Troubleshooting your authorizers - Amazon IoT Core
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Troubleshooting your authorizers

This topic walks through common issues that can cause problems in custom authentication workflows and steps for resolving them. To troubleshoot issues most effectively, enable CloudWatch logs for Amazon IoT Core and set the log level to DEBUG. You can enable CloudWatch logs in the Amazon IoT Core console (https://console.amazonaws.cn/iot/). For more information about enabling and configuring logs for Amazon IoT Core, see Configure Amazon IoT logging.

Note

If you leave the log level at DEBUG for long periods of time, CloudWatch might store large amounts of logging data. This can increase your CloudWatch charges. Consider using resource-based logging to increase the verbosity for only devices in a particular thing group. For more information about resource-based logging, see Configure Amazon IoT logging. Also, when you're done troubleshooting, reduce the log level to a less verbose level.

Before you start troubleshooting, review Understanding the custom authentication workflow for a high-level view of the custom authentication process. This helps you understand where to look for the source of a problem.

This topic discusses the following two areas for you to investigate.

  • Issues related to your authorizer's Lambda function.

  • Issues related to your device.

Check for issues in your authorizer’s Lambda function

Perform the following steps to make sure that your devices’ connection attempts are invoking your Lambda function.

  1. Verify which Lambda function is associated with your authorizer.

    You can do this by calling the DescribeAuthorizer API or by clicking on the desired authorizer in the Secure section of the Amazon IoT Core console.

  2. Check the invocation metrics for the Lambda function. Perform the following steps to do this.

    1. Open the Amazon Lambda console (https://console.amazonaws.cn/lambda/) and select the function that is associated with your authorizer.

    2. Choose the Monitor tab and view metrics for the time frame that is relevant to your problem.

  3. If you see no invocations, verify that Amazon IoT Core has permission to invoke your Lambda function. If you see invocations, skip to the next step. Perform the following steps to verify that your Lambda function has the required permissions.

    1. Choose the Permissions tab for your function in the Amazon Lambda console.

    2. Find the Resource-based Policy section at the bottom of the page. If your Lambda function has the required permissions, the policy looks like the following example.

      { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Id": "default", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "Id123", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "Service": "iot.amazonaws.com" }, "Action": "lambda:InvokeFunction", "Resource": "arn:aws:lambda:us-east-1:111111111111:function:FunctionName", "Condition": { "ArnLike": { "AWS:SourceArn": "arn:aws:iot:us-east-1:111111111111:authorizer/AuthorizerName" }, "StringEquals": { "AWS:SourceAccount": "111111111111" } } } ] }
    3. This policy grants the InvokeFunction permission on your function to the Amazon IoT Core principal. If you don't see it, you'll have to add it by using the AddPermission API. The following example shows you how to do this by using the Amazon CLI.

      aws lambda add-permission --function-name FunctionName --principal iot.amazonaws.com --source-arn AuthorizerARn --statement-id Id-123 --action "lambda:InvokeFunction"
  4. If you see invocations, verify that there are no errors. An error might indicate that the Lambda function isn't properly handling the connection event that Amazon IoT Core sends to it.

    For information about handling the event in your Lambda function, see Defining your Lambda function. You can use the test feature in the Amazon Lambda console (https://console.amazonaws.cn/lambda/) to hard-code test values in the function to make sure that the function is handling events correctly.

  5. If you see invocations with no errors, but your devices are not able to connect (or publish, subscribe, and receive messages), the issue might be that the policy that your Lambda function returns doesn't give permissions for the actions that your devices are trying to take. Perform the following steps to determine whether anything is wrong with the policy that the function returns.

    1. Use an Amazon CloudWatch Logs Insights query to scan logs over a short period of time to check for failures. The following example query sorts events by timestamp and looks for failures.

      display clientId, eventType, status, @timestamp | sort @timestamp desc | filter status = "Failure"
    2. Update your Lambda function to log the data that it's returning to Amazon IoT Core and the event that triggers the function. You can use these logs to inspect the policy that the function creates.

Investigating device issues

If you find no issues with invoking your Lambda function or with the policy that the function returns, look for problems with your devices' connection attempts. Malformed connection requests can cause Amazon IoT Core not to trigger your authorizer. Connection problems can occur at both the TLS and application layers.

Possible TLS layer issues:

  • Customers must pass either a hostname header (HTTP, MQTT over WebSockets) or the Server Name Indication TLS extension (HTTP, MQTT over WebSockets, MQTT) in all custom authentication requests. In both cases, the value passed must match one of your account’s Amazon IoT Core data endpoints. These are the endpoints that are returned when you perform the following CLI commands.

    • aws iot describe-endpoint —endpoint type iot:data-ats

    • aws iot describe-endpoint —endpoint type (for legacy VeriSign endpoints)

  • Devices that use custom authentication for MQTT connections must also pass the Application Layer Protocol Negotiation (ALPN) TLS extension with a value of mqtt.

  • Custom authentication is currently available only on port 443.

Possible application layer issues:

  • If signing is enabled (the signingDisabled field is false in your authorizer), look for the following signature issues.

    • Make sure that you're passing the token signature in either the x-amz-customauthorizer-signatureheader or in a query string parameter.

    • Make sure that the service isn't signing a value other than the token.

    • Make sure that you pass the token in the header or query parameter that you specified in the token-key-name field in your authorizer.

  • Make sure that the authorizer name you pass in the x-amz-customauthorizer-name header or query string parameter is valid or that you have a default authorizer defined for your account.

授权方故障排除 - Amazon IoT Core
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

授权方故障排除

本主题介绍可能导致自定义身份验证工作流中出现故障的常见问题以及解决这些问题的步骤。要最有效地解决问题,请启用适用于 Amazon IoT Core 的CloudWatch 日志,然后将日志级别设置为 DEBUG。您可以在 Amazon IoT Core 控制台启用 CloudWatch 日志 (https://console.aws.amazon.com/iot/)。有关启用和配置适用于 Amazon IoT Core 的日志的更多信息,请参阅 配置 Amazon IoT 日志记录

注意

如果将日志级别长时间保留在 DEBUG,则 CloudWatch 可能会存储大量的日志记录数据。这可能会增加您的 CloudWatch 费用。考虑使用基于资源的日志记录来增加仅针对特定事物组中设备的详细程度。有关基于资源的日志记录的更多信息,请参阅 配置 Amazon IoT 日志记录。此外,当您完成故障排除时,将日志级别降到详细程度较低的级别。

在您开始故障排除之前,请查看 了解自定义身份验证工作流 获取自定义身份验证过程的高度概要视图。这有助于您了解应该在何处查找问题的根源。

本主题将讨论以下两个方面供您调查。

  • 与授权方 Lambda 函数相关的问题。

  • 与您的设备相关的问题。

检查授权方的 Lambda 函数中是否存在问题

执行以下步骤以确保设备的连接尝试正在调用 Lambda 函数。

  1. 验证哪个 Lambda 函数与您的授权方相关联。

    您可以通过调用 DescribeAuthorizer API 或通过单击 Amazon IoT Core 控制台安全部分中所需的授权方进行查证。

  2. 检查 Lambda 函数的调用指标。为此,请执行以下步骤。

    1. 打开 Amazon Lambda 控制台 (https://console.aws.amazon.com/lambda/),然后选择与您的授权方关联的函数。

    2. 选择监控选项卡并查看与您的问题相关的时间范围的指标。

  3. 如果您没有看到任何调用,请验证 Amazon IoT Core 有权调用 Lambda 函数。如果您看到调用,则跳到下一步。执行以下步骤以验证 Lambda 函数是否具有所需的权限。

    1. 在 Amazon Lambda 控制台中选择您函数的权限选项卡。

    2. 在页面底部找到基于资源的策略部分。如果您的 Lambda 函数具有所需的权限,则策略类似于以下示例。

      { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Id": "default", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "Id-123", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "Service": "iot.amazonaws.com" }, "Action": "lambda:InvokeFunction", "Resource": "arn:aws:lambda:Region:AccountID:function:FunctionName", "Condition": { "ArnLike": { "AWS:SourceArn": "arn:aws:iot:Region:AccountID:authorizer/AuthorizerName" } } } ] }
    3. 此策略向您的函数授予对 Amazon IoT Core 委托人的 InvokeFunction 权限。如果您没有看到它,则必须使用 AddPermission API进行添加。以下示例说明如何使用 Amazon CLI 执行此操作。

      aws lambda add-permission --function-name FunctionName --principal iot.amazonaws.com --source-arn AuthorizerARn --statement-id Id-123 --action "lambda:InvokeFunction"
  4. 如果您看到调用,请验证没有错误。出现错误则可能表明 Lambda 函数未正确处理 Amazon IoT Core 发送给它的连接事件。

    有关在 Lambda 函数中处理事件的信息,请参阅 定义您的 Lambda 函数。您可以将该测试功能用于 Amazon Lambda 控制台 (https://console.aws.amazon.com/lambda/) 对函数中的测试值进行硬编码,以确保函数正确处理事件。

  5. 如果您看到没有错误的调用,但您的设备无法连接(或发布、订阅和接收消息),则问题可能是 Lambda 函数返回的策略未授予设备尝试执行的操作的权限。执行以下步骤以确定函数返回的策略是否存在任何问题。

    1. 使用 Amazon CloudWatch Logs Insights 查询可在短时间内扫描日志以检查故障。以下示例查询按时间戳对事件进行排序并查找失败。

      display clientId, eventType, status, @timestamp | sort @timestamp desc | filter status = "Failure"
    2. 更新您的 Lambda 函数以记录它返回到 Amazon IoT Core 的数据和触发函数的事件。您可以使用这些日志检查函数创建的策略。

调查设备问题

如果您发现调用 Lambda 函数或函数返回的策略不存在任何问题,请查找设备连接尝试是否存在问题。格式错误的连接请求可能会导致 Amazon IoT Core 不会触发您的授权方。TLS 层和应用程序层均可能出现连接问题。

TLS 层可能存在的问题:

  • 客户必须在所有自定义身份验证请求中传递主机名标头(HTTP、WebSockets 上的 MQTT)或服务器名称指示 TLS 扩展(HTTP、通过 WebSockets 的 MQTT、MQTT)。在这两种情况下,传递的值必须与您账户的 Amazon IoT Core 数据端点相匹配。这些是执行以下 CLI 命令时返回的端点。

    • aws iot describe-endpoint —endpoint type iot:data-ats

    • aws iot describe-endpoint —endpoint type(适用于旧式 VeriSign 端点)

  • 在 MQTT 连接中使用自定义身份验证的设备还必须发送应用程序层协议协商 (ALPN) TLS 扩展,并具有值 mqtt

  • 自定义身份验证当前仅在端口 443 上可用。

应用程序层可能存在的问题:

  • 如果启用了签名(signingDisabled 字段在您的授权方为 false),请查找以下签名问题。

    • 请确保使用 x-amz-customauthorizer-signature 标头或查询字符串参数传递令牌签名。

    • 确保服务没有签署令牌以外的值。

    • 请确保使用您在授权方的 token-key-name 字段中指定的标头或查询参数中传递令牌。

  • 请确保您使用 x-amz-customauthorizer-name 标头或查询字符串参数传递的授权方名称是有效的,或者您已为您的账户定义了默认授权方。