AWS Elastic Beanstalk
Developer Guide (API Version 2010-12-01)
AWS services or capabilities described in AWS Documentation may vary by region/location. Click Getting Started with Amazon AWS to see specific differences applicable to the China (Beijing) Region.

Using the AWS Elastic Beanstalk Java SE Platform

The AWS Elastic Beanstalk Java SE platform is a set of environment configurations for Java web applications that can run on their own from a compiled JAR file. You can compile your application locally or upload the source code with a build script to compile it on-instance. Each configuration corresponds to a major version of Java, including Java 8 and Java 7.

Platform-specific configuration options are available in the AWS Management Console for modifying the configuration of a running environment. To avoid losing your environment's configuration when you terminate it, you can use saved configurations to save your settings and later apply them to another environment.

To save settings in your source code, you can include configuration files. Settings in configuration files are applied every time you create an environment or deploy your application. You can also use configuration files to install packages, run scripts, and perform other instance customization operations during deployments.

Elastic Beanstalk Java SE platform configurations include an nginx server that acts as a reverse proxy, serving cached static content and passing requests to your application. The platform provides configuration options to configure the proxy server to serve static assets from a folder in your source code to reduce the load on your application. For advanced scenarios, you can include your own .conf files in your source bundle to extend Elastic Beanstalk's proxy configuration or overwrite it completely.

If you only have one JAR file, Elastic Beanstalk will run it with java -jar application_name.jar. To configure the processes that run on the server instances in your environment, include an optional Procfile in your source bundle. A Procfile is required if you have more than one JAR in your source bundle root, or if you want to customize the java command to set JVM options.

To compile Java classes and run other build commands on the EC2 instances in your environment at deploy time, include a Buildfile in your application source bundle. A Buildfile lets you deploy your source code as-is and build on the server instead of compiling JARs locally. The Java SE platform includes common build tools to let you build on-server.

Execution Order

When you include multiple types of configuration in your application source bundle, they are executed in the following order. Each step does not begin until the previous step completes.

  • Step 1: commands, files and packages defined in configuration files

  • Step 2: Buildfile command

  • Step 3: container_commands in configuration files

  • Step 4: Procfile commands (all commands are run simultaneously)

For more information on using commands, files, packages and container_commands in configuration files, see Customizing Software on Linux Servers

Configuring Your Java SE Environment

For Java SE platform configurations on Elastic Beanstalk, Elastic Beanstalk provides a few platform-specific options in addition to the standard options it provides for all environments. These options let you configure the nginx proxy that runs in front of your application to serve static files.

You can use the AWS Management Console to enable log rotation to Amazon S3 and configure variables that your application can read from the environment.

To configure your Java SE environment in the Elastic Beanstalk console

  1. Open the Elastic Beanstalk console.

  2. Navigate to the management page for your environment.

  3. Choose Configuration.

  4. In the Software Configuration section, choose the settings icon ( Edit ).

Log Options

The Log Options section has two settings:

  • Instance profile – Specifies the instance profile that has permission to access the Amazon S3 bucket associated with your application.

  • Enable log file rotation to Amazon S3 – Specifies whether log files for your application's Amazon EC2 instances should be copied to your Amazon S3 bucket associated with your application.

Environment Properties

The Environment Properties section lets you specify environment configuration settings on the Amazon EC2 instances that are running your application. Environment properties are passed in as key-value pairs to the application.

Inside the Java SE environment running in Elastic Beanstalk, environment variables are accessible using the System.getenv(). For example, you could read a property named API_ENDPOINT to a variable with the following code:

String endpoint = System.getenv("API_ENDPOINT");

See Environment Properties and Other Software Settings for more information.

The aws:elasticbeanstalk:container:java:staticfiles Namespace

You can use a configuration file to set configuration options and perform other instance configuration tasks during deployments. Configuration options can be defined by the Elastic Beanstalk service or the platform that you use and are organized into namespaces.

The Java SE platform supports one platform-specific configuration namespace in addition to the namespaces supported by all platforms. The aws:elasticbeanstalk:container:java:staticfiles namespace lets you define options that map paths on your web application to folders in your application source bundle that contain static content.

For example, this option_settings snippet defines two options in the static files namespace. The first maps the path /public to a folder named public, and the second maps the path /images to a folder named img:

option_settings:
  aws:elasticbeanstalk:container:java:staticfiles:
    /public: public
    /images: img

The folders that you map using this namespace must be actual folders in the root of your source bundle. You cannot map a path to a folder in a JAR file.

Elastic Beanstalk provides many configuration options for customizing your environment. In addition to configuration files, you can also set configuration options using the console, saved configurations, the EB CLI, or the AWS CLI. See Configuration Options for more information.

使用 Elastic Beanstalk Java SE 平台 - AWS Elastic Beanstalk
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

使用 Elastic Beanstalk Java SE 平台

重要

Amazon Linux 2 平台版本与 Amazon Linux AMI 平台版本(在 Amazon Linux 2 之前)完全不同。这些不同层代的平台在多个方面不兼容。如果您要迁移到 Amazon Linux 2 平台版本,请务必阅读将 Elastic Beanstalk Linux 应用程序迁移到 Amazon Linux 2中的信息。

AWS Elastic Beanstalk Java SE 平台是一组平台版本,适用于可通过已编译的 JAR 文件自行运行的 Java Web 应用程序。您可以在本地编译应用程序,或将源代码与生成脚本一起上传以便在实例中对其进行编译。Java SE 平台版本分组到平台分支中,每个分支均对应 Java 的一个主要版本,例如 Java 8Java 7

注意

Elastic Beanstalk 不会分析应用程序的 JAR 文件。将 Elastic Beanstalk 需要的文件保存在 JAR 文件外部。例如,在应用程序的源包的根目录下的 JAR 文件旁边放置工作线程环境cron.yaml 文件。

Elastic Beanstalk 控制台中提供了配置选项,可用于修改运行环境的配置。要避免在终止环境时丢失环境配置,可以使用保存的配置来保存您的设置,并在以后将这些设置应用到其他环境。

要保存源代码中的设置,您可以包含配置文件。在您每次创建环境或部署应用程序时,会应用配置文件中的设置。您还可在部署期间使用配置文件来安装程序包、运行脚本以及执行其他实例自定义操作。

Elastic Beanstalk Java SE 平台包含一个 nginx 服务器,该服务器用作反向代理,向您的应用程序提供缓存的静态内容并传递请求。平台提供了配置选项,以便将代理服务器配置为从源代码中的文件夹提供静态资源,从而减少应用程序上的负载。有关高级方案,您可以在源包中包括您自己的 .conf 文件,以扩展 Elastic Beanstalk 的代理配置或完全重写它。

如果您仅为应用程序源提供单个 JAR 文件(单独提供而不是包含在源包中),则 Elastic Beanstalk 会将 JAR 文件重命名为 application.jar,然后使用 java -jar application.jar 运行它。要配置在您的环境中的服务器实例上运行的进程,请在您的源包中包含一个可选的 Procfile。如果您的源包根目录中有多个 JAR 或者您要自定义 java 命令来设置 JVM 选项,必须使用 Procfile

我们建议您始终在源包中将 Procfile 与应用程序一起提供。通过这种方式,您可以精确控制 Elastic Beanstalk 为您的应用程序运行的进程以及这些进程接收的参数。

要在部署时编译 Java 类并在您环境中的 EC2 实例上运行其他生成命令,请在应用程序源包中包含一个 BuildfileBuildfile 允许您按原样部署源代码并在服务器上执行生成操作,而不是在本地编译 JAR。Java SE 平台包含常用的生成工具,允许您在服务器上执行生成操作。

有关扩展 Elastic Beanstalk 基于 Linux 的平台的各种方法的详细信息,请参阅扩展 Elastic Beanstalk Linux 平台

配置 Java SE 环境

使用 Java SE 平台设置,您可以微调 Amazon EC2 实例的行为。您可以使用 Elastic Beanstalk 控制台编辑 Elastic Beanstalk 环境的 Amazon EC2 实例配置。

使用 Elastic Beanstalk 控制台启用到 Amazon S3 的日志轮换,并配置应用程序可从环境中读取的变量。

在 Elastic Beanstalk 控制台中配置 Java SE 环境

  1. 打开 Elastic Beanstalk 控制台,然后在 Regions (区域) 列表中选择您的 AWS 区域。

  2. 在导航窗格中,选择 Environments (环境),然后从列表中选择环境的名称。

    注意

    如果您有多个环境,请使用搜索栏筛选环境列表。

  3. 在导航窗格中,选择 Configuration (配置)

  4. Software (软件) 配置类别中,选择 Edit (编辑)

日志选项

“日志选项”部分有两个设置:

  • Instance profile (实例配置文件) – 指定有权访问与应用程序关联的 Amazon S3 存储桶的实例配置文件。

  • Enable log file rotation to Amazon S3 (启用日志文件轮换至 Amazon S3 的功能) – 指定是否应将应用程序的 Amazon EC2 实例的日志文件复制到与应用程序关联的 Amazon S3 存储桶中。

静态文件

为了提高性能,您可以通过 Static files (静态文件) 部分配置代理服务器,从 Web 应用程序内的一组目录中提供静态文件(例如 HTML 或图像)。对于每个目录,您都将虚拟路径设置为目录映射。当代理服务器收到对指定路径下的某个文件的请求时,它将直接提供此文件,而不是将请求路由至您的应用程序。

有关使用 Elastic Beanstalk 控制台配置静态文件的详细信息,请参阅提供静态文件

环境属性

环境属性部分,您可以在运行应用程序的 Amazon EC2 实例上指定环境配置设置。环境属性会以密钥值对的形式传递到应用程序。

在运行于 Elastic Beanstalk 中的 Java SE 环境内,可通过使用 System.getenv() 访问环境变量。例如,您可以使用以下代码将名为 API_ENDPOINT 的属性读取到某个变量:

String endpoint = System.getenv("API_ENDPOINT");

有关更多信息,请参阅环境属性和其他软件设置

Java SE 配置命名空间

您可以使用配置文件设置配置选项并在部署期间执行其他实例配置。配置选项可以通过您使用的 Elastic Beanstalk 服务或平台定义并组织到命名空间 中。

Java SE 平台不定义任何特定于平台的命名空间。您可以使用 aws:elasticbeanstalk:environment:proxy:staticfiles 命名空间将代理配置为提供静态文件。有关详细信息和示例,请参阅提供静态文件

Elastic Beanstalk 提供了许多用于自定义环境的配置选项。除了配置文件之外,您还可使用控制台、保存的配置、EB CLI 或 AWS CLI 来配置选项。有关更多信息,请参阅配置选项

Amazon Linux AMI(在 Amazon Linux 2 之前)的 Java SE 平台

如果您的 Elastic Beanstalk Java SE 环境使用 Amazon Linux AMI 平台版本(在 Amazon Linux 2 之前),请阅读本节中的其他信息。

您可以使用配置文件设置配置选项并在部署期间执行其他实例配置。配置选项可以通过您使用的 Elastic Beanstalk 服务或平台定义并组织到命名空间 中。

Java SE 平台除支持所有平台支持的命名空间外,还支持一个平台特定的配置命名空间。使用 aws:elasticbeanstalk:container:java:staticfiles 命名空间可以定义一些选项,通过它们将您的 Web 应用程序路径映射到应用程序源包中包含静态内容的文件夹。

例如,此 option_settings 代码段在静态文件命名空间中定义了两个选项。第一个选项将路径 /public 映射到名为 public 的文件夹,第二个选项将路径 /images 映射到名为 img 的文件夹:

option_settings: aws:elasticbeanstalk:container:java:staticfiles: /html: statichtml /images: staticimages

通过此命名空间映射的文件夹必须为源包根目录中实际存在的文件夹。不能将路径映射到 JAR 文件中的文件夹。

Elastic Beanstalk 提供了许多用于自定义环境的配置选项。除了配置文件之外,您还可使用控制台、保存的配置、EB CLI 或 AWS CLI 来配置选项。有关更多信息,请参阅配置选项