Call EventBridge with Step Functions - Amazon Step Functions
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Call EventBridge with Step Functions

Step Functions can control certain Amazon services directly from the Amazon States Language. For more information about working with Amazon Step Functions and its integrations, see the following:

How the Optimized EventBridge integration is different than the EventBridge Amazon SDK integration
  • The execution ARN and the state machine ARN are automatically appended to the Resources field of each PutEventsRequestEntry.

  • If the response from PutEvents contains a non-zero FailedEntryCount then the Task state fails with the error EventBridge.FailedEntry.

For information on how to configure IAM when using Step Functions with other Amazon services, see IAM Policies for integrated services.

Step Functions provides a service integration API for integrating with Amazon EventBridge. This lets you build event-driven applications by sending custom events directly from Step Functions workflows.

To use the PutEvents API, you will need to create an EventBridge rule in your account that matches the specific pattern of the events you will send. For example, you could:

  • Create a Lambda function in your account that receives and prints an event that matches an EventBridge rule.

  • Create an EventBridge rule in your account on the default event bus that matches a specific event pattern and targets the Lambda function.

For more information, see:

Note

There is a quota for the maximum input or result data size for a task in Step Functions. This restricts you to 262,144 bytes of data as a UTF-8 encoded string when you send to, or receive data from, another service. See Quotas related to state machine executions.

Supported EventBridge API

Supported EventBridge API and syntax include:

The following includes a Task that sends a custom event:

{ "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws:states:::events:putEvents", "Parameters": { "Entries": [ { "Detail": { "Message": "MyMessage" }, "DetailType": "MyDetailType", "EventBusName": "MyEventBus", "Source": "my.source" } ] }, "End": true }

Error handling

The PutEvents API accepts an array of entries as input, then returns an array of result entries. As long as the PutEvents action was successful, PutEvents will return an HTTP 200 response, even if one or more entries failed. PutEvents returns the number of failed entries in the FailedEntryCount field.

Step Functions checks whether the FailedEntryCount is greater than zero. If it is greater than zero, Step Functions fails the state with the error EventBridge.FailedEntry. This lets you use the built-in error handling of Step Functions on task states to catch or retry when there are failed entries, rather than needing to use an additional state to analyze the FailedEntryCount from the response.

Note

If you have implemented idempotency and can safely retry on all entries, you can use Step Functions' retry logic. Step Functions does not remove successful entries from the PutEvents input array before retrying. Instead, it retries with the original array of entries.

使用 Step Functions 调用 EventBridge - Amazon Step Functions
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用 Step Functions 调用 EventBridge

Step Functions 可以控制某些Amazon服务直接从 Amazon 状态语言中提供。有关使用的更多信息,请参阅。Amazon Step Functions及其集成,请参阅以下内容:

有关在将 Step Functions 他Amazon服务,请参阅集成服务的 IAM 策略

Step Functions 提供了用于与 Amazon EventBridge 集成的服务集成 API。这使您可以通过直接从 Step Functions 工作流发送自定义事件来构建事件驱动的应用程序。

使用PutEventsAPI,您需要在您的账户中创建一个 EventBridge 规则,该规则与您将发送的事件的特定模式相匹配。例如,您可以:

  • 在您的帐户中创建一个 Lambda 函数,用于接收并打印与 EventBridge 规则匹配的事件。

  • 在默认事件总线上,在您的账户中创建一个 EventBridge 规则,该规则匹配特定事件模式并以 Lambda 函数为目标。

有关更多信息,请参阅:

注意

在 Step Functions 中任务的最大输入或结果数据大小有一个配额。这将限制您在向另一个服务发送或接收其数据时,将数据作为 UTF-8 编码字符串的 262,144 字节。请参阅 与状态机执行相关的配额

支持的 EventBridge 接 API

支持的 EventBridge 接 API 和语法包括:

下面这个Task发送自定义事件:

{ "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:aws:states:::events:putEvents", "Parameters": { "Entries": [ { "Detail": { "Message": "MyMessage" }, "DetailType": "MyDetailType", "EventBusName": "MyEventBus", "Source": "my.source" } ] }, "End": true }

错误处理

这些区域有:PutEventsAPI 接受一个条目数组作为输入,然后返回一个结果条目数组。只要PutEvents行动成功,PutEvents将返回 HTTP 200 响应,即使一个或多个条目失败。PutEvents返回FailedEntryCount字段。

Step Functions 检查FailedEntryCount大于零。如果它大于零,则 Step Functions 将导致状态失败并出现错误EventBridge.FailedEntry。这样,您就可以使用任务状态上的 Step Functions 的内置错误处理来捕获或重试失败的条目,而不需要使用其他状态来分析FailedEntryCount从响应中的。

注意

如果您已经实现幂等性,并且可以安全地重试所有条目,则可以使用步骤函数的重试逻辑。Step Functions 不会从PutEvents输入数组,然后再重试。相反,它会使用原始条目数组重试。