Amazon Redshift database encryption - Amazon Redshift
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China (PDF).

Amazon Redshift database encryption

In Amazon Redshift, you can enable database encryption for your clusters to help protect data at rest. When you enable encryption for a cluster, the data blocks and system metadata are encrypted for the cluster and its snapshots.

You can enable encryption when you launch your cluster, or you can modify an unencrypted cluster to use Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) encryption. To do so, you can use either an Amazon-managed key or a customer managed key. When you modify your cluster to enable Amazon KMS encryption, Amazon Redshift automatically migrates your data to a new encrypted cluster. Snapshots created from the encrypted cluster are also encrypted. You can also migrate an encrypted cluster to an unencrypted cluster by modifying the cluster and changing the Encrypt database option. For more information, see Changing cluster encryption.

Though encryption is an optional setting in Amazon Redshift, we recommend that you enable it for clusters that contain sensitive data. Additionally, you might be required to use encryption depending on the guidelines or regulations that govern your data. For example, the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS), the Sarbanes-Oxley Act (SOX), the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), and other such regulations provide guidelines for handling specific types of data.

Amazon Redshift uses a hierarchy of encryption keys to encrypt the database. You can use either Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) or a hardware security module (HSM) to manage the top-level encryption keys in this hierarchy. The process that Amazon Redshift uses for encryption differs depending on how you manage keys. Amazon Redshift automatically integrates with Amazon KMS but not with an HSM. When you use an HSM, you must use client and server certificates to configure a trusted connection between Amazon Redshift and your HSM.

Database encryption for Amazon Redshift using Amazon KMS

When you choose Amazon KMS for key management with Amazon Redshift, there is a four-tier hierarchy of encryption keys. These keys, in hierarchical order, are the root key, a cluster encryption key (CEK), a database encryption key (DEK), and data encryption keys.

When you launch your cluster, Amazon Redshift returns a list of the Amazon KMS keys that your Amazon account has created or has permission to use in Amazon KMS. You select a KMS key to use as your root key in the encryption hierarchy.

By default, Amazon Redshift selects your default key as the root key. Your default key is an Amazon-managed key that is created for your Amazon account to use in Amazon Redshift. Amazon KMS creates this key the first time you launch an encrypted cluster in an Amazon Region and choose the default key.

If you don't want to use the default key, you must have (or create) a customer managed KMS key separately in Amazon KMS before you launch your cluster in Amazon Redshift. Customer managed keys give you more flexibility, including the ability to create, rotate, disable, define access control for, and audit the encryption keys used to help protect your data. For more information about creating KMS keys, see Creating Keys in the Amazon Key Management Service Developer Guide.

If you want to use a Amazon KMS key from another Amazon account, you must have permission to use the key and specify its Amazon Resource Name (ARN) in Amazon Redshift. For more information about access to keys in Amazon KMS, see Controlling Access to Your Keys in the Amazon Key Management Service Developer Guide.

After you choose a root key, Amazon Redshift requests that Amazon KMS generate a data key and encrypt it using the selected root key. This data key is used as the CEK in Amazon Redshift. Amazon KMS exports the encrypted CEK to Amazon Redshift, where it is stored internally on disk in a separate network from the cluster along with the grant to the KMS key and the encryption context for the CEK. Only the encrypted CEK is exported to Amazon Redshift; the KMS key remains in Amazon KMS. Amazon Redshift also passes the encrypted CEK over a secure channel to the cluster and loads it into memory. Then, Amazon Redshift calls Amazon KMS to decrypt the CEK and loads the decrypted CEK into memory. For more information about grants, encryption context, and other Amazon KMS-related concepts, see Concepts in the Amazon Key Management Service Developer Guide.

Next, Amazon Redshift randomly generates a key to use as the DEK and loads it into memory in the cluster. The decrypted CEK is used to encrypt the DEK, which is then passed over a secure channel from the cluster to be stored internally by Amazon Redshift on disk in a separate network from the cluster. Like the CEK, both the encrypted and decrypted versions of the DEK are loaded into memory in the cluster. The decrypted version of the DEK is then used to encrypt the individual encryption keys that are randomly generated for each data block in the database.

When the cluster reboots, Amazon Redshift starts with the internally stored, encrypted versions of the CEK and DEK, reloads them into memory, and then calls Amazon KMS to decrypt the CEK with the KMS key again so it can be loaded into memory. The decrypted CEK is then used to decrypt the DEK again, and the decrypted DEK is loaded into memory and used to encrypt and decrypt the data block keys as needed.

For more information about creating Amazon Redshift clusters that are encrypted with Amazon KMS keys, see Creating a cluster and Managing clusters using the Amazon CLI and Amazon Redshift API.

Copying Amazon KMS–encrypted snapshots to another Amazon Region

Amazon KMS keys are specific to an Amazon Region. If you enable copying of Amazon Redshift snapshots to another Amazon Region, and the source cluster and its snapshots are encrypted using a root key from Amazon KMS, you need to configure a grant for Amazon Redshift to use a root key in the destination Amazon Region. This grant enables Amazon Redshift to encrypt snapshots in the destination Amazon Region. For more information about cross-Region snapshot copy, see Copying snapshots to another Amazon Region.

Note

If you enable copying of snapshots from an encrypted cluster and use Amazon KMS for your root key, you cannot rename your cluster because the cluster name is part of the encryption context. If you must rename your cluster, you can disable copying of snapshots in the source Amazon Region, rename the cluster, and then configure and enable copying of snapshots again.

The process to configure the grant for copying snapshots is as follows.

  1. In the destination Amazon Region, create a snapshot copy grant by doing the following:

    • If you do not already have an Amazon KMS key to use, create one. For more information about creating Amazon KMS keys, see Creating Keys in the Amazon Key Management Service Developer Guide.

    • Specify a name for the snapshot copy grant. This name must be unique in that Amazon Region for your Amazon account.

    • Specify the Amazon KMS key ID for which you are creating the grant. If you do not specify a key ID, the grant applies to your default key.

  2. In the source Amazon Region, enable copying of snapshots and specify the name of the snapshot copy grant that you created in the destination Amazon Region.

This preceding process is only necessary if you enable copying of snapshots using the Amazon CLI, the Amazon Redshift API, or SDKs. If you use the console, Amazon Redshift provides the proper workflow to configure the grant when you enable cross-Region snapshot copy. For more information about configuring cross-Region snapshot copy for Amazon KMS-encrypted clusters by using the console, see Configure cross-Region snapshot copy for an Amazon KMS–encrypted cluster.

Before the snapshot is copied to the destination Amazon Region, Amazon Redshift decrypts the snapshot using the root key in the source Amazon Region and re-encrypts it temporarily using a randomly generated RSA key that Amazon Redshift manages internally. Amazon Redshift then copies the snapshot over a secure channel to the destination Amazon Region, decrypts the snapshot using the internally managed RSA key, and then re-encrypts the snapshot using the root key in the destination Amazon Region.

For more information about configuring snapshot copy grants for Amazon KMS-encrypted clusters, see Configuring Amazon Redshift to use Amazon KMS encryption keys using the Amazon Redshift API and Amazon CLI.

Encryption for Amazon Redshift using hardware security modules

If you don't use Amazon KMS for key management, you can use a hardware security module (HSM) for key management with Amazon Redshift.

Important

HSM encryption is not supported for DC2 and RA3 node types.

HSMs are devices that provide direct control of key generation and management. They provide greater security by separating key management from the application and database layers. Amazon Redshift supports Amazon CloudHSM Classic for key management. The encryption process is different when you use HSM to manage your encryption keys instead of Amazon KMS.

Important

Amazon Redshift supports only Amazon CloudHSM Classic. We don't support the newer Amazon CloudHSM service.

Amazon CloudHSM Classic is closed to new customers. For more information, see CloudHSM Classic Pricing. Amazon CloudHSM Classic isn't available in all Amazon Regions. For more information about available Amazon Regions, see Amazon Region Table.

When you configure your cluster to use an HSM, Amazon Redshift sends a request to the HSM to generate and store a key to be used as the CEK. However, unlike Amazon KMS, the HSM doesn’t export the CEK to Amazon Redshift. Instead, Amazon Redshift randomly generates the DEK in the cluster and passes it to the HSM to be encrypted by the CEK. The HSM returns the encrypted DEK to Amazon Redshift, where it is further encrypted using a randomly-generated, internal root key and stored internally on disk in a separate network from the cluster. Amazon Redshift also loads the decrypted version of the DEK in memory in the cluster so that the DEK can be used to encrypt and decrypt the individual keys for the data blocks.

If the cluster is rebooted, Amazon Redshift decrypts the internally-stored, double-encrypted DEK using the internal root key to return the internally stored DEK to the CEK-encrypted state. The CEK-encrypted DEK is then passed to the HSM to be decrypted and passed back to Amazon Redshift, where it can be loaded in memory again for use with the individual data block keys.

Configuring a trusted connection between Amazon Redshift and an HSM

When you opt to use an HSM for management of your cluster key, you need to configure a trusted network link between Amazon Redshift and your HSM. Doing this requires configuration of client and server certificates. The trusted connection is used to pass the encryption keys between the HSM and Amazon Redshift during encryption and decryption operations.

Amazon Redshift creates a public client certificate from a randomly generated private and public key pair. These are encrypted and stored internally. You download and register the public client certificate in your HSM, and assign it to the applicable HSM partition.

You provide Amazon Redshift with the HSM IP address, HSM partition name, HSM partition password, and a public HSM server certificate, which is encrypted by using an internal root key. Amazon Redshift completes the configuration process and verifies that it can connect to the HSM. If it cannot, the cluster is put into the INCOMPATIBLE_HSM state and the cluster is not created. In this case, you must delete the incomplete cluster and try again.

Important

When you modify your cluster to use a different HSM partition, Amazon Redshift verifies that it can connect to the new partition, but it does not verify that a valid encryption key exists. Before you use the new partition, you must replicate your keys to the new partition. If the cluster is restarted and Amazon Redshift cannot find a valid key, the restart fails. For more information, see Replicating Keys Across HSMs.

After initial configuration, if Amazon Redshift fails to connect to the HSM, an event is logged. For more information about these events, see Amazon Redshift Event Notifications.

Encryption key rotation in Amazon Redshift

In Amazon Redshift, you can rotate encryption keys for encrypted clusters. When you start the key rotation process, Amazon Redshift rotates the CEK for the specified cluster and for any automated or manual snapshots of the cluster. Amazon Redshift also rotates the DEK for the specified cluster, but cannot rotate the DEK for the snapshots while they are stored internally in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) and encrypted using the existing DEK.

While the rotation is in progress, the cluster is put into a ROTATING_KEYS state until completion, at which time the cluster returns to the AVAILABLE state. Amazon Redshift handles decryption and re-encryption during the key rotation process.

Note

You cannot rotate keys for snapshots without a source cluster. Before you delete a cluster, consider whether its snapshots rely on key rotation.

Because the cluster is momentarily unavailable during the key rotation process, you should rotate keys only as often as your data needs require or when you suspect the keys might have been compromised. As a best practice, you should review the type of data that you store and plan how often to rotate the keys that encrypt that data. The frequency for rotating keys varies depending on your corporate policies for data security, and any industry standards regarding sensitive data and regulatory compliance. Ensure that your plan balances security needs with availability considerations for your cluster.

For more information about rotating keys, see Rotating encryption keys using the Amazon Redshift console and Rotating encryption keys using the Amazon Redshift API and Amazon CLI.

Amazon Redshift 数据库加密 - Amazon Redshift
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

Amazon Redshift 数据库加密

在 Amazon Redshift 中,您可以为集群启用数据库加密,以保护静态数据。为集群启用加密时,会对集群及其快照的数据块和系统元数据进行加密。

您可以在启动集群时启用加密,也可以修改未加密的集群以使用 Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) 加密。为此,您可以使用 Amazon 托管式密钥或客户托管式密钥。当您修改集群以启用 Amazon KMS 加密时,Amazon Redshift 会自动将您的数据迁移到新加密的集群。从加密集群创建的快照也会被加密。您还可以通过修改集群和更改 Encrypt database(加密数据库)选项将加密的集群迁移到未加密的集群。有关更多信息,请参阅 更改集群加密

虽然加密是 Amazon Redshift 中的一项可选设置,但我们建议您为包含敏感数据的集群启用该设置。此外,根据管理数据的准则或法规,您可能需要使用加密。例如,支付卡行业数据安全标准 (PCI DSS)、萨班斯-奥克斯利法 (SOX)、健康保险流通与责任法案 (HIPAA) 以及其他此类法规为处理特定类型数据提供了准则。

Amazon Redshift 使用加密密钥层次结构来加密数据库。您可以使用 Amazon Key Management Service (Amazon KMS) 或硬件安全模块 (HSM) 来管理该层次结构中的顶级加密密钥。Amazon Redshift 用于加密的流程因您管理密钥的方式而异。Amazon Redshift 自动集成了 Amazon KMS 但没有集成 HSM。当您使用 HSM 时,必须使用客户端和服务器证书在 Amazon Redshift 和 HSM 之间配置受信任的连接。

使用 Amazon KMS 为 Amazon Redshift 进行数据库加密

当您选择 Amazon KMS 对 Amazon Redshift 进行密钥管理时,加密密钥层次结构有四层。按层次顺序,这些密钥是根密钥、集群加密密钥(CEK)、数据库加密密钥(DEK)和数据加密密钥。

当您启动集群时,Amazon Redshift 会返回 Amazon KMS keys 列表,此列表为您的 Amazon 账户所创建或有权在 Amazon KMS 中使用。在加密层次结构中选择要用作根密钥的 KMS 密钥。

默认情况下,Amazon Redshift 选择您的默认密钥作为根密钥。您的默认密钥是由 Amazon 管理的密钥,系统为您的 Amazon 账户创建该密钥,以便在 Amazon Redshift 中使用。当您首次启动 Amazon 区域中某个已加密的集群并选择默认密钥时,Amazon KMS 便会创建此密钥。

如果不希望使用默认密钥,在 Amazon Redshift 中启动集群之前,您必须在 Amazon KMS 中单独拥有(或创建)一个客户托管式 KMS 密钥。客户托管式密钥可为您提供更大灵活度,包括创建、转动、禁用、定义访问控制,以及审计用于保护数据的加密密钥的能力。有关创建 KMS 密钥的更多信息,请参阅《Amazon Key Management Service 开发人员指南》中的创建密钥

如果您希望使用其他 Amazon 账户中的 Amazon KMS 密钥,则您必须有权使用该密钥并在 Amazon Redshift 中指定其 Amazon Resource Name (ARN)。有关在 Amazon KMS 中访问密钥的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Key Management Service 开发人员指南中的控制对您的密钥的访问

当您选择根密钥之后,Amazon Redshift 会请求 Amazon KMS 生成数据密钥,并使用所选的根密钥对其进行加密。此数据密钥在 Amazon Redshift 中用作 CEK。Amazon KMS 将已加密的 CEK 导出到 Amazon Redshift 中,该 CEK 以及对 KMS 密钥的授权和 CEK 的加密上下文在独立于该集群的网络中的磁盘内部存储。只有加密的 CEK 才会导出到 Amazon Redshift;KMS 密钥仍保留在 Amazon KMS 中。Amazon Redshift 还会通过安全通道将已加密的 CEK 传递到集群中,并将其加载到内存中。然后,Amazon Redshift 会调用 Amazon KMS 以解密 CEK,并将已解密的 CEK 加载到内存中。有关授予、加密上下文和其他 Amazon KMS 相关概念,请参阅 Amazon Key Management Service 开发人员指南中的概念

接着,Amazon Redshift 会随机生成一个密钥以用作 DEK,并将其加载到集群的内存中。已解密的 CEK 用于加密 DEK,然后,Amazon Redshift 便会通过安全通道从该集群传递 DEK,以使其在独立于该集群的网络中的磁盘内部存储。与 CEK 一样,DEK 的加密版本和解密版本都会加载到集群中的内存中。然后,DEK 的解密版本将用于加密为数据库中的每个数据块随机生成的各个加密密钥。

当该集群重启时,Amazon Redshift 先使用内部存储的加密版 CEK 和 DEK,将其重新加载到内存中,然后调用 Amazon KMS 以再次使用 KMS 密钥解密 CEK,以便其加载到内存中。然后使用解密的 CEK 再次解密 DEK,并将解密的 DEK 加载到内存中,并根据需要用于加密和解密数据块密钥。

有关创建使用 Amazon KMS 密钥加密的 Amazon Redshift 集群的更多信息,请参阅创建集群使用 Amazon CLI 和 Amazon Redshift API 管理集群

将 Amazon KMS 加密的快照复制到另一个 Amazon 区域

Amazon KMS 密钥特定于 Amazon 区域。如果您启用将 Amazon Redshift 快照复制到另一个 Amazon 区域的功能,并且源集群及其快照使用 Amazon KMS 中的根密钥进行加密,则您需要为 Amazon Redshift 配置授权,以便在目标 Amazon 区域中使用根密钥。此授权使 Amazon Redshift 可以在目标 Amazon 区域中加密快照。有关跨区域快照复制的更多信息,请参阅将快照复制到另一个 Amazon 区域

注意

如果您启用已加密集群中的快照复制功能,并针对根密钥使用 Amazon KMS,则无法重命名集群,因为集群名称是加密上下文的一部分。如果您必须重命名集群,则可以禁用在源 Amazon 区域中复制快照,重命名集群,然后再次配置并启用快照复制。

配置复制快照的授权的过程如下所示。

  1. 在目标 Amazon 区域中,通过执行以下操作创建快照复制授权:

    • 如果您没有 Amazon KMS 密钥可用,请创建一个。有关创建 Amazon KMS 密钥的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Key Management Service 开发人员指南中的创建密钥

    • 指定快照复制授权的名称。此名称必须在您的 Amazon 账户的 Amazon 区域中唯一。

    • 为您创建的授权指定 Amazon KMS 密钥 ID。如果您未指定密钥 ID,则该授予会应用于您的默认密钥。

  2. 在源 Amazon 区域中,启用快照复制并指定您在目标 Amazon 区域中创建的快照复制授权的名称。

前述流程仅适用于您使用 Amazon CLI、Amazon Redshift API 或开发工具包启用快照复制功能的情况。如果您使用控制台,在您启用跨区域快照复制时,Amazon Redshift 将提供相应的工作流程以配置授权。有关使用控制台为 Amazon KMS 加密的集群配置跨区域快照复制的更多信息,请参阅为 Amazon KMS 加密的集群配置跨区域快照复制

快照复制到目标 Amazon 区域之前,Amazon Redshift 使用源 Amazon 区域中的根密钥解密快照并使用 Amazon Redshift 内部管理的随机生成的 RSA 密钥临时对其进行重新加密。然后,Amazon Redshift 将快照通过安全通道复制到目标 Amazon 区域,使用内部托管式 RSA 密钥解密快照,然后使用目标 Amazon 区域中的根密钥重新加密快照。

有关为 Amazon KMS 加密的集群配置快照复制授权的更多信息,请参阅将 Amazon Redshift 配置为通过 Amazon Redshift API 和 Amazon CLI 使用 Amazon KMS 加密密钥

使用硬件安全模块的 Amazon Redshift 加密

如果您不使用 Amazon KMS 管理密钥,则可以使用硬件安全模块 (HSM) 在 Amazon Redshift 中管理密钥。

重要

DC2 和 RA3 节点类型不支持 HSM 加密。

HSM 是直接控制密钥生成和管理的设备。HSM 使密钥管理独立于应用程序和数据库层,以提供更强的安全性。Amazon Redshift 支持 Amazon CloudHSM Classic 进行密钥管理。使用 HSM 管理加密密钥的加密流程与 Amazon KMS 不同。

重要

Amazon Redshift 仅支持 Amazon CloudHSM Classic。我们不支持较新的 Amazon CloudHSM 服务。

Amazon CloudHSM Classic 不对新客户开放。有关更多信息,请参阅 CloudHSM Classic 定价。Amazon CloudHSMClassic 并非在所有 Amazon 区域可用。有关可用 Amazon 区域的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon 区域列表

当您配置集群以使用 HSM 时,Amazon Redshift 会向 HSM 发出请求,以生成并存储要用作 CEK 的密钥。不过,与 Amazon KMS 不同,HSM 不会将 CEK 导出到 Amazon Redshift 中。Amazon Redshift 会在集群中随机生成 DEK,并将其传递到 HSM 中,由 CEK 进行加密。HSM 会将已加密的 DEK 返回到 Amazon Redshift 中,由随机生成的内部根密钥进行加密并在独立于该集群的网络中的磁盘内部存储。Amazon Redshift 还会将解密版 DEK 加载到集群的内存中,以便 DEK 可用于加密和解密数据块的各个密钥。

如果该集群重启,则 Amazon Redshift 会使用内部根密钥解密内部存储的双重加密 DEK,以将内部存储的 DEK 还原为 CEK 加密状态。然后,CEK 加密的 DEK 会传递到 HSM 进行加密并传递回 Amazon Redshift,以便再次加载到内存中用于各个数据块密钥。

在 Amazon Redshift 和 HSM 之间配置受信任的连接

如果您选择使用 HSM 管理集群密钥,则需要在 Amazon Redshift 和 HSM 之间配置受信任的网络连接。执行此操作需要配置客户端和服务器证书。在加密和解密操作过程中,受信任的连接用于在 HSM 和 Amazon Redshift 之间传递加密密钥。

Amazon Redshift 会通过随机生成的私有和公有键前缀创建公有客户端证书。这些都进行了加密,并在内部存储。您可以在 HSM 中下载并注册公有客户端证书,并将其分配给适用的 HSM 分区。

您需要为 Amazon Redshift 提供 HSM IP 地址、HSM 分区名称、HSM 分区密码以及公有 HSM 服务器证书,该证书使用内部根密钥进行了加密。Amazon Redshift 会完成配置流程并验证其能否连接到 HSM。如果无法使用,则集群将进入 INCOMPATIBLE_HSM 状态,并且不会创建集群。在这种情况下,您必须删除不完整的集群,然后重试。

重要

当您将集群修改为使用其他 HSM 分区时,Amazon Redshift 将验证它是否能连接到新分区,但不会验证是否存在有效的加密密钥。在使用新分区之前,您必须将密钥复制到新分区。如果集群已重新启动,而 Amazon Redshift 无法找到有效密钥,重新启动将失败。有关更多信息,请参阅在 HSM 中复制密钥

有关配置 Amazon Redshift 以使用 HSM 的更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon Redshift 控制台配置 Amazon Redshift 以使用 HSM将 Amazon Redshift 配置为通过 Amazon Redshift API 和 Amazon CLI 使用 HSM

初始配置之后,如果 Amazon Redshift 无法连接到 HSM,则系统会记录一个事件。有关这些事件的更多信息,请参阅 Amazon Redshift 事件通知

Amazon Redshift 中的加密密钥轮换

在 Amazon Redshift 中,您可以轮换已加密集群的加密密钥。当您启动密钥轮换流程时,Amazon Redshift 会轮换指定集群以及该集群的任何自动或手动快照的 CEK。Amazon Redshift 还会轮换指定集群的 DEK,但不会轮换快照的 DEK,而这些快照在 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 内部存储并使用现有 DEK 进行了加密。

在轮换进行过程中,该集群将处于 ROTATING_KEYS 状态一直到轮换完成为止,届时,该集群将还原为 AVAILABLE 状态。Amazon Redshift 会在密钥轮换过程中处理解密和重新加密。

注意

如果没有源集群,则无法轮换快照的密钥。在删除集群之前,请考虑其快照是否依赖密钥轮换。

由于集群在密钥轮换过程中暂时不可用,因此您应该只在数据需求需要时或在怀疑密钥可能已被破坏时轮换密钥。作为最佳实践,您应该查看存储的数据的类型,并计划对该数据进行加密的密钥的轮换频率。轮换密钥的频率取决于贵公司的数据安全策略以及关于敏感数据和监管合规的任何行业标准。确保您的计划平衡安全需求和集群的可用性考虑因素。

有关轮换密钥的更多信息,请参阅使用 Amazon Redshift 控制台轮换加密密钥使用 Amazon Redshift API 和 Amazon CLI 轮换加密密钥