Connecting devices to Amazon IoT - Amazon IoT Core
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Connecting devices to Amazon IoT

Devices connect to Amazon IoT and other services through Amazon IoT Core. Through Amazon IoT Core, devices send and receive messages using device endpoints that are specific to your account. The Amazon IoT Device SDKs support device communications using the MQTT and WSS protocols. For more information about the protocols that devices can use, see Device communication protocols.

The message broker

Amazon IoT manages device communication through a message broker. Devices and clients publish messages to the message broker and also subscribe to messages that the message broker publishes. Messages are identified by an application-defined topic. When the message broker receives a message published by a device or client, it republishes that message to the devices and clients that have subscribed to the message's topic. The message broker also forwards messages to the Amazon IoT rules engine, which can act on the content of the message.

Amazon IoT message security

Device connections to Amazon IoT use X.509 client certificates and Amazon signature V4 for authentication. Device communications are secured by TLS version 1.2 and Amazon IoT requires devices to send the Server Name Indication (SNI) extension when they connect. For more information, see Transport Security in Amazon IoT.

Amazon IoT device data and service endpoints

Each account has several device endpoints that are unique to the account and support specific IoT functions. The Amazon IoT device data endpoints support a publish/subscribe protocol that is designed for the communication needs of IoT devices; however, other clients, such as apps and services, can also use this interface if their application requires the specialized features that these endpoints provide. The Amazon IoT device service endpoints support device-centric access to security and management services.

To learn your account's device data endpoint, you can find it in the Settings page of your Amazon IoT Core console.

To learn your account's device endpoint for a specific purpose, including the device data endpoint, use the describe-endpoint CLI command shown here, or the DescribeEndpoint REST API, and provide the endpointType parameter value from the following table.

aws iot describe-endpoint --endpoint-type endpointType

This command returns an iot-endpoint in the following format: account-specific-prefix.iot.aws-region.amazonaws.com.

The DescribeEndpoint API does not have to be queried every time a new device is connected. The endpoints that you create persist forever and do not change once they are created.

Every customer has an iot:Data-ATS and an iot:Data endpoint. Each endpoint uses an X.509 certificate to authenticate the client. We strongly recommend that customers use the newer iot:Data-ATS endpoint type to avoid issues related to the widespread distrust of Symantec certificate authorities. We provide the iot:Data endpoint for devices to retrieve data from old endpoints that use VeriSign certificates for backward compatibility. For more information, see Server Authentication.

Amazon IoT endpoints for devices

Endpoint purpose

endpointType value

Description

IoT data

iot:Data-ATS

Used to send and receive data to and from the message broker, Device Shadow, and Rules Engine components of Amazon IoT.

iot:Data-ATS returns an ATS signed data endpoint.

IoT data (legacy)

iot:Data

iot:Data returns a VeriSign signed data endpoint provided for backward compatibility.

IoT credential access

iot:CredentialProvider

Used to exchange a device's built-in X.509 certificate for temporary credentials to connect directly with other Amazon services. For more information about connecting to other Amazon services, see Authorizing Direct Calls to Amazon Services.

IoT job management

iot:Jobs

Used to enable devices to interact with the Amazon IoT Jobs service using the Jobs Device HTTPS APIs.

IoT device advisor (preview)

iot:DeviceAdvisor

A test endpoint type used for testing devices with Device Advisor. For more information, see Device Advisor.

IoT data beta (preview)

iot:Data-Beta

An endpoint type reserved for beta releases. For information about its current use, see Configurable endpoints.

You can also use your own fully-qualified domain name (FQDN), such as example.com, and the associated server certificate to connect devices to Amazon IoT by using Configurable endpoints, which is currently in public beta.

Amazon IoT Device SDKs

The Amazon IoT Device SDKs help you connect your IoT devices to Amazon IoT Core and they support MQTT and MQTT over WSS protocols.

The Amazon IoT Device SDKs differ from the Amazon SDKs in that the Amazon IoT Device SDKs support the specialized communications needs of IoT devices, but don't support all of the services supported by the Amazon SDKs. The Amazon IoT Device SDKs are compatible with the Amazon SDKs that support all of the Amazon services; however, they use different authentication methods and connect to different endpoints, which could make using the Amazon SDKs impractical on an IoT device.

Mobile devices

The Amazon Mobile SDKs support both MQTT device communications, some of the Amazon IoT service APIs, and the APIs of other Amazon services. If you're developing on a supported mobile device, review its SDK to see if it's the best option for developing your IoT solution.

C++

Amazon IoT C++ Device SDK

The Amazon IoT C++ Device SDK allows developers to build connected applications using Amazon and the APIs of the Amazon IoT Core services. Specifically, this SDK was designed for devices that are not resource constrained and require advanced features such as message queuing, multi-threading support, and the latest language features. For more information, see the following:

Python

Amazon IoT Device SDK for Python

The Amazon IoT Device SDK for Python makes it possible for developers to write Python scripts to use their devices to access the Amazon IoT platform through MQTT or MQTT over the WebSocket Secure (WSS) protocol. By connecting their devices to the APIs of the Amazon IoT Core services, users can securely work with the message broker, rules, and Device Shadow service that Amazon IoT Core provides and with other Amazon services like Amazon Lambda, Amazon Kinesis, and Amazon S3, and more.

JavaScript

Amazon IoT Device SDK for JavaScript

The Amazon IoT Device SDK for JavaScript makes it possible for developers to write JavaScript applications that access APIs of the Amazon IoT Core using MQTT or MQTT over the WebSocket protocol. It can be used in Node.js environments and browser applications. For more information, see the following:

Java

Amazon IoT Device SDK for Java

The Amazon IoT Device SDK for Java makes it possible for Java developers to access the APIs of the Amazon IoT Core through MQTT or MQTT over the WebSocket protocol. The SDK supports the Device Shadow service. You can access shadows by using HTTP methods, including GET, UPDATE, and DELETE. The SDK also supports a simplified shadow access model, which allows developers to exchange data with shadows by using getter and setter methods, without having to serialize or deserialize any JSON documents. For more information, see the following:

Embedded C

Amazon IoT Device SDK for Embedded C

Important

This SDK is intended for use by experienced embedded-software developers.

The Amazon IoT Device SDK for Embedded C (C-SDK) is a collection of C source files under the MIT open source license that can be used in embedded applications to securely connect IoT devices to Amazon IoT Core. It includes an MQTT, JSON Parser, and Amazon IoT Device Shadow library. It is distributed in source form and intended to be built into customer firmware along with application code, other libraries and, optionally, an RTOS (Real Time Operating System).

For Fleet Provisioning, use the v4_beta_deprecated version of the Amazon IoT Device SDK for Embedded C at https://github.com/aws/aws-iot-device-sdk-embedded-C/tree/v4_beta_deprecated.

The Amazon IoT Device SDK for Embedded C is generally targeted at resource constrained devices that require an optimized C language runtime. You can use the SDK on any operating system and host it on any processor type (for example, MCUs and MPUs). If your device has sufficient memory and processing resources available, we recommend that you use one of the other Amazon IoT Device and Mobile SDKs, such as the Amazon IoT Device SDK for C++, Java, JavaScript, or Python.

For more information, see the following:

将设备连接到 Amazon IoT - Amazon IoT Core
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

将设备连接到 Amazon IoT

设备可通过 Amazon IoT 连接到 Amazon IoT Core 和其他服务。通过 Amazon IoT Core ,设备使用特定于您账户的设备终端节点发送和接收消息。Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包 支持使用 MQTT 和 WSS 协议进行的设备通信。有关设备可以使用的协议的更多信息,请参阅设备通信协议

消息代理

Amazon IoT 通过消息代理管理设备通信。设备和客户端向消息代理发布消息,并且还订阅消息代理发布的消息。消息由应用程序定义的主题 进行标识。当消息代理收到由设备或客户端发布的消息时,它会将该消息重新发布到订阅了该消息主题的设备和客户端。消息代理还将消息转发到 Amazon IoT 规则引擎,该引擎可以对消息的内容进行操作。

Amazon IoT 消息安全性

在设备连接到 Amazon IoT 时,使用 X.509 客户端证书Amazon签名 V4 进行身份验证。设备通信受 TLS 1.2 版的保护,并且 Amazon IoT 要求设备在连接时发送服务器名称指示 (SNI) 扩展。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon IoT 中的传输安全

Amazon IoT 设备数据和服务终端节点

每个账户都有几个设备终端节点,这些终端节点对账户是唯一的,并支持特定的 IoT 功能。Amazon IoT 设备数据终端节点支持专为 IoT 设备的通信需求而设计的发布/订阅协议;但是,如果其他客户端(如应用程序和服务)的应用程序需要这些终端节点提供的专用功能,则它们也可以使用此接口。Amazon IoT 设备服务终端节点支持以设备为中心的对安全和管理服务的访问。

要了解您账户的设备数据端点,您可以在 Amazon IoT Core 控制台的 Settings(设置)页面上找到。

要了解您账户的特定用途的设备终端节点(包括设备数据端点),请使用此处显示的 describe-endpoint CLI 命令或 DescribeEndpoint REST API,并提供下表中的 endpointType 参数值。

aws iot describe-endpoint --endpoint-type endpointType

此命令采用以下格式返回 iot-endpointaccount-specific-prefix.iot.aws-region.amazonaws.com

DescribeEndpoint API 不必在每次连接新设备时都进行查询。您创建的端点将永久存在,并且创建后不会更改。

每个客户都有一个 iot:Data-ATS 和一个 iot:Data 终端节点。每个终端节点都使用 X.509 证书对客户端进行身份验证。我们强烈建议客户使用较新的 iot:Data-ATS 终端节点类型,以避免出现与 Symantec 证书颁发机构普遍不信任有关的问题。我们为设备提供 iot:Data 终端节点,用于从使用 VeriSign 证书实现向后兼容的旧终端节点检索数据。有关更多信息,请参阅服务器身份验证

Amazon IoT设备的 终端节点

终端节点用途

endpointType

说明

IoT 数据

iot:Data-ATS

用于与消息代理、Device Shadow 和 Amazon IoT 的规则引擎组件之间收发数据。

iot:Data-ATS 返回 ATS 签名的数据终端节点。

IoT 数据(传统)

iot:Data

iot:Data 返回为向后兼容而提供的 VeriSign 签名的数据终端节点。

IoT 凭证访问

iot:CredentialProvider

用于将设备的内置 X.509 证书交换为临时凭证,以直接与其他 Amazon 服务连接。有关连接到其他 Amazon 服务的更多信息,请参阅授予直接调用 Amazon 服务的权限

IoT 任务管理

iot:Jobs

用于使设备能够使用任务设备 HTTPS API与 Amazon IoT Jobs 服务交互。

IoT 设备顾问(预览版)

iot:DeviceAdvisor

用于使用 Device Advisor 测试设备的测试端点类型。有关更多信息,请参阅 Device Advisor

IoT 数据测试版(预览版)

iot:Data-Beta

为测试版预留的端点类型。有关当前用法的信息,请参阅 可配置的终端节点

您还可以使用自己的完全限定域名 (FQDN)(例如 example.com)和关联的服务器证书,通过使用Amazon IoT(目前在公开测试版中提供)将设备连接到 可配置的终端节点

Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包

Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包可帮助您将 IoT 设备连接到 Amazon IoT Core ,并且支持 MQTT 和基于 WSS 的 MQTT 协议。

Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包与 Amazon 软件开发工具包的不同之处在于,Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包支持 IoT 设备的特殊通信需求,但不支持Amazon软件开发工具包支持的所有服务。Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包与支持所有Amazon服务的Amazon软件开发工具包兼容;但是,它们使用不同的身份验证方法并连接到不同的端点,这可能使在 IoT 设备上使用Amazon软件开发工具包变得不切实际。

移动设备

AmazonMobile SDK支持 MQTT 设备通信、部分 Amazon IoT 服务 API 和其他 Amazon 服务的 API。如果您在受支持的移动设备上进行开发,请查看其软件开发工具包,了解它是否是开发 IoT 解决方案的最佳选择。

C++

Amazon IoT C++ 设备软件开发工具包

Amazon IoT C++ 设备软件开发工具包使开发人员可以使用Amazon和 Amazon IoT Core 服务 API 构建互联应用程序。特别是,此软件开发工具包面向没有资源限制且需要高级功能(例如,消息队列、多线程支持和最新的语言功能)的设备而设计。有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容:

Python

Amazon IoT 适用于 Python 的设备软件开发工具包

借助适用于 Python 的 Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包,开发人员可以编写 Python 脚本,以使用其设备通过 MQTT 或基于 WebSocket 的 MQTT (WSS) 协议来访问 Amazon IoT 平台。通过将设备连接到 Amazon IoT Core 服务 API,用户可以安全地使用由 Amazon IoT Core 提供的消息代理、规则和 Device Shadow 服务,以及 Amazon Lambda、Amazon Kinesis 和 Amazon S3 等其他Amazon服务。

JavaScript

Amazon IoT 适用于 JavaScript 的设备软件开发工具包

借助适用于 JavaScript 的 Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包,开发人员可以编写 JavaScript 应用程序,这些应用程序使用 MQTT 或基于 WebSocket 的 MQTT 协议来访问 Amazon IoT Core 的 API。它可用于 Node.js 环境和浏览器应用程序。有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容:

Java

Amazon IoT 适用于 Java 的设备软件开发工具包

借助适用于 Java 的 Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包,Java 开发人员可以通过 MQTT 或基于 WebSocket 的 MQTT 协议来访问 Amazon IoT Core 的 API。该软件开发工具包支持 Device Shadow 服务。您可以使用 HTTP 方法 (包括 GET、UPDATE 和 DELETE) 访问影子。该软件开发工具包还支持简化的影子访问模型,开发人员可以使用 getter 和 setter 方法与影子交换数据,而不必对任何 JSON 文档进行序列化或反序列化。有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容:

Embedded C

Amazon IoT 适用于嵌入式 C 语言的设备软件开发工具包

重要

该软件开发工具包供经验丰富的嵌入式软件开发人员使用。

Amazon IoT Device SDK for Embedded C (C-SDK) 是 MIT 开源许可证下多个 C 语言源文件的集合,可在嵌入式应用程序中使用,以安全地将 IoT 设备连接到 Amazon IoT Core。它包括 MQTT、JSON Parser和 Amazon IoT Device Shadow 库。它以源代码的形式分发,用于构建到客户固件和应用程序代码、其他库,以及(可选)RTOS(实时操作系统)中。

对于 Fleet Provisioning,请使用版本为 v4_beta_deprecated 的 Amazon IoT Device SDK for Embedded C ,地址:https://github.com/aws/aws-iot-device-sdk-embedded-C/tree/v4_beta_deprecated

Amazon IoT Device SDK for Embedded C 通常面向需要优化的 C 语言运行时的资源受限设备。您可以在任何操作系统上使用此软件开发工具包,并将其托管在任何类型的处理器(例如 MCU 和 MPU)上。如果您的设备有足够的可用内存和处理资源,则我们建议您使用其他 Amazon IoT 设备和移动软件开发工具包之一,如适用于 C++、Java、JavaScript 或 Python 的 Amazon IoT 设备软件开发工具包。

有关更多信息,请参阅下列内容: