

# Close a project in Amazon Settings
<a name="close-project"></a>

**Warning**  
We're currently releasing our new experience to a limited number of customers. You might not be able to access this experience yet.

If you no longer need your project, you can close it. After you close your project, you can reopen it within 90 days from the day you closed it. The time between the day you closed the project and when Amazon permanently closes the project is the post-closure period.

## What you need to know before closing your project
<a name="close-project-before"></a>

Before you close your project, consider the following:
+ You cannot close your project if it is paused due to exceeding a spend limit. You need to turn off spend limits and then close the project. For more information, see [Update a spend limit in Amazon Settings](update-spend-limit.md).
+ All team members will automatically lose access to this project and all the resources inside of it.
+ Closing your project will serve as your notice of termination of the Amazon Customer Agreement for this project.
+ You don't need to delete resources in your project before closing it. However, we recommend you back up any resources or data that you want to keep. For instructions on how to back up a particular resource, see the appropriate Amazon documentation for that service.
+ You can reopen your project during the post-closure period. Charges for the services that remained in your project will restart if you reopen it. You also remain responsible for any unpaid invoices.
+ You remain responsible for all outstanding fees and charges for the services consumed before the project closure. You will receive an Amazon bill the following month after closing your project. For example, if you closed your account on January 15, you will receive a bill at the beginning of February for usage incurred from January 1 through January 15.
+ After a project has been closed, Amazon will send daily emails for up to five days before we suspend the domain. After the domain has been suspended, and depending on the domain's registrar, we will either delete the domain within 30 days or release the domain to its registrar. For more information, see [My Amazon Web Services account is closed or permanently closed, and my domain is registered with Route 53](https://docs.aws.amazon.com/Route53/latest/DeveloperGuide/troubleshooting-account-closed.html). This information is written for Amazon Web Services accounts, but the information is accurate for projects.
+ Amazon CloudTrail is a foundational security service. This means that trails created by users can continue to exist and deliver events even after a project is closed, unless a user explicitly deletes the trails in their project before closing it. For more information about how to request trail deletion after an Amazon Web Services account has been closed, see [Amazon Web Services account closure and trails](https://docs.amazonaws.cn/awscloudtrail/latest/userguide/cloudtrail-concepts.html#cloudtrail-concepts-trails-account-closure) in the CloudTrail User Guide. This information is written for Amazon Web Services accounts, but information is accurate for projects.

## To close a project
<a name="close-project-procedure"></a>

**To close a project**

1. Open Amazon Settings at [https://settings.aws.com](https://settings.aws.com).

1. In the main navigation pane, choose the project you want to access.

1. For **Close project**, choose **Close project**.

1. Confirm your choice and choose **Close project**.

The project page will still show your project for 90 days until it is permanently deleted.

## Post-closure period
<a name="close-project-post-closure"></a>

The post-closure period refers to the length of time between the day you closed your account and when Amazon permanently closes your project. The post-closure period is 90 days. During the post-closure period, you can access your content and Amazon services only by reopening your project. After the post-closure period, Amazon permanently closes your project, and you can no longer reopen it. Amazon will also delete content and resources in your account (except for CloudTrail trails). After a project has been permanently closed, its project ID can never be reused.

## Reopening your project
<a name="close-project-reopen"></a>

Your project will permanently close in 90 days, after which you will not be able to reopen your project and Amazon will delete the content remaining in your project. To reopen your project before it is permanently closed, (1) you must contact Amazon Web Services Support as soon as possible, and (2) we must receive full payment of any outstanding balance, including providing required information as specified on the invoice, within 60 days from the date of account closure.

**Note**  
Charges for the services that remained in your project will restart if you reopen it.