Getting started 8: Clean up resources - Amazon Backup
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Getting started 8: Clean up resources

After you perform all the tasks in Getting started with Amazon Backup, you might want to clean up what you have created to avoid incurring any unnecessary charges.

Step 1: Delete restored Amazon resources

To delete Amazon resources that you restored from a recovery point, such as Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes or Amazon DynamoDB tables, you use the console for that service. For example, to delete an Amazon Elastic File System (Amazon EFS) file system, use the Amazon EFS console.

Note

This information refers to restored resources, not to recovery points stored in a backup vault.

Step 2: Delete the backup plan

If you don't want to create scheduled backups, you should delete your backup plans. Before you can delete a backup plan, you must delete all resource assignments to that backup plan.

Follow these steps to delete a backup plan:

To delete a backup plan
  1. Open the Amazon Backup console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/backup.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Backup plans.

  3. On the Backup plans page, choose the backup plan that you want to delete. This takes you to the details page for that backup.

  4. To delete the resource assignments for your plan, choose the radio button next to the assignment name, and then choose Delete.

  5. To delete the backup plan, choose Delete in the upper-right corner of the page.

  6. On the confirmation page, enter the plan name, and choose Delete plan.

Step 3: Delete the recovery points

Next, you can delete the backup recovery points that are in your backup vault.

To delete the recovery points
  1. On the Amazon Backup console, in the navigation pane, choose Backup vaults.

  2. On the Backup vaults page, choose the backup vault where you stored the backups.

  3. Check the recovery point and choose Delete.

  4. If you are deleting more than one recovery point, follow these steps:

    1. If your list contains a continuous backup, choose whether to keep or delete your continuous backup data.

    2. To delete all the recovery points listed, type delete, and then choose Delete recovery points.

      Keep your browser tab open until you see the green success banner at the top of the page. Prematurely closing this tab will end the deletion process and might leave behind some of the recovery points you wanted to delete. For more information, see Deleting backups.

Step 4: Delete the backup vault

The default backup vault cannot typically be deleted. However, if one or more other vaults are present in a Region, the default backup vault in that Region can be deleted using the Amazon CLI.

You can delete other non-default vaults once all backups (recovery points) within have been deleted. To do this, select Delete in the empty vault.

Step 5: Delete the report plan

Your report plan automatically sends a new report daily. To prevent this, delete the report plan.

To delete the report plan
  1. On the Amazon Backup console, in the navigation pane, choose Reports.

  2. Under Report plan name, choose the name of your report plan.

  3. Choose Delete.

  4. Enter your report plan name, and choose Delete report plan.

Step 6: Delete the reports

You can delete your reports by following the instructions for Deleting a single object for each of your reports. If you no longer need your destination S3 bucket, after deleting all the objects from the bucket, you can delete the bucket by following the instructions for Deleting a bucket.