Call a microservice running on Fargate using API Gateway integration - Amazon Step Functions
Services or capabilities described in Amazon Web Services documentation might vary by Region. To see the differences applicable to the China Regions, see Getting Started with Amazon Web Services in China.

Call a microservice running on Fargate using API Gateway integration

This sample project demonstrates how to use Step Functions to make a call to API Gateway in order to interact with a service on Amazon Fargate, and also to check whether the call succeeded. This sample project creates the following:

  • An Amazon API Gateway HTTP API that is called by the state machine.

  • An Amazon API Gateway Amazon VPC Link.

  • An Amazon Virtual Private Cloud.

  • An Application Load Balancer.

  • A Fargate cluster.

  • An Amazon SNS topic

  • Related Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) roles

  • Several additional services that are required to enable these resources to work together.

For more information about API Gateway and Step Functions service integrations, see the following:

Note

This sample project may incur charges.

For new Amazon users, a free usage tier is available. On this tier, services are free below a certain level of usage. For more information about Amazon costs and the Free Tier, see Pricing.

Create the State Machine and Provision Resources

  1. Open the Step Functions console and choose Create a state machine.

  2. Choose Sample Projects, and then choose Call a microservice with API Gateway.

    The state machine Code and Visual Workflow are displayed.

    
            Training model workflow.
  3. Choose Next.

    The Deploy resources page is displayed, listing the resources that will be created. For this sample project, the resources include:

    • An API Gateway HTTP API

    • An API Gateway VpcLink

    • An Application Load Balancer

    • A Fargate cluster

    • A state machine

    • An Amazon SNS topic

    • Related IAM roles

    • Several additional services that are required to enable these resources to work together.

  4. Choose Deploy Resources.

    Note

    It can take up to 10 minutes for these resources and related IAM permissions to be created. While the Deploy resources page is displayed, you can open the Stack ID link to see which resources are being provisioned.

Start a New Execution

  1. Open the Step Functions console.

  2. On the State machines page, choose the ApiGatewayECSStateMachine state machine that was created by the sample project, and then choose Start execution.

  3. On the New execution page, enter an execution name (optional), and then choose Start Execution.

  4. (Optional) To identify your execution, you can specify a name for it in the Name box. By default, Step Functions generates a unique execution name automatically.

    Note

    Step Functions allows you to create state machine, execution, and activity names that contain non-ASCII characters. These non-ASCII names don't work with Amazon CloudWatch. To ensure that you can track CloudWatch metrics, choose a name that uses only ASCII characters.

  5. (Optional) Go to the newly created state machine on the Step Functions Dashboard, and then choose New execution.

  6. When an execution is complete, you can select states on the Visual workflow and browse the Input and Output under Step details.

Example State Machine Code

The state machine in this sample project integrates with API Gateway by calling an API Gateway HTTP API that is connected to a service on Fargate. This is hosted on a private subnet, and accessed through a private application load balancer.

Browse through this example state machine to see how Step Functions interacts with API Gateway and returns results.

For more information about how Amazon Step Functions can control other Amazon services, see Using Amazon Step Functions with other services.

{ "Comment": "Calling APIGW HTTP Endpoint", "StartAt": "Call API", "States": { "Call API": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:<PARTITION>:states:::apigateway:invoke", "Parameters": { "ApiEndpoint": "<API_ENDPOINT>", "Method": "GET", "AuthType": "IAM_ROLE" }, "Next": "Call Successful?" }, "Call Successful?": { "Type": "Choice", "Choices": [ { "Variable": "$.StatusCode", "NumericEquals": 200, "Next": "Notify Success" } ], "Default": "Notify Failure" }, "Notify Success": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:<PARTITION>:states:::sns:publish", "Parameters": { "Message": "Call was successful", "TopicArn": "<SNS_TOPIC_ARN>" }, "End": true }, "Notify Failure": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:<PARTITION>:states:::sns:publish", "Parameters": { "Message": "Call was not successful", "TopicArn": "<SNS_TOPIC_ARN>" }, "End": true } } }

For information about how to configure IAM when using Step Functions with other Amazon services, see IAM Policies for integrated services.

IAM Example

These example Amazon Identity and Access Management (IAM) policies generated by the sample project include the least privilege necessary to execute the state machine and related resources. We recommend that you include only those permissions that are necessary in your IAM policies.

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "sns:Publish" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:sns:us-east-1:111122223333:apigw-ecs-sample-2000-SNSTopic-444455556666" ], "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "execute-api:Invoke" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:execute-api:us-east-1:111122223333:444444444444/*/GET/*" ], "Effect": "Allow" } ] }
{ "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "ec2:AttachNetworkInterface", "ec2:CreateNetworkInterface", "ec2:CreateNetworkInterfacePermission", "ec2:DeleteNetworkInterface", "ec2:DeleteNetworkInterfacePermission", "ec2:Describe*", "ec2:DetachNetworkInterface", "elasticloadbalancing:DeregisterInstancesFromLoadBalancer", "elasticloadbalancing:DeregisterTargets", "elasticloadbalancing:Describe*", "elasticloadbalancing:RegisterInstancesWithLoadBalancer", "elasticloadbalancing:RegisterTargets" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }
{ "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "ecr:GetAuthorizationToken", "ecr:BatchCheckLayerAvailability", "ecr:GetDownloadUrlForLayer", "ecr:BatchGetImage", "logs:CreateLogStream", "logs:PutLogEvents" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

For information about how to configure IAM when using Step Functions with other Amazon services, see IAM Policies for integrated services.

使用 API Gateway 集成调用在 Fargate 上运行的微服务 - Amazon Step Functions
Amazon Web Services 文档中描述的 Amazon Web Services 服务或功能可能因区域而异。要查看适用于中国区域的差异,请参阅中国的 Amazon Web Services 服务入门

本文属于机器翻译版本。若本译文内容与英语原文存在差异,则一律以英文原文为准。

使用 API Gateway 集成调用在 Fargate 上运行的微服务

此示例项目演示了如何使用 Step Functions 调用 API Gateway,以便与Amazon Fargate,并检查调用是否成功。此示例项目创建以下内容:

  • 由状态机调用的 Amazon API Gateway HTTP API。

  • Amazon API Gateway 亚马逊 VPC 链接。

  • Amazon Virtual Private Cloud。

  • 一个应用程序负载均衡器。

  • Fargate 集群。

  • Amazon SNS 主题

  • 相关Amazon Identity and Access Management(IAM) 角色

  • 使这些资源能够协同工作所需的几项附加服务。

有关 API Gateway 和 Step Functions 服务集成的更多信息,请参阅以下内容:

注意

此示例项目可能会产生费用。

为新 Amazon 用户提供了免费使用套餐。在此套餐中,低于某种使用水平的服务是免费的。有关 Amazon 成本和免费套餐的更多信息,请参阅 定价

创建状态机并预置资源

  1. 打开Step Functions 控制台并选择创建状态机

  2. 选择示例项目,然后选择使用 API Gateway 调用微服务

    此时将显示状态机 Code (代码)Visual Workflow (可视工作流程)

    
            训练模型工作流程。
  3. 选择 Next

    此时将显示 Deploy resources (部署资源) 页面,其中列出了将创建的资源。对于本示例项目,资源包括:

    • API Gateway HTTP API

    • API Gateway VpcLink

    • 应用程序负载均衡器

    • Fargate 集群

    • 状态机

    • Amazon SNS 主题

    • 相关 IAM 角色

    • 使这些资源能够协同工作所需的几项附加服务。

  4. 选择 Deploy Resources (部署资源)

    注意

    创建这些资源和相关 IAM 权限可能需要长达 10 分钟的时间。当显示 Deploy resources (部署资源) 页面时,您可打开 Stack ID (堆栈 ID) 链接以查看正在预置的资源。

启动新的执行

  1. 打开Step Functions 控制台

  2. 在存储库的状态机页面上,选择养蜂网关酒店-体育场状态机,然后选择示例项目创建的状态机,然后选择启动执行

  3. New execution 页面上,输入执行名称 (可选),然后选择 Start Execution (开始执行)

  4. (可选)为了帮助识别您的执行,您可以在输入执行名称。如果未输入 ID,Step Functions 将自动生成一个唯一 ID。

    注意

    Step Functions 允许您创建包含非 ASCII 字符的状态机、执行和活动名称。这些非 ASCII 名称不适用 Amazon CloudWatch。要确保您可以跟踪 CloudWatch 指标,请选择仅使用 ASCII 字符的名称。

  5. (可选)转到 Step Functions 上新创建的状态机控制面板,然后选择新执行

  6. 执行完成后,您可以在 Visual workflow (可视工作流) 上选择状态,并浏览 Step details (步骤详细信息) 下的 Input (输入)Output (输出)

示例状态机代码

此示例项目中的状态机通过调用连接到 Fargate 上的服务的 API Gateway HTTP HTTP API 来与 API Gateway 集成。它托管在私有子网上,并通过专用应用程序负载均衡器进行访问。

浏览此示例状态机,了解 Step Functions 如何与 API Gateway 交互以及返回结果。

有关 Amazon Step Functions 如何控制其他 Amazon 服务的更多信息,请参阅将 Amazon Step Functions 与其他服务一起使用

{ "Comment": "Calling APIGW HTTP Endpoint", "StartAt": "Call API", "States": { "Call API": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:<PARTITION>:states:::apigateway:invoke", "Parameters": { "ApiEndpoint": "<API_ENDPOINT>", "Method": "GET", "AuthType": "IAM_ROLE" }, "Next": "Call Successful?" }, "Call Successful?": { "Type": "Choice", "Choices": [ { "Variable": "$.StatusCode", "NumericEquals": 200, "Next": "Notify Success" } ], "Default": "Notify Failure" }, "Notify Success": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:<PARTITION>:states:::sns:publish", "Parameters": { "Message": "Call was successful", "TopicArn": "<SNS_TOPIC_ARN>" }, "End": true }, "Notify Failure": { "Type": "Task", "Resource": "arn:<PARTITION>:states:::sns:publish", "Parameters": { "Message": "Call was not successful", "TopicArn": "<SNS_TOPIC_ARN<" }, "End": true } } }

有关在将 Step Functions 与其他Amazon服务,请参阅集成服务的 IAM 策略

IAM 示例

这些示例Amazon Identity and Access Management(IAM) 策略包括执行状态机和相关资源所需的最小权限。我们建议在 IAM 策略中仅包含这些必需的权限。

{ "Version": "2012-10-17", "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "sns:Publish" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:sns:us-east-1:111122223333:apigw-ecs-sample-2000-SNSTopic-444455556666" ], "Effect": "Allow" }, { "Action": [ "execute-api:Invoke" ], "Resource": [ "arn:aws:execute-api:us-east-1:111122223333:444444444444/*/GET/*" ], "Effect": "Allow" } ] }
{ "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "ec2:AttachNetworkInterface", "ec2:CreateNetworkInterface", "ec2:CreateNetworkInterfacePermission", "ec2:DeleteNetworkInterface", "ec2:DeleteNetworkInterfacePermission", "ec2:Describe*", "ec2:DetachNetworkInterface", "elasticloadbalancing:DeregisterInstancesFromLoadBalancer", "elasticloadbalancing:DeregisterTargets", "elasticloadbalancing:Describe*", "elasticloadbalancing:RegisterInstancesWithLoadBalancer", "elasticloadbalancing:RegisterTargets" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }
{ "Statement": [ { "Action": [ "ecr:GetAuthorizationToken", "ecr:BatchCheckLayerAvailability", "ecr:GetDownloadUrlForLayer", "ecr:BatchGetImage", "logs:CreateLogStream", "logs:PutLogEvents" ], "Resource": "*", "Effect": "Allow" } ] }

有关在将 Step Functions 与其他Amazon服务,请参阅集成服务的 IAM 策略