Calling Amazon Glue APIs in Python - Amazon Glue
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Calling Amazon Glue APIs in Python

Note that Boto 3 resource APIs are not yet available for Amazon Glue. Currently, only the Boto 3 client APIs can be used.

Amazon Glue API names in Python

Amazon Glue API names in Java and other programming languages are generally CamelCased. However, when called from Python, these generic names are changed to lowercase, with the parts of the name separated by underscore characters to make them more "Pythonic". In the Amazon Glue API reference documentation, these Pythonic names are listed in parentheses after the generic CamelCased names.

However, although the Amazon Glue API names themselves are transformed to lowercase, their parameter names remain capitalized. It is important to remember this, because parameters should be passed by name when calling Amazon Glue APIs, as described in the following section.

Passing and accessing Python parameters in Amazon Glue

In Python calls to Amazon Glue APIs, it's best to pass parameters explicitly by name. For example:

job = glue.create_job(Name='sample', Role='Glue_DefaultRole', Command={'Name': 'glueetl', 'ScriptLocation': 's3://my_script_bucket/scripts/my_etl_script.py'})

It is helpful to understand that Python creates a dictionary of the name/value tuples that you specify as arguments to an ETL script in a Job structure or JobRun structure. Boto 3 then passes them to Amazon Glue in JSON format by way of a REST API call. This means that you cannot rely on the order of the arguments when you access them in your script.

For example, suppose that you're starting a JobRun in a Python Lambda handler function, and you want to specify several parameters. Your code might look something like the following:

from datetime import datetime, timedelta client = boto3.client('glue') def lambda_handler(event, context): last_hour_date_time = datetime.now() - timedelta(hours = 1) day_partition_value = last_hour_date_time.strftime("%Y-%m-%d") hour_partition_value = last_hour_date_time.strftime("%-H") response = client.start_job_run( JobName = 'my_test_Job', Arguments = { '--day_partition_key': 'partition_0', '--hour_partition_key': 'partition_1', '--day_partition_value': day_partition_value, '--hour_partition_value': hour_partition_value } )

To access these parameters reliably in your ETL script, specify them by name using Amazon Glue's getResolvedOptions function and then access them from the resulting dictionary:

import sys from awsglue.utils import getResolvedOptions args = getResolvedOptions(sys.argv, ['JOB_NAME', 'day_partition_key', 'hour_partition_key', 'day_partition_value', 'hour_partition_value']) print "The day partition key is: ", args['day_partition_key'] print "and the day partition value is: ", args['day_partition_value']

If you want to pass an argument that is a nested JSON string, to preserve the parameter value as it gets passed to your Amazon Glue ETL job, you must encode the parameter string before starting the job run, and then decode the parameter string before referencing it your job script. For example, consider the following argument string:

glue_client.start_job_run(JobName = "gluejobname", Arguments={ "--my_curly_braces_string": '{"a": {"b": {"c": [{"d": {"e": 42}}]}}}' })

To pass this parameter correctly, you should encode the argument as a Base64 encoded string.

import base64 ... sample_string='{"a": {"b": {"c": [{"d": {"e": 42}}]}}}' sample_string_bytes = sample_string.encode("ascii") base64_bytes = base64.b64encode(sample_string_bytes) base64_string = base64_bytes.decode("ascii") ... glue_client.start_job_run(JobName = "gluejobname", Arguments={ "--my_curly_braces_string": base64_bytes}) ... sample_string_bytes = base64.b64decode(base64_bytes) sample_string = sample_string_bytes.decode("ascii") print(f"Decoded string: {sample_string}") ...

Example: Create and run a job

The following example shows how call the Amazon Glue APIs using Python, to create and run an ETL job.

To create and run a job

  1. Create an instance of the Amazon Glue client:

    import boto3 glue = boto3.client(service_name='glue', region_name='us-east-1', endpoint_url='https://glue.us-east-1.amazonaws.com')
  2. Create a job. You must use glueetl as the name for the ETL command, as shown in the following code:

    myJob = glue.create_job(Name='sample', Role='Glue_DefaultRole', Command={'Name': 'glueetl', 'ScriptLocation': 's3://my_script_bucket/scripts/my_etl_script.py'})
  3. Start a new run of the job that you created in the previous step:

    myNewJobRun = glue.start_job_run(JobName=myJob['Name'])
  4. Get the job status:

    status = glue.get_job_run(JobName=myJob['Name'], RunId=myNewJobRun['JobRunId'])
  5. Print the current state of the job run:

    print(status['JobRun']['JobRunState'])

在 Python 中调用 Amazon Glue API - Amazon Glue
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

在 Python 中调用 Amazon Glue API

请注意,Boto 3 资源 API 尚不可用于 Amazon Glue。目前,只有 Boto 3 客户端 API 可用。

Amazon GluePython 中的 API 名称

AmazonJava 和其他编程语言中的 Glue API 名称通常是 CamelCased。但是,当从 Python 调用时,这些通用名称将更改为小写,部分的某些名称用下划线字符隔开,使它们更“Pythonic”。在 Amazon Glue API 参考文档中,这些 Pythonic 名称在通用 CamelCased 名称之后列在括号中。

但是,尽管 Amazon Glue API 名称自身转换为小写,其参数名称仍保持大写。请务必记住这一点,因为在调用 Amazon Glue API 时会按名称传递参数,如下一节中所述。

在 Amazon Glue 中传递和访问 Python 参数

在 Python 对 Amazon Glue API 的调用中,最好按名称显式传递参数。例如:

job = glue.create_job(Name='sample', Role='Glue_DefaultRole', Command={'Name': 'glueetl', 'ScriptLocation': 's3://my_script_bucket/scripts/my_etl_script.py'})

了解 Python 创建您可以在 Job 结构JobRun 结构 中指定为 ETL 脚本参数的名称/值元组的字典是很有帮助的。然后,Boto 3 通过 REST API 调用,以 JSON 格式将其传递给 Amazon Glue。这意味着,当您在脚本中访问这些参数时,不能依赖它们的顺序。

例如,假设您在 Python Lambda 处理程序函数中启动 JobRun,并且您希望指定多个参数。您的代码看起来可能类似于:

from datetime import datetime, timedelta client = boto3.client('glue') def lambda_handler(event, context): last_hour_date_time = datetime.now() - timedelta(hours = 1) day_partition_value = last_hour_date_time.strftime("%Y-%m-%d") hour_partition_value = last_hour_date_time.strftime("%-H") response = client.start_job_run( JobName = 'my_test_Job', Arguments = { '--day_partition_key': 'partition_0', '--hour_partition_key': 'partition_1', '--day_partition_value': day_partition_value, '--hour_partition_value': hour_partition_value } )

要在 ETL 脚本中可靠地访问这些参数,请使用 Amazon Glue 的 getResolvedOptions 函数,然后从生成的字典访问它们:

import sys from awsglue.utils import getResolvedOptions args = getResolvedOptions(sys.argv, ['JOB_NAME', 'day_partition_key', 'hour_partition_key', 'day_partition_value', 'hour_partition_value']) print "The day partition key is: ", args['day_partition_key'] print "and the day partition value is: ", args['day_partition_value']

如果您想传递属于嵌套 JSON 字符串的参数,以便在它传递给您的 Amazon Glue ETL 任务时保存参数值,您必须在开始任务运行之前对参数字符串进行编码,然后在引用任务脚本之前对参数字符串进行解码。例如,考虑以下参数字符串:

glue_client.start_job_run(JobName = "gluejobname", Arguments={ "--my_curly_braces_string": '{"a": {"b": {"c": [{"d": {"e": 42}}]}}}' })

要正确传递此参数,您应将参数编码为 Base64 编码的字符串。

import base64 ... sample_string='{"a": {"b": {"c": [{"d": {"e": 42}}]}}}' sample_string_bytes = sample_string.encode("ascii") base64_bytes = base64.b64encode(sample_string_bytes) base64_string = base64_bytes.decode("ascii") ... glue_client.start_job_run(JobName = "gluejobname", Arguments={ "--my_curly_braces_string": base64_bytes}) ... sample_string_bytes = base64.b64decode(base64_bytes) sample_string = sample_string_bytes.decode("ascii") print(f"Decoded string: {sample_string}") ...

示例:创建并运行作业

下面的示例显示如何使用 Python 调用 Amazon Glue API 来创建和运行 ETL 作业。

创建并运行作业

  1. 创建 Amazon Glue 客户端的实例。

    import boto3 glue = boto3.client(service_name='glue', region_name='us-east-1', endpoint_url='https://glue.us-east-1.amazonaws.com')
  2. 创建作业。您必须使用 glueetl 作为名称的 ETL 命令,如以下代码所示:

    myJob = glue.create_job(Name='sample', Role='Glue_DefaultRole', Command={'Name': 'glueetl', 'ScriptLocation': 's3://my_script_bucket/scripts/my_etl_script.py'})
  3. 启动您在上一步中创建的作业的新运行:

    myNewJobRun = glue.start_job_run(JobName=myJob['Name'])
  4. 获取作业状态:

    status = glue.get_job_run(JobName=myJob['Name'], RunId=myNewJobRun['JobRunId'])
  5. 打印作业运行的当前状态:

    print status['JobRun']['JobRunState']