Shut down and Update SageMaker Studio Classic - Amazon SageMaker
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Shut down and Update SageMaker Studio Classic

Important

Custom IAM policies that allow Amazon SageMaker Studio or Amazon SageMaker Studio Classic to create Amazon SageMaker resources must also grant permissions to add tags to those resources. The permission to add tags to resources is required because Studio and Studio Classic automatically tag any resources they create. If an IAM policy allows Studio and Studio Classic to create resources but does not allow tagging, "AccessDenied" errors can occur when trying to create resources. For more information, see Provide Permissions for Tagging SageMaker Resources.

Amazon Managed Policies for Amazon SageMaker that give permissions to create SageMaker resources already include permissions to add tags while creating those resources.

Important

As of November 30, 2023, the previous Amazon SageMaker Studio experience is now named Amazon SageMaker Studio Classic. The following section is specific to using the Studio Classic application. For information about using the updated Studio experience, see Amazon SageMaker Studio.

To update Amazon SageMaker Studio Classic to the latest release, you must shut down the JupyterServer app. You can shut down the JupyterServer app from the SageMaker console, from Amazon SageMaker Studio or from within Studio Classic. After the JupyterServer app is shut down, you must reopen Studio Classic through the SageMaker console or from Studio which creates a new version of the JupyterServer app.

You cannot delete the JupyterServer application while the Studio Classic UI is still open in the browser. If you delete the JupyterServer application while the Studio Classic UI is still open in the browser, SageMaker automatically re-creates the JupyterServer application.

Any unsaved notebook information is lost in the process. The user data in the Amazon EFS volume isn't impacted.

Some of the services within Studio Classic, like Data Wrangler, run on their own app. To update these services you must delete the app for that service. To learn more, see Shut down and Update Studio Classic Apps.

Note

A JupyterServer app is associated with a single Studio Classic user. When you update the app for one user it doesn't affect other users.

The following page shows how to update the JupyterServer App from the SageMaker console, from Studio, or from inside Studio Classic.

  1. Navigate to https://console.amazonaws.cn/sagemaker/.

  2. On the left navigation pane, choose Admin configurations.

  3. Under Admin configurations, choose domains.

  4. Select the domain that includes the Studio Classic application that you want to update.

  5. Under User profiles, select your user name.

  6. Under Apps, in the row displaying JupyterServer, choose Action, then choose Delete.

  7. Choose Yes, delete app.

  8. Type delete in the confirmation box.

  9. Choose Delete.

  10. After the app has been deleted, launch a new Studio Classic app to get the latest version.

  1. Navigate to Studio following the steps in Launch Amazon SageMaker Studio.

  2. From the Studio UI, find the applications pane on the left side.

  3. From the applications pane, select Studio Classic.

  4. From the Studio Classic landing page, select the Studio Classic instance to stop.

  5. Choose Stop.

  6. After the app has been stopped, select Run to use the latest version.

  1. Launch Studio Classic.

  2. On the top menu, choose File then Shut Down.

  3. Choose one of the following options:

    • Shutdown Server – Shuts down the JupyterServer app. Terminal sessions, kernel sessions, SageMaker images, and instances aren't shut down. These resources continue to accrue charges.

    • Shutdown All – Shuts down all apps, terminal sessions, kernel sessions, SageMaker images, and instances. These resources no longer accrue charges.

  4. Close the window.

  5. After the app has been deleted, launch a new Studio Classic app to use the latest version.