Choosing your KMS key configuration - Amazon Key Management Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Choosing your KMS key configuration

Amazon KMS supports symmetric and asymmetric KMS keys.

  • Symmetric KMS key: Represents a single 256-bit secret encryption key that never leaves Amazon KMS unencrypted. To use your symmetric KMS key, you must call Amazon KMS.

  • Asymmetric KMS key: Represents a mathematically related public key and private key pair that you can use for encryption and decryption or signing and verification, but not both. The private key never leaves Amazon KMS unencrypted. You can use the public key within Amazon KMS by calling the Amazon KMS API operations, or download the public key and use it outside of Amazon KMS.

The type of KMS key that you create depends largely on how you plan to use the KMS key, your security requirements, and your authorization requirements. When creating your KMS key, remember that the cryptographic configuration of the KMS key, including its key spec and key usage, are established when you create the KMS key and cannot be changed. For help with creating symmetric and asymmetric KMS key, see Creating keys.

Use the following guidance to determine which type of KMS key you need based on your use case.

Encrypt and decrypt data

Use a symmetric KMS key for most use cases that require encrypting and decrypting data. The symmetric encryption algorithm that Amazon KMS uses is fast, efficient, and assures the confidentiality and authenticity of data. It supports authenticated encryption with additional authenticated data (AAD), defined as an encryption context. This type of KMS key requires both the sender and recipient of encrypted data to have valid Amazon credentials to call Amazon KMS.

If your use case requires encryption outside of Amazon by users who cannot call Amazon KMS, asymmetric KMS keys are a good choice. You can distribute the public key of the asymmetric KMS key to allow these users to encrypt data. And your applications that need to decrypt that data can use the private key of the asymmetric KMS key within Amazon KMS.

Sign messages and verify signatures

To sign messages and verify signatures, you must use an asymmetric KMS key. You can use a KMS key with a key spec that represents an RSA key pair or an elliptic curve (ECC) key pair. The key spec you choose is determined by the signing algorithm that you want to use. In some cases, the users who will verify signatures are outside of Amazon and can’t call the Verify operation. In that case, choose a key spec associated with a signing algorithm that these users can support in their local applications.

Perform public key encryption

To perform public key encryption, you must use an asymmetric KMS key with an RSA key spec. Elliptic curve (ECC) key specs cannot be used for public key encryption. To encrypt data in Amazon KMS with the public key of an RSA KMS key, use the Encrypt operation. You can also download the public key and share it with the parties that need to encrypt data outside of Amazon KMS.

When you download the public key of an asymmetric KMS key, you can use it outside of Amazon KMS. But it is no longer subject to the security controls that protect the KMS key in Amazon KMS. For example, you cannot use Amazon KMS key policies or grants to control use of the public key. Nor can you control whether the key is used only for encryption and decryption using the RSA encryption algorithms that Amazon KMS supports. For more details, see Special Considerations for Downloading Public Keys.

To decrypt data that was encrypted with the public key outside of Amazon KMS, call the Decrypt operation. The Decrypt operation fails if the data was encrypted under a public key from a KMS key with a key usage of SIGN_VERIFY. It will also fail if it was encrypted by using an algorithm that Amazon KMS does not support for RSA KMS keys.

To avoid these errors, anyone using a public key outside of Amazon KMS must store the key configuration. The Amazon KMS console and the GetPublicKey response provide the information that you must include when you share the public key.

Use with integrated Amazon services

To create a KMS key for use with an Amazon service that is integrated with Amazon KMS, consult the documentation for the service. Amazon services that encrypt your data require a symmetric KMS key..

In addition to these considerations, KMS keys with different key specs have different prices and different request quotas. For information about Amazon KMS pricing, see Amazon Key Management Service Pricing. For information about request quotas, see Request quotas.

Selecting the key usage

The key usage of a KMS key determines whether the KMS key is used for encryption and decryption -or- signing and verification. You cannot choose both. Using a KMS key for more than one type of operations makes the product of both operations more vulnerable to attack.

As shown in the following table, symmetric KMS keys can be used only for encryption and decryption. Elliptic curve (ECC) KMS keys can be used only for signing and verification. Key usage decisions are really made only for RSA KMS keys.

Valid key usage for KMS key types
KMS key type Encrypt and decrypt Sign and verify
Symmetric KMS keys
Asymmetric KMS keys with RSA key pairs
Asymmetric KMS keys with ECC key pairs

In the Amazon KMS console, you first choose the key type (symmetric or asymmetric), and then, for asymmetric KMS keys, the key usage. If you select a symmetric key type, the key usage options do not appear, because symmetric KMS keys only support encryption and decryption. The key usage that you choose determines which key specs are displayed.

To choose a key usage in the Amazon KMS console:

  • For KMS keys with elliptic curve (ECC) key material, choose Sign and verify.

  • For KMS keys with RSA key material, choose Encrypt and decrypt or Sign and verify.

To determine the key usage that principals in your account are permitted to use for KMS keys, use the kms:KeyUsage; condition key.

Selecting the key spec

When you create an asymmetric KMS key, you select its key spec. The key spec, which is a property of every Amazon KMS key, represents the cryptographic configuration of your KMS key. You choose the key spec when you create the KMS key, and you cannot change it. If you've selected the wrong key spec, delete the KMS key, and create a new one.

Note

The key spec for an KMS key was known as a "customer master key spec." The CustomerMasterKeySpec parameter of the CreateKey operation is deprecated. Instead, use the KeySpec parameter. The response of the CreateKey and DescribeKey operations includes a KeySpec and CustomerMasterKeySpec member with the same value.

The key spec determines whether the KMS key is symmetric or asymmetric, the type of key material in the KMS key, and the encryption algorithms or signing algorithms that Amazon KMS supports for the KMS key. The key spec that you choose is typically determined by your use case and regulatory requirements.

To determine the key specs that principals in your account are permitted to use for KMS keys, use the kms:KeySpec condition key.

Amazon KMS supports the following key specs for KMS keys:

  • Symmetric KMS keys (default; encryption and decryption)

    • SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT

  • RSA key specs (encryption and decryption -or- signing and verification)

    • RSA_2048

    • RSA_3072

    • RSA_4096

  • Elliptic curve key specs

    • Asymmetric NIST-recommended elliptic curve key pairs (signing and verification)

      • ECC_NIST_P256 (secp256r1)

      • ECC_NIST_P384 (secp384r1)

      • ECC_NIST_P521 (secp521r1)

    • Other asymmetric elliptic curve key pairs (signing and verification)

      • ECC_SECG_P256K1 (secp256k1), commonly used for cryptocurrency.

Topics

The following topics provide technical information about the key specs.

SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT key spec

The default key spec, SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT, is the key spec for symmetric KMS keys. When you select the Symmetric key type in the Amazon KMS console, it selects the SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT key spec. In the CreateKey operation, if you don't specify a KeySpec value, SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT is selected. If you don't have a reason to use a different key spec, SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT is a good choice.

SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT currently represents AES-256-GCM, a symmetric algorithm based on Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) in Galois Counter Mode (GCM) with 256-bit keys, an industry standard for secure encryption. The ciphertext that this algorithm generates supports additional authenticated data (AAD), such as an encryption context, and GCM provides an additional integrity check on the ciphertext. For technical details, see Amazon Key Management Service Cryptographic Details.

Data encrypted under AES-256-GCM is protected now and in the future. Cryptographers consider this algorithm to be quantum resistant. Theoretical future, large-scale quantum computing attacks on ciphertexts created under 256-bit AES-GCM keys reduce the effective security of the key to 128 bits. But, this security level is sufficient to make brute force attacks on Amazon KMS ciphertexts infeasible.

You can use a symmetric KMS key in Amazon KMS to encrypt, decrypt, and re-encrypt data, and generate data keys and data key pairs. Amazon services that are integrated with Amazon KMS use symmetric KMS keys to encrypt your data at rest. You can import your own key material into a symmetric KMS key and create symmetric KMS keys in custom key stores. For a table comparing the operations that you can perform on symmetric and asymmetric KMS keys, see Comparing Symmetric and Asymmetric KMS keys.

RSA key specs

When you use an RSA key spec, Amazon KMS creates an asymmetric KMS key with an RSA key pair. The private key never leaves Amazon KMS unencrypted. You can use the public key within Amazon KMS, or download the public key for use outside of Amazon KMS.

Warning

When you encrypt data outside of Amazon KMS, be sure that you can decrypt your ciphertext. If you use the public key from a KMS key that has been deleted from Amazon KMS, the public key from a KMS key configured for signing and verification, or an encryption algorithm that is not supported by the KMS key, the data is unrecoverable.

In Amazon KMS, you can use asymmetric KMS keys with RSA key pairs for encryption and decryption, or signing and verification, but not both. This property, known as key usage, is determined separately from the key spec, but you should make that decision before you select a key spec.

Amazon KMS supports the following RSA key specs for encryption and decryption or signing and verification:

  • RSA_2048

  • RSA_3072

  • RSA_4096

RSA key specs differ by the length of the RSA key in bits. The RSA key spec that you choose might be determined by your security standards or the requirements of your task. In general, use the largest key that is practical and affordable for your task. KMS keys with different RSA key specs are priced differently and are subject to different request quotas. For information about Amazon KMS pricing, see Amazon Key Management Service Pricing. For information about request quotas, see Request quotas.

RSA key specs for encryption and decryption

When an RSA asymmetric KMS key is used for encryption and decryption, you encrypt with the public key and decrypt with the private key. When you call the Encrypt operation in Amazon KMS for an RSA KMS key, Amazon KMS uses the public key in the RSA key pair and the encryption algorithm you specify to encrypt your data. To decrypt the ciphertext, call the Decrypt operation and specify the same KMS key and encryption algorithm. Amazon KMS then uses the private key in the RSA key pair to decrypt your data.

You can also download the public key and use it to encrypt data outside of Amazon KMS. Be sure to use an encryption algorithm that Amazon KMS supports for RSA KMS keys. To decrypt the ciphertext, call the Decrypt function with the same KMS key and encryption algorithm.

Amazon KMS supports two encryption algorithms for KMS keys with RSA key specs. These algorithms, which are defined in PKCS #1 v2.2, differ in the hash function they use internally. In Amazon KMS, the RSAES_OAEP algorithms always use the same hash function for both hashing purposes and for the mask generation function (MGF1). You are required to specify an encryption algorithm when you call the Encrypt and Decrypt operations. You can choose a different algorithm for each request.

Supported encryption algorithms for RSA key specs
Encryption algorithm Algorithm description
RSAES_OAEP_SHA_1 PKCS #1 v2.2, Section 7.1. RSA encryption with OAEP Padding using SHA-1 for both the hash and in the MGF1 mask generation function along with an empty label.
RSAES_OAEP_SHA_256 PKCS #1, Section 7.1. RSA encryption with OAEP Padding using SHA-256 for both the hash and in the MGF1 mask generation function along with an empty label.

You cannot configure a KMS key to use a particular encryption algorithm. However, you can use the kms:EncryptionAlgorithm policy condition to specify the encryption algorithms that principals are allowed to use with the KMS key.

To get the encryption algorithms for a KMS key, view the cryptographic configuration of the KMS key in the Amazon KMS console or use the DescribeKey operation. Amazon KMS also provides the key spec and encryption algorithms when you download your public key, either in the Amazon KMS console or by using the GetPublicKey operation.

You might choose an RSA key spec based on the length of the plaintext data that you can encrypt in each request. The following table shows the maximum size, in bytes, of the plaintext that you can encrypt in a single call to the Encrypt operation. The values differ with the key spec and encryption algorithm. To compare, you can use a symmetric KMS key to encrypt up to 4096 bytes at one time.

To compute the maximum plaintext length in bytes for these algorithms, use the following formula: (key_size_in_bits / 8) - (2 * hash_length_in_bits/8) - 2. For example, for RSA_2048 with SHA-256, the maximum plaintext size in bytes is (2048/8) - (2 * 256/8) -2 = 190.

Maximum plaintext size (in bytes) in an Encrypt operation
Encryption algorithm
Key spec RSAES_OAEP_SHA_1 RSAES_OAEP_SHA_256
RSA_2048 214 190
RSA_3072 342 318
RSA_4096 470 446

RSA key specs for signing and verification

When an RSA asymmetric KMS key is used for signing and verification, you generate the signature for a message with the private key and verify the signature with the public key.

When you call the Sign operation in Amazon KMS for an asymmetric KMS key, Amazon KMS uses the private key in the RSA key pair, the message, and the signing algorithm you specify, to generate a signature. To verify the signature, call the Verify operation. Specify the signature, plus the same KMS key, message, and signing algorithm. Amazon KMS then uses the public key in the RSA key pair to verify the signature. You can also download the public key and use it to verify the signature outside of Amazon KMS.

Amazon KMS supports the following signing algorithms for KMS keys with RSA key spec. You are required to specify an signing algorithm when you call the Sign and Verify operations. You can choose a different algorithm for each request.

Supported signing algorithms for RSA key specs
Signing algorithm Algorithm description
RSASSA_PKCS1_V1_5_SHA_256 PKCS #1 v2.2, Section 8.2, RSA signature with PKCS #1v1.5 Padding and SHA-256
RSASSA_PKCS1_V1_5_SHA_384 PKCS #1 v2.2, Section 8.2, RSA signature with PKCS #1v1.5 Padding and SHA-384
RSASSA_PKCS1_V1_5_SHA_512 PKCS #1 v2.2, Section 8.2, RSA signature with PKCS #1v1.5 Padding and SHA-512
RSASSA_PSS_SHA_256 PKCS #1 v2.2, Section 8.1, RSA signature with PSS padding using SHA-256 for both the message digest and the MGF1 mask generation function along with a 256-bit salt
RSASSA_PSS_SHA_384 PKCS #1 v2.2, Section 8.1, RSA signature with PSS padding using SHA-384 for both the message digest and the MGF1 mask generation function along with a 384-bit salt
RSASSA_PSS_SHA_512 PKCS #1 v2.2, Section 8.1, RSA signature with PSS padding using SHA-512 for both the message digest and the MGF1 mask generation function along with a 512-bit salt

You cannot configure a KMS key to use particular signing algorithms. However, you can use the kms:SigningAlgorithm policy condition to specify the signing algorithms that principals are allowed to use with the KMS key.

To get the signing algorithms for a KMS key, view the cryptographic configuration of the KMS key in the Amazon KMS console or by using the DescribeKey operation. Amazon KMS also provides the key spec and signing algorithms when you download your public key, either in the Amazon KMS console or by using the GetPublicKey operation.

Elliptic curve key specs

When you use an elliptic curve (ECC) key spec, Amazon KMS creates an asymmetric KMS key with an ECC key pair for signing and verification. The private key that generates signature never leaves Amazon KMS unencrypted. You can use the public key to verify signatures within Amazon KMS, or download the public key for use outside of Amazon KMS.

Amazon KMS supports the following ECC key specs for asymmetric KMS keys.

  • Asymmetric NIST-recommended elliptic curve key pairs (signing and verification)

    • ECC_NIST_P256 (secp256r1)

    • ECC_NIST_P384 (secp384r1)

    • ECC_NIST_P521 (secp521r1)

  • Other asymmetric elliptic curve key pairs (signing and verification)

    • ECC_SECG_P256K1 (secp256k1), commonly used for cryptocurrencies.

The ECC key spec that you choose might be determined by your security standards or the requirements of your task. In general, use the curve with the most points that is practical and affordable for your task.

If you're creating an asymmetric KMS key to use with cryptocurrencies, use the ECC_SECG_P256K1 key spec. You can also use this key spec for other purposes, but it is required for Bitcoin, and other cryptocurrencies.

KMS keys with different ECC key specs are priced differently and are subject to different request quotas. For information about Amazon KMS pricing, see Amazon Key Management Service Pricing. For information about request quotas, see Request quotas.

The following table shows the signing algorithms that Amazon KMS supports for each of the ECC key specs. You cannot configure a KMS key to use particular signing algorithms. However, you can use the kms:SigningAlgorithm policy condition to specify the signing algorithms that principals are allowed to use with the KMS key.

Supported signing algorithms for ECC key specs
Key spec Signing algorithm Algorithm description
ECC_NIST_P256 ECDSA_SHA_256 NIST FIPS 186-4, Section 6.4, ECDSA signature using the curve specified by the key and SHA-256 for the message digest.
ECC_NIST_P384 ECDSA_SHA_384 NIST FIPS 186-4, Section 6.4, ECDSA signature using the curve specified by the key and SHA-384 for the message digest.
ECC_NIST_P521 ECDSA_SHA_512 NIST FIPS 186-4, Section 6.4, ECDSA signature using the curve specified by the key and SHA-512 for the message digest.
ECC_SECG_P256K1 ECDSA_SHA_256 NIST FIPS 186-4, Section 6.4, ECDSA signature using the curve specified by the key and SHA-256 for the message digest.

如何选择 CMK 配置 - Amazon Key Management Service
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

如何选择 CMK 配置

创建的 CMK 类型在很大程度上取决于计划使用 CMK 的方式,以及安全要求和授权要求。创建 CMK 时,请记住,CMK 的加密配置(包括其密钥规范和密钥用法)是在创建 CMK 时建立的,无法更改。有关创建对称 CMK 和非对称 CMK 的帮助信息,请参阅创建密钥

Amazon KMS支持两种 CMK 密钥类型:对称非对称。每种密钥类型均与特定的密钥用法密钥规范 选项相关。

请根据使用案例,遵照以下指南确定所需的 CMK 类型。

加密和解密数据

对于需要加密和解密数据的大多数使用案例,使用对称 CMK。Amazon KMS 使用的对称加密算法快速、高效,并可确保数据的机密性和真实性。它支持具有附加身份验证数据 (AAD) 的身份验证加密,这些数据定义为加密上下文。此 CMK 类型要求加密数据的发送人和接收人都具备有效的 Amazon 凭证才能调用 Amazon KMS。

如果使用案例需要无法调用 Amazon KMS 的用户在 Amazon 外部进行加密,那么非对称 CMK 是个不错的选择。您可以分发非对称 CMK 的公有密钥,以允许这些用户对数据进行加密。需要解密该数据的应用程序,可以在Amazon KMS。

签署消息并验证签名

要签署消息并验证签名,必须使用非对称 CMK。您可以将 CMK 与表示 RSA 密钥对或椭圆曲线 (ECC) 密钥对的密钥规范一起使用。选择哪种密钥规范由想要使用的签名算法决定。在某些情况下,将验证签名的用户在 Amazon 外部,无法调用 Verify 操作。此时,请选择与这些用户在其本地应用程序中可支持的签名算法相关联的密钥规范

执行公有密钥加密

要执行公钥加密,必须使用非对称 CMK使用RSA 密钥规范椭圆曲线 (ECC) 密钥规范不能用于公有密钥加密。要使用 RSA CMK 的公有密钥对 Amazon KMS 中的数据进行加密,请使用 Encrypt 操作。还可以下载公有密钥,并与需要在 Amazon KMS 外部加密数据的各方共享。

下载非对称 CMK 的公有密钥后,可以在 Amazon KMS 外部使用该密钥。但它不再受安全控制的约束,保护 CMKAmazon KMS。例如,您不能使用Amazon KMS密钥策略或授权来控制公有密钥的使用。也不能使用 RSA 加密算法来控制密钥是否仅用于加密和解密。Amazon KMS支持。有关更多详细信息,请参阅下载公有密钥的特殊注意事项

要对在 Amazon KMS 外部采用公有密钥加密的数据进行解密,请调用 Decrypt 操作。这些区域有:Decrypt操作将失败,如果数据是使用公钥加密的 CMK密钥密钥用法SIGN_VERIFY。如果它是通过使用Amazon KMS不支持 RSA CMK。

为避免上述错误,在 Amazon KMS 外部使用公有密钥的任何人都必须存储密钥配置。这些区域有:Amazon KMS控制台和GetPublicKey响应提供了在共享公有密钥时必须包含的信息。

与集成的 Amazon 服务一起使用

要创建 CMK 以便与Amazon服务,与Amazon KMS,请参阅服务的文档。Amazon加密数据的服务需要对称 CMK

除上述考虑因素之外,具有不同密钥规范的 CMK,其价格和请求配额也不同。有关 Amazon KMS 定价的信息,请参阅 Amazon Key Management Service 定价。有关请求配额的信息,请参阅。请求配额

选择密钥用法

CMK 的密钥用法 决定了 CMK 是用于加密和解密还是签名和验证。不能同时选择二者。将 CMK 用于多种操作类型,会使两种操作的产物更容易受到攻击。

如下表所示,对称 CMK 只能用于加密和解密。椭圆曲线 (ECC) CMK 只能用于签名和验证。密钥用法决策实际上只针对 RSA CMK。

CMK 类型的有效密钥用法
CMK 类型 加密和解密 签名和验证
对称 CMK
具有 RSA 密钥对的非对称 CMK
具有 ECC 密钥对的非对称 CMK

在 Amazon KMS 控制台中,首先选择密钥类型(对称或非对称),然后选择密钥用法(对于非对称 CMK)。如果选择对称密钥类型,则不会显示密钥用法选项,因为对称 CMK 仅支持加密和解密。您选择的密钥用法决定了将会显示哪些密钥规范

要在 Amazon KMS 控制台中选择密钥用法,请执行以下操作:

  • 对于具有椭圆曲线 (ECC) 密钥材料的 CMK,选择 Sign and verify (签名和验证)

  • 对于具有 RSA 密钥材料的 CMK,选择 Encrypt and decrypt (加密和解密) or Sign and verify (签名和验证)

要确定账户中的委托人可以用于 CMK 的密钥用法,请使用 kms:CustomerMasterKeyUsage 条件键。

选择密钥规范

创建非对称 CMK 时,可以选择其密钥规范密钥规范 是每个客户主密钥 (CMK) 的属性,表示 CMK 的加密配置。密钥规范在创建 CMK 时选择,并且无法更改。如果选择了错误的密钥规范,可删除 CMK,然后创建一个新的密钥规范。

注意

InAmazon KMSAPI 操作时,CMK 的密钥规范称为CustomerMasterKeySpec。这将它与数据密钥的密钥规范(KeySpec)和数据密钥对(KeyPairSpec),以及包装要导入的密钥材料时使用的密钥规范(WrappingKeySpec)。每个键规范类型都有不同的值。

密钥规范决定了 CMK 是对称还是非对称、CMK 中的密钥材料类型,以及 Amazon KMS 支持用于 CMK 的加密算法或签名算法。选择哪个密钥规范通常取决于使用案例和法规要求。

要确定账户中的委托人可以用于 CMK 的密钥规范,请使用 kms:CustomerMasterKeySpec 条件键。

对于 CMK,Amazon KMS 支持以下密钥规范:

  • 对称 CMK(默认值,加密和解密)

    • SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT

  • RSA 密钥规范(加密和解密或签名和验证)

    • RSA_2048

    • RSA_3072

    • RSA_4096

  • 椭圆曲线密钥规范

    • 非对称 NIST 推荐的椭圆曲线密钥对(签名和验证)

      • ECC_NIST_P256 (secp256r1)

      • ECC_NIST_P384 (secp384r1)

      • ECC_NIST_P521 (secp521r1)

    • 其他非对称椭圆曲线密钥对(签名和验证)

      • ECC_SECG_P256K1 (secp256k1),常用于加密货币。

主题

以下主题提供了有关密钥规范的技术信息。

SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT 密钥规范

默认密钥规范 SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT 是对称 CMK 的密钥规范。当您选择对称密钥类型中的Amazon KMS控制台时,它会选择SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT密钥规范。在 CreateKey 操作中,如果未指定 CustomerMasterKeySpec 值,则会选择 SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT。如果您没有理由使用其他密钥规范,SymMETIC_DEFAULT 是个不错的选择。

对称 CMK 的加密算法也称为 SYMMETRIC_DEFAULT。目前,这代表了一个基于高级加密标准(AES)Galois 计数器模式(GCM) 和 256 位密钥,这是安全加密的行业标准。此算法生成的密文支持附加身份验证数据 (AAD),如加密上下文,且 GCM 对密文提供额外的完整性检查。有关技术细节,请参阅。Amazon Key Management Service加密详细信息

在 AES-256-GCM 下加密的数据现在和将来都受到保护。密码学家认为这种算法具备抗量子性。理论上,在未来针对使用 256 位 AES-GCM 密钥创建的密文的大规模量子计算攻击中,密钥的有效安全性将会降至 128 位。但是,此安全级别足以对抗对 Amazon KMS 密文进行的暴力破解攻击。

在 Amazon KMS 中,可以使用对称 CMK 加密、解密和重新加密数据,生成数据密钥和数据密钥对。与 Amazon KMS 集成的 Amazon 服务使用对称 CMK 来加密静态数据。您可以将自己的密钥材料导入对称 CMK 中,并在自定义密钥存储中创建对称 CMK。有关可以对对称 CMK 和非对称 CMK 执行的操作的比较表格,请参阅比较对称 CMK 与非对称 CMK

RSA 密钥规范

使用 RSA 密钥规范时,Amazon KMS 会创建具有 RSA 密钥对的非对称 CMK。私有密钥永远不会让 Amazon KMS 处于未加密状态。在 Amazon KMS 内部可以使用公有密钥,或者下载公有密钥供 Amazon KMS 外部使用。

警告

在 Amazon KMS 外部加密数据时,请确保您可以解密密文。如果您使用已从 Amazon KMS 删除的 CMK 中的公有密钥、配置用于签名和验证的 CMK 中的公有密钥或者使用 CMK 不支持的加密算法,则数据将无法恢复。

在 Amazon KMS 中,可以使用具有 RSA 密钥对的非对称 CMK 进行加密和解密或签名和验证,但不能同时用于二者。此属性(称为 密钥用法)与密钥规范分开确定,但应该在选择密钥规范之前做出决定。

Amazon KMS 支持以下 RSA 密钥规范,用于加密和解密或签名和验证:

  • RSA_2048

  • RSA_3072

  • RSA_4096

RSA 密钥规范因 RSA 密钥长度(以位为单位)而异。选择哪个 RSA 密钥规范可能取决于安全标准或任务要求。一般来说,可使用对任务而言实用又实惠的最大密钥。使用不同 RSA 密钥规范的 CMK 定价不同,并受不同的请求配额限制。有关 Amazon KMS 定价的信息,请参阅 Amazon Key Management Service 定价。有关请求配额的信息,请参阅。请求配额

用于加密和解密的 RSA 密钥规范

使用 RSA 非对称 CMK 进行加密和解密时,用公有密钥加密,然后用私有密钥解密。在 Amazon KMS 中为 RSA CMK 调用 Encrypt 操作时,Amazon KMS 使用 RSA 密钥对中的公有密钥和您指定的加密算法来加密数据。要解密密文,请调用 Decrypt 操作并指定相同的 CMK 和加密算法。Amazon KMS 随后使用 RSA 密钥对中的私有密钥解密数据。

也可以下载公有密钥,并在 Amazon KMS 外部使用该密钥加密数据。请确保使用 Amazon KMS 支持用于 RSA CMK 的加密算法。要解密密文,请采用相同的 CMK 和加密算法调用 Decrypt 函数。

对于具有 RSA 密钥规范的 CMK,Amazon KMS 支持两种加密算法。这些算法在 PKCS #1 2.2 版中定义,它们内部使用的哈希函数有所不同。InAmazon KMS,RSAES_OAEP 算法始终使用相同的哈希函数实现哈希目的和遮罩生成函数(MGF1). 调用 EncryptDecrypt 操作时,需要指定加密算法。您可以为每个请求选择不同的算法。

支持 RSA 密钥规范的加密算法
加密算法 算法描述
RSAES_OAEP_SHA_1 PKCS #1 2.2 版,7.1 节。具有 OAEP 填充且采用 SHA-1 实现哈希和 MGF1 掩码生成函数以及空标签的 RSA 加密。
RSAES_OAEP_SHA_256 PKCS #1,7.1 节。具有 OAEP 填充且采用 SHA-256 实现哈希和 MGF1 掩码生成函数以及空标签的 RSA 加密。

无法将 CMK 配置为使用特定的加密算法。不过,可以使用 kms:EncryptionAlgorithm 策略条件,指定允许委托人与 CMK 一起使用的加密算法。

要获取 CMK 的加密算法,查看加密配置CMK 中的Amazon KMS控制台或使用DescribeKeyoperation.Amazon KMS还在下载公钥时提供密钥规范和加密算法,可以在Amazon KMS控制台或使用GetPublicKeyoperation.

您可以根据可在每个请求中加密的明文数据的长度,选择 RSA 密钥规范。下表显示了在对 Encrypt 操作的单次调用中,可以加密的明文的最大长度(以字节为单位)。值因密钥规范和加密算法而异。为进行比较,使用对称 CMK 一次可加密最多 4096 字节。

要计算这些算法的最大明文长度(以字节为单位),请使用以下公式:(key_size_in_bits / 8) - (2 * hash_length_in_bits/8) - 2。例如,对于具有 SHA-256 的 RSA_2048,最大明文长度为 (2048/8) - (2 * 256/8) -2 = 190 字节。

Encrypt 操作中的最大明文长度(以字节为单位)
加密算法
密钥规范 RSAES_OAEP_SHA_1 RSAES_OAEP_SHA_256
RSA_2048 214 190
RSA_3072 342 318
RSA_4096 470 446

用于签名和验证的 RSA 密钥规范

使用 RSA 非对称 CMK 进行签名和验证时,用私有密钥为消息生成签名,然后用公有密钥验证签名。

在 Amazon KMS 中为非对称 CMK 调用 Sign 操作时,Amazon KMS 使用 RSA 密钥对中的私有密钥、消息和您指定的签名算法来生成签名。要验证签名,请调用 Verify 操作。指定签名以及相同的 CMK、消息和签名算法。Amazon KMS 随后使用 RSA 密钥对中的公有密钥验证签名。也可以下载公有密钥,并在 Amazon KMS 外部使用该密钥验证签名。

对于具有 RSA 密钥规范的 CMK,Amazon KMS 支持以下签名算法。调用 SignVerify 操作时,需要指定签名算法。您可以为每个请求选择不同的算法。

支持 RSA 密钥规范的签名算法
签名算法 算法描述
RSASSA_PKCS1_V1_5_SHA_256 PKCS #1 2.2 版,8.2 节,具有 PKCS #1v1.5 填充和 SHA-256 的 RSA 签名
RSASSA_PKCS1_V1_5_SHA_384 PKCS #1 2.2 版,8.2 节,具有 PKCS #1v1.5 填充和 SHA-384 的 RSA 签名
RSASSA_PKCS1_V1_5_SHA_512 PKCS #1 2.2 版,8.2 节,具有 PKCS #1v1.5 填充和 SHA-512 的 RSA 签名
RSASSA_PSS_SHA_256 PKCS #1 2.2 版,8.1 节,具有 PSS 填充且采用 SHA-256 实现消息摘要和 MGF1 掩码生成函数以及 256 位盐的 RSA 签名
RSASSA_PSS_SHA_384 PKCS #1 2.2 版,8.1 节,具有 PSS 填充且采用 SHA-384 实现消息摘要和 MGF1 掩码生成函数以及 384 位盐的 RSA 签名
RSASSA_PSS_SHA_512 PKCS #1 2.2 版,8.1 节,具有 PSS 填充且采用 SHA-512 实现消息摘要和 MGF1 掩码生成函数以及 512 位盐的 RSA 签名

无法将 CMK 配置为使用特定的签名算法。不过,可以使用 kms:SigningAlgorithm 策略条件,指定允许委托人与 CMK 一起使用的签名算法。

要获取 CMK 的签名算法,查看加密配置CMK 中的Amazon KMS控制台或使用DescribeKeyoperation.Amazon KMS还在下载公钥时提供密钥规范和签名算法,无论是在Amazon KMS控制台或使用GetPublicKeyoperation.

椭圆曲线密钥规范

在使用椭圆曲线 (ECC) 密钥规范时,Amazon KMS 会创建具有 ECC 密钥对的非对称 CMK 用于签名和验证。生成签名的私有密钥永远不会让 Amazon KMS 处于未加密状态。可以使用公有密钥密钥公有密钥密钥验证签名WITHINAmazon KMS,或者下载公有密钥下载用于之外的Amazon KMS。

对于非对称 CMK,Amazon KMS 支持以下 ECC 密钥规范。

  • 非对称 NIST 推荐的椭圆曲线密钥对(签名和验证)

    • ECC_NIST_P256 (secp256r1)

    • ECC_NIST_P384 (secp384r1)

    • ECC_NIST_P521 (secp521r1)

  • 其他非对称椭圆曲线密钥对(签名和验证)

选择哪个 ECC 密钥规范可能取决于安全标准或任务要求。一般来说,可使用对任务而言实用又实惠的点最多的曲线。

如果您正在创建非对称 CMK 以用于加密货币,请使用 ECC_SEG_P256K1 密钥规范。此密钥规范也可以用于其他目的,但比特币和其他加密货币必须使用此密钥规范。

使用不同 ECC 密钥规范的 CMK 定价不同,并受不同的请求配额限制。有关 Amazon KMS 定价的信息,请参阅 Amazon Key Management Service 定价。有关请求配额的信息,请参阅。请求配额

下表显示了 Amazon KMS 对于每个 ECC 密钥规范支持的签名算法。无法将 CMK 配置为使用特定的签名算法。不过,可以使用 kms:SigningAlgorithm 策略条件,指定允许委托人与 CMK 一起使用的签名算法。

支持 ECC 密钥规范的签名算法
密钥规范 签名算法 算法描述
ECC_NIST_P256 ECDSA_SHA_256 NIST FIPS 186-4,6.4 节,使用密钥指定的曲线并采用SHA-256 实现消息摘要的 ECDSA 签名。
ECC_NIST_P384 ECDSA_SHA_384 NIST FIPS 186-4,6.4 节,使用密钥指定的曲线并采用 SHA-384 实现消息摘要的 ECDSA 签名。
ECC_NIST_P521 ECDSA_SHA_512 NIST FIPS 186-4,6.4 节,使用密钥指定的曲线并采用 SHA-512 实现消息摘要的 ECDSA 签名。
ECC_SECG_P256K1 ECDSA_SHA_256 NIST FIPS 186-4,6.4 节,使用密钥指定的曲线并采用SHA-256 实现消息摘要的 ECDSA 签名。