

# Close your account in Amazon Settings
<a name="close-account-new-experience"></a>

**Warning**  
We're currently releasing our new experience to a limited number of customers. You might not be able to access this experience yet.

If you no longer need the organization and all the projects stored in it, you can close your projects, close your management account, and delete your Amazon Builder ID.

To make sure you are no longer charged for any Amazon resources you consume, you must close your projects and close the management account for your organization, but you don't have to close your Amazon profile. Your Amazon Builder ID associated with it is free.

After you close your management account, you can reopen it within 90 days from the day you closed it. The time between the day you closed the management account and when Amazon permanently closes the management account is the post-closure period.

## What you need to know before closing your management account
<a name="delete-social-login-before"></a>

Before closing your management account, you should consider the following:
+ When you close a project, consider the considerations in [What you need to know before closing your project](close-project.md#close-project-before).
+ You must close all projects before you can close your management account.
+ You must close your management account before you delete your Amazon Builder ID.
+ After you close your management account, you can reopen it within 90 days from the day you closed it. The time between the day you closed the management account and when Amazon permanently closes the management account is the post-closure period.
+ You can reopen your account during the post-closure period.
+ You can't use the same email address that was registered to your organization at the time of its closure as the primary email of another organization. If you want to use the same email address for a different organization while using Sign up for Amazon (new), we recommend updating it before closure. For more information, see [Change your email address in Amazon Settings](change-email.md).
+ If you've enabled multi-factor authentication (MFA) on your management account and configured an MFA device, MFA isn't removed automatically when you close the management account. If you choose to leave MFA turned on during the 90 days post-closure period, keep the MFA device active until the post-closure period has expired in case you need to access the account during that time. Note, the hardware TOTP token devices cannot be associated with another user after the permanent closure of your account. If you would like to use the hardware TOTP token with another user later, you have the option to deactivate the hardware MFA device before closing the management account.

## Close a project
<a name="delete-social-login-close-projects"></a>

To close your projects, see [Close a project in Amazon Settings](close-project.md).

## Close your management account
<a name="delete-social-login-close-org"></a>

**To close your management account**

1. Open Amazon Settings at [https://settings.aws.com](https://settings.aws.com).

1. In the main navigation pane, choose **Project**.

1. For **Actions**, choose **Close management account**.

1. Confirm your choice and choose **Close management account**.

## Delete your Amazon Builder ID
<a name="delete-social-login-delete-builder-id"></a>

Deleting your Amazon Builder ID will result in the following:
+ **Loss of access:** In addition to your project and organization, you can no longer access any Amazon tools and services that you previously accessed through Amazon Builder ID.
+ **Content deletion:** Any remaining content associated solely with your Amazon Builder ID will be deleted and you will no longer be able to access or recover your content from applications using your Amazon Builder ID.
+ **Personal information deletion:** Any personal information you provided in connection with the creation and administration of your Amazon Builder ID will be deleted, except that Amazon may retain personal information as required or permitted by law, such as records of your deletion request or data in a form that does not identify you.

You can find out more about how we handle your information in the Amazon Privacy Notice. You can update your Amazon communication preferences or unsubscribe by visiting the Amazon Communications Preferences Center.

**Existing logins remain unchanged** – If you are using a login such as Google or Apple, deleting your Amazon Builder ID does not delete anything related to your login account.

**To delete your Amazon Builder ID**

1. Open Amazon Settings at [https://settings.aws.com](https://settings.aws.com).

   Even though you've deleted your management account, you can still sign in.

1. In the main navigation pane, choose **Manage profile**.

1. For **Profile info**, choose **Manage profile**.

   You'll be redirected to your Amazon Builder ID profile.

1. In the main navigation pane, choose **Privacy & data**.

1. For **Deleting Amazon Builder ID**, choose **Delete your Amazon Builder ID**.

1. Confirm your choice and choose **Delete**.