Updating a backup plan - Amazon Backup
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Updating a backup plan

After creating a backup plan, you can edit the plan—for example, you can add tags, or you can add, edit, or delete backup rules. Any changes that you make to a backup plan have no effect on existing backups created by the backup plan. The changes apply only to backups that are created in the future.

For example, when you update the retention period in a backup rule, the retention period of backups created before you made the update remain the same. Any backups that are created by that rule going forward reflect the updated retention period.

To edit a backup plan using the Amazon Backup console
  1. Open the Amazon Backup console at https://console.amazonaws.cn/backup.

  2. In the navigation pane, choose Backup plans.

  3. Under the second pane, Backup plans, existing back plans are displayed. Select the underlined link in the column Backup plan name to see details of the chosen backup plan.

  4. You can edit a backup rule, view resource assignments, view backup jobs, manage tags, or change Windows VSS settings.

  5. To update a backup rule, select the name of the backup rule.

    Select Manage tags to add or delete tags.

    Select Edit next to Advanced backup settings to turn Windows VSS on or off.

  6. Change the setting(s) you prefer, and then select Save.