Access Control for Snow Family Console and Creating Jobs - Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Access Control for Snow Family Console and Creating Jobs

As with all Amazon services, access to Amazon Snowball requires credentials that Amazon can use to authenticate your requests. Those credentials must have permissions to access Amazon resources, such an Amazon S3 bucket or an Amazon Lambda function. Amazon Snowball differs in two ways:

  1. Jobs in Amazon Snowball do not have Amazon Resource Names (ARNs).

  2. Physical and network access control for a device on-premises is your responsibility.

The following sections provide details on how you can use Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) and Amazon Snowball to help secure your resources by controlling who can access them in the Amazon Web Services Cloud, and also local access control recommendations.

Authentication

You can access Amazon as any of the following types of identities:

  • Amazon Web Services account root user

    When you create an Amazon Web Services account, you begin with one sign-in identity that has complete access to all Amazon Web Services and resources in the account. This identity is called the Amazon Web Services account root user and is accessed by signing in with the email address and password that you used to create the account. We strongly recommend that you do not use the root user for your everyday tasks. Safeguard your root user credentials and use them to perform the tasks that only the root user can perform. For the complete list of tasks that require you to sign in as the root user, see Tasks that require root user credentials in the Amazon General Reference.

  • IAM users and groups

    An IAM user is an identity within your Amazon Web Services account that has specific permissions for a single person or application. Where possible, we recommend relying on temporary credentials instead of creating IAM users who have long-term credentials such as passwords and access keys. However, if you have specific use cases that require long-term credentials with IAM users, we recommend that you rotate access keys. For more information, see Rotate access keys regularly for use cases that require long-term credentials in the IAM User Guide.

    An IAM group is an identity that specifies a collection of IAM users. You can't sign in as a group. You can use groups to specify permissions for multiple users at a time. Groups make permissions easier to manage for large sets of users. For example, you could have a group named IAMAdmins and give that group permissions to administer IAM resources.

    Users are different from roles. A user is uniquely associated with one person or application, but a role is intended to be assumable by anyone who needs it. Users have permanent long-term credentials, but roles provide temporary credentials. To learn more, see When to create an IAM user (instead of a role) in the IAM User Guide.

  • IAM role

    An IAM role is an IAM identity that you can create in your account that has specific permissions. An IAM role is similar to an IAM user in that it is an Amazon identity with permissions policies that determine what the identity can and cannot do in Amazon. However, instead of being uniquely associated with one person, a role is intended to be assumable by anyone who needs it. Also, a role does not have standard long-term credentials such as a password or access keys associated with it. Instead, when you assume a role, it provides you with temporary security credentials for your role session. IAM roles with temporary credentials are useful in the following situations:

    • Federated user access – To assign permissions to a federated identity, you create a role and define permissions for the role. When a federated identity authenticates, the identity is associated with the role and is granted the permissions that are defined by the role. For information about roles for federation, see Creating a role for a third-party Identity Provider in the IAM User Guide.

    • Amazon Web Service access – A service role is an IAM role that a service assumes to perform actions on your behalf. An IAM administrator can create, modify, and delete a service role from within IAM. For more information, see Creating a role to delegate permissions to an Amazon Web Service in the IAM User Guide.

    • Applications running on Amazon EC2 – You can use an IAM role to manage temporary credentials for applications that are running on an EC2 instance and making Amazon CLI or Amazon API requests. This is preferable to storing access keys within the EC2 instance. To assign an Amazon role to an EC2 instance and make it available to all of its applications, you create an instance profile that is attached to the instance. An instance profile contains the role and enables programs that are running on the EC2 instance to get temporary credentials. For more information, see Using an IAM role to grant permissions to applications running on Amazon EC2 instances in the IAM User Guide.

Overview of Managing Access Permissions to Your Resources in the Amazon Web Services Cloud

Every Amazon resource is owned by an Amazon Web Services account, and permissions to create or access a resource are governed by permissions policies. An account administrator can attach permissions policies to IAM identities (that is, users, groups, and roles), and some services (such as Amazon Lambda) also support attaching permissions policies to resources.

Note

An account administrator (or administrator user) is a user with administrator privileges. For more information, see IAM Best Practices in the IAM User Guide.

When granting permissions, you decide who is getting the permissions, the resources they get permissions for, and the specific actions that you want to allow on those resources.

Resources and Operations

In Amazon Snowball, the primary resource is a job. Amazon Snowball also has devices like the Snowball and the Amazon Snowball Edge device, however, you can only use those devices in the context of an existing job. Amazon S3 buckets and Lambda functions are resources of Amazon S3 and Lambda respectively.

As mentioned previously, jobs don't have Amazon Resource Names (ARNs) associated with them. However, other services' resources, like Amazon S3 buckets, do have unique (ARNs) associated with them as shown in the following table.

Resource Type ARN Format
S3 bucket arn:aws:s3:region:account-id:BucketName/ObjectName

Amazon Snowball provides a set of operations to create and manage jobs. For a list of available operations, see the Amazon Snowball API Reference.

Understanding Resource Ownership

The Amazon Web Services account owns the resources that are created in the account, regardless of who created the resources. Specifically, the resource owner is the Amazon Web Services account of the principal entity (that is, the root account, an IAM user, or an IAM role) that authenticates the resource creation request. The following examples illustrate how this works:

  • If you use the root account credentials of your Amazon Web Services account to create a S3 bucket, your Amazon Web Services account is the owner of the resource (in Amazon Snowball, the resource is the job).

  • If you create an IAM user in your Amazon Web Services account and grant permissions to create a job to that user, the user can create a job. However, your Amazon Web Services account, to which the user belongs, owns the job resource.

  • If you create an IAM role in your Amazon Web Services account with permissions to create a job, anyone who can assume the role can create a job. Your Amazon Web Services account, to which the role belongs, owns the job resource.

Managing Access to Resources in the Amazon Web Services Cloud

A permissions policy describes who has access to what. The following section explains the available options for creating permissions policies.

Note

This section discusses using IAM in the context of Amazon Snowball. It doesn't provide detailed information about the IAM service. For complete IAM documentation, see What Is IAM? in the IAM User Guide. For information about IAM policy syntax and descriptions, see Amazon IAM Policy Reference in the IAM User Guide.

Policies attached to an IAM identity are referred to as identity-based policies (IAM polices) and policies attached to a resource are referred to as resource-based policies. Amazon Snowball supports only identity-based policies (IAM policies).

Identity-Based Policies (IAM Policies)

You can attach policies to IAM identities. For example, you can do the following:

  • Attach a permissions policy to a user or a group in your account – To grant a user permissions to create a job, you can attach a permissions policy to a user or group that the user belongs to.

  • Attach a permissions policy to a role (grant cross-account permissions) – You can attach an identity-based permissions policy to an IAM role to grant cross-account permissions. For example, the administrator in Account A can create a role to grant cross-account permissions to another Amazon Web Services account (for example, Account B) or an Amazon service as follows:

    1. Account A administrator creates an IAM role and attaches a permissions policy to the role that grants permissions on resources in Account A.

    2. Account A administrator attaches a trust policy to the role identifying Account B as the principal who can assume the role.

    3. Account B administrator can then delegate permissions to assume the role to any users in Account B. Doing this allows users in Account B to create or access resources in Account A. The principal in the trust policy can also be an Amazon service principal if you want to grant an Amazon service permissions to assume the role.

    For more information about using IAM to delegate permissions, see Access Management in the IAM User Guide.

The following is an example policy that allows a user to perform the CreateJob action for your Amazon Web Services account.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "VisualEditor0", "Effect": "Allow", "Action": [ "snowball:DescribeAddress", "snowball:CreateJob", "snowball:DescribeAddresses", "snowball:CreateAddress" ], "Resource": "*" }, ] }

For more information about using identity-based policies with Amazon Snowball, see Using Identity-Based Policies (IAM Policies) for Amazon Snowball. For more information about users, groups, roles, and permissions, see Identities (Users, Groups, and Roles) in the IAM User Guide.

Resource-Based Policies

Other services, such as Amazon S3, also support resource-based permissions policies. For example, you can attach a policy to an S3 bucket to manage access permissions to that bucket. Amazon Snowball doesn't support resource-based policies. 

Specifying Policy Elements: Actions, Effects, and Principals

For each job (see Resources and Operations), the service defines a set of API operations (see Amazon Snowball API Reference) to create and manage said job. To grant permissions for these API operations, Amazon Snowball defines a set of actions that you can specify in a policy. For example, for a job, the following actions are defined: CreateJob, CancelJob, and DescribeJob. Note that, performing an API operation can require permissions for more than one action.

The following are the most basic policy elements:

  • Resource – In a policy, you use an Amazon Resource Name (ARN) to identify the resource to which the policy applies. For more information, see Resources and Operations.

    Note

    This is supported for Amazon S3, Amazon EC2, Amazon Lambda, Amazon KMS, and many other services.

    Snowball does not support specifying a resource ARN in the Resource element of an IAM policy statement. To allow access to Snowball, specify “Resource”: “*” in your policy.

  • Action – You use action keywords to identify resource operations that you want to allow or deny. For example, depending on the specified Effect, snowball:* either allows or denies the user permissions to perform all operations.

    Note

    This is supported for Amazon EC2, Amazon S3, and IAM.

  • Effect – You specify the effect when the user requests the specific action—this can be either allow or deny. If you don't explicitly grant access to (allow) a resource, access is implicitly denied. You can also explicitly deny access to a resource, which you might do to make sure that a user cannot access it, even if a different policy grants access.

    Note

    This is supported for Amazon EC2, Amazon S3, and IAM.

  • Principal – In identity-based policies (IAM policies), the user that the policy is attached to is the implicit principal. For resource-based policies, you specify the user, account, service, or other entity that you want to receive permissions (applies to resource-based policies only). Amazon Snowball doesn't support resource-based policies.

To learn more about IAM policy syntax and descriptions, see Amazon IAM Policy Reference in the IAM User Guide.

For a table showing all of the Amazon Snowball API actions, see Amazon Snowball API Permissions: Actions, Resources, and Conditions Reference.

Specifying Conditions in a Policy

When you grant permissions, you can use the IAM policy language to specify the conditions when a policy should take effect. For example, you might want a policy to be applied only after a specific date. For more information about specifying conditions in a policy language, see Condition in the IAM User Guide.

To express conditions, you use predefined condition keys. There are no condition keys specific to Amazon Snowball. However, there are Amazon-wide condition keys that you can use as appropriate. For a complete list of Amazon-wide keys, see Available Keys for Conditions in the IAM User Guide.

Snow 系列控制台和创建作业的访问控制 - Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide
AWS 文档中描述的 AWS 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 AWS 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

Snow 系列控制台和创建作业的访问控制

作为所有Amazon服务,对的访问Amazon Snowball需要凭据Amazon可以用来对您的请求进行身份验证。这些凭证必须有权访问Amazon资源,例如 Amazon S3 存储桶或Amazon Lambdafunction.Amazon Snowball有两个方面的不同:

  1. Amazon Snowball 中的任务没有 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。

  2. 由您负责对本地设备进行物理和网络访问控制。

以下各节提供详细的信息来说明如何使用Amazon Identity and Access Management(IAM)和Amazon Snowball来帮助对您的资源进行保护,方法是控制谁能在Amazon云,以及本地访问控制建议。

Authentication

您可以以下面任一类型的身份访问 Amazon:

  • Amazon账户根用户— 当您第一次创建Amazon账户,最初使用的是一个具有对所有Amazon服务和资源。此身份称为Amazon账户根用户,可以通过使用您创建账户时所用的电子邮件地址和密码登录来访问。强烈建议您不使用根用户执行日常任务,即使是管理任务。相反,请遵循仅使用根用户创建您的第一个 IAM 用户的最佳实践。然后请妥善保存根用户凭证,仅用它们执行少数账户和服务管理任务。

  • IAM 用户— 一个IAM 用户是您的Amazon帐户,该帐户具有特定的自定义权限(例如,用于在Amazon Snowball)。您可以使用 IAM 用户名和密码登录以保护Amazon网页,如Amazon Web Services Management ConsoleAmazon论坛,或Amazon Web Services SupportCenter

    除了用户名和密码之外,您还可以为每个用户生成访问密钥。您可以在访问时使用这些键Amazon服务,无论是通过几个 SDK 之一或通过使用Amazon Command Line Interface(CLI)。SDK 和 CLI 工具使用访问密钥对您的请求进行加密签名。如果您不使用Amazon工具中,您必须自行对请求进行签名。Amazon Snowball支持签名版本 4,这是用于对入站 API 请求进行身份验证的协议。有关验证请求的更多信息,请参阅。签名版本 4 签名流程中的Amazon一般参考

  • IAM 角色IAM 角色是可在账户中创建的一种具有特定权限的 IAM 身份。IAM 角色类似于 IAM 用户,因为它是Amazon身份,该身份拥有的权限策略可确定身份可执行和不可执行的操作。Amazon。但是,角色旨在让需要它的任何人代入,而不是唯一地与某个人员关联。此外,角色没有关联的标准长期凭证(如密码或访问密钥)。相反,当您代入角色时,它会为您提供角色会话的临时安全凭证。具有临时凭证的 IAM 角色在以下情况下很有用:

    • 联合身份用户访问— 您可以不创建 IAM 用户,而是使用来自Amazon Directory Service、您的企业用户目录或 Web 身份提供商。它们被称为联合身份用户。Amazon在通过请求访问权限时,将为联合用户分配一个角色。身份提供商。有关联合身份用户的更多信息,请参阅联合身份用户和角色中的IAM 用户指南

    • Amazon服务访问— 服务角色是IAM 角色服务为了代表您执行操作而担任的计划。服务角色只在您的账户内提供访问权限,不能用于为访问其他账户中的服务授权。IAM 管理员可以在 IAM 中创建、修改和删除服务角色。有关更多信息,请参阅 。创建向Amazon服务中的IAM 用户指南

    • 在 Amazon EC2 上运行的应用程序— 您可以使用 IAM 角色管理在 EC2 实例上运行并创建的应用程序的临时凭证Amazon CLI或者AmazonAPI 请求。这优先于在 EC2 实例中存储访问密钥。要将 Amazon 角色分配给 EC2 实例并使其对该实例的所有应用程序可用,您可以创建一个附加到实例的实例配置文件。实例配置文件包含角色,并使 EC2 实例上运行的程序能够获得临时凭证。有关更多信息,请参阅 。使用 IAM 角色向在 Amazon EC2 实例上运行的应用程序授予权限中的IAM 用户指南

管理资源的访问权限概述Amazon云

每个 Amazon 资源都归某个 Amazon 账户所有,创建和访问资源的权限由权限策略进行管理。账户管理员可以向 IAM 身份(即:用户、组和角色)附加权限策略,某些服务(如 Amazon Lambda)也支持向资源附加权限策略。

注意

账户管理员(或管理员用户)是具有管理员权限的用户。有关更多信息,请参阅IAM 用户指南 中的 IAM 最佳实践

在授予权限时,您要决定谁获得权限,获得对哪些资源的权限,以及您允许对这些资源执行的具体操作。

资源和操作

InAmazon Snowball,则主要资源为任务。Amazon Snowball还有诸如 Snowball 和Amazon Snowball但是,Edge 设备仅可以在现有任务范围内使用这些设备。Amazon S3 存储桶和 Lambda 函数分别是 Amazon S3 和 Lambda 的资源。

如前所述,任务没有与其关联的 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN)。但是,其他服务的资源(如 Amazon S3 存储桶)的确具有关联的唯一 Amazon S3 存储桶 (ARN),如下表所示。

资源类型 ARN 格式
文件系统 arn:aws:s3:region:account-id:BucketName/ObjectName

Amazon Snowball 提供一组操作来创建和管理任务。有关可用操作的列表,请参阅Amazon SnowballAPI 参考

了解资源所有权

Amazon 账户对在该账户下创建的资源具有所有权,而无论创建资源的人员是谁。具体而言,资源所有者是对资源创建请求进行身份验证的Amazon委托人实体 (即根账户、IAM 用户或 IAM 角色) 的 账户。以下示例说明了它的工作原理:

  • 如果您使用的是Amazon帐户创建文件系统,Amazon帐户是资源的所有者(Amazon Snowball,资源是作业)。

  • 如果您在Amazon帐户并授予该用户创建任务的权限,则该用户可以创建任务。但是,您的Amazon账户 (即该用户所属的账户) 拥有任务资源的所有权。

  • 如果您在Amazon账户,则可以代入该角色的任何人都可以创建任务。您的Amazon账户 (即该角色所属的账户) 拥有任务资源的所有权。

中的资源访问权限管理Amazon云

权限策略 规定谁可以访问哪些内容。下一节介绍创建权限策略时的可用选项。

注意

本节讨论如何在 Amazon Snowball 范围内使用 IAM。这里不提供有关 IAM 服务的详细信息。有关完整的 IAM 文档,请参阅什么是 IAM?中的IAM 用户指南。有关 IAM 策略语法和介绍的更多信息,请参阅。IAM 策略参考中的IAM 用户指南

附加到 IAM 身份的策略称为基于身份的 策略(IAM 策略),而附加到资源的策略称为基于资源的 策略。Amazon Snowball 仅支持基于身份的策略(IAM 策略)。

基于身份的策略(IAM 策略)

您可以向 IAM 身份附加策略。例如,您可以执行以下操作:

  • 将权限策略附加到账户中的用户或组— 要向用户授予创建任务的权限,您可以将权限策略附加到用户或用户所属的组。

  • 将权限策略附加到角色(授予跨账户权限)— 您可以将基于身份的权限策略挂载到 IAM 角色,以授予跨账户的权限。例如,账户 A 中的管理员可以创建一个角色,以向其他 Amazon 账户(如账户 B)或某项 Amazon 服务授予跨账户权限,如下所述:

    1. 账户 A 管理员可以创建一个 IAM 角色,然后向该角色附加授予其访问账户 A 中资源的权限策略。

    2. 账户 A 管理员可以向将账户 B 标识为能够代入该角色的委托人的角色附加信任策略。

    3. 之后,账户 B 管理员可以委派权限,指派账户 B 中的任何用户担任该角色。这样,账户 B 中的用户就可以创建或访问账户 A 中的资源了。如果您需要授予Amazon 服务权限来担任该角色,则信任策略中的委托人也可以是 Amazon 服务委托人。

    有关使用 IAM 委派权限的更多信息,请参阅。访问控制中的IAM 用户指南

以下是允许用户执行的示例策略。CreateJob操作Amazonaccount.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Sid": "", "Effect": "Allow", "Principal": { "Service": "importexport.amazonaws.com" }, "Action": "sts:AssumeRole", "Condition": { "StringEquals": { "sts:ExternalId": "AWSIE" } } } ] }

有关对 Amazon Snowball 使用基于身份的策略的更多信息,请参阅为 Amazon Snowball 使用基于身份的策略(IAM 策略)。有关用户、组、角色和权限的更多信息,请参阅《IAM 用户指南》 中的身份 (用户、组和角色)

基于资源的策略

其他服务 (如 Amazon S3) 还支持基于资源的权限策略。例如,您可以将基于资源的策略附加到 S3 存储桶以管理对该存储桶的访问权限。Amazon Snowball 不支持基于资源的策略。 

指定策略元素:操作、效果和委托人

对于每个作业(请参阅资源和操作),该服务定义了一组 API 操作(请参阅Amazon SnowballAPI 参考)创建和管理所述任务。为授予这些 API 操作的权限,Amazon Snowball 定义了一组您可以在策略中指定的操作。例如,将为某个任务定义以下操作:CreateJobCancelJobDescribeJob。请注意,执行某项 API 操作可能需要执行多个操作的权限。

以下是最基本的策略元素:

  • 资源— 在策略中,您可以使用 Amazon 资源名称 (ARN) 标识策略应用到的资源。有关更多信息,请参阅资源和操作

    注意

    此功能仅支持 Amazon S3。

    Snowball 不支持在中指定资源 ARN。Resource元素。要允许对 Snowball 的访问权限,请指定“Resource”: “*”在策略中。

  • 操作 – 您可以使用操作关键字标识要允许或拒绝的资源操作。例如,根据指定的 Effectsnowball:* 可以允许执行所有操作的用户权限,也可以拒绝这些用户权限。

    注意

    Amazon EC2、Amazon S3 和 IAM 支持此功能。

  • Effect— 您可以指定当用户请求特定操作(可以是允许或拒绝)时的效果。如果没有显式授予(允许)对资源的访问权限,则隐式拒绝访问。您也可显式拒绝对资源的访问,这样可确保用户无法访问该资源,即使有其他策略授予了访问权限的情况下也是如此。

    注意

    Amazon EC2、Amazon S3 和 IAM 支持此功能。

  • 委托人 – 在基于身份的策略(IAM 策略)中,附加了策略的用户是隐式委托人。对于基于资源的策略,您可以指定要接收权限的用户、账户、服务或其他实体(仅适用于基于资源的策略)。Amazon Snowball 不支持基于资源的策略。

有关 IAM 策略语法和介绍的更多信息,请参阅IAM 策略参考中的IAM 用户指南

有关显示所有 Amazon Snowball API 操作的表,请参阅 Amazon SnowballAPI 权限:操作、资源和条件参考

在策略中指定条件

当您授予权限时,可使用 IAM 策略语言来指定规定策略何时生效的条件。例如,您可能希望策略仅在特定日期后应用。有关使用策略语言指定条件的更多信息,请参阅。Condition中的IAM 用户指南

要表示条件,您可以使用预定义的条件键。没有特定于 Amazon Snowball 的条件键。但有 Amazon 范围内的条件密钥,您可以根据需要使用。有关的完整列表Amazon-宽键,请参阅适用于条件的可用键中的IAM 用户指南