Purging messages from an Amazon SQS queue (console) - Amazon Simple Queue Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Purging messages from an Amazon SQS queue (console)

If you don't want to delete an Amazon SQS queue but need to delete all of the messages from it, purge the queue. The message deletion process takes up to 60 seconds. We recommend waiting for 60 seconds regardless of your queue's size.

Important

When you purge a queue, you can't retrieve any of the deleted messages.

To purge a queue (console)

  1. Open the Amazon SQS console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/sqs/.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Queues.

  3. On the Queues page, choose the queue to purge.

  4. From Actions, choose Purge.

  5. In the Purge queue dialog box, confirm the purge by entering purge and choosing Purge.

    All messages are purged from the queue. The console displays a confirmation banner.