Installing and using kernels and libraries - Amazon EMR
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Installing and using kernels and libraries

Each EMR notebook comes with a set of pre-installed libraries and kernels. You can install additional libraries and kernels in an Amazon EMR cluster if the cluster has access to the repository where the kernels and libraries are located. For example, for clusters in private subnets, you might need to configure network address translation (NAT) and provide a path for the cluster to access the public PyPI repository to install a library. For more information about configuring external access for different network configurations, see Scenarios and examples in the Amazon VPC User Guide.

Installing kernels and Python libraries on a cluster master node

With Amazon EMR release version 5.30.0 and later, excluding 6.0.0, you can install additional Python libraries and kernels on the master node of the cluster. After installation, these kernels and libraries are available to any user running an EMR notebook attached to the cluster. Python libraries installed this way are available only to processes running on the master node. The libraries are not installed on core or task nodes and are not available to executors running on those nodes.

Note

For EMR versions 5.30.1, 5.31.0, and 6.1.0, you must take additional steps in order to install kernels and libraries on the master node of a cluster.

To enable the feature, do the following:

  1. Make sure that the permissions policy attached to the service role for EMR Notebooks allows the following action:

    elasticmapreduce:ListSteps

    For more information, see Service role for EMR Notebooks.

  2. Use the Amazon CLI to run a step on the cluster that sets up EMR Notebooks as shown in the following example. You must use the step name EMRNotebooksSetup. Replace us-east-1 with the Region in which your cluster resides. For more information, see Adding steps to a cluster using the Amazon CLI.

    aws emr add-steps --cluster-id MyClusterID --steps Type=CUSTOM_JAR,Name=EMRNotebooksSetup,ActionOnFailure=CONTINUE,Jar=s3://us-east-1.elasticmapreduce/libs/script-runner/script-runner.jar,Args=["s3://awssupportdatasvcs.com/bootstrap-actions/EMRNotebooksSetup/emr-notebooks-setup.sh"]

You can install kernels and libraries using pip or conda in the /emr/notebook-env/bin directory on the master node.

Example – Installing Python libraries

From the Python3 kernel, run the %pip magic as a command from within a notebook cell to install Python libraries.

%pip install pmdarima

You may need to restart the kernel to use updated packages. You can also use the %%sh Spark magic to invoke pip.

%%sh /emr/notebook-env/bin/pip install -U matplotlib /emr/notebook-env/bin/pip install -U pmdarima

When using a PySpark kernel, you can either install libraries on the cluster using pip commands or use notebook-scoped libraries from within a PySpark notebook.

To run pip commands on the cluster from the terminal, first connect to the master node using SSH, as the following commands demonstrate.

sudo pip3 install -U matplotlib sudo pip3 install -U pmdarima

Alternatively, you can use notebook-scoped libraries. With notebook-scoped libraries, your library installation is limited to the scope of your session and occurs on all Spark executors. For more information, see Using Notebook-scoped libraries.

If you want to package multiple Python libraries within a PySpark kernel, you can also create an isolated Python virtual environment. For examples, see Using Virtualenv.

To create a Python virtual environment in a session, use the Spark property spark.yarn.dist.archives from the %%configure magic command in the first cell in a notebook, as the following example demonstrates.

%%configure -f { "conf": { "spark.yarn.appMasterEnv.PYSPARK_PYTHON":"./environment/bin/python", "spark.yarn.appMasterEnv.PYSPARK_DRIVER_PYTHON":"./environment/bin/python", "spark.yarn.dist.archives":"s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/prefix/my_pyspark_venv.tar.gz#environment", "spark.submit.deployMode":"cluster" } }

You can similarly create a Spark executor environment.

%%configure -f { "conf": { "spark.yarn.appMasterEnv.PYSPARK_PYTHON":"./environment/bin/python", "spark.yarn.appMasterEnv.PYSPARK_DRIVER_PYTHON":"./environment/bin/python", "spark.executorEnv.PYSPARK_PYTHON":"./environment/bin/python", "spark.yarn.dist.archives":"s3://DOC-EXAMPLE-BUCKET/prefix/my_pyspark_venv.tar.gz#environment", "spark.submit.deployMode":"cluster" } }

You can also use conda to install Python libraries. Using conda requires sudo access. You must connect to the master node using SSH and then run conda from the terminal. For more information, see Connect to the master node using SSH.

Example – Installing kernels

The following example demonstrates installing the Kotlin kernel using a terminal command while connected to the master node of a cluster:

sudo /emr/notebook-env/bin/conda install kotlin-jupyter-kernel -c jetbrains
Note

These instructions do not install kernel dependencies. If your kernel has third-party dependencies, you may need to take additional setup steps before you can use the kernel with your notebook.

Using Notebook-scoped libraries

Notebook-scoped libraries are available using clusters created using Amazon EMR release version 5.26.0 or later. Notebook-scoped libraries are intended to be used only with the PySpark kernel. Any user can install additional notebook-scoped libraries from within a notebook cell. These libraries are only available to that notebook user during a single notebook session. If other users need the same libraries, or the same user needs the same libraries in a different session, the library must be re-installed.

Considerations and limitations

Consider the following when using notebook-scoped libraries:

  • You can uninstall only the libraries that are installed using install_pypi_package API. You cannot uninstall any libraries pre-installed on the cluster.

  • If the same libraries with different versions are installed on the cluster and as notebook-scoped libraries, the notebook-scoped library version overrides the cluster library version.

Working with Notebook-scoped libraries

To install libraries, your Amazon EMR cluster must have access to the PyPI repository where the libraries are located.

The following examples demonstrate simple commands to list, install, and uninstall libraries from within a notebook cell using the PySpark kernel and APIs. For additional examples, see Install Python libraries on a running cluster with EMR Notebooks post on the Amazon Big Data Blog.

Example – Listing current libraries

The following command lists the Python packages available for the current Spark notebook session. This lists libraries installed on the cluster and notebook-scoped libraries.

sc.list_packages()

Example – Installing the Celery library

The following command installs the Celery library as a notebook-scoped library.

sc.install_pypi_package("celery")

After installing the library, the following command confirms that the library is available on the Spark driver and executors.

import celery sc.range(1,10000,1,100).map(lambda x: celery.__version__).collect()

Example – Installing the Arrow library, specifying the version and repository

The following command installs the Arrow library as a notebook-scoped library, with a specification of the library version and repository URL.

sc.install_pypi_package("arrow==0.14.0", "https://pypi.org/simple")

Example – Uninstalling a library

The following command uninstalls the Arrow library, removing it as a notebook-scoped library from the current session.

sc.uninstall_package("arrow")

安装并使用内核和库 - Amazon EMR
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

安装并使用内核和库

每个 EMR Notebooks 均附带了一组预安装的库和内核。如果 Amazon EMR 集群有权访问内核和库所在的存储库,则您可以在该集群中安装其他库和内核。例如,对于私有子网中的集群,您可能需要配置网络地址转换 (NAT),并为集群提供路径来访问公有 PyPI 存储库以安装库。有关为不同网络配置配置外部访问的更多信息,请参阅《Amazon VPC 用户指南》中的场景和示例

在集群主节点 (master node) 上安装内核和 Python 库

对于 Amazon EMR 发行版 5.30.0 及更高版本(不包括 6.0.0),您可以在集群的主节点 (master node) 上安装其他 Python 库和内核。安装后,这些内核和库可供运行已附加到集群的 EMR Notebooks 的任何用户使用。通过此方式安装的 Python 库仅适用于主节点上运行的进程。这些库不会安装到核心节点或任务节点上,也不适用于这些节点上运行的执行程序。

注意

对于 EMR 版本 5.30.1、5.31.0 和 6.1.0,您必须采取额外的步骤才能在集群的主节点 (master node) 上安装内核和库。

要启动此功能,请执行以下操作:

  1. 确保附加到 EMR Notebooks 服务角色的权限策略允许执行以下操作:

    elasticmapreduce:ListSteps

    有关更多信息,请参阅 EMR Notebooks 的服务角色

  2. 使用 Amazon CLI 在集群上运行一个设置 EMR Notebooks 的步骤,如以下示例所示。您必须使用步骤名称 EMRNotebooksSetup。将 us-east-1 替换为您的集群所在的区域。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon CLI 向集群中添加步骤

    aws emr add-steps --cluster-id MyClusterID --steps Type=CUSTOM_JAR,Name=EMRNotebooksSetup,ActionOnFailure=CONTINUE,Jar=s3://us-east-1.elasticmapreduce/libs/script-runner/script-runner.jar,Args=["s3://awssupportdatasvcs.com/bootstrap-actions/EMRNotebooksSetup/emr-notebooks-setup.sh"]

您可以通过使用 pipconda 在主节点 (master node) 上的 /emr/notebook-env/bin 目录中安装内核和库。

当您连接到 Python3 内核时,您可以在笔记本单元中作为终端命令运行 /emr/notebook-env/bin/pip。当您使用 PySpark 内核时,您可以使用 %%sh Sparkmagic 来调用 pip

%%sh /emr/notebook-env/bin/pip install -u <library-name>

需要 sudo 访问权限才能使用 conda。您必须使用 SSH 连接到主节点,然后从终端运行 conda。有关更多信息,请参阅使用 SSH 连接到主节点 (master node)

以下示例演示在连接到集群的主节点 (master node) 时如何使用终端命令安装 Kotlin 内核:

sudo /emr/notebook-env/bin/conda install kotlin-jupyter-kernel -c jetbrains
注意

这些说明不安装内核依赖项。如果您的内核具有第三方依赖项,您可能需要执行额外的设置步骤,然后才能在笔记本上使用内核。

使用笔记本范围的库

借助使用 Amazon EMR 发行版本 5.26.0 或更高版本创建的集群,可使用笔记本范围的库。笔记本范围的库只能与 PySpark 内核结合使用。任何用户均可从笔记本单元中安装其他笔记本范围的库。这些库仅在单个笔记本会话期间对笔记本用户可用。如果其他用户需要相同的库,或者同一用户在不同的会话中需要相同的库,则必须重新安装该库。

注意事项和限制

使用笔记本范围的库时,请注意以下几点:

  • 您只能卸载使用 install_pypi_package API 安装的库。您无法卸载集群上预安装的任何库。

  • 如果不同版本的相同库分别安装在了集群上和用作笔记本范围的库,则笔记本范围的库版本将覆盖集群库版本。

使用笔记本范围的库

要安装库,您的 Amazon EMR 集群必须能够访问库所在的 PyPI 存储库。

以下示例演示了一些简单命令,这些命令使用 PySpark 内核和 API 从笔记本单元中列出、安装和卸载库。有关其他示例,请参阅 Amazon 大数据博客上的 Install Python libraries on a running cluster with EMR Notebooks 一文。

例 – 列出当前库

以下命令列出了可用于当前 Spark 笔记本会话的 Python 包。这将列出集群上安装的库以及笔记本范围的库。

sc.list_packages()

例 – 安装 Celery 库

以下命令安装 Celery 库作为笔记本范围的库。

sc.install_pypi_package("celery")

安装库后,以下命令将确认该库在 Spark 驱动程序和执行程序上是否可用。

import celery sc.range(1,10000,1,100).map(lambda x: celery.__version__).collect()

例 – 安装 Arrow 库,指定版本和存储库

以下命令安装 Arrow 库作为笔记本范围的库,并指定库版本和存储库 URL。

sc.install_pypi_package("arrow==0.14.0", "https://pypi.org/simple")

例 – 卸载库

以下命令卸载 Arrow 库,将其作为笔记本范围的库从当前会话中删除。

sc.uninstall_package("arrow")