Integrate with services and protocols using Greengrass connectors - AWS IoT Greengrass
AWS services or capabilities described in AWS documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with AWS services in China.

Integrate with services and protocols using Greengrass connectors

This feature is available for AWS IoT Greengrass Core v1.7 and later.

Greengrass connectors are prebuilt modules that help accelerate the development lifecycle for common edge scenarios. They make it easier to interact with local infrastructure, device protocols, AWS, and other cloud services. With connectors, you can spend less time learning new protocols and APIs and more time focusing on the logic that matters to your business.

The following diagram shows where connectors can fit into the AWS IoT Greengrass landscape.

Connectors connect to devices, services, and local resources.

Many connectors use MQTT messages to communicate with devices and Greengrass Lambda functions in the group, or with AWS IoT and the local shadow service. In the following example, the Twilio Notifications connector receives MQTT messages from a user-defined Lambda function, uses a local reference of a secret from AWS Secrets Manager, and calls the Twilio API.

A connector receiving an MQTT message from a Lambda function and calling a service.

For tutorials that create this solution, see Getting started with Greengrass connectors (console) and Getting started with Greengrass connectors (CLI).

Greengrass connectors can help you quickly extend device capabilities or create single-purpose devices. Connectors can make it easier to:

  • Implement reusable business logic.

  • Interact with cloud and local services, including AWS and third-party services.

  • Ingest and process device data.

  • Enable device-to-device calls using MQTT topic subscriptions and user-defined Lambda functions.

AWS provides a set of Greengrass connectors that simplify interactions with common services and data sources. These prebuilt modules enable scenarios for logging and diagnostics, replenishment, industrial data processing, and alarm and messaging. For more information, see AWS-provided Greengrass connectors.

Requirements

The following requirements apply for connectors:

  • You must meet the requirements of each connector that you're using. These requirements might include the minimum AWS IoT Greengrass Core software version, device prerequisites, required permissions, and limits. For more information, see AWS-provided Greengrass connectors.

  • A Greengrass group can contain only one configured instance of a given connector, but the instance can be used in multiple subscriptions. For more information, see Configuration parameters.

  • When the default containerization for the Greengrass group is set to No container, the connectors in the group must run without containerization. To find connectors that support No container mode, see AWS-provided Greengrass connectors.

Using Greengrass connectors

A connector is a type of group component. Like other group components, such as devices and user-defined Lambda functions, you add connectors to groups, configure their settings, and deploy them to the AWS IoT Greengrass core. Connectors run in the core environment.

Some connectors can be deployed as simple standalone applications. For example, the Device Defender connector reads system metrics from the core device and sends them to AWS IoT Device Defender for analysis.

Other connectors can be used as building blocks in larger solutions. The following example solution uses the Modbus-RTU Protocol Adapter connector to process messages from sensors and the Twilio Notifications connector to trigger Twilio messages.


                Data flow from Lambda function to Modbus-RTU Protocol Adapter connector to Lambda function to Twilio Notifications
                    connector to Twilio.

Solutions often include user-defined Lambda functions that sit next to connectors and process the data that the connector sends or receives. In this example, the TempMonitor function receives data from Modbus-RTU Protocol Adapter, runs some business logic, and then sends data to Twilio Notifications.

To create and deploy a solution, you follow this general process:

  1. Map out the high-level data flow. Identify the data sources, data channels, services, protocols, and resources that you need to work with. In the example solution, this includes data over the Modbus RTU protocol, the physical Modbus serial port, and Twilio.

  2. Identify the connectors to include in the solution, and add them to your group. The example solution uses Modbus-RTU Protocol Adapter and Twilio Notifications. To help you find connectors that apply to your scenario, and to learn about their individual requirements, see AWS-provided Greengrass connectors.

  3. Identify whether user-defined Lambda functions, devices, or resources are needed, and then create and add them to the group. This might include functions that contain business logic or process data into a format required by another entity in the solution. The example solution uses functions to send Modbus RTU requests and trigger Twilio notifications. It also includes a local device resource for the Modbus RTU serial port and a secret resource for the Twilio authentication token.

    Note

    Secret resources reference passwords, tokens, and other secrets from AWS Secrets Manager. Secrets can be used by connectors and Lambda functions to authenticate with services and applications. By default, AWS IoT Greengrass can access secrets with names that start with "greengrass-". For more information, see Deploy secrets to the AWS IoT Greengrass core.

  4. Create subscriptions that allow the entities in the solution to exchange MQTT messages. If a connector is used in a subscription, the connector and the message source or target must use the predefined topic syntax supported by the connector. For more information, see Inputs and outputs.

  5. Deploy the group to the Greengrass core.

To learn how to create and deploy a connector, see the following tutorials:

Configuration parameters

Many connectors provide parameters that let you customize the behavior or output. These parameters are used during initialization, at runtime, or at other times in the connector lifecycle.

Parameter types and usage vary by connector. For example, the SNS connector has a parameter that configures the default SNS topic, and Device Defender has a parameter that configures the data sampling rate.

A group version can contain multiple connectors, but only one instance of a given connector at a time. This means that each connector in the group can have only one active configuration. However, the connector instance can be used in multiple subscriptions in the group. For example, you can create subscriptions that allow many devices to send data to the Kinesis Firehose connector.

Parameters used to access group resources

Greengrass connectors use group resources to access the file system, ports, peripherals, and other local resources on the core device. If a connector requires access to a group resource, then it provides related configuration parameters.

Group resources include:

  • Local resources. Directories, files, ports, pins, and peripherals that are present on the Greengrass core device.

  • Machine learning resources. Machine learning models that are trained in the cloud and deployed to the core for local inference.

  • Secret resources. Local, encrypted copies of passwords, keys, tokens, or arbitrary text from AWS Secrets Manager. Connectors can securely access these local secrets and use them to authenticate to services or local infrastructure.

For example, parameters for Device Defender enable access to system metrics in the host /proc directory, and parameters for Twilio Notifications enable access to a locally stored Twilio authentication token.

Updating connector parameters

Parameters are configured when the connector is added to a Greengrass group. You can change parameter values after the connector is added.

  • In the console: From the group configuration page, open Connectors, and from the connector's contextual menu, choose Edit.

    Note

    If the connector uses a secret resource that's later changed to reference a different secret, you must edit the connector's parameters and confirm the change.

  • In the API: Create another version of the connector that defines the new configuration.

    The AWS IoT Greengrass API uses versions to manage groups. Versions are immutable, so to add or change group components—for example, the group's devices, functions, and resources—you must create versions of new or updated components. Then, you create and deploy a group version that contains the target version of each component.

After you make changes to the connector configuration, you must deploy the group to propagate the changes to the core.

Inputs and outputs

Many Greengrass connectors can communicate with other entities by sending and receiving MQTT messages. MQTT communication is controlled by subscriptions that allow a connector to exchange data with Lambda functions, devices, and other connectors in the Greengrass group, or with AWS IoT and the local shadow service. To allow this communication, you must create subscriptions in the group that the connector belongs to. For more information, see Managed subscriptions in the MQTT messaging workflow.

Connectors can be message publishers, message subscribers, or both. Each connector defines the MQTT topics that it publishes or subscribes to. These predefined topics must be used in the subscriptions where the connector is a message source or message target. For tutorials that include steps for configuring subscriptions for a connector, see Getting started with Greengrass connectors (console) and Getting started with Greengrass connectors (CLI).

Note

Many connectors also have built-in modes of communication to interact with cloud or local services. These vary by connector and might require that you configure parameters or add permissions to the group role. For information about connector requirements, see AWS-provided Greengrass connectors.

Input topics

Most connectors receive input data on MQTT topics. Some connectors subscribe to multiple topics for input data. For example, the Serial Stream connector supports two topics:

  • serial/+/read/#

  • serial/+/write/#

For this connector, read and write requests are sent to the corresponding topic. When you create subscriptions, make sure to use the topic that aligns with your implementation.

The + and # characters in the previous examples are wildcards. These wildcards allow subscribers to receive messages on multiple topics and publishers to customize the topics that they publish to.

  • The + wildcard can appear anywhere in the topic hierarchy. It can be replaced by one hierarchy item.

    As an example, for topic sensor/+/input, messages can be published to topics sensor/id-123/input but not to sensor/group-a/id-123/input.

  • The # wildcard can appear only at the end of the topic hierarchy. It can be replaced by zero or more hierarchy items.

    As an example, for topic sensor/#, messages can be published to sensor/, sensor/id-123, and sensor/group-a/id-123, but not to sensor.

Wildcard characters are valid only when subscribing to topics. Messages can't be published to topics that contain wildcards. Check the documentation for the connector to learn about its input or output topic requirements. For more information, see AWS-provided Greengrass connectors.

Containerization support

By default, most connectors run on the Greengrass core in an isolated runtime environment that's managed by AWS IoT Greengrass. These runtime environments, called containers, provide isolation between connectors and the host system, which offers more security for the host and the connector.

However, this Greengrass containerization isn't supported in some environments, such as when you run AWS IoT Greengrass in a Docker container or on older Linux kernels without cgroups. In these environments, the connectors must run in No container mode. To find connectors that support No container mode, see AWS-provided Greengrass connectors. Some connectors run in this mode natively, and some connectors allow you to set the isolation mode.

You can also set the isolation mode to No container in environments that support Greengrass containerization, but we recommend using Greengrass container mode when possible.

Note

The default containerization setting for the Greengrass group doesn't apply to connectors.

Upgrading connector versions

Connector providers might release new versions of a connector that add features, fix issues, or improve performance. For information about available versions and related changes, see the documentation for each connector.

In the AWS IoT console, you can check for new versions for the connectors in your Greengrass group.

  1. Choose Greengrass, Groups, and then choose your group.

  2. Choose Connectors to display the connectors in the group.

    If the connector has a new version, an Available button appears in the Upgrade column.

  3. To upgrade the connector version:

    1. On the Connectors page, in the Upgrade column, choose Available. The Upgrade connector page opens and displays the current parameter settings, where applicable.

      Choose the new connector version, define parameters as needed, and then choose Upgrade.

    2. On the Subscriptions page, add new subscriptions in the group to replace any that use the connector as a source or target. Then, remove the old subscriptions.

      Subscriptions reference connectors by version, so they become invalid if you change the connector version in the group.

    3. From the Actions menu, choose Deploy to deploy your changes to the core.

To upgrade a connector from the AWS IoT Greengrass API, create and deploy a group version that includes the updated connector and subscriptions. Use the same process as when you add a connector to a group. For detailed steps that show you how to use the AWS CLI to configure and deploy an example Twilio Notifications connector, see Getting started with Greengrass connectors (CLI).

Logging for connectors

Greengrass connectors contain Lambda functions that write events and errors to Greengrass logs. Depending on your group settings, logs are written to CloudWatch Logs, the local file system, or both. Logs from connectors include the ARN of the corresponding function. The following example ARN is from the Kinesis Firehose connector:

arn:aws-cn:lambda:aws-region:account-id:function:KinesisFirehoseClient:1

The default logging configuration writes info-level logs to the file system using the following directory structure:

greengrass-root/ggc/var/log/user/region/aws/function-name.log

For more information about Greengrass logging, see Monitoring with AWS IoT Greengrass logs.

使用 Greengrass 连接器与服务和协议集成 - AWS IoT Greengrass
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

使用 Greengrass 连接器与服务和协议集成

此功能适用于 AWS IoT Greengrass Core v1.7 及更高版本。

Greengrass 连接器是预先构建的模块,有助于加快针对常见边缘场景的开发生命周期。它们使您能够更加轻松地与本地基础设施、设备协议、AWS 及其他云服务进行交互。借助连接器,您可以减少花在学习新协议和 API 上的时间,花更多的时间关注对您的业务十分重要的逻辑。

下图显示了连接器在 AWS IoT Greengrass 格局中的作用。

连接器连接到设备、服务和本地资源。

许多连接器使用 MQTT 消息与组中的设备和 Greengrass Lambda 函数进行通信,或者与 AWS IoT 和本地影子服务进行通信。在以下示例中,Twilio 通知 连接器从用户定义的 Lambda 函数接收 MQTT 消息,从 AWS Secrets Manager 使用密钥的本地引用,并调用 Twilio API。

连接器从 Lambda 函数接收 MQTT 消息并调用服务。

有关创建此解决方案的教程,请参阅Greengrass 连接器入门(控制台)Greengrass 连接器入门 (CLI)

Greengrass 连接器可帮助您快速扩展设备功能或创建单一用途设备。连接器使您可以更轻松地:

  • 实施可重用的业务逻辑。

  • 与云和本地服务(包括 AWS 和第三方服务)进行交互。

  • 提取并处理设备数据。

  • 使用 MQTT 主题订阅和用户定义的 Lambda 函数启用设备到设备调用。

AWS 提供了一组 Greengrass 连接器,可简化与常见服务和数据源的交互。这些预先构建的模块支持各种场景,其中包括日志记录和诊断,补充、行业数据处理以及警报和消息传递。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS 提供的 Greengrass 连接器

要求

连接器存在以下要求:

  • 您必须满足要使用的每个连接器的要求。这些要求可能包括最低 AWS IoT Greengrass Core 软件版本、设备先决条件、所需权限和限制。有关更多信息,请参阅AWS 提供的 Greengrass 连接器

  • Greengrass 组只能包含给定连接器的一个已配置实例,但该实例可在多个订阅中使用。有关更多信息,请参阅 配置参数

  • 当 Greengrass 组的默认容器化设置为无容器时,组中的连接器必须在未进行容器化的情况下运行。要查找支持无容器模式的连接器,请参阅AWS 提供的 Greengrass 连接器

使用 Greengrass 连接器

连接器是一种组组件。与其他组组件(如设备和用户定义的 Lambda 函数)一样,您可以向组添加连接器,配置其设置,并将它们部署到 AWS IoT Greengrass Core。连接器在核心环境中运行。

有些连接器可部署为简单的独立应用程序。例如,Device Defender 连接器从核心设备读取系统指标,并将其发送到 AWS IoT Device Defender 以供分析。

其他连接器可用作较大解决方案中的构建块。以下示例解决方案使用 Modbus-RTU 协议适配器 连接器处理来自传感器的消息,并使用 Twilio 通知 连接器触发 Twilio 消息。


                从 Lambda 函数依次到 Modbus-RTU 协议适配器 连接器、Lambda 函数、Twilio 通知 连接器和 Twilio 的数据流。

解决方案通常包含挨着连接器的用户定义的 Lambda 函数,并处理连接器发送或接收的数据。在此示例中,TempMonitor 函数从 Modbus-RTU 协议适配器 接收数据,运行某一业务逻辑,然后将数据发送到 Twilio 通知。

要创建和部署解决方案,您需要遵循以下一般过程:

  1. 标出高级数据流。标识您需要使用的数据源、数据通道、服务、协议和资源。在示例解决方案中,这包含 Modbus RTU 协议、物理 Modbus 串行端口和 Twilio 上的数据。

  2. 标识要包含在解决方案中的连接器,并将其添加到您的组。该示例解决方案使用 Modbus-RTU 协议适配器 和 Twilio 通知。要帮助找到适用于您场景的连接器并了解其各自的要求,请参阅 AWS 提供的 Greengrass 连接器

  3. 确定是需要用户定义的 Lambda 函数、设备还是资源,然后创建它们并将其添加到组。这可能包括一些函数,这些函数包含业务逻辑,或将数据处理为解决方案中其他实体所需的格式。该示例使用函数来发送解决方案 Modbus RTU 请求并触发 Twilio 通知。它还包括 Modbus RTU 串行端口的本地设备资源以及 Twilio 身份验证令牌的密钥资源。

    注意

    密钥资源引用 AWS Secrets Manager 中的密码、令牌及其他密钥。连接器和 Lambda 函数可使用密钥对服务和应用程序进行身份验证。默认情况下,AWS IoT Greengrass 可访问其名称以“greengrass-”开头的密钥。有关更多信息,请参阅将密钥部署到 AWS IoT Greengrass 核心

  4. 创建允许解决方案中的实体交换 MQTT 消息的订阅。如果在订阅中使用连接器,则该连接器以及消息源或目标必须使用该连接器支持的预定义主题语法。有关更多信息,请参阅 输入和输出

  5. 将组部署到 Greengrass 核心。

要了解如何创建和部署连接器,请参阅以下教程:

配置参数

许多连接器提供了可让您自定义行为或输出的参数。这些参数在连接器生命周期中的初始化期间、运行时或其他时间使用。

参数类型和用法因连接器而异。例如,SNS 连接器有一个参数用于配置默认的 SNS 主题;而 Device Defender 有一个参数用于配置数据采样率。

组版本可包含多个连接器,但一次只能包含给定连接器的一个实例。这意味着组中的每个连接器只能有一个有效配置。但是,连接器实例可以在组中的多个订阅中使用。例如,您可以创建允许许多设备将数据发送到 Kinesis Firehose 连接器的多个订阅。

用于访问组资源的参数

Greengrass 连接器使用组资源访问核心设备上的文件系统、端口、外围设备及其他本地资源。如果连接器需要访问组资源,则它会提供相关的配置参数。

组资源包括:

  • 本地资源。Greengrass 核心设备上存在的目录、文件、端口、引脚和外围设备。

  • 机器学习资源。机器学习模型在云中训练并部署到核心进行本地推理。

  • 密钥资源。来自 AWS Secrets Manager 的密码、密钥、令牌或任意文本的本地加密副本。连接器可以安全访问这些本地密钥,并使用这些密钥对服务或本地基础设施进行身份验证。

例如,Device Defender 的参数允许访问主机 /proc 目录中的系统指标,而 Twilio 通知 的参数允许访问本地存储的 Twilio 身份验证令牌。

更新连接器参数

在向 Greengrass 组添加连接器时配置参数。您可以在添加连接器后更改参数值。

  • 在控制台中:从组配置页面上,打开 Connectors (连接器),然后从连接器的上下文菜单中选择 Edit (编辑)

    注意

    如果连接器使用的某一密钥资源后来更改为引用其他密钥,您必须编辑连接器的参数并确认这一更改。

  • 在 API 中:创建连接器的另一个版本,用于定义新的配置。

    AWS IoT Greengrass API 使用版本来管理组。版本是不可变的,因此要添加或更改组组件(例如,组的设备、函数和资源),您必须创建全新的或更新的组件的版本。然后,您应创建和部署包含目标版本的组版本。

对连接器配置进行更改后,必须部署该组以将更改传播到核心。

输入和输出

许多 Greengrass 连接器可通过发送和接收 MQTT 消息与其他实体进行通信。MQTT 通信由订阅控制,这些订阅允许连接器与 Greengrass 组中的 Lambda 函数、设备以及其他连接器交换数据,或者与 AWS IoT 和本地影子服务交换数据。要允许此通信,您必须在该连接器所属的组中创建订阅。有关更多信息,请参阅 MQTT 消息传递工作流中的托管订阅

连接器可以是消息发布者和/或消息订阅者。每个连接器都定义了它发布到或订阅的 MQTT 主题。这些预定义的主题必须在连接器是其消息源或消息目标的订阅中使用。有关包含为连接器配置订阅的步骤的教程,请参阅Greengrass 连接器入门(控制台)Greengrass 连接器入门 (CLI)

注意

许多连接器还具有内置的通信模式以便与云或本地服务进行交互。这些通信模式因连接器而异,可能要求您为组角色配置参数或添加权限。有关连接器要求的信息,请参阅 AWS 提供的 Greengrass 连接器

输入主题

大多数连接器接收有关 MQTT 主题的输入数据。有些连接器订阅输入数据的多个主题。例如,序列号流 连接器支持两个主题:

  • serial/+/read/#

  • serial/+/write/#

对于此连接器,读取和写入请求将发送到相应的主题。创建订阅时,请确保使用符合您的实施的主题。

前面示例中的 +# 字符为通配符。这些通配符允许订阅者接收多个主题上的消息,并允许发布者自定义他们发布到的主题。

  • + 通配符可出现主题层次结构中的任何位置。它可以替换为某个层次结构项目。

    例如,对于主题 sensor/+/input,消息可发布到主题 sensor/id-123/input,但不能发布到 sensor/group-a/id-123/input

  • # 通配符只能出现在主题层次结构末端。它可以替换为零个或零个以上的层次结构项目。

    例如,对于主题 sensor/#,消息可发布到 sensor/, sensor/id-123sensor/group-a/id-123,但不能发布到 sensor

仅当订阅主题时,通配符才有效。消息不能发布到包含通配符的主题。请检查连接器的文档以了解其输入或输出主题要求。有关更多信息,请参阅 AWS 提供的 Greengrass 连接器

对容器化的支持

默认情况下,大多数连接器在由 AWS IoT Greengrass 管理的隔离运行时环境中的 Greengrass 核心上运行。这些运行时环境称为容器,它们可以将连接器和主机系统分隔开,从而为主机和连接器提供更高的安全性。

但在某些情况下不支持这种 Greengrass 容器化,例如在 Docker 容器或没有 cgroup 的旧版 Linux 内核上运行 AWS IoT Greengrass 时。在这些情况下,连接器必须在无容器模式下运行。要查找支持无容器模式的连接器,请参阅AWS 提供的 Greengrass 连接器。有些连接器本身就在这种模式下运行,而有些连接器则允许您设置隔离模式。

您也可以在支持 Greengrass 容器化的环境中将隔离模式设置为无容器模式,但我们建议尽可能使用 Greengrass 容器模式。

注意

Greengrass 组的默认容器化设置不适用于连接器。

升级连接器版本

连接器提供商可能会发布新版本的连接器,以添加功能、修复问题或提高性能。有关可用版本和相关更改的信息,请参阅每个连接器的文档

在 AWS IoT 控制台 中,您可以检查 Greengrass 组中连接器的新版本。

  1. 依次选择 Greengrass和您的组。

  2. 选择 Connectors (连接器) 以显示组中的连接器。

    如果连接器具有新版本,则 Upgrade (升级) 列中将显示 Available (可用) 按钮。

  3. 要升级连接器版本,请执行以下操作:

    1. Connectors (连接器) 页上的 Upgrade (升级) 列中,选择 Available (可用)。此时将打开 Upgrade connector (升级连接器) 页面,并显示当前参数设置(如果适用)。

      选择新的连接器版本,根据需要定义参数,然后选择 Upgrade (升级)

    2. Subscriptions (订阅) 页面上,在组中添加新订阅,以替换使用连接器作为源或目标的任何订阅。然后,删除旧订阅。

      订阅按版本引用连接器,因此,如果您更改组中的连接器版本,则这些连接器将变为无效。

    3. Actions (操作) 菜单中,选择 Deploy (部署) 以将更改部署到核心。

要从 AWS IoT Greengrass API 升级连接器,请创建并部署包含更新的连接器和订阅的组版本。使用与向组添加连接器时相同的过程。有关演示如何使用 AWS CLI 配置和部署示例 Twilio 通知 连接器的详细步骤,请参阅Greengrass 连接器入门 (CLI)

连接器的日志记录

Greengrass 包含向 Greengrass 日志写入事件和错误的 Lambda 函数。根据您的组设置,日志将写入到 CloudWatch Logs 和/或本地文件系统。来自连接器的日志包含相应函数的 ARN。下面的示例 ARN 来自 Kinesis Firehose 连接器。

arn:aws-cn:lambda:aws-region:account-id:function:KinesisFirehoseClient:1

默认日志记录配置使用以下目录结构将信息级别日志写入到文件系统:

greengrass-root/ggc/var/log/user/区域/aws/function-name.log

有关使用 Greengrass 日志记录的更多信息,请参阅利用 AWS IoT Greengrass 日志进行监控