Managing capacity limits for Amazon OpenSearch Serverless - Amazon OpenSearch Service
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Managing capacity limits for Amazon OpenSearch Serverless

With Amazon OpenSearch Serverless, you don't have to manage capacity yourself. OpenSearch Serverless automatically scales compute capacity for your account based on the current workload. Serverless compute capacity is measured in OpenSearch Compute Units (OCUs). Each OCU is a combination of 6 GiB of memory and corresponding virtual CPU (vCPU), as well as data transfer to Amazon S3. For more information about the decoupled architecture in OpenSearch Serverless, see How it works.

When you create your first collection, OpenSearch Serverless instantiates a total of four OCUs (two for indexing and two for search). These OCUs always exist, even when there's no indexing or search activity. All subsequent collections can share these OCUs (except for collections with unique Amazon KMS keys, which instantiate their own set of four OCUs). If needed, OpenSearch Serverless automatically scales out and adds additional OCUs as your indexing and search usage grows. When traffic on your collection endpoint decreases, capacity scales back down to the minimum number of OCUs required for your data size. At most, it will scale down to 2 OCUs for indexing and 2 OCUs for search.

For search and vector search collections, all data is stored on hot indexes to ensure fast query response times. Time series collections use a combination of hot and warm storage, keeping the most recent data in hot storage to optimize query response times for more frequently accessed data. For more information, see Choosing a collection type.

To manage capacity for your collections and to control costs, you can specify the overall maximum indexing and search capacity for the current account and Region, and OpenSearch Serverless scales out your collection resources automatically based on these specifications.

Because indexing and search capacity scale separately, you specify account-level limits for each:

  • Maximum indexing capacity – OpenSearch Serverless can increase indexing capacity up to this number of OCUs.

  • Maximum search capacity – OpenSearch Serverless can increase search capacity up to this number of OCUs.

Note

At this time, capacity settings only apply at the account level. You can't configure per-collection capacity limits.

Your goal should be to ensure that the maximum capacity is high enough to handle spikes in workload. Based on your settings, OpenSearch Serverless automatically scales out the number of OCUs for your collections to process the indexing and search workload.

Configuring capacity settings

To configure capacity settings in the OpenSearch Serverless console, expand Serverless in the left navigation pane and select Dashboard. Specify the maximum indexing and search capacity under Capacity management:

To configure capacity using the Amazon CLI, send an UpdateAccountSettings request:

aws opensearchserverless update-account-settings \ --capacity-limits '{ "maxIndexingCapacityInOCU": 8,"maxSearchCapacityInOCU": 9 }'

Maximum capacity limits

For all three types of collections, the default maximum capacity is 10 OCUs for indexing and 10 OCUs for search. The minimum allowed capacity for an account is 2 OCUs for indexing and 2 OCUs for search. For all collections, the maximum allowed capacity is 200 OCUs for indexing and 200 OCUs for search. You can configure the OCU count to be any number from 2 to the maximum allowed capacity, in multiples of 2.

Each OCU includes enough hot ephemeral storage for 120 GiB of index data. OpenSearch Serverless supports up to 1 TiB of data per index in search and vector search collections, and 10 TiB of hot data per index in a time series collection. For time series collections, you can still ingest more data, which can be stored as warm data in S3.

For a list of all quotas, see OpenSearch Serverless quotas.

Monitoring capacity usage

You can monitor the SearchOCU and IndexingOCU account-level CloudWatch metrics to understand how your collections are scaling. We recommend that you configure alarms to notify you if your account is approaching a threshold for metrics related to capacity, so you can adjust your capacity settings accordingly.

You can also use these metrics to determine if your maximum capacity settings are appropriate, or if you need to adjust them. Analyze these metrics to focus your efforts for optimizing the efficiency of your collections. For more information about the metrics that OpenSearch Serverless sends to CloudWatch, see Monitoring Amazon OpenSearch Serverless.

管理 Amazon OpenSearch 无服务器的容量限制 - 亚马逊 OpenSearch 服务
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

管理 Amazon OpenSearch 无服务器的容量限制

借助 Amazon OpenSearch 无服务器,您不必自己管理容量。OpenSearch 无服务器会根据当前工作负载为您的账户自动扩缩计算容量。无服务器计算容量以 OpenSearch 计算单位(OCU)来衡量。每个 OCU 是 6GiB 内存和相应的虚拟 CPU(vCPU)以及创建到 Amazon S3 的数据管道的组合。有关 OpenSearch 无服务器中解耦架构的更多信息,请参阅工作方式

当您创建第一个集合时,OpenSearch 无服务器总共会实例化四个 OCU(两个用于索引,两个用于搜索)。即使在没有索引或搜索活动时,这些 OCU 也始终存在。所有后续集合都可以共享这些 OCU(具有唯一 Amazon KMS 键的集合除外,它们会实例化其自己包含四个 OCU 的集合)。如果需要,OpenSearch 无服务器会随着索引和搜索使用量的增长自动横向扩展并添加额外的 OCU。当集合端点上的流量减少时,容量将缩减到数据大小所需的最少 OCU 数。最多将缩减到 2 个用于索引的 OCU 和 2 个用于搜索的 OCU。

对于搜索向量搜索集合,所有数据都将存储在热索引中,以确保快速查询响应时间。时间序列集合使用热存储和温存储的组合,在热存储中保留最新数据,以优化访问频率更高的数据的查询响应时间。有关更多信息,请参阅选择集合类型

为了管理集合容量并控制成本,您可以指定当前账户及区域的总体最大索引和搜索容量,OpenSearch 无服务器会根据这些规范自动横向扩展集合资源。

由于索引和搜索容量单独扩缩,因此您可以为每种容量指定账户级限制:

  • Maximum indexing capacity(最大索引容量):OpenSearch 无服务器最多可将索引容量增加到此数量的 OCU。

  • Maximum search capacity(最大搜索容量):OpenSearch 无服务器最多可将搜索容量增加到此数量的 OCU。

注意

目前,容量设置仅应用于账户级。您无法配置每个集合的容量限制。

您的目标是确保最大容量足以处理工作负载峰值。根据您的设置,OpenSearch 无服务器将为集合自动横向扩展 OCU 数量,以处理索引和搜索工作负载。

配置容量设置

要在 OpenSearch 无服务器控制台中配置容量设置,请展开左侧导航窗格中的 Serverless(无服务器),然后选择 Dashboard(控制面板)。在 Capacity management(容量管理)下,指定最大索引和搜索容量:

要使用 Amazon CLI 配置容量,请发送 UpdateAccountSettings 请求:

aws opensearchserverless update-account-settings \ --capacity-limits '{ "maxIndexingCapacityInOCU": 8,"maxSearchCapacityInOCU": 9 }'

最大容量限制

对于所有三种类型的集合,默认的最大容量为 10 个 OCU 用于索引,10 个 OCU 用于搜索。一个账户的最小允许容量为 2 个 OCU 用于索引,2 个 OCU 用于搜索。对于所有集合,最大允许容量为 200 个 OCU 用于编制索引,200 个 OCU 用于搜索。您可以将 OCU 计数配置为 2 到允许的最大容量(以 2 的倍数表示)之间的任意数字。

每个 OCU 都包含足够的热临时存储,可存储 120 GiB 的索引数据。OpenSearch 无服务器支持搜索向量搜索集合中每个索引最多 1TiB 数据,时间序列集合中每个索引最多 10TiB 热数据。对于时间序列集合,您仍然可以摄取更多数据,这些数据可作为暖数据存储在 S3 中。

有关所有配额的列表,请参阅 OpenSearch 无服务器

监控容量使用情况

您可以监控 SearchOCUIndexingOCU 账户级 CloudWatch 指标,以了解您的集合的扩缩情况。建议您配置警报,以便在您的账户接近与容量相关的指标阈值时通知您,使您能够相应调整容量设置。

您还可以使用这些指标确定您的最大容量设置是否合适,或者是否需要调整它们。分析这些指标,以便您将精力集中在优化集合效率上。有关 OpenSearch 无服务器发送给 CloudWatch 的指标的更多信息,请参阅监控 Amazon OpenSearch 无服务器