "Allow", "Resource": ["arn:aws:s3:::mybucket"], "Condition": {"StringLike": {"s3:prefix": ["${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}/*"]}} }, { "Action": [ "s3:GetObject", "s3:PutObject" ], "Effect": "Allow", "Resource": ["arn:aws:s3:::mybucket/${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}/*"] } ] }

示例 3:为 Amazon DynamoDB 分配身份细粒度访问权限

以下访问策略使用 Amazon Cognito 环境变量,为 DynamoDB 资源提供细粒度访问控制。这些变量按身份 ID 授予对 DynamoDB 中项目的访问权限。有关更多信息,请参阅《Amazon DynamoDB 开发人员指南》中的使用 IAM 策略条件实现精细访问控制

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "dynamodb:GetItem", "dynamodb:BatchGetItem", "dynamodb:Query", "dynamodb:PutItem", "dynamodb:UpdateItem", "dynamodb:DeleteItem", "dynamodb:BatchWriteItem" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:dynamodb:us-west-2:123456789012:table/MyTable" ], "Condition": { "ForAllValues:StringEquals": { "dynamodb:LeadingKeys": ["${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}"] } } } ] }

示例 4:向身份授予调用 Lambda 函数的权限

以下访问策略向身份授予调用 Lambda 函数的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "lambda:InvokeFunction", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:lambda:us-west-2:123456789012:function:MyFunction" ] } ] }

示例 5:向身份授予将记录发布到 Kinesis Data Stream 的权限

以下访问策略允许身份将 PutRecord 操作与任何 Kinesis Data Streams 结合使用。它可以应用于需要将数据记录添加到账户中所有流的用户。有关更多信息,请参阅《Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 开发人员指南》中的使用 IAM 控制对 Amazon Kinesis Data Streams 资源的访问

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "kinesis:PutRecord", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:kinesis:us-east-1:111122223333:stream/stream1" ] } ] }

示例 6:向身份授予在 Amazon Cognito Sync 存储中访问其数据的权限

以下访问策略仅向身份授予访问 Amazon Cognito Sync 存储中其自己数据的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement":[{ "Effect":"Allow", "Action":"cognito-sync:*", "Resource":["arn:aws:cognito-sync:us-east-1:123456789012:identitypool/${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:aud}/identity/${cognito-identity.amazonaws.com:sub}/*"] }] }