Deleting objects from versioning-suspended buckets - Amazon Simple Storage Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Deleting objects from versioning-suspended buckets

You can delete objects from versioning-suspended buckets to remove an object with a null version ID.

If versioning is suspended for a bucket, a DELETE request:

  • Can only remove an object whose version ID is null.

  • Doesn't remove anything if there isn't a null version of the object in the bucket.

  • Inserts a delete marker into the bucket.

The following figure shows how a simple DELETE removes a null version. Amazon S3 inserts a delete marker in its place with a version ID of null.

Remember that a delete marker doesn't have content, so you lose the content of the null version when a delete marker replaces it.

The following figure shows a bucket that doesn't have a null version. In this case, the DELETE removes nothing; Amazon S3 just inserts a delete marker.

Even in a versioning-suspended bucket, the bucket owner can permanently delete a specified version by including the version ID in the DELETE request. The following figure shows that deleting a specified object version permanently removes that version of the object. Only the bucket owner can delete a specified object version.