Network Configuration for Compute Instances - Amazon Snowball Edge Developer Guide
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Network Configuration for Compute Instances

After you launch your compute instances on a Snow Family device, you must provide it with an IP address by creating a network interface. Snow Family devices support two kinds of network interfaces, a virtual network interface and a direct network interface.

Virtual network interface (VNI)

A virtual network interface is the standard network interface for connecting to an EC2 instance on your Snow Family device. You must create a VNI for each of your EC2 instances regardless of whether you also use a direct network interface or not. The traffic passing through a VNI is protected by the security groups that you set up. You can only associate VNIs with the physical network port you use to control your Snow Family device.

Note

VNI: All physical interfaces (RJ45, SFP+, and QSFP) are supported.

Direct network interface (DNI)

A direct network interface (DNI) is an advanced network feature that enables use cases like multicast streams, transitive routing, and load balancing. By providing instances with layer 2 network access without any intermediary translation or filtering, you can gain increased flexibility over the network configuration of your Snow Family device and improved network performance. DNIs support VLAN tags and customizing the MAC address. Traffic on DNIs is not protected by security groups.

Snowcone devices support eight DNIs per EC2 instance, with a maximum of 63 per device.

On Snowball Edge devices, DNIs can be associated with the SFP or QSFP ports. DNIs cannot be associated with RJ45 ports. Each optical port supports a maximum of seven DNIs. DNIs do not have to be associated to the physical network port you use to control your Snow Family device. One EC2 instance can support four DNIs and another instance can support three, for a maximum of seven per device.

Prerequisites

Before you configure a VNI or a DNI, be sure that you've done the following prerequisites.

  1. Make sure there's power to your device and that one of your physical network interfaces, like the RJ45 port, is connected with an IP address.

  2. Get the IP address associated with the physical network interface that you're using on the Snow Family device.

  3. Configure your Snowball Edge client. For more information, see Configuring a Profile for the Snowball Edge Client.

  4. Unlock the device. We recommend using Amazon OpsHub for Snow Family to unlock your device. For instructions, see Unlocking a Device.

    If you want to use the CLI command, run the following command, and provide the information that appears in the dialog box.

    snowballEdge configure

    Snowball Edge Manifest Path: manifest.bin

    Unlock Code: unlock code

    Default Endpoint: https://device ip

  5. Run the following command.

    snowballEdge unlock-device

    The device display update indicates that it is unlocked.

  6. Launch an EC2 instance on the device. You will associate the VNI with this instance.

  7. Run the snowballEdge describe-device command to get the list of physical network interface IDs.

  8. Identify the ID for the physical network interface that you want to use, and make a note of it.

Setting Up a Virtual Network Interface (VNI)

After you have identified the ID for your physical network interface, you can set up a virtual network interface (VNI). Use the following procedure set up a VNI. Make sure that you perform the prerequisite tasks before you create a VNI.

Create a VNI and associate IP address

  1. Run the snowballEdge create-virtual-network-interface command. The following examples show running this command with the two different IP address assignment methods, either DHCP or STATIC. The DHCP method uses Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP).

    snowballEdge create-virtual-network-interface \ --physical-network-interface-id s.ni-abcd1234 \ --ip-address-assignment DHCP //OR// snowballEdge create-virtual-network-interface \ --physical-network-interface-id s.ni-abcd1234 \ --ip-address-assignment STATIC \ --static-ip-address-configuration IpAddress=192.0.2.0,Netmask=255.255.255.0

    The command returns a JSON structure that includes the IP address. Make a note of that IP address for the ec2 associate-address Amazon CLI command later in the process.

    Anytime you need this IP address, you can use the snowballEdge describe-virtual-network-interfaces Snowball Edge client command, or the aws ec2 describe-addresses Amazon CLI command to get it.

  2. To associate your newly created IP address with your instance, use the following command, replacing the red text with your values:

    aws ec2 associate-address --public-ip 192.0.2.0 --instance-id s.i-01234567890123456 --endpoint Snow Family device physical IP address:8008

Setting Up a Direct Network Interface (DNI)

Note

The direct network interface feature is available on or after January 12, 2021 and is available in all Amazon Web Services Regions where Snow Family devices are available.

Prerequisites

Before you set up a direct network interface (DNI), you must perform the tasks in the prerequisites section.

  1. Perform the prerequisite tasks before setting up the DNI. For instructions, see Prerequisites.

  2. Additionally, you must launch an instance on your device, create a VNI, and associate it with the instance. For instructions, see Setting Up a Virtual Network Interface (VNI).

    Note

    If you added direct networking to your existing device by performing an in-the-field software update, you must restart the device twice to fully enable the feature.

Create a DNI and associate IP address

  1. Create a direct network interface and attach it to the Amazon EC2 instance by running the following command. You will need the MAC address of the device for the next step.

    create-direct-network-interface [--endpoint endpoint] [--instance-id instanceId] [--mac macAddress] [--physical-network-interface-id physicalNetworkInterfaceId] [--unlock-code unlockCode] [--vlan vlanId]

    OPTIONS

    --endpoint <endpoint> The endpoint to send this request to. The endpoint for your devices will be a URL using the https scheme followed by an IP address. For example, if the IP address for your device is 123.0.1.2, the endpoint for your device would be https://123.0.1.2.

    --instance-id <instanceId> The EC2 instance ID to attach the interface to (optional).

    --mac <macAddress> Sets the MAC address of the network interface (optional).

    --physical-network-interface-id <physicalNetworkInterfaceId> The ID for the physical network interface on which to create a new virtual network interface. You can determine the physical network interfaces available on your Snowball Edge using the describe-device command.

    --vlan <vlanId> Set the assigned VLAN for the interface (optional). When specified, all traffic sent from the interface is tagged with the specified VLAN ID. Incoming traffic is filtered for the specified VLAN ID, and has all VLAN tags stripped before being passed to the instance.

  2. If you didn't associate your DNI with an instance in step 1, you can associate it by running the Updating a Direct Network Interface command.

  3. After you create a DNI and associate it with your EC2 instance, you must make two configuration changes inside your Amazon EC2 instance.

    • The first is to change ensure that packets meant for the VNI associated with the EC2 instance are sent through eth0.

    • The second change configures your direct network interface to use either DCHP or static IP when booting.

    The following are examples of shell scripts for Amazon Linux 2 and CentOS Linux that make these configuration changes.

    Amazon Linux 2
    # Mac address of the direct network interface. # You got this when you created the direct network interface. DNI_MAC=[MAC ADDRESS FROM CREATED DNI] # Configure routing so that packets meant for the VNI always are sent through eth0. PRIVATE_IP=$(curl -s http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/local-ipv4) PRIVATE_GATEWAY=$(ip route show to match 0/0 dev eth0 | awk '{print $3}') ROUTE_TABLE=10001 echo "from $PRIVATE_IP table $ROUTE_TABLE" > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/rule-eth0 echo "default via $PRIVATE_GATEWAY dev eth0 table $ROUTE_TABLE" > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/route-eth0 echo "169.254.169.254 dev eth0" >> /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/route-eth0 # Query the persistent DNI name, assigned by udev via ec2net helper. # changable in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules DNI=$(ip --oneline link | grep -i $DNI_MAC | awk -F ': ' '{ print $2 }') # Configure DNI to use DHCP on boot. cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-$DNI DEVICE="$DNI" NAME="$DNI" HWADDR=$DNI_MAC ONBOOT=yes NOZEROCONF=yes BOOTPROTO=dhcp TYPE=Ethernet MAINROUTETABLE=no EOF # Make all changes live. systemctl restart network
    CentOS Linux
    # Mac address of the direct network interface. You got this when you created the direct network interface. DNI_MAC=[MAC ADDRESS FROM CREATED DNI] # The name to use for the direct network interface. You can pick any name that isn't already in use. DNI=eth1 # Configure routing so that packets meant for the VNIC always are sent through eth0 PRIVATE_IP=$(curl -s http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/local-ipv4) PRIVATE_GATEWAY=$(ip route show to match 0/0 dev eth0 | awk '{print $3}') ROUTE_TABLE=10001 echo from $PRIVATE_IP table $ROUTE_TABLE > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/rule-eth0 echo default via $PRIVATE_GATEWAY dev eth0 table $ROUTE_TABLE > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/route-eth0 # Configure your direct network interface to use DHCP on boot. cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-$DNI DEVICE="$DNI" NAME="$DNI" HWADDR="$DNI_MAC" ONBOOT=yes NOZEROCONF=yes BOOTPROTO=dhcp TYPE=Ethernet EOF # Rename DNI device if needed. CURRENT_DEVICE_NAME=$(LANG=C ip -o link | awk -F ': ' -vIGNORECASE=1 '!/link\/ieee802\.11/ && /'"$DNI_MAC"'/ { print $2 }') ip link set $CURRENT_DEVICE_NAME name $DNI # Make all changes live. systemctl restart network

计算实例的网络配置 - Amazon Snowball Edge 开发人员指南
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

计算实例的网络配置

在 Snow Family 设备上启动计算实例后,必须通过创建网络接口为其提供 IP 地址。Snow Family 设备支持两种网络接口,一种是虚拟网络接口,另一种是直接网络接口。

虚拟网络接口 (VNI)

虚拟网络接口是连接到 Snow Family 设备上的 EC2 实例的标准网络接口。无论您是否还使用直接网络接口,都必须为每个 EC2 实例创建 VNI。通过 VNI 的流量受您设置的安全组的保护。您只能将 VNI 与用于控制 Snow Family 设备的物理网络端口相关联。

注意

VNI: 支持所有物理接口(RJ45、SFP+ 和 QSFP)。

直接网络接口 (DNI)

直接网络接口 (DNI) 是一项高级网络功能,支持多播流、传递路由和负载平衡等用例。通过为实例提供无需任何中间转换或筛选的第 2 层网络接入,您可以在 Snow Family 设备的网络配置上获得更高的灵活性并提高网络性能。DNI 支持 VLAN 标记和自定义 MAC 地址。DNI 上的流量不受安全组保护。

Snowcone 设备支持每个 EC2 实例八个 DNI,每个设备最多支持 63 个 DNI。

在 Snowball Edge 设备上,DNI 可以与 SFP 或 QSFP 端口相关联。DNI 不能与 RJ45 端口关联。每个光学端口最多支持七个 DNI。DNI 不必与您用于控制 Snow Family 设备的物理网络端口相关联。一个 EC2 实例可以支持四个 DNI,另一个实例可以支持三个,每台设备最多支持七个。

先决条件

在配置 VNI 或 DNI 之前,请确保您已符合以下先决条件。

  1. 确保您的设备已通电,并且您的一个物理网络接口(例如 RJ45 端口)已连接到 IP 地址。

  2. 获取与您在 Snow Family 设备上使用的物理网络接口关联的 IP 地址。

  3. 配置你的 Snowball Edge 客户端 有关更多信息,请参阅 ball Edge 客户端配置文件

  4. 解锁此设备。我们建议使用Amazon OpsHub for Snow Family来解锁您的设备。有关说明,请参阅解锁设备

    如果要使用 CLI 命令,请运行以下命令并提供对话框中显示的信息。

    snowballEdge configure

    Snowball Edge Manifest Path: manifest.bin

    Unlock Code: unlock code

    Default Endpoint: https://device ip

  5. 运行以下命令。

    snowballEdge unlock-device

    设备显示更新表明设备已解锁。

  6. 在设备上启动 EC2 实例。您要将 VNI 与此实例关联起来。

  7. 运行 snowballEdge describe-device 命令以获取物理网络接口 ID 的列表。

  8. 标识您要使用的物理网络接口的 ID 并记下它。

设置虚拟网络接口 (VNI)

确定物理网络接口的 ID 后,即可设置虚拟网络接口 (VNI)。使用以下步骤设置 VNI。在创建 VNI 之前,请务必执行先决任务。

创建 VNI 并关联 IP 地址

  1. 运行 snowballEdge create-virtual-network-interface 命令。以下示例显示使用两种不同的 IP 地址分配方法(DHCPSTATIC)运行此命令。DHCP 方法使用动态主机配置协议 (DHCP)。

    snowballEdge create-virtual-network-interface \ --physical-network-interface-id s.ni-abcd1234 \ --ip-address-assignment DHCP //OR// snowballEdge create-virtual-network-interface \ --physical-network-interface-id s.ni-abcd1234 \ --ip-address-assignment STATIC \ --static-ip-address-configuration IpAddress=192.0.2.0,Netmask=255.255.255.0

    该命令返回一个 JSON 结构,其中包含 IP 地址。在此过程的后面记下该ec2 associate-addressAmazon CLI命令的 IP 地址。

    无论何时需要这个 IP 地址,都可以使用snowballEdge describe-virtual-network-interfaces Snowball Edge 客户端命令或aws ec2 describe-addressesAmazon CLI命令来获取它。

  2. 要将新创建的 IP 地址与您的实例相关联,请使用以下命令,将红色文本替换为您的值:

    aws ec2 associate-address --public-ip 192.0.2.0 --instance-id s.i-01234567890123456 --endpoint Snow Family device physical IP address:8008

设置直接网络接口 (DNI)

注意

直接网络接口功能将于 2021 年 1 月 12 日当天或之后推出,在 Snow Family 设备可用的所有Amazon Web Services 区域地方均可用。

先决条件

在设置直接网络接口 (DNI) 之前,必须执行先决条件部分中的任务。

  1. 在设置 DNI 之前执行先决任务。有关说明,请参阅 先决条件

  2. 此外,您必须在设备上启动实例,创建 VNI,然后将其与该实例关联。有关说明,请参阅 设置虚拟网络接口 (VNI)

    注意

    如果您通过执行 in-the-field 软件更新向现有设备添加了直接联网功能,则必须重新启动设备两次才能完全启用该功能。

创建 DNI 并关联 IP 地址

  1. 通过运行以下命令创建直接网络接口并将其附加到 Amazon EC2 实例。在下一步骤中,您需要用到设备的 MAC 地址。

    create-direct-network-interface [--endpoint endpoint] [--instance-id instanceId] [--mac macAddress] [--physical-network-interface-id physicalNetworkInterfaceId] [--unlock-code unlockCode] [--vlan vlanId]

    OPTIONS

    --endpoint <endpoint>要向其发送此请求的终端节点。您的设备的终端节点将是一个使用架构的 URL,后跟一个 IP 地址。https例如,如果您的设备的 IP 地址为 123.0.1.2,则设备的终端节点将为 https://123.0.1.2。

    --instance-id <instanceId>要连接接口的 EC2 实例 ID(可选)。

    --mac <macAddress>设置网络接口的 MAC 地址(可选)。

    --physical-network-interface-id <physicalNetworkInterfaceId>要在其上创建新虚拟网络接口的物理网络接口的 ID。您可以使用describe-device命令确定 Snowball Edge 上可用的物理网络接口。

    --vlan <vlanId>为接口设置分配的 VLAN(可选)。指定后,从接口发送的所有流量都使用指定的 VLAN ID 进行标记。将针对指定的 VLAN ID 筛选传入流量,并在传递给实例之前去除所有 VLAN 标记。

  2. 如果您在步骤 1 中没有将您的 DNI 与实例关联,则可以通过运行更新直接网络接口命令将其关联。

  3. 创建 DNI 并将其与 EC2 实例关联后,您必须在 Amazon EC2 实例内进行两次配置更改。

    • 首先是更改确保发往与 EC2 实例关联的 VNI 的数据包通过 eth0 发送。

    • 第二个更改将您的直接网络接口配置为在启动时使用 DCHP 或静态 IP。

    以下是用于亚马逊 Linux 2 和 CentOS Linux 的 shell 脚本进行这些配置更改的示例。

    Amazon Linux 2
    # Mac address of the direct network interface. # You got this when you created the direct network interface. DNI_MAC=[MAC ADDRESS FROM CREATED DNI] # Configure routing so that packets meant for the VNI always are sent through eth0. PRIVATE_IP=$(curl -s http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/local-ipv4) PRIVATE_GATEWAY=$(ip route show to match 0/0 dev eth0 | awk '{print $3}') ROUTE_TABLE=10001 echo "from $PRIVATE_IP table $ROUTE_TABLE" > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/rule-eth0 echo "default via $PRIVATE_GATEWAY dev eth0 table $ROUTE_TABLE" > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/route-eth0 echo "169.254.169.254 dev eth0" >> /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/route-eth0 # Query the persistent DNI name, assigned by udev via ec2net helper. # changable in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules DNI=$(ip --oneline link | grep -i $DNI_MAC | awk -F ': ' '{ print $2 }') # Configure DNI to use DHCP on boot. cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-$DNI DEVICE="$DNI" NAME="$DNI" HWADDR=$DNI_MAC ONBOOT=yes NOZEROCONF=yes BOOTPROTO=dhcp TYPE=Ethernet MAINROUTETABLE=no EOF # Make all changes live. systemctl restart network
    CentOS Linux
    # Mac address of the direct network interface. You got this when you created the direct network interface. DNI_MAC=[MAC ADDRESS FROM CREATED DNI] # The name to use for the direct network interface. You can pick any name that isn't already in use. DNI=eth1 # Configure routing so that packets meant for the VNIC always are sent through eth0 PRIVATE_IP=$(curl -s http://169.254.169.254/latest/meta-data/local-ipv4) PRIVATE_GATEWAY=$(ip route show to match 0/0 dev eth0 | awk '{print $3}') ROUTE_TABLE=10001 echo from $PRIVATE_IP table $ROUTE_TABLE > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/rule-eth0 echo default via $PRIVATE_GATEWAY dev eth0 table $ROUTE_TABLE > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/route-eth0 # Configure your direct network interface to use DHCP on boot. cat << EOF > /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-$DNI DEVICE="$DNI" NAME="$DNI" HWADDR="$DNI_MAC" ONBOOT=yes NOZEROCONF=yes BOOTPROTO=dhcp TYPE=Ethernet EOF # Rename DNI device if needed. CURRENT_DEVICE_NAME=$(LANG=C ip -o link | awk -F ': ' -vIGNORECASE=1 '!/link\/ieee802\.11/ && /'"$DNI_MAC"'/ { print $2 }') ip link set $CURRENT_DEVICE_NAME name $DNI # Make all changes live. systemctl restart network