Provisioning devices that don't have device certificates using fleet provisioning - Amazon IoT Core
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Provisioning devices that don't have device certificates using fleet provisioning

By using Amazon IoT fleet provisioning, Amazon IoT can generate and securely deliver device certificates and private keys to your devices when they connect to Amazon IoT for the first time. Amazon IoT provides client certificates that are signed by the Amazon Root certificate authority (CA).

There are two ways to use fleet provisioning:

  • By claim

  • By trusted user

Provisioning by claim

Devices can be manufactured with a provisioning claim certificate and private key (which are special purpose credentials) embedded in them. If these certificates are registered with Amazon IoT, the service can exchange them for unique device certificates that the device can use for regular operations. This process includes the following steps:

Before you deliver the device

  1. Call CreateProvisioningTemplate to create a provisioning template. This API returns a template ARN. For more information, see Device provisioning MQTT API.

    You can also create a fleet provisioning template in the Amazon IoT console.

    1. From the navigation pane, choose Connect, then choose Fleet provisioning templates.

    2. Choose Create template and follow the prompts.

  2. Create certificates and associated private keys to be used as provisioning claim certificates.

  3. Register these certificates with Amazon IoT and associate an IoT policy that restricts the use of the certificates. The following example IoT policy restricts the use of the certificate associated with this policy to provisioning devices.

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": ["iot:Connect"], "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": ["iot:Publish","iot:Receive"], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:topic/$aws/certificates/create/*", "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:topic/$aws/provisioning-templates/templateName/provision/*" ] }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "iot:Subscribe", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:topicfilter/$aws/certificates/create/*", "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:topicfilter/$aws/provisioning-templates/templateName/provision/*" ] } ] }
  4. Give the Amazon IoT service permission to create or update IoT resources such as things and certificates in your account when provisioning devices. Do this by attaching the AWSIoTThingsRegistration managed policy to an IAM role (called the provisioning role) that trusts the Amazon IoT service principal.

  5. Manufacture the device with the provisioning claim certificate securely embedded in it.

The device is now ready to be delivered to where it will be installed for use.

Important

Provisioning claim private keys should be secured at all times, including on the device. We recommend that you use Amazon IoT CloudWatch metrics and logs to monitor for indications of misuse. If you detect misuse, disable the provisioning claim certificate so it cannot be used for device provisioning.

To initialize the device for use

  1. The device uses the Amazon IoT Device SDKs, Mobile SDKs, and Amazon IoT Device Client to connect to and authenticate with Amazon IoT using the provisioning claim certificate that is installed on the device.

    Note

    For security, the certificateOwnershipToken returned by CreateCertificateFromCsr and CreateKeysAndCertificate expires after one hour. RegisterThing must be called before the certificateOwnershipToken expires. If the certificate created by CreateCertificateFromCsr or CreateKeysAndCertificate has not been activated and has not been attached to a policy or a thing by the time the token expires, the certificate is deleted. If the token expires, the device can call CreateCertificateFromCsr or CreateKeysAndCertificate again to generate a new certificate.

  2. The device obtains a permanent certificate and private key by using one of these options. The device will use the certificate and key for all future authentication with Amazon IoT.

    1. Call CreateKeysAndCertificate to create a new certificate and private key using the Amazon certificate authority.

      Or

    2. Call CreateCertificateFromCsr to generate a certificate from a certificate signing request that keeps its private key secure.

  3. From the device, call RegisterThing to register the device with Amazon IoT and create cloud resources.

    The Fleet Provisioning service creates cloud resources such as things, thing groups, and attributes, as defined in the provisioning template.

  4. After saving the permanent certificate on the device, the device must disconnect from the session that it initiated with the provisioning claim certificate and reconnect using the permanent certificate.

The device is now ready to communicate normally with Amazon IoT.

Provisioning by trusted user

In many cases, a device connects to Amazon IoT for the first time when a trusted user, such as an end user or installation technician, uses a mobile app to configure the device in its deployed location.

Important

You must manage the trusted user's access and permission to perform this procedure. One way to do this is to provide and maintain an account for the trusted user that authenticates them and grants them access to the Amazon IoT features and APIs required to perform this procedure.

Before you deliver the device

  1. Call CreateProvisioningTemplate to create a provisioning template and return its templateArn and templateName.

  2. Create an IAM role that is used by a trusted user to initiate the provisioning process. The provisioning template allows only that user to provision a device. For example:

    { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iot:CreateProvisioningClaim" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:provisioningtemplate/templateName" ] }
  3. Give the Amazon IoT service permission to create or update IoT resources, such as things and certificates in your account when provisioning devices. You do this by attaching the AWSIoTThingsRegistration managed policy to an IAM role (called the provisioning role) that trusts the Amazon IoT service principal.

  4. Provide the means to identify your trusted users, such as by providing them with an account that can authenticate them and authorize their interactions with the Amazon APIs necessary to register their devices.

To initialize the device for use

  1. A trusted user signs in to your provisioning mobile app or web service.

  2. The mobile app or web application uses the IAM role and calls CreateProvisioningClaim to obtain a temporary provisioning claim certificate from Amazon IoT.

    Note

    For security, the temporary provisioning claim certificate that CreateProvisioningClaim returns expires after five minutes. The following steps must successfully return a valid certificate before the temporary provisioning claim certificate expires. Temporary provisioning claim certificates do not appear in your account's list of certificates.

  3. The mobile app or web application supplies the temporary provisioning claim certificate to the device along with any required configuration information, such as Wi-Fi credentials.

  4. The device uses the temporary provisioning claim certificate to connect to Amazon IoT using the Amazon IoT Device SDKs, Mobile SDKs, and Amazon IoT Device Client.

  5. The device obtains a permanent certificate and private key by using one of these options within five minutes of connecting to Amazon IoT with the temporary provisioning claim certificate. The device will use the certificate and key these options return for all future authentication with Amazon IoT.

    1. Call CreateKeysAndCertificate to create a new certificate and private key using the Amazon certificate authority.

      Or

    2. Call CreateCertificateFromCsr to generate a certificate from a certificate signing request that keeps its private key secure.

    Note

    Remember CreateKeysAndCertificate or CreateCertificateFromCsr must return a valid certificate within five minutes of connecting to Amazon IoT with the temporary provisioning claim certificate.

  6. The device calls RegisterThing to register the device with Amazon IoT and create cloud resources.

    The Fleet Provisioning service creates cloud resources such as IoT things, thing groups, and attributes, as defined in the provisioning template.

  7. After saving the permanent certificate on the device, the device must disconnect from the session that it initiated with the temporary provisioning claim certificate and reconnect using the permanent certificate.

The device is now ready to communicate normally with Amazon IoT.

Using pre-provisioning hooks with the Amazon CLI

The following procedure creates a provisioning template with pre-provisioning hooks. The Lambda function used here is an example that can be modified.

To create and apply a pre-provisioning hook to a provisioning template

  1. Create a Lambda function that has a defined input and output. Lambda functions are highly customizable the allowProvisioning and parameterOverrides are required for creating pre-provisioning hooks. For more information about creating Lambda functions, see Using Amazon Lambda with the Amazon Command Line Interface.

    The following is an example of a Lambda function output:

    { "allowProvisioning": True, "parameterOverrides": { "incomingKey0": "incomingValue0", "incomingKey1": "incomingValue1" } }
  2. Amazon IoT uses resource-based policies to call Lambda, so you must give Amazon IoT permission to call your Lambda function.

    Important

    Be sure to include the source-arn or source-account in the global condition context keys of the policies attached to your Lambda action to prevent permission manipulation. Fore more informataion about this, see Cross-service confused deputy prevention.

    The following is an example using add-permission give IoT permission to your Lambda.

    aws lambda add-permission \ --function-name myLambdaFunction \ --statement-id iot-permission \ --action lambda:InvokeFunction \ --principal iot.amazonaws.com
  3. Add a pre-provisioning hook to a template using either the create-provisioning-template or update-provisioning-template command.

    The following CLI example uses the create-provisioning-template to create a provisioning template that has pre-provisioning hooks:

    aws iot create-provisioning-template \ --template-name myTemplate \ --provisioning-role-arn arn:aws:iam:us-east-1:1234564789012:role/myRole \ --template-body file://template.json \ --pre-provisioning-hook file://hooks.json

    The output of this command looks like the following:

    { "templateArn": "arn:aws:iot:us-east-1:1234564789012:provisioningtemplate/myTemplate", "defaultVersionId": 1, "templateName": myTemplate }

    You can also load a parameter from a file instead of typing it all as a command line parameter value to save time. For more information, see Loading Amazon CLI Parameters from a File. The following shows the template parameter in expanded JSON format:

    { "Parameters" : { "DeviceLocation": { "Type": "String" } }, "Mappings": { "LocationTable": { "Seattle": { "LocationUrl": "https://example.aws" } } }, "Resources" : { "thing" : { "Type" : "AWS::IoT::Thing", "Properties" : { "AttributePayload" : { "version" : "v1", "serialNumber" : "serialNumber" }, "ThingName" : {"Fn::Join":["",["ThingPrefix_",{"Ref":"SerialNumber"}]]}, "ThingTypeName" : {"Fn::Join":["",["ThingTypePrefix_",{"Ref":"SerialNumber"}]]}, "ThingGroups" : ["widgets", "WA"], "BillingGroup": "BillingGroup" }, "OverrideSettings" : { "AttributePayload" : "MERGE", "ThingTypeName" : "REPLACE", "ThingGroups" : "DO_NOTHING" } }, "certificate" : { "Type" : "AWS::IoT::Certificate", "Properties" : { "CertificateId": {"Ref": "AWS::IoT::Certificate::Id"}, "Status" : "Active" } }, "policy" : { "Type" : "AWS::IoT::Policy", "Properties" : { "PolicyDocument" : { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [{ "Effect": "Allow", "Action":["iot:Publish"], "Resource": ["arn:aws:iot:us-east-1:504350838278:topic/foo/bar"] }] } } } }, "DeviceConfiguration": { "FallbackUrl": "https://www.example.com/test-site", "LocationUrl": { "Fn::FindInMap": ["LocationTable",{"Ref": "DeviceLocation"}, "LocationUrl"]} } }

    The following shows the pre-provisioning-hook parameter in expanded JSON format:

    { "targetArn" : "arn:aws:lambda:us-east-1:765219403047:function:pre_provisioning_test", "payloadVersion" : "2020-04-01" }

使用队列预置来预置没有设备证书的设备 - AWS IoT
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

使用队列预置来预置没有设备证书的设备

通过使用 AWS IoT 队列预置,AWS IoT 可以在设备首次连接到 AWS IoT 时生成设备证书和私有密钥,并将它们安全地传递到设备。

使用队列预置的方法有两种:

  • 通过申请

  • 通过可信用户

通过申请进行预配置

设备在制造时可以嵌入预置申请证书和私有密钥(这是特殊用途凭证)。如果将这些证书注册到 AWS IoT,服务可以交换它们,作为设备可用于常规操作的唯一设备证书。此过程包括以下步骤:

在交付设备之前

  1. 调用 CreateProvisioningTemplate 以创建预置模板。此 API 返回模板 ARN。有关更多信息,请参阅设备预置 MQTT API

    您还可以从 AWS IoT 控制台创建队列预置模板。

    1. 从导航窗格中,选择 Onboard (登记),然后选择 Fleet provisioning templates (队列预置模板)

    2. 选择 Create (创建) 并按照提示操作。

  2. 创建用作预置申请证书的证书以及关联的私有密钥。

  3. 将这些证书注册到 AWS IoT 并关联限制证书使用的 IoT 策略。以下示例 IoT 策略限制使用与此策略关联的证书来预置设备。

    { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": ["iot:Connect"], "Resource": "*" }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": ["iot:Publish","iot:Receive"], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:topic/$aws/certificates/create/*", "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:topic/$aws/provisioning-templates/templateName/provision/*" ] }, { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": "iot:Subscribe", "Resource": [ "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:topicfilter/$aws/certificates/create/*", "arn:aws:iot:aws-region:aws-account-id:topicfilter/$aws/provisioning-templates/templateName/provision/*" ] } ] }
  4. 授予 AWS IoT 服务权限,以在预置设备时创建或更新 IoT 资源,例如账户中的事物和证书。通过将 AWSIoTThingsRegistration 托管策略附加到信任 AWS IoT 服务委托人的 IAM 角色(称为预置角色)来执行此操作。

  5. 制造在其中安全地嵌入了预置申请证书的设备。

设备现在已准备就绪,可以运输到要安装以使用它的位置。

重要

预置申请私有密钥应始终得到保护,包括在设备上时。我们建议您使用 AWS IoT CloudWatch 指标和日志来监控滥用迹象。如果您检测到滥用,请禁用预置申请证书,以使其不能用于设备预置。

初始化设备以供使用

  1. 设备使用 AWS IoT 设备和移动开发工具包 连接到 AWS IoT,并使用安装在设备上的预置申请证书向其进行身份验证。

  2. 设备通过使用以下选项之一获取永久证书和私有密钥。设备将使用此证书和密钥向 AWS IoT 进行将来的所有身份验证。

    1. 调用 CreateKeysAndCertificate 以使用 AWS 证书颁发机构创建新的证书和私有密钥。

      Or

    2. 调用 CreateCertificateFromCsr 以通过证书签名请求生成证书,这可确保其私有密钥安全。

  3. 从设备中,调用 RegisterThing 以向 AWS IoT 注册设备并创建云资源。

    队列预置服务根据预置模板中的定义创建云资源,例如 IoT 事物、事物组和属性。

  4. 在设备上保存永久证书后,设备必须断开与它使用预置申请证书发起的会话的连接,并使用此永久证书重新连接。

设备现在已准备好与 AWS IoT 正常通信。

由可信用户预置

在许多情况下,当可信用户(如最终用户或安装技术人员)使用移动应用程序在设备的部署位置配置设备时,设备首次连接到 AWS IoT。

重要

您必须管理可信用户的访问和权限才能执行此过程。做到这一点的一种方法是为可信用户提供和维护一个账户,该账户对他们进行身份验证,并授予他们对执行此过程所需的 AWS IoT 功能和 API 的访问权限。

在交付设备之前

  1. 调用 CreateProvisioningTemplate 以创建预置模板并返回其 templateArntemplateName

  2. 创建由可信用户用于启动预置过程的 IAM 角色。预置模板仅允许该用户预置设备。例如:

    { "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "iot:CreateProvisioningClaim", ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:aws-region:aws-account-id:provisioningtemplate/templateName" ] }
  3. 授予 AWS IoT 服务权限,以在预置设备时创建或更新 IoT 资源,例如账户中的事物和证书。您可以通过将 AWSIoTThingsRegistration 托管策略附加到信任 AWS IoT 服务委托人的 IAM 角色(称为预置角色)来执行此操作。

  4. 提供识别您的可信用户的方法,例如,为他们提供一个账户,该账户可以对其进行身份验证,并授权他们与注册其设备所需的 AWS API 进行交互

初始化设备以供使用

  1. 可信用户登录到您的预置移动应用程序或 Web 服务。

  2. 移动应用程序或 Web 应用程序使用 IAM 角色并调用 CreateProvisioningClaim,以从 AWS IoT 获取临时预置申请证书。

    注意

    出于安全考虑,CreateProvisioningClaim 返回的临时预置申请证书只有五分钟的有效期。在临时预置申请证书过期之前,以下步骤必须成功地返回有效证书。临时预置申请证书不会显示在您账户的证书列表中。

  3. 移动应用程序或 Web 应用程序将临时预置申请证书以及任何必需的配置信息(如 Wi-Fi 凭据)提供给设备。

  4. 设备使用临时预置申请证书,通过 AWS IoT 设备和移动开发工具包 连接到 AWS IoT。

    注意

    设备必须执行以下步骤,以便它在使用临时预置申请证书连接到 AWS IoT 后的五分钟内调用 RegisterThing

  5. 设备通过使用以下选项之一获取永久证书和私有密钥。设备将使用此证书和密钥向 AWS IoT 进行将来的所有身份验证。

    1. 调用 CreateKeysAndCertificate 以使用 AWS 证书颁发机构创建新的证书和私有密钥。

      Or

    2. 调用 CreateCertificateFromCsr 以通过证书签名请求生成证书,这可确保其私有密钥安全。

  6. 设备调用 RegisterThing 以向 AWS IoT 注册设备并创建云资源。请记住,这必须在使用临时预置申请证书连接到 AWS IoT 后的五分钟内发生。

    队列预置服务根据预置模板中的定义创建云资源,例如 IoT 事物、事物组和属性。

  7. 在设备上保存永久证书后,设备必须断开与它使用临时预置申请证书发起的会话的连接,并使用此永久证书重新连接。

设备现在已准备好与 AWS IoT 正常通信。

在 AWS CLI 中使用预先预置挂钩

以下过程使用预先预置挂钩创建预置模板。此处使用的 Lambda 函数是一个可以修改的示例。

创建预先预置挂钩并将其应用到预置模板

  1. 创建一个具有定义的输入和输出的 Lambda 函数。Lambda 函数可以高度灵活地自定义,创建预先预置挂钩需要 allowProvisioningparameterOverrides。有关创建 Lambda 函数的更多信息,请参阅将 AWS Lambda 与 AWS 命令行界面一起使用

    以下是 Lambda 函数输出的示例:

    { "allowProvisioning": True, "parameterOverrides": { "incomingKey0": "incomingValue0", "incomingKey1": "incomingValue1" } }
  2. AWS IoT 使用基于资源的策略来调用 Lambda,因此您需要授予 AWS IoT 权限以调用 Lambda 函数。

    以下示例使用 add-permission 将 IoT 权限授予您的 Lambda。

    aws lambda add-permission / --function-name myLambdaFunction / --statement-id iot-permission / --action lambda:InvokeFunction / --principal iot.amazonaws.com
  3. 使用 create-provisioning-templateupdate-provisioning-template 命令添加预先预置挂钩到模板。

    以下 CLI 示例使用 create-provisioning-template 创建具有预先预置挂钩的预置模板:

    aws iot create-provisioning template / --template-name myTemplate / --provisioning-role-arn arn:aws:iam:us-east-1:1234564789012:role/myRole / --template-body file://template.json / --pre-provisioning-hook file://hooks.json

    此命令的输出如下所示:

    { "templateArn": "arn:aws:iot:us-east-1:1234564789012:provisioningtemplate/myTemplate", "defaultVersionId": 1, "templateName": myTemplate }

    您也可以从文件加载参数,而不是将其作为命令行参数值完全键入,以节省时间。有关更多信息,请参阅从文件加载 AWS CLI 参数。下面显示了扩展 JSON 格式的 template 参数:

    { "Parameters" : { "DeviceLocation": { "Type": "String" } }, "Mappings": { "LocationTable": { "Seattle": { "LocationUrl": "https://example.aws" } } }, "Resources" : { "thing" : { "Type" : "AWS::IoT::Thing", "Properties" : { "AttributePayload" : { "version" : "v1", "serialNumber" : "serialNumber" }, "ThingName" : {"Fn::Join":["",["ThingPrefix_",{"Ref":"SerialNumber"}]]}, "ThingTypeName" : {"Fn::Join":["",["ThingTypePrefix_",{"Ref":"SerialNumber"}]]}, "ThingGroups" : ["widgets", "WA"], "BillingGroup": "BillingGroup" }, "OverrideSettings" : { "AttributePayload" : "MERGE", "ThingTypeName" : "REPLACE", "ThingGroups" : "DO_NOTHING" } }, "certificate" : { "Type" : "AWS::IoT::Certificate", "Properties" : { "CertificateId": {"Ref": "AWS::IoT::Certificate::Id"}, "Status" : "Active" } }, "policy" : { "Type" : "AWS::IoT::Policy", "Properties" : { "PolicyDocument" : { "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [{ "Effect": "Allow", "Action":["iot:Publish"], "Resource": ["arn:aws:iot:us-east-1:504350838278:topic/foo/bar"] }] } } } }, "DeviceConfiguration": { "FallbackUrl": "https://www.example.com/test-site", "LocationUrl": { "Fn::FindInMap": ["LocationTable",{"Ref": "DeviceLocation"}, "LocationUrl"]} } }

    下面显示了扩展 JSON 格式的 pre-provisioning-hook 参数:

    { "targetArn" : "arn:aws:lambda:us-east-1:765219403047:function:pre_provisioning_test", "payloadVersion" : "2020-04-01" }