Editing a backup - Amazon Backup
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Editing a backup

After you create a backup using Amazon Backup, you can change the lifecycle or tags of the backup. The lifecycle defines when a backup is transitioned to cold storage and when it expires. Amazon Backup transitions and expires backups automatically according to the lifecycle that you define.

To see the list of resources that you can transition to cold storage, see the "Lifecycle to cold storage" section of the Feature availability by resource table. The cold storage expression is ignored for other resources.

Note

Editing the tags of a backup using the Amazon Backup console is only supported for backups of Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) file systems and Advanced Amazon DynamoDB.

Tags that were added to the recovery point on creation for other resources will still appear, but will be greyed out and uneditable. Even though these tags are not editable in the Amazon Backup console, you can edit the tags of these other services' backups using the service’s console or API.

Backups that are transitioned to cold storage must be stored in cold storage for a minimum of 90 days. Therefore, the “retention” setting must be 90 days greater than the “transition to cold after days” setting. When you update the “transition to cold after days” setting, the value must be a minimum of the backup’s age plus one day. The “transition to cold after days” setting cannot be changed after a backup has been transitioned to cold.

The following is an example of how to update the lifecycle of a backup.

To edit the lifecycle of a backup
  1. Sign in to the Amazon Web Services Management Console, and open the Amazon Backup console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/backup.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Backup vaults.

  3. In the Backups section, choose a backup.

  4. On the backup details page, choose Edit.

  5. Configure the lifecycle settings, and then choose Save.