Working with email templates in Amazon SES - Amazon SDK for JavaScript
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

The Amazon SDK for JavaScript V3 API Reference Guide describes in detail all the API operations for the Amazon SDK for JavaScript version 3 (V3).

Starting October 1, 2022, Amazon SDK for JavaScript (v3) will end support for Internet Explorer 11 (IE 11). For details, see Announcing the end of support for Internet Explorer 11 in the Amazon SDK for JavaScript (v3).

Working with email templates in Amazon SES

JavaScript code example that applies to Node.js execution

This Node.js code example shows:

  • How to get a list of all of your email templates.

  • How to retrieve and update email templates.

  • How to create and delete email templates.

Amazon SES enables you ro send personalized email messages using email templates. For details on how to create and use email templates in Amazon SES, see Sending personalized email using the Amazon SES API in the Amazon Simple Email Service Developer Guide.

The scenario

In this example, you use a series of Node.js modules to work with email templates. The Node.js modules use the SDK for JavaScript to create and use email templates using these methods of the SES client class:

Prerequisite tasks

To set up and run this example, you must first complete these tasks:

  • Set up the project environment to run these Node TypeScript examples, and install the required Amazon SDK for JavaScript and third-party modules. Follow the instructions on GitHub.

Important

These examples demonstrate how to import/export client service objects and command using ECMAScript6 (ES6).

Listing your email templates

In this example, use a Node.js module to create an email template to use with Amazon SES.

Create a libs directory, and create a Node.js module with the file name sesClient.js. Copy and paste the code below into it, which creates the Amazon SES client object. Replace REGION with your Amazon Region.

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Create a Node.js module with the file name ses_listtemplates.js. Configure the SDK as previously shown, including installing the required clients and packages.

Create an object to pass the parameters for the ListTemplatesCommand method of the SES client class. To call the ListTemplatesCommand method, invoke an Amazon SES client service object, passing the parameters.

Note

This example imports and uses the required Amazon Service V3 package clients, V3 commands, and uses the send method in an async/await pattern. You can create this example using V2 commands instead by making some minor changes. For details, see Using V3 commands.

Note

Replace ITEMS_COUNT with the maximum number of templates to return. The value must be a minimum of 1 and a maximum of 10.

import { ListTemplatesCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; const createListTemplatesCommand = (maxItems) => new ListTemplatesCommand({ MaxItems: maxItems }); const run = async () => { const listTemplatesCommand = createListTemplatesCommand(10); try { return await sesClient.send(listTemplatesCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to list templates.", err); return err; } };

To run the example, enter the following at the command prompt. Amazon SES returns the list of templates.

node ses_listtemplates.js

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Getting an email template

In this example, use a Node.js module to get an email template to use with Amazon SES.

Create a libs directory, and create a Node.js module with the file name sesClient.js. Copy and paste the code below into it, which creates the Amazon SES client object. Replace REGION with your Amazon Region.

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Create a Node.js module with the file name ses_gettemplate.js. Configure the SDK as previously shown, including installing the required clients and packages.

Create an object to pass the TemplateName parameter for the GetTemplateCommand method of the SES client class. To call the GetTemplateCommand method, invoke an Amazon SES client service object, passing the parameters.

Note

This example imports and uses the required Amazon Service V3 package clients, V3 commands, and uses the send method in an async/await pattern. You can create this example using V2 commands instead by making some minor changes. For details, see Using V3 commands.

Note

Replace TEMPLATE_NAME with the name of the template to return.

import { GetTemplateCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { getUniqueName } from "../../libs/index"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; const TEMPLATE_NAME = getUniqueName("TemplateName"); const createGetTemplateCommand = (templateName) => new GetTemplateCommand({ TemplateName: templateName }); const run = async () => { const getTemplateCommand = createGetTemplateCommand(TEMPLATE_NAME); try { return await sesClient.send(getTemplateCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to get email template.", err); return err; } };

To run the example, enter the following at the command prompt. Amazon SES returns the template details.

node ses_gettemplate.js

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Creating an email template

In this example, use a Node.js module to create an email template to use with Amazon SES.

Create a libs directory, and create a Node.js module with the file name sesClient.js. Copy and paste the code below into it, which creates the Amazon SES client object. Replace REGION with your Amazon Region.

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Create a Node.js module with the file name ses_createtemplate.js. Configure the SDK as previously shown, including installing the required clients and packages.

Create an object to pass the parameters for the CreateTemplateCommand method of the SES client class, including TemplateName, HtmlPart, SubjectPart, and TextPart. To call the CreateTemplateCommand method, invoke an Amazon SES client service object, passing the parameters.

Note

This example imports and uses the required Amazon Service V3 package clients, V3 commands, and uses the send method in an async/await pattern. You can create this example using V2 commands instead by making some minor changes. For details, see Using V3 commands.

Note

This example imports and uses the required Amazon Service V3 package clients, V3 commands, and uses the send method in an async/await pattern. You can create this example using V2 commands instead by making some minor changes. For details, see Using V3 commands.

Note

Replace TEMPLATE_NAME with a name for the new template, HTML_CONTENT with the HTML tagged content of email, SUBJECT with the subject of the email, and TEXT_CONTENT with the text of the email.

import { CreateTemplateCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; import { getUniqueName } from "../../libs/index.js"; const TEMPLATE_NAME = getUniqueName("TestTemplateName"); const createCreateTemplateCommand = () => { return new CreateTemplateCommand({ /** * The template feature in Amazon SES is based on the Handlebars template system. */ Template: { /** * The name of an existing template in Amazon SES. */ TemplateName: TEMPLATE_NAME, HtmlPart: ` <h1>Hello, {{contact.firstName}}!</h1> <p> Did you know Amazon has a mascot named Peccy? </p> `, SubjectPart: "Amazon Tip", }, }); }; const run = async () => { const createTemplateCommand = createCreateTemplateCommand(); try { return await sesClient.send(createTemplateCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to create template.", err); return err; } };

To run the example, enter the following at the command prompt. The template is added to Amazon SES.

node ses_createtemplate.js

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Updating an email template

In this example, use a Node.js module to create an email template to use with Amazon SES.

Create a libs directory, and create a Node.js module with the file name sesClient.js. Copy and paste the code below into it, which creates the Amazon SES client object. Replace REGION with your Amazon Region.

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Create a Node.js module with the file name ses_updatetemplate.js. Configure the SDK as previously shown, including installing the required clients and packages.

Create an object to pass the Template parameter values you want to update in the template, with the required TemplateName parameter passed to the UpdateTemplateCommand method of the SES client class. To call the UpdateTemplateCommand method, invoke an Amazon SES service object, passing the parameters.

Note

This example imports and uses the required Amazon Service V3 package clients, V3 commands, and uses the send method in an async/await pattern. You can create this example using V2 commands instead by making some minor changes. For details, see Using V3 commands.

Note

Replace TEMPLATE_NAME with a name of the template, HTML_CONTENT with the HTML tagged content of email, SUBJECT with the subject of the email, and TEXT_CONTENT with the text of the email.

import { UpdateTemplateCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { getUniqueName } from "../../libs/index.js"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; const TEMPLATE_NAME = getUniqueName("TemplateName"); const HTML_PART = "<h1>Hello, World!</h1>"; const createUpdateTemplateCommand = () => { return new UpdateTemplateCommand({ Template: { TemplateName: TEMPLATE_NAME, HtmlPart: HTML_PART, SubjectPart: "Example", TextPart: "Updated template text.", }, }); }; const run = async () => { const updateTemplateCommand = createUpdateTemplateCommand(); try { return await sesClient.send(updateTemplateCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to update template.", err); return err; } };

To run the example, enter the following at the command prompt. Amazon SES returns the template details.

node ses_updatetemplate.js

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Deleting an email template

In this example, use a Node.js module to create an email template to use with Amazon SES.

Create a libs directory, and create a Node.js module with the file name sesClient.js. Copy and paste the code below into it, which creates the Amazon SES client object. Replace REGION with your Amazon Region.

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

Create a Node.js module with the file name ses_deletetemplate.js. Configure the SDK as previously shown, including installing the required clients and packages.

Create an object to pass the requiredTemplateName parameter to the DeleteTemplateCommand method of the SES client class. To call the DeleteTemplateCommand method, invoke an Amazon SES service object, passing the parameters.

Note

This example imports and uses the required Amazon Service V3 package clients, V3 commands, and uses the send method in an async/await pattern. You can create this example using V2 commands instead by making some minor changes. For details, see Using V3 commands.

Note

Replace TEMPLATE_NAME with the name of the template to be deleted.

import { DeleteTemplateCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { getUniqueName } from "../../libs/index.js"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; const TEMPLATE_NAME = getUniqueName("TemplateName"); const createDeleteTemplateCommand = (templateName) => new DeleteTemplateCommand({ TemplateName: templateName }); const run = async () => { const deleteTemplateCommand = createDeleteTemplateCommand(TEMPLATE_NAME); try { return await sesClient.send(deleteTemplateCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to delete template.", err); return err; } };

To run the example, enter the following at the command prompt. Amazon SES returns the template details.

node ses_deletetemplate.js

This example code can be found here on GitHub.

在 Amazon SES 中使用电子邮件模板 - Amazon SDK for JavaScript
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅 中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门 (PDF)

Amazon SDK for JavaScript V3 API 参考指南详细描述了 Amazon SDK for JavaScript 版本 3 (V3) 的所有 API 操作。

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

在 Amazon SES 中使用电子邮件模板

JavaScript code example that applies to Node.js execution

此 Node.js 代码示例演示:

  • 如何获取所有电子邮件模板的列表。

  • 如何检索和更新电子邮件模板。

  • 如何创建和删除电子邮件模板。

通过 Amazon SES,您可以使用电子邮件模板发送个性化的电子邮件。有关如何在 Amazon SES 中创建和使用电子邮件模板的详细信息,请参阅《Amazon Simple Email Service 开发人员指南》中的通过 Amazon SES API 发送个性化电子邮件

情景

在本示例中,您使用一系列 Node.js 模块来处理电子邮件模板。Node.js 模块使用的 SDK JavaScript ,使用SES客户端类的以下方法来创建和使用电子邮件模板:

完成先决条件任务

要设置和运行此示例,您必须先完成以下任务:

  • 设置项目环境以运行这些 Node TypeScript 示例,并安装所需的模块 Amazon SDK for JavaScript 和第三方模块。按照上的说明进行操作 GitHub

  • 使用用户凭证创建共享配置文件。有关提供共享凭证文件的更多信息,请参阅《Amazon SDK 和工具参考指南》 中的共享配置和凭证文件

重要

这些示例演示了如何使用 ECMAScript6(ES6)导入/导出客户端服务对象和命令。

列出电子邮件模板

在本示例中,使用 Node.js 模块创建用于 Amazon SES 的电子邮件模板。

创建一个 libs 目录,然后使用文件名 sesClient.js 创建一个 Node.js 模块。将以下代码复制并粘贴到其中,这将创建 Amazon SES 客户端对象。将 “区域” 替换为您的 “ Amazon 区域”。

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

创建文件名为 ses_listtemplates.js 的 Node.js 模块。如前所示配置 SDK,包括安装所需的客户端和软件包。

创建对象,为 SES 客户端类的 ListTemplatesCommand 方法传递参数。要调用 ListTemplatesCommand 方法,请调用一个 Amazon SES 客户端服务对象来传递参数。

注意

此示例导入并使用所需的 S Amazon ervice V3 包客户端、V3 命令,并以异步/等待模式使用该send方法。您可以改用 V2 命令创建此示例,方法是进行一些细微的更改。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 v3 命令

注意

ITEMS_COUNT 替换为要返回的最大模板数。取值范围为 1-10。

import { ListTemplatesCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; const createListTemplatesCommand = (maxItems) => new ListTemplatesCommand({ MaxItems: maxItems }); const run = async () => { const listTemplatesCommand = createListTemplatesCommand(10); try { return await sesClient.send(listTemplatesCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to list templates.", err); return err; } };

要运行示例,请在命令提示符中键入以下内容。Amazon SES 会返回模板列表。

node ses_listtemplates.js

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

获取电子邮件模板

在本示例中,使用 Node.js 模块获取用于 Amazon SES 的电子邮件模板。

创建一个 libs 目录,然后使用文件名 sesClient.js 创建一个 Node.js 模块。将以下代码复制并粘贴到其中,这将创建 Amazon SES 客户端对象。将 “区域” 替换为您的 “ Amazon 区域”。

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

创建文件名为 ses_gettemplate.js 的 Node.js 模块。如前所示配置 SDK,包括安装所需的客户端和软件包。

创建对象,为 SES 客户端类的 GetTemplateCommand 方法传递 TemplateName 参数。要调用 GetTemplateCommand 方法,请调用一个 Amazon SES 客户端服务对象来传递参数。

注意

此示例导入并使用所需的 S Amazon ervice V3 包客户端、V3 命令,并以异步/等待模式使用该send方法。您可以改用 V2 命令创建此示例,方法是进行一些细微的更改。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 v3 命令

注意

TEMPLATE_NAME 替换为要返回的模板的名称。

import { GetTemplateCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { getUniqueName } from "@aws-doc-sdk-examples/lib/utils/util-string.js"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; const TEMPLATE_NAME = getUniqueName("TemplateName"); const createGetTemplateCommand = (templateName) => new GetTemplateCommand({ TemplateName: templateName }); const run = async () => { const getTemplateCommand = createGetTemplateCommand(TEMPLATE_NAME); try { return await sesClient.send(getTemplateCommand); } catch (caught) { if (caught instanceof Error && caught.name === "MessageRejected") { /** @type { import('@aws-sdk/client-ses').MessageRejected} */ const messageRejectedError = caught; return messageRejectedError; } throw caught; } };

要运行示例,请在命令提示符中键入以下内容。Amazon SES 会返回模板详细信息。

node ses_gettemplate.js

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

创建电子邮件模板

在本示例中,使用 Node.js 模块创建用于 Amazon SES 的电子邮件模板。

创建一个 libs 目录,然后使用文件名 sesClient.js 创建一个 Node.js 模块。将以下代码复制并粘贴到其中,这将创建 Amazon SES 客户端对象。将 “区域” 替换为您的 “ Amazon 区域”。

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

创建文件名为 ses_createtemplate.js 的 Node.js 模块。如前所示配置 SDK,包括安装所需的客户端和软件包。

创建一个对象来为 SES 客户端类的 CreateTemplateCommand 方法传递参数,其中包括 TemplateNameHtmlPartSubjectPartTextPart。要调用 CreateTemplateCommand 方法,请调用一个 Amazon SES 客户端服务对象来传递参数。

注意

此示例导入并使用所需的 S Amazon ervice V3 包客户端、V3 命令,并以异步/等待模式使用该send方法。您可以改用 V2 命令创建此示例,方法是进行一些细微的更改。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 v3 命令

注意

此示例导入并使用所需的 S Amazon ervice V3 包客户端、V3 命令,并以异步/等待模式使用该send方法。您可以改用 V2 命令创建此示例,方法是进行一些细微的更改。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 v3 命令

注意

TEMPLATE_NAME 替换为新模板的名称,将 HTML_CONTENT 替换为带有 HTML 标签的电子邮件内容,将 SUBJECT 替换为电子邮件的主题,将 TEXT_CONTENT 替换为电子邮件的文本。

import { CreateTemplateCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; import { getUniqueName } from "@aws-doc-sdk-examples/lib/utils/util-string.js"; const TEMPLATE_NAME = getUniqueName("TestTemplateName"); const createCreateTemplateCommand = () => { return new CreateTemplateCommand({ /** * The template feature in Amazon SES is based on the Handlebars template system. */ Template: { /** * The name of an existing template in Amazon SES. */ TemplateName: TEMPLATE_NAME, HtmlPart: ` <h1>Hello, {{contact.firstName}}!</h1> <p> Did you know Amazon has a mascot named Peccy? </p> `, SubjectPart: "Amazon Tip", }, }); }; const run = async () => { const createTemplateCommand = createCreateTemplateCommand(); try { return await sesClient.send(createTemplateCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to create template.", err); return err; } };

要运行示例,请在命令提示符中键入以下内容。该模板已添加到 Amazon SES。

node ses_createtemplate.js

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

更新电子邮件模板

在本示例中,使用 Node.js 模块创建用于 Amazon SES 的电子邮件模板。

创建一个 libs 目录,然后使用文件名 sesClient.js 创建一个 Node.js 模块。将以下代码复制并粘贴到其中,这将创建 Amazon SES 客户端对象。将 “区域” 替换为您的 “ Amazon 区域”。

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

创建文件名为 ses_updatetemplate.js 的 Node.js 模块。如前所示配置 SDK,包括安装所需的客户端和软件包。

创建一个对象来传递您在模板中要更新的 Template 参数值,并将必需的 TemplateName 参数传递到 SES 客户端类的 UpdateTemplateCommand 方法。要调用 UpdateTemplateCommand 方法,请调用一个 Amazon SES 服务对象来传递参数。

注意

此示例导入并使用所需的 S Amazon ervice V3 包客户端、V3 命令,并以异步/等待模式使用该send方法。您可以改用 V2 命令创建此示例,方法是进行一些细微的更改。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 v3 命令

注意

TEMPLATE_NAME 替换为模板的名称,将 HTML_CONTENT 替换为带有 HTML 标签的电子邮件内容,将 SUBJECT 替换为电子邮件的主题,将 TEXT_CONTENT 替换为电子邮件的文本。

import { UpdateTemplateCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { getUniqueName } from "@aws-doc-sdk-examples/lib/utils/util-string.js"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; const TEMPLATE_NAME = getUniqueName("TemplateName"); const HTML_PART = "<h1>Hello, World!</h1>"; const createUpdateTemplateCommand = () => { return new UpdateTemplateCommand({ Template: { TemplateName: TEMPLATE_NAME, HtmlPart: HTML_PART, SubjectPart: "Example", TextPart: "Updated template text.", }, }); }; const run = async () => { const updateTemplateCommand = createUpdateTemplateCommand(); try { return await sesClient.send(updateTemplateCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to update template.", err); return err; } };

要运行示例,请在命令提示符中键入以下内容。Amazon SES 会返回模板详细信息。

node ses_updatetemplate.js

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

删除电子邮件模板

在本示例中,使用 Node.js 模块创建用于 Amazon SES 的电子邮件模板。

创建一个 libs 目录,然后使用文件名 sesClient.js 创建一个 Node.js 模块。将以下代码复制并粘贴到其中,这将创建 Amazon SES 客户端对象。将 “区域” 替换为您的 “ Amazon 区域”。

import { SESClient } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; // Set the AWS Region. const REGION = "us-east-1"; // Create SES service object. const sesClient = new SESClient({ region: REGION }); export { sesClient };

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。

创建文件名为 ses_deletetemplate.js 的 Node.js 模块。如前所示配置 SDK,包括安装所需的客户端和软件包。

创建对象,将必需的 TemplateName 参数传递到 SES 客户端类的 DeleteTemplateCommand 方法。要调用 DeleteTemplateCommand 方法,请调用一个 Amazon SES 服务对象来传递参数。

注意

此示例导入并使用所需的 S Amazon ervice V3 包客户端、V3 命令,并以异步/等待模式使用该send方法。您可以改用 V2 命令创建此示例,方法是进行一些细微的更改。有关更多信息,请参阅 使用 v3 命令

注意

TEMPLATE_NAME 替换为要删除的模板的名称。

import { DeleteTemplateCommand } from "@aws-sdk/client-ses"; import { getUniqueName } from "@aws-doc-sdk-examples/lib/utils/util-string.js"; import { sesClient } from "./libs/sesClient.js"; const TEMPLATE_NAME = getUniqueName("TemplateName"); const createDeleteTemplateCommand = (templateName) => new DeleteTemplateCommand({ TemplateName: templateName }); const run = async () => { const deleteTemplateCommand = createDeleteTemplateCommand(TEMPLATE_NAME); try { return await sesClient.send(deleteTemplateCommand); } catch (err) { console.log("Failed to delete template.", err); return err; } };

要运行示例,请在命令提示符中键入以下内容。Amazon SES 会返回模板详细信息。

node ses_deletetemplate.js

可以在此处找到此示例代码 GitHub。