Deregistering a task definition revision using the new console - Amazon Elastic Container Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Deregistering a task definition revision using the new console

If you decide that you no longer need a specific task definition revision in Amazon ECS, you can deregister the task definition revision so that it no longer displays in your ListTaskDefinition API calls or in the console when you want to run a task or update a service.

When you deregister a task definition revision, it is immediately marked as INACTIVE. Existing tasks and services that reference an INACTIVE task definition revision continue to run without disruption. Existing services that reference an INACTIVE task definition revision can still scale up or down by modifying the service's desired count.

You can't use an INACTIVE task definition revision to run new tasks or create new services. You also can't update an existing service to reference an INACTIVE task definition revision (even though there may be up to a 10-minute window following deregistration where these restrictions have not yet taken effect).

Note

At this time, INACTIVE task definition revisions remain discoverable in your account indefinitely. However, this behavior is subject to change in the future. Therefore, you should not rely on INACTIVE task definition revisions persisting beyond the lifecycle of any associated tasks and services.

To deregister a new task definition (New Amazon ECS console)

  1. Open the new console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/ecs/v2.

  2. From the navigation bar, choose the region that contains your task definition.

  3. In the navigation pane, choose Task definitions.

  4. On the task definitions page, choose the task definition family that contains one or more revisions that you want to deregister.

  5. On the task definition Name page, choose the revision you want to deregister, such as "example-task:1".

  6. In the upper-right of the task definition revision detail page, choose Deregister.

  7. Verify the information in the Deregister window, and then choose Deregister to finish.