Deciding between precision and recall - Amazon Glue
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Deciding between precision and recall

Each FindMatches transform contains a precision-recall parameter. You use this parameter to specify one of the following:

  • If you are more concerned about the transform falsely reporting that two records match when they actually don't match, then you should emphasize precision.

  • If you are more concerned about the transform failing to detect records that really do match, then you should emphasize recall.

You can make this trade-off on the Amazon Glue console or by using the Amazon Glue machine learning API operations.

When to favor precision

Favor precision if you are more concerned about the risk that FindMatches results in a pair of records matching when they don't actually match. To favor precision, choose a higher precision-recall trade-off value. With a higher value, the FindMatches transform requires more evidence to decide that a pair of records should be matched. The transform is tuned to bias toward saying that records do not match.

For example, suppose that you're using FindMatches to detect duplicate items in a video catalog, and you provide a higher precision-recall value to the transform. If your transform incorrectly detects that Star Wars: A New Hope is the same as Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, a customer who wants A New Hope might be shown The Empire Strikes Back. This would be a poor customer experience.

However, if the transform fails to detect that Star Wars: A New Hope and Star Wars: Episode IV—A New Hope are the same item, the customer might be confused at first but might eventually recognize them as the same. It would be a mistake, but not as bad as the previous scenario.

When to favor recall

Favor recall if you are more concerned about the risk that the FindMatches transform results might fail to detect a pair of records that actually do match. To favor recall, choose a lower precision-recall trade-off value. With a lower value, the FindMatches transform requires less evidence to decide that a pair of records should be matched. The transform is tuned to bias toward saying that records do match.

For example, this might be a priority for a security organization. Suppose that you are matching customers against a list of known defrauders, and it is important to determine whether a customer is a defrauder. You are using FindMatches to match the defrauder list against the customer list. Every time FindMatches detects a match between the two lists, a human auditor is assigned to verify that the person is, in fact, a defrauder. Your organization might prefer to choose recall over precision. In other words, you would rather have the auditors manually review and reject some cases when the customer is not a defrauder than fail to identify that a customer is, in fact, on the defrauder list.

How to favor both precision and recall

The best way to improve both precision and recall is to label more data. As you label more data, the overall accuracy of the FindMatches transform improves, thus improving both precision and recall. Nevertheless, even with the most accurate transform, there is always a gray area where you need to experiment with favoring precision or recall, or choose a value in the middle.

在查准率和查全率之间做出决定 - Amazon Glue
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

在查准率和查全率之间做出决定

每个 FindMatches 转换均包含一个 precision-recall 参数。您可以使用此参数指定下列项之一:

  • 如果您更关心转换错误地报告两个记录匹配,而实际上它们不匹配,则您应强调 precision (查准率)

  • 如果您更关心转换未能检测到真正匹配的记录,则您应强调 recall (查全率)

您可以在 Amazon Glue 控制台上或使用 Amazon Glue 机器学习 API 操作进行此权衡。

何时倾向于查准率

如果您更关心 FindMatches 导致一对实际不匹配的记录进行匹配的风险,请倾向于查准率。要倾向于查准率,请选择 higher (较大) 查准率-查全率权衡值。对于较大的值,FindMatches 转换需要更多的证据来决定是否应匹配一对记录。将转换调整为偏向于表示记录不匹配。

例如,假设您使用 FindMatches 检测视频目录中的重复项,并且您向转换提供更大的查准率-查全率值。如果您的转换错误地检测到 Star Wars: A New HopeStar Wars: The Empire Strikes Back 相同,则可能会为需要 A New Hope 的客户显示 The Empire Strikes Back。这将是一个糟糕的客户体验。

不过,如果转换无法检测到 Star Wars: A New HopeStar Wars: Episode IV—A New Hope 是相同的项,则客户最初可能会感到困惑,不过可能最终会将其视为相同。这将是一个错误,但不像以前的情况那么糟糕。

何时倾向于查全率

如果您更关心 FindMatches 转换结果可能无法检测到实际匹配的一对记录的风险,请倾向于查全率。要倾向于查全率,请选择 lower (较小) 的查准率-查全率权衡值。对于较小的值,FindMatches 转换需要更少的证据来决定是否应匹配一对记录。将转换调整为偏向于表示记录匹配。

例如,这可能是安全组织的优先事项。假设您将客户与一系列已知的欺诈者进行匹配,并且确定客户是否为欺诈者非常重要。您使用 FindMatches 将欺诈者名单与客户名单进行匹配。每当 FindMatches 检测到两个名单之间的匹配项时,都会指派一名审计人员来验证该人员实际上是否为欺诈者。您的组织可能更愿意选择查全率而不是查准率。换句话说,当客户不是欺诈者时,您宁愿让审计人员手动审查并拒绝某些情况,而不是未能识别出客户实际上在欺诈者名单上。

如何倾向于查准率和查全率

提高查准率和查全率的最佳方法是标记更多数据。在标记更多数据时,FindMatches 转换的总体准确性将提高,从而提高查准率和查全率。然而,即使对于最准确的转换,也始终存在一个灰色区域,您需要在该区域中尝试倾向于查准率或查全率,或者在中间选择一个值。